tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/09/2015 : SARAH CRACKNELL - Red Kite

SARAH CRACKNELL

Red Kite

MusicCD
IndiePop

[88/100]   

Cherry Red Records
29/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

No less than eight years did we have to wait, but finally Sarah Cracknell has released her second solo album! Sarah is of course the front woman of Saint Etienne, and with both her glamorous looks and heavenly voice she is loved by a lot of indie kids. However, do not have too many illusions, Red Kite is indeed a stunner, but apart from the voice, this release is miles away from the indie disco of Saint Etienne.

Sarah's voice remains chamois sweet, but this is clearly the artistic work of a woman digging up her musical past and ooking for a more mature sound: sometimes viciously, but also seductively sweet. Opener On The Swings is fairytale pop that falls between Mercury Rev and Donovan. The name of this troubadour, who sang about Atlantis, is not out of place, because this CD has multiple sixties influences. On Ragdoll she sounds a bit like a contemporary Petuala Clark, while Hearts Are For Breaking makes you feel like you’re in Carnaby Street during the 60s and It's Never Too Late is delicious bubblegum pop with a nod to Françoise Hardy.

And yet, Red Kite is more than a trip to the psychedelic pop of the 60's. The single Nothing Left To Talk About (a duet with Manic Street Preachers bassist Nicky Wire) is an angry pop song, while I Am Not Your Enemy is with its heavy bass comparable to the horror punk of The Cramps.

Red Kite is a varied album of one of England’s greatest Britpop artists. And no Sarah, we don’t want to wait another eight years on your third album!

Didier BECU
29/09/2015


NL

Niet minder dan acht jaar hebben we moeten opwachten, maar eindelijk heeft Sarah Cracknell haar tweede soloplaat uit! Sarah is natuurlijk de frontvrouw van Saint Etienne (en ook dat blijft angstvallig stil) en door zowel haar betoverende uiterlijk als haar hemelse stem, is ze bij heel wat indiekids geliefd. Maak je echter niet te veel illusies, Red Kite is weliswaar een prachtplaat, maar op de stem na, staat dit tweede werkje mijlenver af van de indiedisco waarop Saint Etienne bijna twee decennia lang een patent had.

Sarahs stem blijft zeemzoet, maar dit is duidelijk een plaat van een vrouw die graait in haar muzikale verleden en op zoek is naar een meer volwassen geluid, soms venijnig en dan weer verleidelijk lief. Opener On The Swings laat een dromerige Sarah horen, sprookjesachtige pop die tussen Mercury Rev en Donovan valt. De naam van deze troubadour, die het over Atlantis had, is trouwens niet zo maar uit de lucht gegrepen, want deze cd heeft meerdere sixtiesinvloeden. Op Ragdoll klinkt ze een beetje zoals een hedendaagse Petuala Clark, bij Hearts Are For Breaking waan je je in Carnaby Street tijdens de jaren 60 en It’s Never Too Late is heerlijke bubbelgumpop met een knipoog naar Françoise Hardy.

En toch is Red Kite meer dan een ritje naar de psychedelische pop van de jaren 60. De single Nothing Left To Talk About (een duet met Manic Street Preachers-bassist Nicky Wire) is een nijdig popnummer, terwijl I Am Not Your Enemy door zijn zware bas wel iets van de horrorpunk van The Cramps bevat.

Red Kite is een gevarieerd album van één van Englands grootste Britpopartiesten. En neen Sarah, op je derde cd willen we niet alweer acht jaar wachten!

Didier BECU
29/09/2015


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures