tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/09/2015 : SARAH CRACKNELL - Red Kite

SARAH CRACKNELL

Red Kite

MusicCD
IndiePop

[88/100]   

Cherry Red Records
29/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

No less than eight years did we have to wait, but finally Sarah Cracknell has released her second solo album! Sarah is of course the front woman of Saint Etienne, and with both her glamorous looks and heavenly voice she is loved by a lot of indie kids. However, do not have too many illusions, Red Kite is indeed a stunner, but apart from the voice, this release is miles away from the indie disco of Saint Etienne.

Sarah's voice remains chamois sweet, but this is clearly the artistic work of a woman digging up her musical past and ooking for a more mature sound: sometimes viciously, but also seductively sweet. Opener On The Swings is fairytale pop that falls between Mercury Rev and Donovan. The name of this troubadour, who sang about Atlantis, is not out of place, because this CD has multiple sixties influences. On Ragdoll she sounds a bit like a contemporary Petuala Clark, while Hearts Are For Breaking makes you feel like you’re in Carnaby Street during the 60s and It's Never Too Late is delicious bubblegum pop with a nod to Françoise Hardy.

And yet, Red Kite is more than a trip to the psychedelic pop of the 60's. The single Nothing Left To Talk About (a duet with Manic Street Preachers bassist Nicky Wire) is an angry pop song, while I Am Not Your Enemy is with its heavy bass comparable to the horror punk of The Cramps.

Red Kite is a varied album of one of England’s greatest Britpop artists. And no Sarah, we don’t want to wait another eight years on your third album!

Didier BECU
29/09/2015


NL

Niet minder dan acht jaar hebben we moeten opwachten, maar eindelijk heeft Sarah Cracknell haar tweede soloplaat uit! Sarah is natuurlijk de frontvrouw van Saint Etienne (en ook dat blijft angstvallig stil) en door zowel haar betoverende uiterlijk als haar hemelse stem, is ze bij heel wat indiekids geliefd. Maak je echter niet te veel illusies, Red Kite is weliswaar een prachtplaat, maar op de stem na, staat dit tweede werkje mijlenver af van de indiedisco waarop Saint Etienne bijna twee decennia lang een patent had.

Sarahs stem blijft zeemzoet, maar dit is duidelijk een plaat van een vrouw die graait in haar muzikale verleden en op zoek is naar een meer volwassen geluid, soms venijnig en dan weer verleidelijk lief. Opener On The Swings laat een dromerige Sarah horen, sprookjesachtige pop die tussen Mercury Rev en Donovan valt. De naam van deze troubadour, die het over Atlantis had, is trouwens niet zo maar uit de lucht gegrepen, want deze cd heeft meerdere sixtiesinvloeden. Op Ragdoll klinkt ze een beetje zoals een hedendaagse Petuala Clark, bij Hearts Are For Breaking waan je je in Carnaby Street tijdens de jaren 60 en It’s Never Too Late is heerlijke bubbelgumpop met een knipoog naar Françoise Hardy.

En toch is Red Kite meer dan een ritje naar de psychedelische pop van de jaren 60. De single Nothing Left To Talk About (een duet met Manic Street Preachers-bassist Nicky Wire) is een nijdig popnummer, terwijl I Am Not Your Enemy door zijn zware bas wel iets van de horrorpunk van The Cramps bevat.

Red Kite is een gevarieerd album van één van Englands grootste Britpopartiesten. En neen Sarah, op je derde cd willen we niet alweer acht jaar wachten!

Didier BECU
29/09/2015


Music reviews

29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park
14
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Melancholic Disposition

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!
21
03
Bone Machine | 32 - Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes
25
03
JOZEF VAN WISSEM
Ruins