tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/09/2015 : SARAH CRACKNELL - Red Kite

SARAH CRACKNELL

Red Kite

MusicCD
IndiePop

[88/100]   

Cherry Red Records
29/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

No less than eight years did we have to wait, but finally Sarah Cracknell has released her second solo album! Sarah is of course the front woman of Saint Etienne, and with both her glamorous looks and heavenly voice she is loved by a lot of indie kids. However, do not have too many illusions, Red Kite is indeed a stunner, but apart from the voice, this release is miles away from the indie disco of Saint Etienne.

Sarah's voice remains chamois sweet, but this is clearly the artistic work of a woman digging up her musical past and ooking for a more mature sound: sometimes viciously, but also seductively sweet. Opener On The Swings is fairytale pop that falls between Mercury Rev and Donovan. The name of this troubadour, who sang about Atlantis, is not out of place, because this CD has multiple sixties influences. On Ragdoll she sounds a bit like a contemporary Petuala Clark, while Hearts Are For Breaking makes you feel like you’re in Carnaby Street during the 60s and It's Never Too Late is delicious bubblegum pop with a nod to Françoise Hardy.

And yet, Red Kite is more than a trip to the psychedelic pop of the 60's. The single Nothing Left To Talk About (a duet with Manic Street Preachers bassist Nicky Wire) is an angry pop song, while I Am Not Your Enemy is with its heavy bass comparable to the horror punk of The Cramps.

Red Kite is a varied album of one of England’s greatest Britpop artists. And no Sarah, we don’t want to wait another eight years on your third album!

Didier BECU
29/09/2015


NL

Niet minder dan acht jaar hebben we moeten opwachten, maar eindelijk heeft Sarah Cracknell haar tweede soloplaat uit! Sarah is natuurlijk de frontvrouw van Saint Etienne (en ook dat blijft angstvallig stil) en door zowel haar betoverende uiterlijk als haar hemelse stem, is ze bij heel wat indiekids geliefd. Maak je echter niet te veel illusies, Red Kite is weliswaar een prachtplaat, maar op de stem na, staat dit tweede werkje mijlenver af van de indiedisco waarop Saint Etienne bijna twee decennia lang een patent had.

Sarahs stem blijft zeemzoet, maar dit is duidelijk een plaat van een vrouw die graait in haar muzikale verleden en op zoek is naar een meer volwassen geluid, soms venijnig en dan weer verleidelijk lief. Opener On The Swings laat een dromerige Sarah horen, sprookjesachtige pop die tussen Mercury Rev en Donovan valt. De naam van deze troubadour, die het over Atlantis had, is trouwens niet zo maar uit de lucht gegrepen, want deze cd heeft meerdere sixtiesinvloeden. Op Ragdoll klinkt ze een beetje zoals een hedendaagse Petuala Clark, bij Hearts Are For Breaking waan je je in Carnaby Street tijdens de jaren 60 en It’s Never Too Late is heerlijke bubbelgumpop met een knipoog naar Françoise Hardy.

En toch is Red Kite meer dan een ritje naar de psychedelische pop van de jaren 60. De single Nothing Left To Talk About (een duet met Manic Street Preachers-bassist Nicky Wire) is een nijdig popnummer, terwijl I Am Not Your Enemy door zijn zware bas wel iets van de horrorpunk van The Cramps bevat.

Red Kite is een gevarieerd album van één van Englands grootste Britpopartiesten. En neen Sarah, op je derde cd willen we niet alweer acht jaar wachten!

Didier BECU
29/09/2015


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
10
09
AUSTRA
Utopia
09
09
ROSA CRVX
Omnes