tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/09/2015 : SARAH CRACKNELL - Red Kite

SARAH CRACKNELL

Red Kite

MusicCD
IndiePop

[88/100]   

Cherry Red Records
29/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

No less than eight years did we have to wait, but finally Sarah Cracknell has released her second solo album! Sarah is of course the front woman of Saint Etienne, and with both her glamorous looks and heavenly voice she is loved by a lot of indie kids. However, do not have too many illusions, Red Kite is indeed a stunner, but apart from the voice, this release is miles away from the indie disco of Saint Etienne.

Sarah's voice remains chamois sweet, but this is clearly the artistic work of a woman digging up her musical past and ooking for a more mature sound: sometimes viciously, but also seductively sweet. Opener On The Swings is fairytale pop that falls between Mercury Rev and Donovan. The name of this troubadour, who sang about Atlantis, is not out of place, because this CD has multiple sixties influences. On Ragdoll she sounds a bit like a contemporary Petuala Clark, while Hearts Are For Breaking makes you feel like you’re in Carnaby Street during the 60s and It's Never Too Late is delicious bubblegum pop with a nod to Françoise Hardy.

And yet, Red Kite is more than a trip to the psychedelic pop of the 60's. The single Nothing Left To Talk About (a duet with Manic Street Preachers bassist Nicky Wire) is an angry pop song, while I Am Not Your Enemy is with its heavy bass comparable to the horror punk of The Cramps.

Red Kite is a varied album of one of England’s greatest Britpop artists. And no Sarah, we don’t want to wait another eight years on your third album!

Didier BECU
29/09/2015


NL

Niet minder dan acht jaar hebben we moeten opwachten, maar eindelijk heeft Sarah Cracknell haar tweede soloplaat uit! Sarah is natuurlijk de frontvrouw van Saint Etienne (en ook dat blijft angstvallig stil) en door zowel haar betoverende uiterlijk als haar hemelse stem, is ze bij heel wat indiekids geliefd. Maak je echter niet te veel illusies, Red Kite is weliswaar een prachtplaat, maar op de stem na, staat dit tweede werkje mijlenver af van de indiedisco waarop Saint Etienne bijna twee decennia lang een patent had.

Sarahs stem blijft zeemzoet, maar dit is duidelijk een plaat van een vrouw die graait in haar muzikale verleden en op zoek is naar een meer volwassen geluid, soms venijnig en dan weer verleidelijk lief. Opener On The Swings laat een dromerige Sarah horen, sprookjesachtige pop die tussen Mercury Rev en Donovan valt. De naam van deze troubadour, die het over Atlantis had, is trouwens niet zo maar uit de lucht gegrepen, want deze cd heeft meerdere sixtiesinvloeden. Op Ragdoll klinkt ze een beetje zoals een hedendaagse Petuala Clark, bij Hearts Are For Breaking waan je je in Carnaby Street tijdens de jaren 60 en It’s Never Too Late is heerlijke bubbelgumpop met een knipoog naar Françoise Hardy.

En toch is Red Kite meer dan een ritje naar de psychedelische pop van de jaren 60. De single Nothing Left To Talk About (een duet met Manic Street Preachers-bassist Nicky Wire) is een nijdig popnummer, terwijl I Am Not Your Enemy door zijn zware bas wel iets van de horrorpunk van The Cramps bevat.

Red Kite is een gevarieerd album van één van Englands grootste Britpopartiesten. En neen Sarah, op je derde cd willen we niet alweer acht jaar wachten!

Didier BECU
29/09/2015


Music reviews

19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
13
03
KRANKLAND
Oh My Love