tempobet yeni adresi
like this album classics review

29/09/2015 : SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES - Through The Looking Glass

SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES

Through The Looking Glass

MusicAlbum Classics
GothicNew wave

[82/100]   

Polydor
29/09/2015, Didier BECU

Siouxsie will always be a special icon for us, not in the least because one of her songs was the inspiration for the name of our zine (so now you know why’we’re named Peek-A-Boo!).

It’s a real surprise to see that no one seems to mention their importance. In our series in which we ask artists to come up with albums that changed a lifetime, it’s weird to see that no one so far has mentioned one by this goth queen. Well, I doubt if Siouxsie wants to be labelled like that (even if she is, just like Andrew Eldritch will always be the gothfather!).

After having released Tinderbox in 1986, it was obvious that the band was looking for new frontiers and wanted to expand its typical Siouxsie sound. A year later, the coveralbum Through The Looking Glass was released, which is not extremely overrated. It shows their rootswhich are completely different from what fans expected. Well, if we read our Top 10 albums, it seems indeed like if our heroes keep on on surprising us.

The band choose ten tracks and made them completely its own. You won’t recognize Kraftwerk’s Hall Of Mirrors (except the lyrics), and not many Bob Dylan-fans will appreciate their version of This Wheel’s On Fire.

The choice is made by musicians with a wide taste, there’s even a track from The Jungle Book included (Trust In Me, the song by Kaa), or Gun by John Cale. The best tracks are Television’s Little Johnny Jewel with excellent guitars by John Valentine Carruthers who joined The Banshees in 1984 and of course, the godlike genius Steven Severin.

It’s a bit of a shame that The Passenger is included as it is by far the weakest track (and strange enough, also the second single that’s been taken from this album). They better would have chosen Strange Fruit (originally by Billie Holiday) or Roxy Music’s Sea Breezes.

Anyway, don’t forget Siouxsie and her Banshees, try this one…

Didier BECU
29/09/2015


 

Next reviews
MANICURED NOISE • Northern Stories 1978/80
DIRK SERRIES • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
WHITE HEX • Gold Nights
BLISSARD • Blissard
HANNAH IN THE WARS • Only Wanna Be
TERENCE FIXMER • Depth Charged
THE NEON JUDGEMENT • Brussels, AB (26th September 2015)
RISKY PERSON • Risky Person
BEACH HOUSE • Depression Cherry
ILANA J • Free Falling From The Ground Up

 

Other reviews from SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: The Rapture
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Superstition
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Peepshow
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Through The Looking Glass

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC + NEW WAVE
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: The Rapture
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Superstition
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Peepshow
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Through The Looking Glass
STYLE SINDROME • A MYSTERIOUS DESIGN
LOVE IN A CAGE • Position
THE HIRAM KEY • Amerikafka
THE CURE • Bestival Live 2011

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
AUTUMN • The Fall
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)