tempobet yeni adresi
like this album classics review

29/09/2015 : SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES - Through The Looking Glass

SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES

Through The Looking Glass

MusicAlbum Classics
GothicNew wave

[82/100]   

Polydor
29/09/2015, Didier BECU

Siouxsie will always be a special icon for us, not in the least because one of her songs was the inspiration for the name of our zine (so now you know why’we’re named Peek-A-Boo!).

It’s a real surprise to see that no one seems to mention their importance. In our series in which we ask artists to come up with albums that changed a lifetime, it’s weird to see that no one so far has mentioned one by this goth queen. Well, I doubt if Siouxsie wants to be labelled like that (even if she is, just like Andrew Eldritch will always be the gothfather!).

After having released Tinderbox in 1986, it was obvious that the band was looking for new frontiers and wanted to expand its typical Siouxsie sound. A year later, the coveralbum Through The Looking Glass was released, which is not extremely overrated. It shows their rootswhich are completely different from what fans expected. Well, if we read our Top 10 albums, it seems indeed like if our heroes keep on on surprising us.

The band choose ten tracks and made them completely its own. You won’t recognize Kraftwerk’s Hall Of Mirrors (except the lyrics), and not many Bob Dylan-fans will appreciate their version of This Wheel’s On Fire.

The choice is made by musicians with a wide taste, there’s even a track from The Jungle Book included (Trust In Me, the song by Kaa), or Gun by John Cale. The best tracks are Television’s Little Johnny Jewel with excellent guitars by John Valentine Carruthers who joined The Banshees in 1984 and of course, the godlike genius Steven Severin.

It’s a bit of a shame that The Passenger is included as it is by far the weakest track (and strange enough, also the second single that’s been taken from this album). They better would have chosen Strange Fruit (originally by Billie Holiday) or Roxy Music’s Sea Breezes.

Anyway, don’t forget Siouxsie and her Banshees, try this one…

Didier BECU
29/09/2015


 

Next reviews
MANICURED NOISE • Northern Stories 1978/80
DIRK SERRIES • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
WHITE HEX • Gold Nights
BLISSARD • Blissard
HANNAH IN THE WARS • Only Wanna Be
TERENCE FIXMER • Depth Charged
THE NEON JUDGEMENT • Brussels, AB (26th September 2015)
RISKY PERSON • Risky Person
BEACH HOUSE • Depression Cherry
ILANA J • Free Falling From The Ground Up

 

Other reviews from SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: The Rapture
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Superstition
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Peepshow
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Through The Looking Glass

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC + NEW WAVE
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: The Rapture
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Superstition
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Peepshow
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Through The Looking Glass
STYLE SINDROME • A MYSTERIOUS DESIGN
LOVE IN A CAGE • Position
THE HIRAM KEY • Amerikafka
THE CURE • Bestival Live 2011

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
DARK • Nightmare
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?