tempobet yeni adresi
like this album classics review

29/09/2015 : SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES - Through The Looking Glass

SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES

Through The Looking Glass

MusicAlbum Classics
GothicNew wave

[82/100]   

Polydor
29/09/2015, Didier BECU

Siouxsie will always be a special icon for us, not in the least because one of her songs was the inspiration for the name of our zine (so now you know why’we’re named Peek-A-Boo!).

It’s a real surprise to see that no one seems to mention their importance. In our series in which we ask artists to come up with albums that changed a lifetime, it’s weird to see that no one so far has mentioned one by this goth queen. Well, I doubt if Siouxsie wants to be labelled like that (even if she is, just like Andrew Eldritch will always be the gothfather!).

After having released Tinderbox in 1986, it was obvious that the band was looking for new frontiers and wanted to expand its typical Siouxsie sound. A year later, the coveralbum Through The Looking Glass was released, which is not extremely overrated. It shows their rootswhich are completely different from what fans expected. Well, if we read our Top 10 albums, it seems indeed like if our heroes keep on on surprising us.

The band choose ten tracks and made them completely its own. You won’t recognize Kraftwerk’s Hall Of Mirrors (except the lyrics), and not many Bob Dylan-fans will appreciate their version of This Wheel’s On Fire.

The choice is made by musicians with a wide taste, there’s even a track from The Jungle Book included (Trust In Me, the song by Kaa), or Gun by John Cale. The best tracks are Television’s Little Johnny Jewel with excellent guitars by John Valentine Carruthers who joined The Banshees in 1984 and of course, the godlike genius Steven Severin.

It’s a bit of a shame that The Passenger is included as it is by far the weakest track (and strange enough, also the second single that’s been taken from this album). They better would have chosen Strange Fruit (originally by Billie Holiday) or Roxy Music’s Sea Breezes.

Anyway, don’t forget Siouxsie and her Banshees, try this one…

Didier BECU
29/09/2015


 

Next reviews
MANICURED NOISE • Northern Stories 1978/80
DIRK SERRIES • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
WHITE HEX • Gold Nights
BLISSARD • Blissard
HANNAH IN THE WARS • Only Wanna Be
TERENCE FIXMER • Depth Charged
THE NEON JUDGEMENT • Brussels, AB (26th September 2015)
RISKY PERSON • Risky Person
BEACH HOUSE • Depression Cherry
ILANA J • Free Falling From The Ground Up

 

Other reviews from SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: The Rapture
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Superstition
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Peepshow
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Through The Looking Glass

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC + NEW WAVE
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: The Rapture
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Superstition
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Peepshow
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Through The Looking Glass
STYLE SINDROME • A MYSTERIOUS DESIGN
LOVE IN A CAGE • Position
THE HIRAM KEY • Amerikafka
THE CURE • Bestival Live 2011

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
AUTUMN • The Fall

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
10
43 years Never Mind The Bollocks!
28
10
On this day, 32 years ago, Front 242 released Front By Front!
24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
10
STACIAN
Telephonix
28
10
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
27
10
NO MORE
Turnaround
26
10
DEVO
Beautiful World
25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)