tempobet yeni adresi
like this album classics review

29/09/2015 : SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES - Through The Looking Glass

SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES

Through The Looking Glass

MusicAlbum Classics
GothicNew wave

[82/100]   

Polydor
29/09/2015, Didier BECU

Siouxsie will always be a special icon for us, not in the least because one of her songs was the inspiration for the name of our zine (so now you know why’we’re named Peek-A-Boo!).

It’s a real surprise to see that no one seems to mention their importance. In our series in which we ask artists to come up with albums that changed a lifetime, it’s weird to see that no one so far has mentioned one by this goth queen. Well, I doubt if Siouxsie wants to be labelled like that (even if she is, just like Andrew Eldritch will always be the gothfather!).

After having released Tinderbox in 1986, it was obvious that the band was looking for new frontiers and wanted to expand its typical Siouxsie sound. A year later, the coveralbum Through The Looking Glass was released, which is not extremely overrated. It shows their rootswhich are completely different from what fans expected. Well, if we read our Top 10 albums, it seems indeed like if our heroes keep on on surprising us.

The band choose ten tracks and made them completely its own. You won’t recognize Kraftwerk’s Hall Of Mirrors (except the lyrics), and not many Bob Dylan-fans will appreciate their version of This Wheel’s On Fire.

The choice is made by musicians with a wide taste, there’s even a track from The Jungle Book included (Trust In Me, the song by Kaa), or Gun by John Cale. The best tracks are Television’s Little Johnny Jewel with excellent guitars by John Valentine Carruthers who joined The Banshees in 1984 and of course, the godlike genius Steven Severin.

It’s a bit of a shame that The Passenger is included as it is by far the weakest track (and strange enough, also the second single that’s been taken from this album). They better would have chosen Strange Fruit (originally by Billie Holiday) or Roxy Music’s Sea Breezes.

Anyway, don’t forget Siouxsie and her Banshees, try this one…

Didier BECU
29/09/2015


 

Next reviews
MANICURED NOISE • Northern Stories 1978/80
DIRK SERRIES • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
WHITE HEX • Gold Nights
BLISSARD • Blissard
HANNAH IN THE WARS • Only Wanna Be
TERENCE FIXMER • Depth Charged
THE NEON JUDGEMENT • Brussels, AB (26th September 2015)
RISKY PERSON • Risky Person
BEACH HOUSE • Depression Cherry
ILANA J • Free Falling From The Ground Up

 

Other reviews from SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: The Rapture
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Superstition
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Peepshow
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Through The Looking Glass

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC + NEW WAVE
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: The Rapture
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Superstition
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Peepshow
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Through The Looking Glass
STYLE SINDROME • A MYSTERIOUS DESIGN
LOVE IN A CAGE • Position
THE HIRAM KEY • Amerikafka
THE CURE • Bestival Live 2011

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
AUTUMN • The Fall

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire

Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith