tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/09/2015 : BLISSARD - Blissard

BLISSARD

Blissard

MusicCD
Alternative RockGrungeIndie Rock

[78/100]   

Murphyalbums
28/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A Belgian group from Leuven that was founded in 2011 after the breakup of the hard rock band Dial P for Panic. Some recordings already date from 2012, but due to some personal matters (such as a job or children), it took until 2015 for the album to be finished.

What can you expect? Firstly, heavy rock and indie-rock with roots in the 90s. Ten straightforward songs with a gritty distorted guitar and vocals that remind you of the Seattle scene. In I Hear Your Name they combine indie-rock and grunge in one song. Especially the bass and the drums of Brecht Tijskens provide the songs the necessary direction. The recordings sound a bit rudimentary, but that is actually typical to this genre.

You need musical references? Maybe The Breeders, The Replacements, Dinosaur Jnr. or Buffalo Tom. But discover it for yourself, if you want to make a judgment. A fine debut of this quartet, we are curious how it sounds live.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/09/2015

https://soundcloud.com/blissardband/03-i-hear-your-name?in=blissardband/sets/blissard-1

NL

Een Belgische groep uit Leuven die in 2011 is opgericht na het uiteenvallen van de hardrock band Dial P for Panic. Sommige opnames dateren al uit 2012, maar door een aantal persoonlijke aangelegenheden (zoals een job of kinderen) duurde het tot 2015 vooraleer het album klaar was.

Wat mag je verwachten? In de eerste plaats heavy rock en indierock met roots in de jaren 90. Tien recht toe recht aan nummers met een gruizige distorted gitaar en vocals die je wat aan de Seattle-scène doen denken. Zo combineert bijv. I Hear Your Name indierock en grunge in één song. Telkens valt vooral de bas op, alsook de drums van Brecht Tijskens, die iedere keer de songs de nodige richting geven. De opnames klinken een klein beetje rudimentair, maar dat hoort eigenlijk wel bij dit genre.

Heb je muzikale referenties nodig? Misschien The Breeders, The Replacements, Dinosaur Jnr. of Buffalo Tom. Maar ontdek het vooral zelf als je een oordeel wilt vellen. Een fijn debuut van dit viertal, we zijn benieuwd hoe het live klinkt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/09/2015

https://soundcloud.com/blissardband/03-i-hear-your-name?in=blissardband/sets/blissard-1

Music reviews

22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 35 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
Mountains Crave
21
04
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
20
04
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
19
04
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl