tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/09/2015 : BLISSARD - Blissard

BLISSARD

Blissard

MusicCD
Alternative RockGrungeIndie Rock

[78/100]   

Murphyalbums
28/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A Belgian group from Leuven that was founded in 2011 after the breakup of the hard rock band Dial P for Panic. Some recordings already date from 2012, but due to some personal matters (such as a job or children), it took until 2015 for the album to be finished.

What can you expect? Firstly, heavy rock and indie-rock with roots in the 90s. Ten straightforward songs with a gritty distorted guitar and vocals that remind you of the Seattle scene. In I Hear Your Name they combine indie-rock and grunge in one song. Especially the bass and the drums of Brecht Tijskens provide the songs the necessary direction. The recordings sound a bit rudimentary, but that is actually typical to this genre.

You need musical references? Maybe The Breeders, The Replacements, Dinosaur Jnr. or Buffalo Tom. But discover it for yourself, if you want to make a judgment. A fine debut of this quartet, we are curious how it sounds live.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/09/2015

https://soundcloud.com/blissardband/03-i-hear-your-name?in=blissardband/sets/blissard-1

NL

Een Belgische groep uit Leuven die in 2011 is opgericht na het uiteenvallen van de hardrock band Dial P for Panic. Sommige opnames dateren al uit 2012, maar door een aantal persoonlijke aangelegenheden (zoals een job of kinderen) duurde het tot 2015 vooraleer het album klaar was.

Wat mag je verwachten? In de eerste plaats heavy rock en indierock met roots in de jaren 90. Tien recht toe recht aan nummers met een gruizige distorted gitaar en vocals die je wat aan de Seattle-scène doen denken. Zo combineert bijv. I Hear Your Name indierock en grunge in één song. Telkens valt vooral de bas op, alsook de drums van Brecht Tijskens, die iedere keer de songs de nodige richting geven. De opnames klinken een klein beetje rudimentair, maar dat hoort eigenlijk wel bij dit genre.

Heb je muzikale referenties nodig? Misschien The Breeders, The Replacements, Dinosaur Jnr. of Buffalo Tom. Maar ontdek het vooral zelf als je een oordeel wilt vellen. Een fijn debuut van dit viertal, we zijn benieuwd hoe het live klinkt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/09/2015

https://soundcloud.com/blissardband/03-i-hear-your-name?in=blissardband/sets/blissard-1

 

Next reviews
HANNAH IN THE WARS • Only Wanna Be
TERENCE FIXMER • Depth Charged
THE NEON JUDGEMENT • Brussels, AB (26th September 2015)
RISKY PERSON • Risky Person
BEACH HOUSE • Depression Cherry
ILANA J • Free Falling From The Ground Up
YOUTH LAGOON • The Knower
CARLO VAN PUTTEN (DEAD GUITARS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ROSEAU • Salt
DEAD CLONES • Dead Clones

 

Other reviews from BLISSARD
BLISSARD • Ten albums that changed our lives

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
KIM GORDON • No Home Record
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
RIDE • This Is Not a Safe Place
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
ARMSTRONG • Under Blue Skies
IN DEED • Everest - Expanded Edition
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure

 

Same genre: GRUNGE
L7 • Scatter The Rats
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
SO PITTED • Neo
DOWNERS • Noose (EP)
TRACER • Water For Thirsty Dogs
CANDLEBAGS • Love Kills (ep)
DRY CAN • Meanwhile
THE GRAPHIC UK • Nothing's Wrong EP

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark

Music reviews

29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park
14
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Melancholic Disposition

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!
21
03
Bone Machine | 32 - Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes
25
03
JOZEF VAN WISSEM
Ruins