tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/09/2015 : BLISSARD - Blissard

BLISSARD

Blissard

MusicCD
Alternative RockGrungeIndie Rock

[78/100]   

Murphyalbums
28/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A Belgian group from Leuven that was founded in 2011 after the breakup of the hard rock band Dial P for Panic. Some recordings already date from 2012, but due to some personal matters (such as a job or children), it took until 2015 for the album to be finished.

What can you expect? Firstly, heavy rock and indie-rock with roots in the 90s. Ten straightforward songs with a gritty distorted guitar and vocals that remind you of the Seattle scene. In I Hear Your Name they combine indie-rock and grunge in one song. Especially the bass and the drums of Brecht Tijskens provide the songs the necessary direction. The recordings sound a bit rudimentary, but that is actually typical to this genre.

You need musical references? Maybe The Breeders, The Replacements, Dinosaur Jnr. or Buffalo Tom. But discover it for yourself, if you want to make a judgment. A fine debut of this quartet, we are curious how it sounds live.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/09/2015

https://soundcloud.com/blissardband/03-i-hear-your-name?in=blissardband/sets/blissard-1

NL

Een Belgische groep uit Leuven die in 2011 is opgericht na het uiteenvallen van de hardrock band Dial P for Panic. Sommige opnames dateren al uit 2012, maar door een aantal persoonlijke aangelegenheden (zoals een job of kinderen) duurde het tot 2015 vooraleer het album klaar was.

Wat mag je verwachten? In de eerste plaats heavy rock en indierock met roots in de jaren 90. Tien recht toe recht aan nummers met een gruizige distorted gitaar en vocals die je wat aan de Seattle-scène doen denken. Zo combineert bijv. I Hear Your Name indierock en grunge in één song. Telkens valt vooral de bas op, alsook de drums van Brecht Tijskens, die iedere keer de songs de nodige richting geven. De opnames klinken een klein beetje rudimentair, maar dat hoort eigenlijk wel bij dit genre.

Heb je muzikale referenties nodig? Misschien The Breeders, The Replacements, Dinosaur Jnr. of Buffalo Tom. Maar ontdek het vooral zelf als je een oordeel wilt vellen. Een fijn debuut van dit viertal, we zijn benieuwd hoe het live klinkt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/09/2015

https://soundcloud.com/blissardband/03-i-hear-your-name?in=blissardband/sets/blissard-1

 

Next reviews
HANNAH IN THE WARS • Only Wanna Be
TERENCE FIXMER • Depth Charged
THE NEON JUDGEMENT • Brussels, AB (26th September 2015)
RISKY PERSON • Risky Person
BEACH HOUSE • Depression Cherry
ILANA J • Free Falling From The Ground Up
YOUTH LAGOON • The Knower
CARLO VAN PUTTEN (DEAD GUITARS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ROSEAU • Salt
DEAD CLONES • Dead Clones

 

Other reviews from BLISSARD
BLISSARD • Ten albums that changed our lives

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
KIM GORDON • No Home Record
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
RIDE • This Is Not a Safe Place
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
ARMSTRONG • Under Blue Skies
IN DEED • Everest - Expanded Edition
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains

 

Same genre: GRUNGE
L7 • Scatter The Rats
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
SO PITTED • Neo
DOWNERS • Noose (EP)
TRACER • Water For Thirsty Dogs
CANDLEBAGS • Love Kills (ep)
DRY CAN • Meanwhile
THE GRAPHIC UK • Nothing's Wrong EP

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

Music reviews

16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS
06
01
KMFDM
Paradise

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
11
01
On this day 35 years ago, Nina Hagen performed in front of 1,5 million people on the first edition of world’s biggest festivals Rock in Rio (Brazil).
10
01
Lair Of The Dark Prince | Lou Reed's New York At 31
10
01
20 years 'Into The Void'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'
10
01
EVA - X
An Interview With Synthpop Act EVA - X

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing
13
01
VOK
Waterfall
12
01
KLANGSTABIL
You may start