tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/09/2015 : BLISSARD - Blissard

BLISSARD

Blissard

MusicCD
Alternative RockGrungeIndie Rock

[78/100]   

Murphyalbums
28/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A Belgian group from Leuven that was founded in 2011 after the breakup of the hard rock band Dial P for Panic. Some recordings already date from 2012, but due to some personal matters (such as a job or children), it took until 2015 for the album to be finished.

What can you expect? Firstly, heavy rock and indie-rock with roots in the 90s. Ten straightforward songs with a gritty distorted guitar and vocals that remind you of the Seattle scene. In I Hear Your Name they combine indie-rock and grunge in one song. Especially the bass and the drums of Brecht Tijskens provide the songs the necessary direction. The recordings sound a bit rudimentary, but that is actually typical to this genre.

You need musical references? Maybe The Breeders, The Replacements, Dinosaur Jnr. or Buffalo Tom. But discover it for yourself, if you want to make a judgment. A fine debut of this quartet, we are curious how it sounds live.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/09/2015

https://soundcloud.com/blissardband/03-i-hear-your-name?in=blissardband/sets/blissard-1

NL

Een Belgische groep uit Leuven die in 2011 is opgericht na het uiteenvallen van de hardrock band Dial P for Panic. Sommige opnames dateren al uit 2012, maar door een aantal persoonlijke aangelegenheden (zoals een job of kinderen) duurde het tot 2015 vooraleer het album klaar was.

Wat mag je verwachten? In de eerste plaats heavy rock en indierock met roots in de jaren 90. Tien recht toe recht aan nummers met een gruizige distorted gitaar en vocals die je wat aan de Seattle-scène doen denken. Zo combineert bijv. I Hear Your Name indierock en grunge in één song. Telkens valt vooral de bas op, alsook de drums van Brecht Tijskens, die iedere keer de songs de nodige richting geven. De opnames klinken een klein beetje rudimentair, maar dat hoort eigenlijk wel bij dit genre.

Heb je muzikale referenties nodig? Misschien The Breeders, The Replacements, Dinosaur Jnr. of Buffalo Tom. Maar ontdek het vooral zelf als je een oordeel wilt vellen. Een fijn debuut van dit viertal, we zijn benieuwd hoe het live klinkt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/09/2015

https://soundcloud.com/blissardband/03-i-hear-your-name?in=blissardband/sets/blissard-1

 

Next reviews
HANNAH IN THE WARS • Only Wanna Be
TERENCE FIXMER • Depth Charged
THE NEON JUDGEMENT • Brussels, AB (26th September 2015)
RISKY PERSON • Risky Person
BEACH HOUSE • Depression Cherry
ILANA J • Free Falling From The Ground Up
YOUTH LAGOON • The Knower
CARLO VAN PUTTEN (DEAD GUITARS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ROSEAU • Salt
DEAD CLONES • Dead Clones

 

Other reviews from BLISSARD
BLISSARD • Ten albums that changed our lives

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
KIM GORDON • No Home Record
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
RIDE • This Is Not a Safe Place
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
ARMSTRONG • Under Blue Skies
IN DEED • Everest - Expanded Edition
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains

 

Same genre: GRUNGE
L7 • Scatter The Rats
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
SO PITTED • Neo
DOWNERS • Noose (EP)
TRACER • Water For Thirsty Dogs
CANDLEBAGS • Love Kills (ep)
DRY CAN • Meanwhile
THE GRAPHIC UK • Nothing's Wrong EP

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
40 Years Of 20 Jazz Funk Greats!
08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched