tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

25/10/2015 : BLISSARD - Ten albums that changed our lives

BLISSARD

Ten albums that changed our lives

Article
25/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The young band BLISSARD from Leuven spend some time to compile their top ten album list. A fine list strongly affected by the nineties.

1. PAUL SIMON - Graceland
Kristof Geutjens: an album that was played day and night at my home anno 1986-1987. As a child I was fascinated by it. The most beautiful record when we speak about beautiful melodies.

2. GUNS ‘N ROSES - Use Your Illusion I & II’
Erick de Deyn:tIt’s now hard to believe that Guns N’ Roses was the world's dominator in those days. Just before the breakthrough of the grunge they were top. After a lot of nagging, I got this phenomenal double cassette from my parents and I lost immediately my interest in bands like Clouseau (Belgian rockband-ed.), MC Hammer or Queen.

3. NIRVANA - Nevermind
Kristof Geutjens: afterwards they weren’t the biggest inspiration, but for a twelve year old chap who thought that the top 30 on Radio 2 was a realistic image of the music scene, this album opened my eyes to a whole new world.

4. PEARL JAM - Ten
Brecht Tijskens: I remember Pinkpop Festival that always was broadcasted on television. Somewhere around 1992, I saw Pearl Jam for the first time. A first introduction with grunge that sound like bells in my ears.

5. RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE - Rage Against the Machine
Geert Janssens: this record was an eye opener for me as a starting guitarist. One of the few albums I really tried to play by myself (and it was on a Spanish guitar, for god sake). We had just learn to play barré and power chords to express our anger and there was Rage Against The Machine with their power of well thought riffs.

6. SEPULTURA - Chaos AD
Brecht Tijskens: this album was the reason for me to drum. Igor Cavalera was my hero.

7. dEUS – Worst Case Scenario
Erick de Deyn: just like The Velvet Underground, dEUS’ magnificent debut inspired thousands of young bands to start playing. Suddently you didn’t have to be from England or America to make good music.

8. ORBITAL - In Sides
Geert Janssens: before that album, electronica was something to cheer up parties or to garnish rock songs. It was the first, but not the only one, that kept me interesting from begin till end. And it still does!

9. MOTORPSYCHO - Trust Us
Geert Janssens: Trust Us remains their master piece: dirty riffs, screeching solo’s, bass lines that sound like motors and slowly meandering rivers that suddenly rage into the abbys.

10 REFUSED - The Shape of Punk to Come
Kristof Geutjens: the title says it all. An album that inspired me the most as a beginning guitarist. Rhythmic very strong. I almost picked out every song as an idea to work on.

Nice choice guys, click here for the review.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/10/2015


NL

De jonge honden van de Leuvense band BLISSARD trokken wat tijd uit om hun memorable top tien samen te steken. Zowaar een mooi lijstje dat sterk nineties geïnspireerd is. Lees ook de review van hun debuutalbum (http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/blissard-blissard/).

1.Paul Simon – Graceland (1986)
Kristof Geutjens: de plaat werd anno 1986-1987 grijs gedraaid ten huize Geutjens. Als kind meteen door gefascineerd. Qua melodieën de mooiste plaat uit de muziekgeschiedenis.

2.Guns N’ Roses – Use Your Illusion I & II (1991)
Erick de Deyn: het lijkt heden ten dage moeilijk te geloven dat Guns n’ Roses ooit muzikale wereldheersers waren, maar net voor de doorbraak van de grunge waren zij de absolute top. Toen ik na veel zeuren deze fenomenale dubbelaar van mijn ouders op cassette kreeg, verloor ik op slag mijn interesse in Clouseau, MC Hammer en Queen.

3.Nirvana – Nevermind (1991)
Kristof Geutjens: achteraf bekeken zeker niet de grootste muzikale inspiratie, maar voor een twaalfjarige die tot dan toe dacht dat de Top 30 van Radio 2 een realistisch beeld van de muziekscene gaf, opende dit album een nieuwe wereld.

4.Pearl Jam – Ten (1991)
Brecht Tijskens: ik herinner me het Pinkpopfestival, omstreeks 1992, dat telkens uitgezonden werd met Pinksteren. Toen zag ik Pearl Jam voor het eerst en live. Mijn kennismaking met de grungerock klonk me als muziek in de oren.

5.Rage Against the Machine – Rage Against the Machine (1992)
Geert Janssens: deze plaat was een oogopener voor de beginnende gitarist die ik toen was en een van de weinige albums waarvan ik de nummers echt probeerde na te spelen (op mijn Spaanse gitaar, nota bene). Hadden we net geleerd dat we barré- en powerakkoorden nodig hadden om duidelijk te maken dat we boos waren, dan kwam RATM ons eventjes de kracht van de weldoordachte riff uitleggen.

6.Sepultura – Chaos AD (1993)
Brecht Tijskens: dit album is de reden waarom ik wilde beginnen te drummen. Igor Cavalera was mijn held.

7.dEUS – Worst Case Scenario (1994)
Erick de Deyn: net zoals de Velvet Underground, inspireerde dEUS’ onovertroffen debuut het ontstaan van duizend Belgische bandjes. Je hoefde plots niet meer uit Engeland of de VS te komen om goede muziek te kunnen maken.

8.Orbital – In Sides (1996)
Geert Janssens: tot vóór 'In Sides' was elektronica voor mij iets om ofwel je rockmuziek een interessante toets te verlenen, ofwel om feestjes op te vrolijken. Er zouden er later menige volgen, maar het was de eerste puur elektronische plaat die mij van begin tot einde ongelooflijk wist te boeien. Nog steeds trouwens.

9.Motorpsycho – Trust Us (1998)
Geert Janssens: ‘die andere’ van Motorpsycho mag dan misschien mijn kennismaking met de groep geweest zijn, Trust Us blijft voor mij hun onovertroffen meesterwerk. Vuile riffs, gierende solo’s, als motoren ronkende bassen en langzaam meanderende riviertjes die plots met overdonderend geraas in een euforische climax naar beneden storten. Nummers die ook live, telkens in een ander jasje, nooit teleurstellen.

10.Refused – The Shape of Punk to Come (1998)
Kristof Geutjens: d titel zegt het helemaal. De plaat die me het meest geïnspireerd heeft nadat ik ben beginnen gitaar te spelen. Vooral ritmisch ongeëvenaard. Uit quasi elk nummer van die plaat heb ik wel al één of meerdere ideeën gepikt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/10/2015


25/10/2015 : BLISSARD - Ten albums that changed our lives 25/10/2015 : BLISSARD - Ten albums that changed our lives 25/10/2015 : BLISSARD - Ten albums that changed our lives 25/10/2015 : BLISSARD - Ten albums that changed our lives 25/10/2015 : BLISSARD - Ten albums that changed our lives 25/10/2015 : BLISSARD - Ten albums that changed our lives 25/10/2015 : BLISSARD - Ten albums that changed our lives 25/10/2015 : BLISSARD - Ten albums that changed our lives 25/10/2015 : BLISSARD - Ten albums that changed our lives 25/10/2015 : BLISSARD - Ten albums that changed our lives 25/10/2015 : BLISSARD - Ten albums that changed our lives

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day