tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

25/10/2015 : BLISSARD - Ten albums that changed our lives

BLISSARD

Ten albums that changed our lives

Article
25/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The young band BLISSARD from Leuven spend some time to compile their top ten album list. A fine list strongly affected by the nineties.

1. PAUL SIMON - Graceland
Kristof Geutjens: an album that was played day and night at my home anno 1986-1987. As a child I was fascinated by it. The most beautiful record when we speak about beautiful melodies.

2. GUNS ‘N ROSES - Use Your Illusion I & II’
Erick de Deyn:tIt’s now hard to believe that Guns N’ Roses was the world's dominator in those days. Just before the breakthrough of the grunge they were top. After a lot of nagging, I got this phenomenal double cassette from my parents and I lost immediately my interest in bands like Clouseau (Belgian rockband-ed.), MC Hammer or Queen.

3. NIRVANA - Nevermind
Kristof Geutjens: afterwards they weren’t the biggest inspiration, but for a twelve year old chap who thought that the top 30 on Radio 2 was a realistic image of the music scene, this album opened my eyes to a whole new world.

4. PEARL JAM - Ten
Brecht Tijskens: I remember Pinkpop Festival that always was broadcasted on television. Somewhere around 1992, I saw Pearl Jam for the first time. A first introduction with grunge that sound like bells in my ears.

5. RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE - Rage Against the Machine
Geert Janssens: this record was an eye opener for me as a starting guitarist. One of the few albums I really tried to play by myself (and it was on a Spanish guitar, for god sake). We had just learn to play barré and power chords to express our anger and there was Rage Against The Machine with their power of well thought riffs.

6. SEPULTURA - Chaos AD
Brecht Tijskens: this album was the reason for me to drum. Igor Cavalera was my hero.

7. dEUS – Worst Case Scenario
Erick de Deyn: just like The Velvet Underground, dEUS’ magnificent debut inspired thousands of young bands to start playing. Suddently you didn’t have to be from England or America to make good music.

8. ORBITAL - In Sides
Geert Janssens: before that album, electronica was something to cheer up parties or to garnish rock songs. It was the first, but not the only one, that kept me interesting from begin till end. And it still does!

9. MOTORPSYCHO - Trust Us
Geert Janssens: Trust Us remains their master piece: dirty riffs, screeching solo’s, bass lines that sound like motors and slowly meandering rivers that suddenly rage into the abbys.

10 REFUSED - The Shape of Punk to Come
Kristof Geutjens: the title says it all. An album that inspired me the most as a beginning guitarist. Rhythmic very strong. I almost picked out every song as an idea to work on.

Nice choice guys, click here for the review.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/10/2015


NL

De jonge honden van de Leuvense band BLISSARD trokken wat tijd uit om hun memorable top tien samen te steken. Zowaar een mooi lijstje dat sterk nineties geïnspireerd is. Lees ook de review van hun debuutalbum (http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/blissard-blissard/).

1.Paul Simon – Graceland (1986)
Kristof Geutjens: de plaat werd anno 1986-1987 grijs gedraaid ten huize Geutjens. Als kind meteen door gefascineerd. Qua melodieën de mooiste plaat uit de muziekgeschiedenis.

2.Guns N’ Roses – Use Your Illusion I & II (1991)
Erick de Deyn: het lijkt heden ten dage moeilijk te geloven dat Guns n’ Roses ooit muzikale wereldheersers waren, maar net voor de doorbraak van de grunge waren zij de absolute top. Toen ik na veel zeuren deze fenomenale dubbelaar van mijn ouders op cassette kreeg, verloor ik op slag mijn interesse in Clouseau, MC Hammer en Queen.

3.Nirvana – Nevermind (1991)
Kristof Geutjens: achteraf bekeken zeker niet de grootste muzikale inspiratie, maar voor een twaalfjarige die tot dan toe dacht dat de Top 30 van Radio 2 een realistisch beeld van de muziekscene gaf, opende dit album een nieuwe wereld.

4.Pearl Jam – Ten (1991)
Brecht Tijskens: ik herinner me het Pinkpopfestival, omstreeks 1992, dat telkens uitgezonden werd met Pinksteren. Toen zag ik Pearl Jam voor het eerst en live. Mijn kennismaking met de grungerock klonk me als muziek in de oren.

5.Rage Against the Machine – Rage Against the Machine (1992)
Geert Janssens: deze plaat was een oogopener voor de beginnende gitarist die ik toen was en een van de weinige albums waarvan ik de nummers echt probeerde na te spelen (op mijn Spaanse gitaar, nota bene). Hadden we net geleerd dat we barré- en powerakkoorden nodig hadden om duidelijk te maken dat we boos waren, dan kwam RATM ons eventjes de kracht van de weldoordachte riff uitleggen.

6.Sepultura – Chaos AD (1993)
Brecht Tijskens: dit album is de reden waarom ik wilde beginnen te drummen. Igor Cavalera was mijn held.

7.dEUS – Worst Case Scenario (1994)
Erick de Deyn: net zoals de Velvet Underground, inspireerde dEUS’ onovertroffen debuut het ontstaan van duizend Belgische bandjes. Je hoefde plots niet meer uit Engeland of de VS te komen om goede muziek te kunnen maken.

8.Orbital – In Sides (1996)
Geert Janssens: tot vóór 'In Sides' was elektronica voor mij iets om ofwel je rockmuziek een interessante toets te verlenen, ofwel om feestjes op te vrolijken. Er zouden er later menige volgen, maar het was de eerste puur elektronische plaat die mij van begin tot einde ongelooflijk wist te boeien. Nog steeds trouwens.

9.Motorpsycho – Trust Us (1998)
Geert Janssens: ‘die andere’ van Motorpsycho mag dan misschien mijn kennismaking met de groep geweest zijn, Trust Us blijft voor mij hun onovertroffen meesterwerk. Vuile riffs, gierende solo’s, als motoren ronkende bassen en langzaam meanderende riviertjes die plots met overdonderend geraas in een euforische climax naar beneden storten. Nummers die ook live, telkens in een ander jasje, nooit teleurstellen.

10.Refused – The Shape of Punk to Come (1998)
Kristof Geutjens: d titel zegt het helemaal. De plaat die me het meest geïnspireerd heeft nadat ik ben beginnen gitaar te spelen. Vooral ritmisch ongeëvenaard. Uit quasi elk nummer van die plaat heb ik wel al één of meerdere ideeën gepikt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/10/2015


25/10/2015 : BLISSARD - Ten albums that changed our lives 25/10/2015 : BLISSARD - Ten albums that changed our lives 25/10/2015 : BLISSARD - Ten albums that changed our lives 25/10/2015 : BLISSARD - Ten albums that changed our lives 25/10/2015 : BLISSARD - Ten albums that changed our lives 25/10/2015 : BLISSARD - Ten albums that changed our lives 25/10/2015 : BLISSARD - Ten albums that changed our lives 25/10/2015 : BLISSARD - Ten albums that changed our lives 25/10/2015 : BLISSARD - Ten albums that changed our lives 25/10/2015 : BLISSARD - Ten albums that changed our lives 25/10/2015 : BLISSARD - Ten albums that changed our lives

Music reviews

20
04
LUCKY AND LOVE
Transitions
12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts
02
04
FONTAINES D.C
Dogrel
01
04
FRAGRANCE
Now That I'm Real

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 33 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

18
04
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
Dark Skies over Witten V Werkstatt Witten Germany
18
04
AUGER
Dark Skies over Witten V Wekstatt Witten Germany
06
04
PERSEPHONE
@ A Mourning hall concert Gelsenkirchen
24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Gone (Feat. Yvette Winkler)
20
04
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
19
04
GNOSTIC GORRILA
St. Basil's Asylum
18
04
UNDERTHESKIN
Borderline
18
04
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
17
04
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
16
04
ANNI HOGAN
Angels Of Romance (featuring Gavin Friday