tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

23/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Andrew Haigh: 45 Years

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Andrew Haigh: 45 Years

Movie
Drama

[79/100]   

Filmfest Gent
23/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Andrew Haigh is one of the directors about whom critics can’t stop raving. First there was Weekend and then there was the HBO series Looking about trendy gay people. Haigh apparently has something with relationships, because his last film, that was a revelation at the Berlin Film Festival, is also about that subject. We follow a week in the life of Geoff ( Tom Courtenay ) and Kate ( Charlotte Rampling ), who soon will organize a party because they have been married for 45 years. But a letter throws a spanner in the works. Geoff is informed that finally, after decades, the body of his first love has been found. The man can’t take the emotions and the marriage that lasted 45 years, seems a lie.

Rampling and Courtenay were rightly praised for their performances, as 45 Years is indeed a film that stands out for the interpretations. Don’t be scared if you didn’t like Looking, because this drama is wonderfully old fashioned and suitable for a wide audience.

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


NL

Andrew Haigh is één van de regisseurs over wie critici maar niet uitgepraat raken. Eerst was er Weekend en nadien volgde de HBO-reeks Looking over hippe homo’s. Haigh heeft blijkbaar iets met relaties, want zijn laatste film, die een revelatie was op het Filmfestival van Berlijn, gaat erover. We volgen een weekje uit het leven van Geoff (Tom Courtenay) en Kate (Charlotte Rampling), die weldra een feestje organiseren omdat ze 45 jaar getrouwd zijn. Maar een brief gooit roet in het eten. Geoff wordt op de hoogte gebracht van het fei dat men jaren na datum het lichaam van zijn eerste liefde heeft teruggevonden. De man kan de emoties nauwelijks aan en het huwelijk, dat 45 jaar stand heeft gehouden, blijkt één grote leugen te zijn.

Rampling en Courtenay werden terecht gelauwerd voor hun prestaties, want 45 Years is een film die vooral opvalt door de vertolkingen. Laat je vooral niet afschrikken als je Looking maar niks vond, want dit drama is heerlijk ouderwets en geschikt voor een breed publiek. 

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


 

Next reviews
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
NUN • Self Titled
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • The Rorschach Dossier
JOHN BRENTON • AM FM
PROCOL HARUM • Procol Harum
BRUNO BAVOTA • Chamber Concert (Rapertingen/Hasselt, Domein Henegauw, 20/10/2015)
SOLAR FAKE • Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
VANGUARD • I Want To Live
KILLING JOKE • Pylon

 

Other reviews from FILMFEST GHENT 2015
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Kent Jones: Hitchcock/Truffaut
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Hou Hsiao-hsien: The Assassin
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Thomas Bidegain: Les Cowboys

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom