tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

21/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Radu Muntean: One Floor Below

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Radu Muntean: One Floor Below

Movie
Drama

[64/100]   

Filmfest Gent
21/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Those who follow the movie selection from Cannes might have heard the name of the Romanian director Radu Muntean, a filmmaker who is along with Corneliu Porumboiu and Palme d'Or winner Cristian Mungiu (4 Months, 3 Weeks, 2 Days) part of the Romanian New Wave.

These are filmmakers who satirize contemporary society by telling a simple story (if you can call it a story). In One Floor Below it is about the murder of a young girl in an apartment building. Stop thinking that this is the next Agatha Christie, because you’ll hardly learn anything about the murder, let alone that you’ll learn something about the background of the crime.

This movie is more about the question whether Patrascu (Teodor Corban) will inform the police or not, because he knows the killer nad he even has a band with him. During the film some spectators were surprised, many others were sighing as One Floor Below is indeed cinema for a cinephile audience, although its message is universal.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


NL

Wie de filmselectie uit Cannes op de voet volgt, zal beslist al eens de naam van de Roemeense regisseur Radu Muntean hebben gehoord, een cineast die samen met Corneliu Porumboiu en Gouden Palm winnaar Cristian Mungiu (4 Months, 3 Weeks, 2 Days) deel uitmaakt van de Roemeense Nouvelle Vague.

Het zijn cineasten die door het vertellen van een eenvoudig verhaal (als je het al een verhaal kan noemen) de huidige maatschappij hekelen. In One Floor Below gaat het om een moord op een jong meisje in een appartementsgebouw. Berg echter alle Agatha Christie-verwachtingen op, want je verneemt nauwelijks iets over de moord, laat staan dat je iets te weten komt over het motief of de achtergrond van de misdaad.

Deze film gaat meer over de vraag of Patrascu (Teodor Corban) de politie zal inlichten of niet, want hij weet wie de moordenaar is en hij heeft er zelfs een band mee. Tijdens de vertoning kon je duidelijk zien hoe op het einde sommige toeschouwers hun verbazing niet onder stoelen of banken staken, heel wat mensen slaakten een zucht. Want inderdaad, na 90 minuten ben je geen seconde wijzer. One Floor Below is eigenzinnige cinema van de allergrootste soort en louter voor een cinefiel publiek bedoeld, dat alle wetten van conventionele cinema aan z'n laars lapt, ofschoon de boodschap ervan universeel is.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


 

Next reviews
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
DIRK VREYS (THE OBSCURE) • Ten songs by The Cure that changed my life
KANDAHAR • Bo Jeden to Szereg
JEAN-MICHEL JARRE • Electronica 1 Time Machine
SHADOWHOUSE • Hand In Hand
SOFAR • SOFAR
JOACHIM FEST • Speer, The Final Verdict ׀ Speer
KIRSTEN MORRISON • Proserpine’s Gold
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Hou Hsiao-hsien: The Assassin

 

Other reviews from FILMFEST GHENT 2015
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Kent Jones: Hitchcock/Truffaut
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Hou Hsiao-hsien: The Assassin
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Thomas Bidegain: Les Cowboys

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
12
Out Of Line weekender line-up almost complete!
12
12
British enfant terrible Raymond Watts / PIG releases his BLACK MASS EP, covering WHAM!, Elvis Presley and John Lennon!
10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls