tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

21/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Radu Muntean: One Floor Below

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Radu Muntean: One Floor Below

Movie
Drama

[64/100]   

Filmfest Gent
21/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Those who follow the movie selection from Cannes might have heard the name of the Romanian director Radu Muntean, a filmmaker who is along with Corneliu Porumboiu and Palme d'Or winner Cristian Mungiu (4 Months, 3 Weeks, 2 Days) part of the Romanian New Wave.

These are filmmakers who satirize contemporary society by telling a simple story (if you can call it a story). In One Floor Below it is about the murder of a young girl in an apartment building. Stop thinking that this is the next Agatha Christie, because you’ll hardly learn anything about the murder, let alone that you’ll learn something about the background of the crime.

This movie is more about the question whether Patrascu (Teodor Corban) will inform the police or not, because he knows the killer nad he even has a band with him. During the film some spectators were surprised, many others were sighing as One Floor Below is indeed cinema for a cinephile audience, although its message is universal.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


NL

Wie de filmselectie uit Cannes op de voet volgt, zal beslist al eens de naam van de Roemeense regisseur Radu Muntean hebben gehoord, een cineast die samen met Corneliu Porumboiu en Gouden Palm winnaar Cristian Mungiu (4 Months, 3 Weeks, 2 Days) deel uitmaakt van de Roemeense Nouvelle Vague.

Het zijn cineasten die door het vertellen van een eenvoudig verhaal (als je het al een verhaal kan noemen) de huidige maatschappij hekelen. In One Floor Below gaat het om een moord op een jong meisje in een appartementsgebouw. Berg echter alle Agatha Christie-verwachtingen op, want je verneemt nauwelijks iets over de moord, laat staan dat je iets te weten komt over het motief of de achtergrond van de misdaad.

Deze film gaat meer over de vraag of Patrascu (Teodor Corban) de politie zal inlichten of niet, want hij weet wie de moordenaar is en hij heeft er zelfs een band mee. Tijdens de vertoning kon je duidelijk zien hoe op het einde sommige toeschouwers hun verbazing niet onder stoelen of banken staken, heel wat mensen slaakten een zucht. Want inderdaad, na 90 minuten ben je geen seconde wijzer. One Floor Below is eigenzinnige cinema van de allergrootste soort en louter voor een cinefiel publiek bedoeld, dat alle wetten van conventionele cinema aan z'n laars lapt, ofschoon de boodschap ervan universeel is.

Didier BECU
21/10/2015


 

Next reviews
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
DIRK VREYS (THE OBSCURE) • Ten songs by The Cure that changed my life
KANDAHAR • Bo Jeden to Szereg
JEAN-MICHEL JARRE • Electronica 1 Time Machine
SHADOWHOUSE • Hand In Hand
SOFAR • SOFAR
JOACHIM FEST • Speer, The Final Verdict ׀ Speer
KIRSTEN MORRISON • Proserpine’s Gold
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Hou Hsiao-hsien: The Assassin

 

Other reviews from FILMFEST GHENT 2015
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Kent Jones: Hitchcock/Truffaut
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Hou Hsiao-hsien: The Assassin
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Thomas Bidegain: Les Cowboys

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
19
02
Gothic Industrial Band BATAVIA Unveils Remix Album, Batavia And Their Friends

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag
22
02
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth