tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

23/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre

Movie
ComedyDrama

[83/100]   

Filmfest Gent
23/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The Italian Nanni Moretti is a director who is loved by the festival audience. Since he won a Golden Palm with La Stanza del Figlio, new work from this Italian is always eagerly awaited. And again, Mia Madre could convince the critics in Cannes, and probably you too, because believe it or not, this comedy is probably the funniest movie you can see this year.

No, we are not insane because we think a film about a dying mother is hilarious, but that is because the crazed role of John Turturro, who plays an American superstar who travels to Italy to play in an arthouse film. The director (Margherita Buy) is not pleased with the approach of the American, and one incident follows another.

Nanni Moretti (who also plays a role) tries to include a message in his film (life is not eternal), but because of the many antics of Turturro, you hardly notice. That's actually not so bad, because after the difficult films we saw in recent days at the Ghent Film Festival, we were happy to see something light, and Mia Madre is the ideal antidote. Highly recommended.

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


NL

De Italiaan Nanni Moretti is een regisseur die geliefd is bij het festivalpubliek. Sinds hij met het briljante La Stanza del Figlio verdiend een Gouden Palm won, wordt er reikhalzend uitgekeken naar nieuw werk van de man. Mia Madre kon wederom de critici in Cannes overtuigen, en beslist ook u, want geloof het of niet, deze komedie is waarschijnlijk de grappigste film die je dit jaar ziet.

Neen, we zijn niet gestoord omdat wij een film over een stervende moeder hilarisch vinden, maar dat komt wel door de krankzinnige rol van John Turturro, die een Amerikaanse superster speelt die naar Italië afzakt voor een rol in een arthousefilm. De regisseuse (Margherita Buy) is helemaal niet opgezet met de aanpak van de Amerikaan en het ene incident volgt het andere op.

Nanni Moretti (die zelf ook een rol vertolkt) probeert een boodschap in zijn film te steken (het leven is niet eeuwig), maar door de vele grollen van Turturro, merk je daar nog amper iets van. Dat is eigenlijk niet eens zo erg, want na de loodzware films die we de afgelopen dagen op het Filmfestival van Gent zagen, hadden we echt wel zin in iets luchtigs, en Mia Madre bleek daar het ideale antigif voor te zijn. Aanrader. 

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


 

Next reviews
NUN • Self Titled
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • The Rorschach Dossier
JOHN BRENTON • AM FM
PROCOL HARUM • Procol Harum
BRUNO BAVOTA • Chamber Concert (Rapertingen/Hasselt, Domein Henegauw, 20/10/2015)
SOLAR FAKE • Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
VANGUARD • I Want To Live
KILLING JOKE • Pylon
MATS GUSTAFSSON • Piano Mating
NORMIL HAWAIIANS • Return of the Ranters

 

Other reviews from FILMFEST GHENT 2015
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Kent Jones: Hitchcock/Truffaut
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Hou Hsiao-hsien: The Assassin
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs

 

Same combination of genres: COMEDY + DRAMA
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
MARCO FERRERI • La Grande Bouffe
MARC FORSTER • Stranger Than Fiction
CLAUDE SAUTET • Garçon
ANTONY BURNS • Home Sweet Hell
• SILICON VALLEY SEASON 1
PAOLO VIRZI • Il Capitale Umano
THOMAS CAILLEY • Les Combattants
EMMA DANTE • Una Via A Palermo
MATTHEW WARCHUS • Pride

 

Same genre: COMEDY
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Julian Jarrold: A Royal Night Out
JEFF BAENA • Life After Beth
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
JEAN-PAUL RAPPENEAU • Tout Feu, Tout Flamme
MAX LANDIS • American Ultra
ROY ANDERSSON • A Pigeon Sat On A Branch Reflecting On Existence
PHILIPPE LE GUAY • Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage
EDOUARD MOLINARO • Le Téléphone Rose
MARJANE SATRAPI • The Voices

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Thomas Bidegain: Les Cowboys
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators

Music reviews

19
01
MESH
Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
OMD, MIDGE URE and more confirmed at XIV. AMPHI FESTIVAL 2018
17
01
no:carrier drops 'Lovesong' video, a cover of The Cure hit in collaboration with Mills and Nadia S.
31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
01
IN DEATH IT ENDS
Pomba Gira
18
01
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
17
01
WOUTER DEWIT
La durée. - Strings Version
16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury