tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

23/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre

Movie
ComedyDrama

[83/100]   

Filmfest Gent
23/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The Italian Nanni Moretti is a director who is loved by the festival audience. Since he won a Golden Palm with La Stanza del Figlio, new work from this Italian is always eagerly awaited. And again, Mia Madre could convince the critics in Cannes, and probably you too, because believe it or not, this comedy is probably the funniest movie you can see this year.

No, we are not insane because we think a film about a dying mother is hilarious, but that is because the crazed role of John Turturro, who plays an American superstar who travels to Italy to play in an arthouse film. The director (Margherita Buy) is not pleased with the approach of the American, and one incident follows another.

Nanni Moretti (who also plays a role) tries to include a message in his film (life is not eternal), but because of the many antics of Turturro, you hardly notice. That's actually not so bad, because after the difficult films we saw in recent days at the Ghent Film Festival, we were happy to see something light, and Mia Madre is the ideal antidote. Highly recommended.

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


NL

De Italiaan Nanni Moretti is een regisseur die geliefd is bij het festivalpubliek. Sinds hij met het briljante La Stanza del Figlio verdiend een Gouden Palm won, wordt er reikhalzend uitgekeken naar nieuw werk van de man. Mia Madre kon wederom de critici in Cannes overtuigen, en beslist ook u, want geloof het of niet, deze komedie is waarschijnlijk de grappigste film die je dit jaar ziet.

Neen, we zijn niet gestoord omdat wij een film over een stervende moeder hilarisch vinden, maar dat komt wel door de krankzinnige rol van John Turturro, die een Amerikaanse superster speelt die naar Italië afzakt voor een rol in een arthousefilm. De regisseuse (Margherita Buy) is helemaal niet opgezet met de aanpak van de Amerikaan en het ene incident volgt het andere op.

Nanni Moretti (die zelf ook een rol vertolkt) probeert een boodschap in zijn film te steken (het leven is niet eeuwig), maar door de vele grollen van Turturro, merk je daar nog amper iets van. Dat is eigenlijk niet eens zo erg, want na de loodzware films die we de afgelopen dagen op het Filmfestival van Gent zagen, hadden we echt wel zin in iets luchtigs, en Mia Madre bleek daar het ideale antigif voor te zijn. Aanrader. 

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


 

Next reviews
NUN • Self Titled
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • The Rorschach Dossier
JOHN BRENTON • AM FM
PROCOL HARUM • Procol Harum
BRUNO BAVOTA • Chamber Concert (Rapertingen/Hasselt, Domein Henegauw, 20/10/2015)
SOLAR FAKE • Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
VANGUARD • I Want To Live
KILLING JOKE • Pylon
MATS GUSTAFSSON • Piano Mating
NORMIL HAWAIIANS • Return of the Ranters

 

Other reviews from FILMFEST GHENT 2015
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Kent Jones: Hitchcock/Truffaut
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Hou Hsiao-hsien: The Assassin
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs

 

Same combination of genres: COMEDY + DRAMA
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
MARCO FERRERI • La Grande Bouffe
MARC FORSTER • Stranger Than Fiction
CLAUDE SAUTET • Garçon
ANTONY BURNS • Home Sweet Hell
• SILICON VALLEY SEASON 1
PAOLO VIRZI • Il Capitale Umano
THOMAS CAILLEY • Les Combattants
EMMA DANTE • Una Via A Palermo
MATTHEW WARCHUS • Pride

 

Same genre: COMEDY
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Julian Jarrold: A Royal Night Out
JEFF BAENA • Life After Beth
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
JEAN-PAUL RAPPENEAU • Tout Feu, Tout Flamme
MAX LANDIS • American Ultra
ROY ANDERSSON • A Pigeon Sat On A Branch Reflecting On Existence
PHILIPPE LE GUAY • Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage
EDOUARD MOLINARO • Le Téléphone Rose
MARJANE SATRAPI • The Voices

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Thomas Bidegain: Les Cowboys
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators

Music reviews

16
11
DAVID J
Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
15
11
KLANGWELT
The Incident
14
11
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE
Resin EP
13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos
11
11
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Juju

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
11
Rise Of The Robots | Autobahn Reaches 44-Years
16
11
Varsovie present brand new video clip, Killing Anna!
13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!
10
11
Today it's 32 years since Kraftwerk release Electric Café!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
11
RUSSIAN DARK COMMUNITY
New groups are always good, it is better to discover something new than to listen to what is already advertised on every site for the hundredth time.
13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '
08
11
THE HEARTBREAKERS, THE WALDOS
'Being in a band is a way of life!'

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
To Replace My Sadness (preview 2016)
16
11
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
15
11
SRSQ
Permission
14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
12
11
PALAIS IDEAL
Context Collapse (official video)