tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

23/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre

Movie
ComedyDrama

[83/100]   

Filmfest Gent
23/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The Italian Nanni Moretti is a director who is loved by the festival audience. Since he won a Golden Palm with La Stanza del Figlio, new work from this Italian is always eagerly awaited. And again, Mia Madre could convince the critics in Cannes, and probably you too, because believe it or not, this comedy is probably the funniest movie you can see this year.

No, we are not insane because we think a film about a dying mother is hilarious, but that is because the crazed role of John Turturro, who plays an American superstar who travels to Italy to play in an arthouse film. The director (Margherita Buy) is not pleased with the approach of the American, and one incident follows another.

Nanni Moretti (who also plays a role) tries to include a message in his film (life is not eternal), but because of the many antics of Turturro, you hardly notice. That's actually not so bad, because after the difficult films we saw in recent days at the Ghent Film Festival, we were happy to see something light, and Mia Madre is the ideal antidote. Highly recommended.

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


NL

De Italiaan Nanni Moretti is een regisseur die geliefd is bij het festivalpubliek. Sinds hij met het briljante La Stanza del Figlio verdiend een Gouden Palm won, wordt er reikhalzend uitgekeken naar nieuw werk van de man. Mia Madre kon wederom de critici in Cannes overtuigen, en beslist ook u, want geloof het of niet, deze komedie is waarschijnlijk de grappigste film die je dit jaar ziet.

Neen, we zijn niet gestoord omdat wij een film over een stervende moeder hilarisch vinden, maar dat komt wel door de krankzinnige rol van John Turturro, die een Amerikaanse superster speelt die naar Italië afzakt voor een rol in een arthousefilm. De regisseuse (Margherita Buy) is helemaal niet opgezet met de aanpak van de Amerikaan en het ene incident volgt het andere op.

Nanni Moretti (die zelf ook een rol vertolkt) probeert een boodschap in zijn film te steken (het leven is niet eeuwig), maar door de vele grollen van Turturro, merk je daar nog amper iets van. Dat is eigenlijk niet eens zo erg, want na de loodzware films die we de afgelopen dagen op het Filmfestival van Gent zagen, hadden we echt wel zin in iets luchtigs, en Mia Madre bleek daar het ideale antigif voor te zijn. Aanrader. 

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


 

Next reviews
NUN • Self Titled
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • The Rorschach Dossier
JOHN BRENTON • AM FM
PROCOL HARUM • Procol Harum
BRUNO BAVOTA • Chamber Concert (Rapertingen/Hasselt, Domein Henegauw, 20/10/2015)
SOLAR FAKE • Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
VANGUARD • I Want To Live
KILLING JOKE • Pylon
MATS GUSTAFSSON • Piano Mating
NORMIL HAWAIIANS • Return of the Ranters

 

Other reviews from FILMFEST GHENT 2015
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Kent Jones: Hitchcock/Truffaut
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Hou Hsiao-hsien: The Assassin
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs

 

Same combination of genres: COMEDY + DRAMA
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
MARCO FERRERI • La Grande Bouffe
MARC FORSTER • Stranger Than Fiction
CLAUDE SAUTET • Garçon
ANTONY BURNS • Home Sweet Hell
• SILICON VALLEY SEASON 1
PAOLO VIRZI • Il Capitale Umano
THOMAS CAILLEY • Les Combattants
EMMA DANTE • Una Via A Palermo
MATTHEW WARCHUS • Pride

 

Same genre: COMEDY
A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM • A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Julian Jarrold: A Royal Night Out
JEFF BAENA • Life After Beth
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
JEAN-PAUL RAPPENEAU • Tout Feu, Tout Flamme
MAX LANDIS • American Ultra
ROY ANDERSSON • A Pigeon Sat On A Branch Reflecting On Existence
PHILIPPE LE GUAY • Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage
EDOUARD MOLINARO • Le Téléphone Rose

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Thomas Bidegain: Les Cowboys
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)