tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

23/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre

Movie
ComedyDrama

[83/100]   

Filmfest Gent
23/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The Italian Nanni Moretti is a director who is loved by the festival audience. Since he won a Golden Palm with La Stanza del Figlio, new work from this Italian is always eagerly awaited. And again, Mia Madre could convince the critics in Cannes, and probably you too, because believe it or not, this comedy is probably the funniest movie you can see this year.

No, we are not insane because we think a film about a dying mother is hilarious, but that is because the crazed role of John Turturro, who plays an American superstar who travels to Italy to play in an arthouse film. The director (Margherita Buy) is not pleased with the approach of the American, and one incident follows another.

Nanni Moretti (who also plays a role) tries to include a message in his film (life is not eternal), but because of the many antics of Turturro, you hardly notice. That's actually not so bad, because after the difficult films we saw in recent days at the Ghent Film Festival, we were happy to see something light, and Mia Madre is the ideal antidote. Highly recommended.

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


NL

De Italiaan Nanni Moretti is een regisseur die geliefd is bij het festivalpubliek. Sinds hij met het briljante La Stanza del Figlio verdiend een Gouden Palm won, wordt er reikhalzend uitgekeken naar nieuw werk van de man. Mia Madre kon wederom de critici in Cannes overtuigen, en beslist ook u, want geloof het of niet, deze komedie is waarschijnlijk de grappigste film die je dit jaar ziet.

Neen, we zijn niet gestoord omdat wij een film over een stervende moeder hilarisch vinden, maar dat komt wel door de krankzinnige rol van John Turturro, die een Amerikaanse superster speelt die naar Italië afzakt voor een rol in een arthousefilm. De regisseuse (Margherita Buy) is helemaal niet opgezet met de aanpak van de Amerikaan en het ene incident volgt het andere op.

Nanni Moretti (die zelf ook een rol vertolkt) probeert een boodschap in zijn film te steken (het leven is niet eeuwig), maar door de vele grollen van Turturro, merk je daar nog amper iets van. Dat is eigenlijk niet eens zo erg, want na de loodzware films die we de afgelopen dagen op het Filmfestival van Gent zagen, hadden we echt wel zin in iets luchtigs, en Mia Madre bleek daar het ideale antigif voor te zijn. Aanrader. 

Didier BECU
23/10/2015


 

Next reviews
NUN • Self Titled
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • The Rorschach Dossier
JOHN BRENTON • AM FM
PROCOL HARUM • Procol Harum
BRUNO BAVOTA • Chamber Concert (Rapertingen/Hasselt, Domein Henegauw, 20/10/2015)
SOLAR FAKE • Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
VANGUARD • I Want To Live
KILLING JOKE • Pylon
MATS GUSTAFSSON • Piano Mating
NORMIL HAWAIIANS • Return of the Ranters

 

Other reviews from FILMFEST GHENT 2015
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Kent Jones: Hitchcock/Truffaut
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Hou Hsiao-hsien: The Assassin
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs

 

Same combination of genres: COMEDY + DRAMA
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
MARCO FERRERI • La Grande Bouffe
MARC FORSTER • Stranger Than Fiction
CLAUDE SAUTET • Garçon
ANTONY BURNS • Home Sweet Hell
• SILICON VALLEY SEASON 1
PAOLO VIRZI • Il Capitale Umano
THOMAS CAILLEY • Les Combattants
EMMA DANTE • Una Via A Palermo
MATTHEW WARCHUS • Pride

 

Same genre: COMEDY
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Julian Jarrold: A Royal Night Out
JEFF BAENA • Life After Beth
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
JEAN-PAUL RAPPENEAU • Tout Feu, Tout Flamme
MAX LANDIS • American Ultra
ROY ANDERSSON • A Pigeon Sat On A Branch Reflecting On Existence
PHILIPPE LE GUAY • Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage
EDOUARD MOLINARO • Le Téléphone Rose
MARJANE SATRAPI • The Voices

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Thomas Bidegain: Les Cowboys
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators

Music reviews

16
11
STAATSEINDE
Neue Zyklus
11
11
AM TIERPARK
Trashy Luxury
08
11
BOY HARSHER
Country Girl
07
11
OUR BANSHEE
4200
06
11
IMPLANT
The Phone Call (EP)
04
11
SEESAYLE
Stamina

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
11
Then Comes Silence kick off tour today!
11
11
MORTIIS has reissued 'Ånden som Gjorde Opprør', 'Keiser av en Dimensjon Ukjent' and “Født til å Herske” (LP/CD/digital)
08
11
Blutengel releases new video and album 'Black'.
04
11
New band confirmations for the Out Of Line Weekender in Berlin!
02
11
Line-up International EBM Day @ De Casino, St-Niklaas (B) complete!
29
10
New album of FUTURE FUNK SQUAD

Concert reviews

10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’
19
10
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
'When you see that some chords that you have composed become a song, it's a very special feeling.'

PHOTOS

19
11
TINY MAGNETIC PETS
G Live, Guildrofrd, UK
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
G Live, Guildrofrd, UK
13
11
RED ZEBRA
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
THE BOLLOCK BROTHERS
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
STRUGGLER
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
DONDER, HEL & HAGEL
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

19
11
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
18
11
MIIKE SNOW
Genghis Khan
17
11
ELVYA DULCIMER
Gover Si Vena
16
11
GRANDBROTHERS
From A Distance
15
11
THE TEA PARTY
Temptation
14
11
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
14
11
NO MORE
Suicide Commando (Official 1981 video & version)