tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth

JEFF BAENA

Life After Beth

Movie
ComedyHorror
Universal Pictures
08/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

If you are not sick of the unstoppable train of zombie movies, then perhaps you can add Life After Beth by Jeff Baena to that list. This director does nothing new, on the contrary, but if you think it’s okay to switch off your brains during 90 minutes then this horror comedy is actually funny to watch.

Zack (Dane DeHaan) is a nice guy who wants to do everything for his sweetheart Beth (Aubrey Plaza), but unfortunately a fatal snakebite ends their happy situation. Zack can’t accept this. But, what happens after a while? Beth comes back as a zombie. Her parents want to keep this a secret, but for Zack this is not a problem: Beth stays the love of his life, even if she stinks out of her mouth and acts anything but normal.

It seems indeed like nonsense as Charmed or The Vampire Diaries, but Life After Beth is much better and this is largely the merit of the cast who are acting excellent. Besides the two lovers, we also see the always great John C. Reilly as Beth's father and there is even a small role for Anna Kendrick, and the latter is of course reason enough to see this movie!

 

 

Didier BECU
08/09/2015


NL

Indien je ondertussen nog niet misselijk bent geworden van de niet te stoppen vloed van zombiefilms, dan kan daar misschien Life After Beth van Jeff Baena nog bij.. Deze regisseur doet niks nieuws, integendeel, maar als je er niets op tegen hebt om anderhalf uur je hersenen uit te schakelen dan is deze horrorkomedie best leuk.

Zack (Dane DeHaan) is een brave kerel die alles voor zijn liefje Beth (Aubrey Plaza) wil doen, maar helaas beslist een slangenbeet anders over hun geluk. Beth sterft, en Zack kan dit maar niet aanvaarden. Maar wat blijkt achter een tijdje? Beth is teruggekomen als zombie. Haar ouders willen dit natuurlijk geheim houden, maar voor Zack is er geen vuiltje aan de lucht: Beth blijft zijn liefje, ook al stinkt ze uit haar bek en is ze allesbehalve normaal.

Het lijkt inderdaad veel op onzin zoals Charmed of The Vampire Diaries, toch scoort Life After Beth heel wat hoger op de lader en dat is grotendeels de verdienste van de cast die knap acteerwerk aflevert. Naast het verliefde koppeltje, zien we ook nog de altijd fantastische John C. Reilly als Beths vader en er is zelfs een klein rolletje voor Anna Kendrick, en dat laatste is eigenlijk al reden genoeg om deze film te bekijken!

 

 

Didier BECU
08/09/2015


08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth

Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'
07
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Goethes Erben: Strangely enough, those who cry the loudest are not those who drown during their flight
01
02
WAYNE HUSSEY
'I think for every action there is a reaction.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid