tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth

JEFF BAENA

Life After Beth

Movie
ComedyHorror
Universal Pictures
08/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

If you are not sick of the unstoppable train of zombie movies, then perhaps you can add Life After Beth by Jeff Baena to that list. This director does nothing new, on the contrary, but if you think it’s okay to switch off your brains during 90 minutes then this horror comedy is actually funny to watch.

Zack (Dane DeHaan) is a nice guy who wants to do everything for his sweetheart Beth (Aubrey Plaza), but unfortunately a fatal snakebite ends their happy situation. Zack can’t accept this. But, what happens after a while? Beth comes back as a zombie. Her parents want to keep this a secret, but for Zack this is not a problem: Beth stays the love of his life, even if she stinks out of her mouth and acts anything but normal.

It seems indeed like nonsense as Charmed or The Vampire Diaries, but Life After Beth is much better and this is largely the merit of the cast who are acting excellent. Besides the two lovers, we also see the always great John C. Reilly as Beth's father and there is even a small role for Anna Kendrick, and the latter is of course reason enough to see this movie!

 

 

Didier BECU
08/09/2015


NL

Indien je ondertussen nog niet misselijk bent geworden van de niet te stoppen vloed van zombiefilms, dan kan daar misschien Life After Beth van Jeff Baena nog bij.. Deze regisseur doet niks nieuws, integendeel, maar als je er niets op tegen hebt om anderhalf uur je hersenen uit te schakelen dan is deze horrorkomedie best leuk.

Zack (Dane DeHaan) is een brave kerel die alles voor zijn liefje Beth (Aubrey Plaza) wil doen, maar helaas beslist een slangenbeet anders over hun geluk. Beth sterft, en Zack kan dit maar niet aanvaarden. Maar wat blijkt achter een tijdje? Beth is teruggekomen als zombie. Haar ouders willen dit natuurlijk geheim houden, maar voor Zack is er geen vuiltje aan de lucht: Beth blijft zijn liefje, ook al stinkt ze uit haar bek en is ze allesbehalve normaal.

Het lijkt inderdaad veel op onzin zoals Charmed of The Vampire Diaries, toch scoort Life After Beth heel wat hoger op de lader en dat is grotendeels de verdienste van de cast die knap acteerwerk aflevert. Naast het verliefde koppeltje, zien we ook nog de altijd fantastische John C. Reilly als Beths vader en er is zelfs een klein rolletje voor Anna Kendrick, en dat laatste is eigenlijk al reden genoeg om deze film te bekijken!

 

 

Didier BECU
08/09/2015


08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap