tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth

JEFF BAENA

Life After Beth

Movie
ComedyHorror
Universal Pictures
08/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

If you are not sick of the unstoppable train of zombie movies, then perhaps you can add Life After Beth by Jeff Baena to that list. This director does nothing new, on the contrary, but if you think it’s okay to switch off your brains during 90 minutes then this horror comedy is actually funny to watch.

Zack (Dane DeHaan) is a nice guy who wants to do everything for his sweetheart Beth (Aubrey Plaza), but unfortunately a fatal snakebite ends their happy situation. Zack can’t accept this. But, what happens after a while? Beth comes back as a zombie. Her parents want to keep this a secret, but for Zack this is not a problem: Beth stays the love of his life, even if she stinks out of her mouth and acts anything but normal.

It seems indeed like nonsense as Charmed or The Vampire Diaries, but Life After Beth is much better and this is largely the merit of the cast who are acting excellent. Besides the two lovers, we also see the always great John C. Reilly as Beth's father and there is even a small role for Anna Kendrick, and the latter is of course reason enough to see this movie!

 

 

Didier BECU
08/09/2015


NL

Indien je ondertussen nog niet misselijk bent geworden van de niet te stoppen vloed van zombiefilms, dan kan daar misschien Life After Beth van Jeff Baena nog bij.. Deze regisseur doet niks nieuws, integendeel, maar als je er niets op tegen hebt om anderhalf uur je hersenen uit te schakelen dan is deze horrorkomedie best leuk.

Zack (Dane DeHaan) is een brave kerel die alles voor zijn liefje Beth (Aubrey Plaza) wil doen, maar helaas beslist een slangenbeet anders over hun geluk. Beth sterft, en Zack kan dit maar niet aanvaarden. Maar wat blijkt achter een tijdje? Beth is teruggekomen als zombie. Haar ouders willen dit natuurlijk geheim houden, maar voor Zack is er geen vuiltje aan de lucht: Beth blijft zijn liefje, ook al stinkt ze uit haar bek en is ze allesbehalve normaal.

Het lijkt inderdaad veel op onzin zoals Charmed of The Vampire Diaries, toch scoort Life After Beth heel wat hoger op de lader en dat is grotendeels de verdienste van de cast die knap acteerwerk aflevert. Naast het verliefde koppeltje, zien we ook nog de altijd fantastische John C. Reilly als Beths vader en er is zelfs een klein rolletje voor Anna Kendrick, en dat laatste is eigenlijk al reden genoeg om deze film te bekijken!

 

 

Didier BECU
08/09/2015


08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom