tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth

JEFF BAENA

Life After Beth

Movie
ComedyHorror
Universal Pictures
08/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

If you are not sick of the unstoppable train of zombie movies, then perhaps you can add Life After Beth by Jeff Baena to that list. This director does nothing new, on the contrary, but if you think it’s okay to switch off your brains during 90 minutes then this horror comedy is actually funny to watch.

Zack (Dane DeHaan) is a nice guy who wants to do everything for his sweetheart Beth (Aubrey Plaza), but unfortunately a fatal snakebite ends their happy situation. Zack can’t accept this. But, what happens after a while? Beth comes back as a zombie. Her parents want to keep this a secret, but for Zack this is not a problem: Beth stays the love of his life, even if she stinks out of her mouth and acts anything but normal.

It seems indeed like nonsense as Charmed or The Vampire Diaries, but Life After Beth is much better and this is largely the merit of the cast who are acting excellent. Besides the two lovers, we also see the always great John C. Reilly as Beth's father and there is even a small role for Anna Kendrick, and the latter is of course reason enough to see this movie!

 

 

Didier BECU
08/09/2015


NL

Indien je ondertussen nog niet misselijk bent geworden van de niet te stoppen vloed van zombiefilms, dan kan daar misschien Life After Beth van Jeff Baena nog bij.. Deze regisseur doet niks nieuws, integendeel, maar als je er niets op tegen hebt om anderhalf uur je hersenen uit te schakelen dan is deze horrorkomedie best leuk.

Zack (Dane DeHaan) is een brave kerel die alles voor zijn liefje Beth (Aubrey Plaza) wil doen, maar helaas beslist een slangenbeet anders over hun geluk. Beth sterft, en Zack kan dit maar niet aanvaarden. Maar wat blijkt achter een tijdje? Beth is teruggekomen als zombie. Haar ouders willen dit natuurlijk geheim houden, maar voor Zack is er geen vuiltje aan de lucht: Beth blijft zijn liefje, ook al stinkt ze uit haar bek en is ze allesbehalve normaal.

Het lijkt inderdaad veel op onzin zoals Charmed of The Vampire Diaries, toch scoort Life After Beth heel wat hoger op de lader en dat is grotendeels de verdienste van de cast die knap acteerwerk aflevert. Naast het verliefde koppeltje, zien we ook nog de altijd fantastische John C. Reilly als Beths vader en er is zelfs een klein rolletje voor Anna Kendrick, en dat laatste is eigenlijk al reden genoeg om deze film te bekijken!

 

 

Didier BECU
08/09/2015


08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth 08/09/2015 : JEFF BAENA - Life After Beth

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her 39
02
07
New album from Xenturion Prime on Progress Productions
01
07
Legendary Goth Club ‘The Church’ Featured In Documentary Film
01
07
41 years of Incontinent by Fad Gadget!
30
06
Luscious Apparatus Addresses Rage Control With New Single
29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

03
07
WARDRUNA NORDIC LIGHT
Amphitheater Gelsenkirchen
30
06
AROMA DI AMORE
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
THE STRANGLERS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
STABBING WESTWARD
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
NOSFERATU
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
AESTHETIC PERFACTION
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
07
SPIRITUAL FRONT
Tenderness Through Violence
02
07
KATE BUSH
And Dream of Sheep
01
07
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)