tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook

JENNIFER KENT

The Babadook

Movie
Horror

[77/100]   

A-Film
18/06/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Words like “the best horror picture of the year” aren’t surprising at all as you can read them on the cover of every horror pic. It becomes completely different when those words are spoken by William Friedkin, who made the best horror movie of all time with The Exorcist. On Twitter the director cited that he never saw something as scary as The Babadook. Even if the movie got no regular screening in most countries, you can’t say director Jennifer Kent has any reason to complain. The film is already a cult movie and connoisseurs like Kim Newman are hyping the film on such a high scale that you tend to believe that The Babadook is indeed the best movie since long.

Big words indeed, but The Babadook is made in such a good way and the acting is so great, that the movie paralyzes you from the first till the last minute. Amelia (Essie Davis) doesn’t have exactly the easiest life. On the day her son was born, her spouse was killed in a car accident. She’s all alone to raise Samuel (Noah Wiseman) and that isn’t easy. The little kid reacts very strange and aggressive. When something is refused to him, he simply starts doing things a normal kid wouldn’t do like throwing his young niece out of the cabin tree. Because of his disturbed attitude, the boy is alienated and lives in his own imaginary (dark) world. Everything gets worse when he discovers an old children book named The Babadook in the attic. Anyone who dares to say the words Baba Dook Dook will eventually die.

Jennifer Kent immediately washed away all the clichés that are usually typical for the horror genre. She bought all the copy rights in order to avoid sequels. The blood sequences are quite rare, and there isn’t a CGI-monster in sight. Instead she gets her inspiration from the German expressionists of the silent movie area. With the use of minimal sounds and a genius shadow play, Kent gives you the creeps. And of course there are those performances from both the mother and the child too. We do not think you'll see a boy so scary as Noah Wiseman very often!

The Babadook is a must for everyone. Just don’t complain afterwards that you couldn't sleep. The movie is now out on DVD and Blu-ray ( A-Film).

Didier BECU
18/06/2015


NL

De slagzin “horrorhit van het jaar” kan je eigenlijk op iedere kaft van een bibberprent lezen, maar als het de woorden zijn van William Friedkin, dan wordt dat heel wat anders. Meer zelfs, de regisseur van de allergrootste horrorprent (The Exorcist) schreef via een Twitter-bericht dat The Babadook de meest angstaanjagende film is die hij in jaren zag. Ook al heeft de film in de meeste landen geen bioscooprelease gekregen, mag regisseuse Jennifer Kent allesbehalve klagen. De film is nu al gebrandmerkt als een onsterfelijke cultfilm en horrorkenners zoals Kim Newman hemelen de film zodanig op dat je bijna gaat geloven dat The Babadook inderdaad de beste griezelprent sinds jaren is.

Het zijn grote woorden, maar The Babadook zit zo goed in elkaar en er wordt zo goed geacteerd, dat de film je van de eerste tot de laatste minuut in de ban houdt. Moeder Amelia (Essie Davis) heeft het allesbehalve gemakkelijk. Op de dag dat haar man haar naar een ziekenhuis bracht om te bevallen werd hun wagen geramd waardoor haar echtgenoot stierf. Ze staat er alleen voor om haar kleine bengel Samuel (Noah Wiseman) op te voeden, maar dat is niet meteen de meest vanzelfsprekende taak. Door zijn gedragsstoornis wordt Samuel door iedereen geschuwd. Het jongentje wil steeds zijn zin krijgen, en als dat niet zo is, dan vindt hij het geen probleem om bijv. zijn kleine nichtje genadeloos uit de boomhut te gooien. Alles wordt nog erger als hij op zolder een oud kinderboek vindt over een wezen dat zich de Babadook noemt. Eens je de woorden Baba Dook Dook uitspreekt, is er geen ontkomen aan, je zal sterven!

Jennifer Kent heeft meteen brandhout gemaakt van alle clichés die zo typisch voor het horrorgenre zijn. Zo heeft ze alle rechten opgekocht om er zeker van te zijn dat er geen sequels zullen worden gemaakt. Je ziet ook weinig bloed, alles wordt gesuggereerd met geluiden en schaduwbeelden, haar grote voorbeelden zijn immers niet voor niets de Duitse expressionisten uit de stille film. Er is ook geen CGI-monster te bespeuren, maar geloof ons: schrikken zal je! En dan zijn er natuurlijk de uitmuntende vertolkingen van moeder en kind, zelden zag je zo’n angstaanjagend ventje als Noah Wiseman!

The Babadook is een must voor iedereen. Wel achteraf niet komen klagen dat je niet kon slapen. De film is nu uit op dvd en Blu-ray via A-Film.

Didier BECU
18/06/2015


18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook 18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook 18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook 18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook 18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook 18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook 18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook 18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook 18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook 18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook 18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook 18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook 18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook 18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook 18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook 18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook

Music reviews

20
04
LUCKY AND LOVE
Transitions
12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts
02
04
FONTAINES D.C
Dogrel
01
04
FRAGRANCE
Now That I'm Real

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 33 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

18
04
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
Dark Skies over Witten V Werkstatt Witten Germany
18
04
AUGER
Dark Skies over Witten V Wekstatt Witten Germany
06
04
PERSEPHONE
@ A Mourning hall concert Gelsenkirchen
24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Gone (Feat. Yvette Winkler)
20
04
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
19
04
GNOSTIC GORRILA
St. Basil's Asylum
18
04
UNDERTHESKIN
Borderline
18
04
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
17
04
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
16
04
ANNI HOGAN
Angels Of Romance (featuring Gavin Friday