tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook

JENNIFER KENT

The Babadook

Movie
Horror

[77/100]   

A-Film
18/06/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Words like “the best horror picture of the year” aren’t surprising at all as you can read them on the cover of every horror pic. It becomes completely different when those words are spoken by William Friedkin, who made the best horror movie of all time with The Exorcist. On Twitter the director cited that he never saw something as scary as The Babadook. Even if the movie got no regular screening in most countries, you can’t say director Jennifer Kent has any reason to complain. The film is already a cult movie and connoisseurs like Kim Newman are hyping the film on such a high scale that you tend to believe that The Babadook is indeed the best movie since long.

Big words indeed, but The Babadook is made in such a good way and the acting is so great, that the movie paralyzes you from the first till the last minute. Amelia (Essie Davis) doesn’t have exactly the easiest life. On the day her son was born, her spouse was killed in a car accident. She’s all alone to raise Samuel (Noah Wiseman) and that isn’t easy. The little kid reacts very strange and aggressive. When something is refused to him, he simply starts doing things a normal kid wouldn’t do like throwing his young niece out of the cabin tree. Because of his disturbed attitude, the boy is alienated and lives in his own imaginary (dark) world. Everything gets worse when he discovers an old children book named The Babadook in the attic. Anyone who dares to say the words Baba Dook Dook will eventually die.

Jennifer Kent immediately washed away all the clichés that are usually typical for the horror genre. She bought all the copy rights in order to avoid sequels. The blood sequences are quite rare, and there isn’t a CGI-monster in sight. Instead she gets her inspiration from the German expressionists of the silent movie area. With the use of minimal sounds and a genius shadow play, Kent gives you the creeps. And of course there are those performances from both the mother and the child too. We do not think you'll see a boy so scary as Noah Wiseman very often!

The Babadook is a must for everyone. Just don’t complain afterwards that you couldn't sleep. The movie is now out on DVD and Blu-ray ( A-Film).

Didier BECU
18/06/2015


NL

De slagzin “horrorhit van het jaar” kan je eigenlijk op iedere kaft van een bibberprent lezen, maar als het de woorden zijn van William Friedkin, dan wordt dat heel wat anders. Meer zelfs, de regisseur van de allergrootste horrorprent (The Exorcist) schreef via een Twitter-bericht dat The Babadook de meest angstaanjagende film is die hij in jaren zag. Ook al heeft de film in de meeste landen geen bioscooprelease gekregen, mag regisseuse Jennifer Kent allesbehalve klagen. De film is nu al gebrandmerkt als een onsterfelijke cultfilm en horrorkenners zoals Kim Newman hemelen de film zodanig op dat je bijna gaat geloven dat The Babadook inderdaad de beste griezelprent sinds jaren is.

Het zijn grote woorden, maar The Babadook zit zo goed in elkaar en er wordt zo goed geacteerd, dat de film je van de eerste tot de laatste minuut in de ban houdt. Moeder Amelia (Essie Davis) heeft het allesbehalve gemakkelijk. Op de dag dat haar man haar naar een ziekenhuis bracht om te bevallen werd hun wagen geramd waardoor haar echtgenoot stierf. Ze staat er alleen voor om haar kleine bengel Samuel (Noah Wiseman) op te voeden, maar dat is niet meteen de meest vanzelfsprekende taak. Door zijn gedragsstoornis wordt Samuel door iedereen geschuwd. Het jongentje wil steeds zijn zin krijgen, en als dat niet zo is, dan vindt hij het geen probleem om bijv. zijn kleine nichtje genadeloos uit de boomhut te gooien. Alles wordt nog erger als hij op zolder een oud kinderboek vindt over een wezen dat zich de Babadook noemt. Eens je de woorden Baba Dook Dook uitspreekt, is er geen ontkomen aan, je zal sterven!

Jennifer Kent heeft meteen brandhout gemaakt van alle clichés die zo typisch voor het horrorgenre zijn. Zo heeft ze alle rechten opgekocht om er zeker van te zijn dat er geen sequels zullen worden gemaakt. Je ziet ook weinig bloed, alles wordt gesuggereerd met geluiden en schaduwbeelden, haar grote voorbeelden zijn immers niet voor niets de Duitse expressionisten uit de stille film. Er is ook geen CGI-monster te bespeuren, maar geloof ons: schrikken zal je! En dan zijn er natuurlijk de uitmuntende vertolkingen van moeder en kind, zelden zag je zo’n angstaanjagend ventje als Noah Wiseman!

The Babadook is een must voor iedereen. Wel achteraf niet komen klagen dat je niet kon slapen. De film is nu uit op dvd en Blu-ray via A-Film.

Didier BECU
18/06/2015


18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook 18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook 18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook 18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook 18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook 18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook 18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook 18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook 18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook 18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook 18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook 18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook 18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook 18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook 18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook 18/06/2015 : JENNIFER KENT - The Babadook

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
12
09
SPANKRAGHT
N16