tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this tv series review

31/05/2015 :  - INTRUDERS - SEASON 1

INTRUDERS - SEASON 1

MovieTV series
HorrorScience FictionTV Series
Just Bridge
31/05/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The worst thing that can happen to a fan is that producers decide to stop a series. It becomes even more painful when it already happens after one season. Not just because you're stuck with a cliffhanger that will never get a sequel, but you also have a lot of questions for which only your own imagination can find an answer. It happened to the fans of Intruders, a series that was announced by the BBC with pride because it was made by the producers of The X-Files. Unfortunately, the ratings were so lousy that the BBC decided not to make a second season. The key question remains of course who benefits from such a purchase.

Directors Eduardo Sanchez and Daniel Stamm probably had something else in mind when the BBC asked them to adapt the successful book by Michael Marshall Smith. Why did they fail Because this sort of mystery stories has been showed before? Perhaps, nevertheless I bet on the possibility that Intruders is just too confusing, and especially far too slowly.

The members of the sect Qui Reverti are a weird bunch of individuals who believe in reincarnation. A simple object like a regular pen, is a proof of a previous life. There are many people who think that God gave us multiple lives, but these invaders go very far. The former "residents" seek their old body and that causes schizophrenic and dangerous situations, simply because they are convinced that they come back. Jack Whelan (John Simm) was once police inspector in Los Angeles, but decided after a while for a quiet family life with his wife Amy (Mira Sorvino). Suddenly Amy begins to react differently. In her sleep she speaks Russian and she gets other interests. Thanks to his police past Jack is the ideal person to find out what the real problem is. Along with his old friend Gary (Tory Kittles) he discovers that Amy suddenly has become Rose, who claims that she’s not married at all. Rose is not even the most dangerous of the lot, that is the nine-year-old Madison (Millie Bobby Brown). She looks innocent, but in her young body houses a serial killer.

It looks like an intriguing story, and it is, but only from the fifth episode (and there are only 8 of them!) Apparently, viewers who have the courage to watch the series will be disappointed because there is no sequel.

Fans of science fiction with a dark side can give Intruders a chance. It is a pity that they never will have an answer to the many questions and mysteries that arise in the first season.

Didier BECU
31/05/2015


NL

Het ergste wat een fan kan overkomen is wellicht het feit dat producenten beslissen om de brui aan een reeks te geven. Nog pijnlijker is het als dat al na één seizoen gebeurt. Niet alleen zit je met een cliffhanger opgescheept waarop nooit een vervolg komt, ook zit je met talrijke vragen die je maar met je eigen fantasie moet zien te beantwoorden. Het overkwam de fans van Intruders, een reeks die door de BBC met veel poeha werd aangekondigd omdat het om de producers van The X-Files ging. Helaas bleken de kijkcijfers achteraf zo belabberd te zijn, dat men tijdens de weken van de eerste uitzendingen al besloot om het bij één seizoen te houden. De hamvraag blijft uiteraard wie er baat heeft bij een aankoop als deze. Diegenen die zouden twijfelen, probeert Just Entertainment alvast te paaien met een prachtige uitgave.

Regisseurs Eduardo Sánchez en Daniel Stamm hadden zich wellicht wat anders voorgesteld toen ze van de BBC verleden jaar de opdracht kregen om het succesboek van Michael Marshall Smith te verfilmen. Waarom men faalde? Omdat men dit soort mysterieverhalen net iets te vaak heeft getoond? Misschien, desalniettemin gok ik toch op de mogelijkheid dat Intruders veel te verwarrend is, en vooral veel te traag op gang komt.

De leden van de sekte Qui Reverti zijn een bende rare kwieten die in reïncarnatie geloven. Een eenvoudig voorwerp (bijv. een gewone pen) is voor hen een bewijs uit een vorig leven. Er zijn wel meer mensen die denken dat God voor hen meerdere levens in petto heeft, maar deze indringers gaan wel zeer ver. De vorige “bewoners” zoeken hun oude lichaam waardoor mensen zich plots schizofreen gedragen en levensgevaarlijk worden, gewoon omdat ze er rotsvast van overtuigd zijn dat ze terugkomen. Spilfiguur Jack Whelan (John Simm) was ooit politie-inspecteur in Los Angeles, maar koos na een tijdje voor een rustig gezinsleventje met zijn vrouw Amy (Mira Sorvino). Plotseling begint Amy anders te reageren. In haar slaap spreekt ze Russisch en ze krijgt andere interesses. Dankzij zijn politieverleden is Jack de ideale persoon om uit te vissen wat er loos is. Samen met zijn oude vriend Gary (Tory Kittles) ontdekt hij dat Amy plotseling Rose is geworden, die niets met haar man wil te maken hebben. Meer zelfs, omdat ze nu Rose is, heeft ze helemaal geen man meer. Rose is niet eens de gevaarlijkste van de hoop, dat is de negenjarige Madison (Millie Bobby Brown). Ze ziet er onschuldig uit, maar in haar jonge lichaam huist een seriemoordenaar.

Het lijkt een intrigerend verhaal, en dat is het ook, alleen komt de serie pas op dreef vanaf de vijfde aflevering en het is pas vanaf dan dat je als kijker volledig mee bent. Blijkbaar hadden de televisiekijkers de moed niet om dat wel te doen en dat is jammer, want de laatste afleveringen (en dit in tegenstelling tot de eerste) doen je verlangen naar meer.

Liefhebbers van sciencefiction met een duister kantje, kunnen Intruders gerust een kans afgeven. Alleen is het jammer dat zij nooit een antwoord zullen krijgen op de vele vragen en mysteries die in het eerste seizoen aan bod komen, want wegens de teleurstellende kijkcijfers besloot de BBC om deze reeks vroegtijdig naar de prullenbak door te verwijzen.

Didier BECU
31/05/2015


 

Next reviews
LAST AVENUE • Integration Protocol
• HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES
CABARET VOLTAIRE, CARTER TUTTI & ANDY STOTT • Paris, Villette Sonique (24/05/2015)
JOE DANTE • Burying The Ex
YOUNG KNIVES • Something Awful
ISOLATION/DIVISION • 7th Magpie
OLIVIER MEGATON • Taken 3
RED SUN REVIVAL • Identities
PINS • Wild Nights
FUNERARY CALL • The Mirror Reversed II

 

Other reviews from
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
• The World of Hante
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
• An impression of Castle Party
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
• Coalescaremonium: a gathering of like-minded as we like it
• Coalescaremonium editie 4
• The history behind Waveteef

 

Same genre: HORROR
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
MY OWN SORROW • Entity
ORGAN • Tetro
JEFF BAENA • Life After Beth
LEIGH WHANNELL • Insidious: Chapter 3
JENNIFER KENT • The Babadook
MICHAEL WADLEIGH • Wolfen
MARINO GIROLAMI • Zombi Holocaust
JOE DANTE • Burying The Ex
KORNEL MUNDRUCZO • White God

 

Same genre: SCIENCE FICTION
• SUPERNATURAL SEASON 10
NEILL BLOMKAMP • Chappie
• THE 100 SEASON 1
• HELIX SEASON ONE
ALAN TAYLOR • TERMINATOR GENISYS
ANDY & LANA WACHOWSKI • Jupiter Ascending
• THE LAST SHIP SEASON 1
RIDLEY SCOTT • Blade Runner
ZAK HILDITCH • These Final Hours
SEBASTIEN CORDERO • Europa Report

 

Same genre: TV SERIES
• GOTHAM SEASON 1
• STRIKE BACK SEASON 3
• 19-2 COMPLETE SERIES ONE
• DETECTIVE MONTALBANO SEASON 6
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2
• HAPPY VALLEY SEASON 1
• RECTIFY SEASON 1
• THE NEWSROOM SEASON 3
• THE TEAM SEASON 1

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation