tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this tv series review

09/07/2015 :  - HELIX SEASON ONE

HELIX SEASON ONE

MovieTV series
ActionScience FictionTV Series

[40/100]   

SONY SPHE
09/07/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Not so long ago we reviewed The Last Ship, a product from the Michael Bay-factory, and just a few weeks later Helix arrives: a new series that is actually very much alike, only less spectacular. That the world would be the victim of a virus, coming from the Arctic, was predicted by John Carpenter in 1982 when he made The Thing. Yes, we know, it is actually Howard Hawks who came to this conclusion in 1952, but only geeks know that! The popularity of zombies is unstoppable these days, and so some of these creatures were added to the weak story (in this series the living dead are called vectors). And so everything is done! Well, at least for the producers Ronald D. Moore (Battlestar Galactica) and Steven Maeda (Lost, CSI: Miami and The X-Files). For the viewer, this Syfy series is far less interesting, as the story is too slowly and there is hardly any tension.

Alan Farragut (Billy Campbell), Sarah Jordan (Jordan Hayes) and Julia Walker (Kyra Zagorsky) are working for the Centers for Disease Control, or shortly the CDC. They are instructed to go to a base in the Arctic because a virus has broken out. The first victim is Peter (Neil Napier),Alan's brother. The team not only has to find the true nature of this virus so they can make an antidote, they also have to flee because the patients are bloodthirsty zombies.

It does indeed sound like a song you already (and perhaps too often) heard before and that’s how Helix feels like. Each episode (there are 13 in total) lasts for about 40 minutes and at the end you're not any wiser. The only thing you see is that the crew is getting smaller and that no one can be trusted. The spectacular cover does surmise that Helix is ​​a science fiction series that you should not miss, but once you start the trip, it is a disappointing mess. The scenario contains some complicated intrigues that are not always easy to follow, but the essence of it can be written by a schoolboy. The performances are extremely boring, and that automatically means that you don’t feel connected with the characters, and it's just that what such a series needs. The special effects are incredibly bad. The only thing you can rave about is the high quality of the transfer that was released by Sony on DVD and Blu-ray, but do you buy it for that alone?

Didier BECU
09/07/2015


NL

Niet zo lang geleden kregen we hier op de redactie nog The Last Ship uit de Michael Bay-fabriek binnen en amper een paar weken later valt Helix in de bus: een nieuwe reeks die (qua verhaal dan toch) daar eigenlijk zeer erg op lijkt, alleen is ze heel wat minder spectaculair. Dat de wereld ooit het slachtoffer zou worden van een alles dodend virus en dat het afkomstig is van Noordpool, wist John Carpenter eigenlijk al in 1982 toen hij The Thing op de mensheid losliet. Ja, we weten het, eigenlijk kwam Howard Hawks in 1952 al tot die vaststelling, maar alleen nerds weten het. Door de niet te stoppen populariteit van zombies, heeft men maar wat van deze creaturen in het slappe verhaal gegooid (in deze serie noemen ze de levende doden vectors) en klaar is kees! Nou ja, ten minste voor de producers Ronald D. Moore (die ook Battlestar Galactica deed) en Steven Maeda (zijn naam zie je op de credits van Lost, CSI: Miami en The X-Files). Voor de kijker is deze Syfy-reeks heel wat minder boeiend, en je hebt meer dan eens het gevoel dat het verhaal veel te langzaam op gang komt en dat er van spanning nauwelijks sprake is. Het zijn eigenlijk verwijten die voor iedere Syfy-reeks terugkeren en waardoor Helix alleen maar interessant is voor fans van moderne CG-sciencefiction, die alles slikken.

Alan Farragut (Billy Campbell), Sarah Jordan (Jordan Hayes) en Julia Walker (Kyra Zagorsky) werken bij het Centers for Desease Control, kortweg het CDC genaamd. Ze krijgen de opdracht om naar een basis op de Noordpool te gaan omdat daar een virus is uitgebroken. Het eerste slachtoffer is Peter (Neil Napier), de broer van Alan. Het team moet niet alleen de ware aard van het virus vinden zodat er een antigif kan worden gemaakt, ook slaan zij geregeld op de vlucht voor patiënten die bloeddorstige zombies zijn.

Het klinkt inderdaad als een liedje dat je al eerder (en wellicht te vaak) hebt gehoord en zo voelt Helix ook aan. Iedere aflevering (er zijn er 13 in totaal) duurt zo’n kleine 40 minuten en op het einde ervan ben je geen seconde wijzer. Het enige wat je ziet is dat de crew alsmaar kleiner wordt en dat niet iedereen te vertrouwen is. De spectaculaire cover laat vermoeden dat Helix een sciencefictionreeks is die je niet mag missen, maar eens je aan de trip begint, is het allemaal teleurstellende troep. Het scenario bevat ingewikkelde intriges die niet altijd gemakkelijk zijn om te volgen, maar de essentie kan door een schooljongen zijn geschreven. De vertolkingen zijn ontzettend saai, waardoor je geen enkele band met de personages krijgt, en het is net dat wat zo’n serie nodig heeft. Ook de special effects zijn bedroevend slecht. Het enige waar we wel over te spreken zijn is de hoogstaande beeldkwaliteit van deze transfer, die door Sony op dvd en Blu-ray is uitgebracht, maar koop je daarvoor een reeks?

Didier BECU
09/07/2015


09/07/2015 :  - HELIX SEASON ONE 09/07/2015 :  - HELIX SEASON ONE 09/07/2015 :  - HELIX SEASON ONE 09/07/2015 :  - HELIX SEASON ONE 09/07/2015 :  - HELIX SEASON ONE 09/07/2015 :  - HELIX SEASON ONE 09/07/2015 :  - HELIX SEASON ONE 09/07/2015 :  - HELIX SEASON ONE 09/07/2015 :  - HELIX SEASON ONE 09/07/2015 :  - HELIX SEASON ONE 09/07/2015 :  - HELIX SEASON ONE 09/07/2015 :  - HELIX SEASON ONE 09/07/2015 :  - HELIX SEASON ONE 09/07/2015 :  - HELIX SEASON ONE 09/07/2015 :  - HELIX SEASON ONE 09/07/2015 :  - HELIX SEASON ONE

 

Next reviews
CLAUS LARSEN (LEATHER STRIP) • Ten albums that changed my life!
WIM MERTENS • Struggle For Pleasure
KINGCROW • Eidos
JEAN-MARC VALLEE • Wild
ZEUS B HELD • Logic Of Coincidence
THE MEMBRANES • Dark Matter Dark Energy
LUC VAN ACKER • Ten albums that changed my life!
MARJANE SATRAPI • The Voices
MILTON STAR • Things Fall Apart (EP)
THE JAM • About The Young Idea

 

Other reviews from
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
• The World of Hante
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
• An impression of Castle Party
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
• Coalescaremonium: a gathering of like-minded as we like it
• Coalescaremonium editie 4
• The history behind Waveteef

 

Same genre: ACTION
GEORGE MILLER • Mad Max: Fury Road
JULIUS AVERY • Son Of A Gun
JAUME COLLET-SERRA • Run All Night
JAMES WAN • Fast & Furious 7
MAX LANDIS • American Ultra
• STRIKE BACK SEASON 3
TERENCE YOUNG • Dr. No
JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI • Beyond The Reach
GILLES BEHAT • Rue Barbare
• THE 100 SEASON 1

 

Same genre: SCIENCE FICTION
• SUPERNATURAL SEASON 10
NEILL BLOMKAMP • Chappie
ALAN TAYLOR • TERMINATOR GENISYS
ANDY & LANA WACHOWSKI • Jupiter Ascending
• THE LAST SHIP SEASON 1
RIDLEY SCOTT • Blade Runner
• INTRUDERS - SEASON 1
ZAK HILDITCH • These Final Hours
SEBASTIEN CORDERO • Europa Report
DAVID HEWLETT • Debug

 

Same genre: TV SERIES
• GOTHAM SEASON 1
• 19-2 COMPLETE SERIES ONE
• DETECTIVE MONTALBANO SEASON 6
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2
• HAPPY VALLEY SEASON 1
• RECTIFY SEASON 1
• THE NEWSROOM SEASON 3
• THE TEAM SEASON 1
• ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK SEASON 2

Music reviews

28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park
14
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Melancholic Disposition
13
03
STEREOSEAT
Heavenly Creatures

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!
21
03
Bone Machine | 32 - Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s exactly 30 years ago that Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...
03
03
DAVID SARDY
Producer David Sardy on his work with The Who, Oasis, Marilyn Manson and scoring work.
17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes
25
03
JOZEF VAN WISSEM
Ruins
24
03
KRANKLAND
In the Realms of the Unreal
23
03
A;GRUMH
Danger Zone