tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

20/08/2015 : MAX LANDIS - American Ultra

MAX LANDIS

American Ultra

MovieCinema
ActionComedy

[61/100]   

E1
20/08/2015, Didier BECU

EN

You can read the most different opinions about American Ultra. For some, this new production by Nima Nourizadeh and Max Landis is a stunner, while others simply find it worthless. After ninety minutes of violent humour, we are left with mixed feelings. It was enjoyable, but those two made once the brilliant Chronicle and it is a shame that nothing more was done with the talent of actors Kristen Stewart and Jesse Eisenberg. If you delete these two elements, then American Ultra is acceptable popcorn entertainment, but that’s all.

You better not ask questions about the credibility of this story. Mike Howell (Jesse Eisenberg) is quite happy with his girlfriend Phoebe Larson (Kristen Stewart), even if the two are only thinking about marijuana all day. Mike is convinced that one day he will earn his living as a cartoonist, while Phoebe works for the CIA. Wait a moment, a CIA agent who smokes drugs all day? Mike obviously knows nothing about the double life of his "sweetheart", because Phoebe works undercover as Mike is a project of the government. We are not going to repeat the impossible explanation of the creators, but apparently the US government once had the "brilliant" idea to make fighting machines of idlers. Because the project is shutdown, they also have to eliminate Mike. But that’s not easy, Mike was never aware of it, but he is actually a sort of indestructible Rambo.

For a moment we thought that American Ultra would be the new Natural Born Killers, and even though Eisenberg and Stewart have the same charisma as Juliette Lewis and Woody Harrelson, it is not like that. Don’t blame the actors, because the two do their best to give this trifle some style, but the silly story and the action is so over the top that after an hour (or was it earlier ?) American Ultra is annoying. We like some Tarantino-violence, but catching a bullet with a meat pan in order to launch the projectile back to the shooter? Stewart and Eisenberg are having fun with their hallucinations, but for the viewer there is not many left! American Ultra is fun, Stewart is always hot (even with a body full of bruises) and Eisenberg is always sublime as a drugged scatterbrain. But we bet that you remember nothing about this film after three days! 

Didier BECU
20/08/2015


NL

Over American Ultra lees je de meest uiteenlopende meningen. Voor de ene is deze nieuwe productie van Nima Nourizadeh en Max Landis een knaller van jewelste, terwijl anderen er gewoon niets aan vinden. Na negentig minuten gewelddadige humor, zitten wij met een dubbel gevoel. Plezierig was het zeker, alleen hebben die twee ooit de briljante Chronicle gemaakt en blijft het bijzonder jammer dat men niet meer met het talent van hoofdrolspelers Kristen Stewart en Jesse Eisenberg heeft gedaan. Als je deze twee elementen uit je hoofd schrapt, dan is American Ultra aanvaardbaar popcornentertainment, maar meer niet.

Over de geloofwaardigheid van dit verhaaltje stel je je maar beter geen vragen. Mike Howell (Jesse Eisenberg) is gelukkig met zijn vriendinnetje Phoebe Larson (Kristen Stewart), ook al denken de twee de hele dag aan marihuana. Mike is ervan overtuigd dat hij ooit zijn brood als striptekenaar zal verdienen, terwijl Phoebe voor de CIA werkt. Wacht eens, een CIA-agente die de hele dag drugs rookt? Natuurlijk weet Mike niets af over het dubbelleven van zijn “liefje”, want Phoebe werkt undercover omdat Mike een project van de overheid is. We besparen je de onmogelijke uitleg van de makers, maar blijkbaar had de Amerikaanse overheid ooit het “briljante” idee om van nietsnutten gevechtmachines te maken. Omdat het project werd opgeheven, wil men alles wat daarmee te maken heeft stilleggen en moet men dus ook Mike elimineren. Alleen gaat dat zo maar niet, Mike is er zich nooit van bewust geweest, maar eigenlijk is hij een onvernietigbare Rambo.

Eventjes dachten we dat American Ultra de nieuwe Natural Born Killers zou worden, en ook al hebben Eisenberg en Stewart dezelfde uitstralingskracht als Juliette Lewis en Woody Harrelson, is dat toch niet zo. Het probleem ligt niet bij de acteurs, want die doen al bij al hun best om dit niemendalletje de nodige allure te geven; wel aan het domme verhaal en de actie die zo over the top is dat het na een uurtje (of was het vroeger?) op de zenuwen werkt. We zijn wel niet vies van wat Tarantino-geweld, maar een kogel met een vleespan opvangen zodat die wordt teruggeketst naar de schutter? Stewart en Eisenberg amuseren zich te pletter met hun hallucinaties, maar voor de kijker blijft er uiteindelijk maar weinig over! American Ultra is leuk, Stewart zoals steeds uiterst sexy (zelfs met een resem blauwe plekken) en Eisenberg is zoals altijd subliem als gedrogeerd warhoofd. Alleen wedden dat je er drie dagen later niets meer over weet?

Didier BECU
20/08/2015


20/08/2015 : MAX LANDIS - American Ultra 20/08/2015 : MAX LANDIS - American Ultra 20/08/2015 : MAX LANDIS - American Ultra 20/08/2015 : MAX LANDIS - American Ultra 20/08/2015 : MAX LANDIS - American Ultra 20/08/2015 : MAX LANDIS - American Ultra 20/08/2015 : MAX LANDIS - American Ultra 20/08/2015 : MAX LANDIS - American Ultra 20/08/2015 : MAX LANDIS - American Ultra 20/08/2015 : MAX LANDIS - American Ultra 20/08/2015 : MAX LANDIS - American Ultra 20/08/2015 : MAX LANDIS - American Ultra 20/08/2015 : MAX LANDIS - American Ultra 20/08/2015 : MAX LANDIS - American Ultra 20/08/2015 : MAX LANDIS - American Ultra

Music reviews

27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys
21
02
XTORT
Zwart
03
02
MERCIFUL NUNS
Oneironauts
02
02
ANTLER RECORDS
Early Years Vol 1
01
02
YELWORC
The Ghosts I Called

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
38 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 5 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 46 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
24.2.24 International EBM day is coming closer!
20
02
This Charming Band | 40 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album

Concert reviews

16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023
06
05
SIOUXSIE
The glorious resurrection after ten years of silence.

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
ELEKTRIKILL
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Band, Elektrikill
03
02
HAMMERSHOI
French works well with these musical genres. It’s not like rock’n roll in French! It sucks, no ?
27
01
PAS MUSIQUE
An Interview With Pas Musique
26
01
TRAGIC VISIONS
An Interview With EBM/Industrial Band, Tragic Visions
22
01
CAT RAPES DOG
'We will try to put as much energy as possible into our performance. There will be no power ballads!'

PHOTOS

19
02
EKLIPSE FORCED TO MODE ONE CARESS TOUR
Christuskirche Bochum
18
02
LA MUERTE
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
STIN SCATZOR
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
THE ARCH
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
LEBANON HANOVER
Christuskirche Bochum
11
02
SELOFAN
JunkYard Dortmund

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
27
02
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
26
02
MONICA RICHARDS
Into My Own
25
02
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
24
02
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
23
02
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
22
02
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies