tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

20/08/2015 : MAX LANDIS - American Ultra

MAX LANDIS

American Ultra

MovieCinema
ActionComedy

[61/100]   

E1
20/08/2015, Didier BECU

EN

You can read the most different opinions about American Ultra. For some, this new production by Nima Nourizadeh and Max Landis is a stunner, while others simply find it worthless. After ninety minutes of violent humour, we are left with mixed feelings. It was enjoyable, but those two made once the brilliant Chronicle and it is a shame that nothing more was done with the talent of actors Kristen Stewart and Jesse Eisenberg. If you delete these two elements, then American Ultra is acceptable popcorn entertainment, but that’s all.

You better not ask questions about the credibility of this story. Mike Howell (Jesse Eisenberg) is quite happy with his girlfriend Phoebe Larson (Kristen Stewart), even if the two are only thinking about marijuana all day. Mike is convinced that one day he will earn his living as a cartoonist, while Phoebe works for the CIA. Wait a moment, a CIA agent who smokes drugs all day? Mike obviously knows nothing about the double life of his "sweetheart", because Phoebe works undercover as Mike is a project of the government. We are not going to repeat the impossible explanation of the creators, but apparently the US government once had the "brilliant" idea to make fighting machines of idlers. Because the project is shutdown, they also have to eliminate Mike. But that’s not easy, Mike was never aware of it, but he is actually a sort of indestructible Rambo.

For a moment we thought that American Ultra would be the new Natural Born Killers, and even though Eisenberg and Stewart have the same charisma as Juliette Lewis and Woody Harrelson, it is not like that. Don’t blame the actors, because the two do their best to give this trifle some style, but the silly story and the action is so over the top that after an hour (or was it earlier ?) American Ultra is annoying. We like some Tarantino-violence, but catching a bullet with a meat pan in order to launch the projectile back to the shooter? Stewart and Eisenberg are having fun with their hallucinations, but for the viewer there is not many left! American Ultra is fun, Stewart is always hot (even with a body full of bruises) and Eisenberg is always sublime as a drugged scatterbrain. But we bet that you remember nothing about this film after three days! 

Didier BECU
20/08/2015


NL

Over American Ultra lees je de meest uiteenlopende meningen. Voor de ene is deze nieuwe productie van Nima Nourizadeh en Max Landis een knaller van jewelste, terwijl anderen er gewoon niets aan vinden. Na negentig minuten gewelddadige humor, zitten wij met een dubbel gevoel. Plezierig was het zeker, alleen hebben die twee ooit de briljante Chronicle gemaakt en blijft het bijzonder jammer dat men niet meer met het talent van hoofdrolspelers Kristen Stewart en Jesse Eisenberg heeft gedaan. Als je deze twee elementen uit je hoofd schrapt, dan is American Ultra aanvaardbaar popcornentertainment, maar meer niet.

Over de geloofwaardigheid van dit verhaaltje stel je je maar beter geen vragen. Mike Howell (Jesse Eisenberg) is gelukkig met zijn vriendinnetje Phoebe Larson (Kristen Stewart), ook al denken de twee de hele dag aan marihuana. Mike is ervan overtuigd dat hij ooit zijn brood als striptekenaar zal verdienen, terwijl Phoebe voor de CIA werkt. Wacht eens, een CIA-agente die de hele dag drugs rookt? Natuurlijk weet Mike niets af over het dubbelleven van zijn “liefje”, want Phoebe werkt undercover omdat Mike een project van de overheid is. We besparen je de onmogelijke uitleg van de makers, maar blijkbaar had de Amerikaanse overheid ooit het “briljante” idee om van nietsnutten gevechtmachines te maken. Omdat het project werd opgeheven, wil men alles wat daarmee te maken heeft stilleggen en moet men dus ook Mike elimineren. Alleen gaat dat zo maar niet, Mike is er zich nooit van bewust geweest, maar eigenlijk is hij een onvernietigbare Rambo.

Eventjes dachten we dat American Ultra de nieuwe Natural Born Killers zou worden, en ook al hebben Eisenberg en Stewart dezelfde uitstralingskracht als Juliette Lewis en Woody Harrelson, is dat toch niet zo. Het probleem ligt niet bij de acteurs, want die doen al bij al hun best om dit niemendalletje de nodige allure te geven; wel aan het domme verhaal en de actie die zo over the top is dat het na een uurtje (of was het vroeger?) op de zenuwen werkt. We zijn wel niet vies van wat Tarantino-geweld, maar een kogel met een vleespan opvangen zodat die wordt teruggeketst naar de schutter? Stewart en Eisenberg amuseren zich te pletter met hun hallucinaties, maar voor de kijker blijft er uiteindelijk maar weinig over! American Ultra is leuk, Stewart zoals steeds uiterst sexy (zelfs met een resem blauwe plekken) en Eisenberg is zoals altijd subliem als gedrogeerd warhoofd. Alleen wedden dat je er drie dagen later niets meer over weet?

Didier BECU
20/08/2015


20/08/2015 : MAX LANDIS - American Ultra 20/08/2015 : MAX LANDIS - American Ultra 20/08/2015 : MAX LANDIS - American Ultra 20/08/2015 : MAX LANDIS - American Ultra 20/08/2015 : MAX LANDIS - American Ultra 20/08/2015 : MAX LANDIS - American Ultra 20/08/2015 : MAX LANDIS - American Ultra 20/08/2015 : MAX LANDIS - American Ultra 20/08/2015 : MAX LANDIS - American Ultra 20/08/2015 : MAX LANDIS - American Ultra 20/08/2015 : MAX LANDIS - American Ultra 20/08/2015 : MAX LANDIS - American Ultra 20/08/2015 : MAX LANDIS - American Ultra 20/08/2015 : MAX LANDIS - American Ultra 20/08/2015 : MAX LANDIS - American Ultra

Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)
15
08
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning
14
08
ASHRAM
Maria and the violin's string