tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

24/12/2014 : WALTER HILL - 48 Hrs.

WALTER HILL

48 Hrs.

MovieMovie classics
ActionComedy

[66/100]   

Paramount Pictures
24/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

You surely have seen hundreds of films like 48 Hrs. (and if you 're insane perhaps thousands), but you can’t blame Walter Hill for that. The American who wrote history with The Driver (say, the forerunner of Drive) and The Warriors, invented in 1982 with 48 Hrs. the so called buddy cop movie that would be repeated countless times. You know the story: the rogue cop who is saddled up with a partner who at first he can’t stand, but later becomes his best friend.

The film was the greatest success of Hill’s career, but 48 Hrs. is actually very faint when compared to his previous masterpiece (Southern Comfort, the only underrated film that can compete with Boorman’s Deliverance). The man who was known for his hard-hitting action movies suddenly came up with a comedy. Groundbreaking in terms of genre, but after all it was Eddie Murphy who was really funny! Now, the movie is just dated.

The story is incredibly simple and far from original. Ganz (James Remar) escapes from prison. Jack Cates (Nick Nolte) is the cop who gets the order to go after the guy. He has to form a duo with the chatty Reggie Hammond (Eddie Murphy). This jailbird has done some small jobs for Ganz and he probably knows where he is. And what about those 48 hours then? Well that is the time that Reggie gets outside the cell.

It doesn’t happen that often in a Hill movie, but in 48 Hrs. the actor is indeed the star and that is of course Eddie Murphy. You can say l what you wantabout him (eg. that all the films he made ​​in the past thirty years are pure trash), but in the 80's he was irresistibly funny. His jokes were similar to the ones of Richard Pryor and were quite daring for conservative America. But for the rest, 48 Hrs. is hardly worth mentioning. There is of course Nick Nolte, but he only played his usual role as a grumpy guy.

Eight years later, Walter Hill could be persuaded to make a sequel: Another 48 Hrs. It was Hill’s last great movie, but he emerged later with the critically acclaimed western series Deadwood.

Didier BECU
24/12/2014


NL

Een film als 48 Hrs. heb je al honderden (en als je getikt bent wellicht duizenden) keren gezien, toch kun je Walter Hill niets verwijten. De Amerikaan die met The Driver (zeg maar de voorloper van Drive) en The Warriors filmgeschiedenis schreef, vond met 48 Hrs. in 1982 namelijjk de buddy cop movie uit die later ontelbare keren tot vervelens toe zou worden herhaald. Je weet wel, het verhaal van de flik die met een partner wordt opgescheept die hij eerst niet kan uitstaan, maar die later zijn beste vriend wordt.

De film werd wel het grootste succes uit Hills carrière, maar eigenlijk is 48 Hrs. zeer flauw als je hem vergelijkt met zijn vorig meesterwerk (Southern Comfort, de ondergewaardeerde film die als enige met Boormans Deliverance kan wedijveren). De man die bekend stond voor zijn keiharde actie kwam plots met een komedie op de proppen. Baanbrekend qua genre, maar op Eddie Murphy na (die toen nog echt grappig was!), niet meer dan een gedateerd filmpje.

Het verhaal is ongelooflijk simpel,en verre van origineel. Ganz (James Remar) ontsnapt uit de gevangenis. Jack Cates (Nick Nolte) is de flik die de opdracht krijgt om achter de kerel aan te gaan. Omdat deze opdracht nogal saai filmmateriaal zou opleveren mocht hij het alleen moeten klaren, scheept men Ganz op met de babbelzieke Reggie Hammond (Eddie Murphy). Deze bajesklant heeft vroeger nog klusjes opgeknapt voor Ganz en weet dus waar hij uithangt. En die 48 uur dan? Wel dat is de tijd die Reggie buiten de cel mag doorbrengen.

Het gebeurt niet vaak in een Hill-film, maar in 48 Hrs. is de acteur wel degelijk de ster en natuurlijk is dat Eddie Murphy. Je kan zeggen van hem wat je wil (bijv. dat alle films die hij de afgelopen dertig jaar maakte pure rommel zijn), in de jaren 80 was hij wel onweerstaanbaar grappig. Zijn mopjes waren net als die van Richard Pryor voor het conservatieve Amerika vrij gedurfd. Maar voor de rest is 48 Hrs. nauwelijks het vermelden waard. Er is natuurlijk wel Nick Nolte, maar die deed niet meer dan hetzelfde typetje (norse vent) uit de kast halen.

Acht jaar later kon men Walter Hill overhalen om een sequel te draaien: Another 48 Hrs. Het werd Hills laatste grote film (ook al trok die op niks), om later te verrijzen met de alom geprezen westernserie Deadwood.

Didier BECU
24/12/2014


24/12/2014 : WALTER HILL - 48 Hrs. 24/12/2014 : WALTER HILL - 48 Hrs. 24/12/2014 : WALTER HILL - 48 Hrs. 24/12/2014 : WALTER HILL - 48 Hrs. 24/12/2014 : WALTER HILL - 48 Hrs. 24/12/2014 : WALTER HILL - 48 Hrs. 24/12/2014 : WALTER HILL - 48 Hrs. 24/12/2014 : WALTER HILL - 48 Hrs. 24/12/2014 : WALTER HILL - 48 Hrs. 24/12/2014 : WALTER HILL - 48 Hrs. 24/12/2014 : WALTER HILL - 48 Hrs. 24/12/2014 : WALTER HILL - 48 Hrs.

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 27 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You