tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare

GILLES BEHAT

Rue Barbare

MovieCult movies
ActionDrama

[81/100]   

Studio Canal
15/08/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Not everything in life is crystal clear. Someone has to explain me why one of France's best (and if not, surely one of the most brutal) films is totally ignored. It is almost impossible to find the movie on DVD, there is no vendor (not even in France) who has ever heard of it and despite all that, Rue Barbare remains a great cult movie.

The story is simple. It takes place in the future (we do not know exactly when), but it is certainly an era in which any kind of moral sense has been lost. Daniel Chetman (Bernard Giraudeau) has promised himself never to get involved again in the misery of others as it always gets him in trouble. But from the first minutes of the film, he must break that promise when he takes care of a young Chinese girl, who is raped by Matt Hagen (Bernard-Pierre Donnadieu). He better had not done so, because Matt is the leader of the Barbarians, a gang of which he used to be a member. In no time Chetman is embroiled in a game that knows no mercy. He meets his old love Manu again (Christine Boisson, who was once a femme fatale in Emmanuelle).

With some good will you can compare Rue Barbare with Mad Max, at least if you replace the barren desert with some French desolate streets. The characters are so over the top that they're funny, but because of their dangerous excesses they never seem ridiculous. Giraudeau, who later became one of France's finest actors, is excellent as an underdog hero, while Bernard-Pierre Donnadieu (once a terrible serial killer in Spoorloos by George Sluizer) is ideally cast as a dangerous lunatic. Rue Barbare has a very decadent character and was very daring for its time. And let us not forget that brilliant rock soundtrack by Bernard Lavilliers, that fits perfectly with the atmosphere.

Everything about the film is cult, and it is a movie that you should definitely see. It is one that you have to seek at the flea market, which might be a long search (but yours truly can tell you that at the end of the day persistence wins). Rue Barbare was released by StudioCanal through the Crime & Cinema-series. A brilliant series with titles that now have become a collector (also Rue Barbare), for example you have to pay 185 euros on Ebay for Descente aux Enfers with Sophie Marceau. Good luck!

Didier BECU
15/08/2015


NL

Niet alles in het leven is even duidelijk. Zo moet er mij maar eens iemand uitleggen waarom één van Frankrijks beste (en zo niet, toch een van de meest brutale) films totaal genegeerd is. Je vindt de film allesbehalve vlot op dvd, er is geen verkoper (zelfs niet in Frankrijk) die er ooit van gehoord heeft, op de IMDb-site wordt hij amper aangeklikt en toch is Rue Barbare een fantastische cultfilm.

Het verhaal is eenvoudig. Het speelt zich ergens in de toekomst af (wanneer weten we niet precies), maar het is in ieder geval een tijdperk waarin elke vorm van moreel besef verloren is gegaan. Daniel Chetman (Bernard Giraudeau) heeft zichzelf beloofd om zich nooit nog wat aan te trekken van de miserie van anderen, want zijn goede wil heeft hem steeds in de penarie gebracht. Maar vanaf de eerste minuten van de film moet hij deze belofte vaarwel zeggen als hij zich bekommert om een jong Chinees meisje dat verkracht is door Matt Hagen (Bernard-Pierre Donnadieu). Dat had hij beter niet gedaan, want Matt is de leider van de Barbaren, een bende waarvan hij vroeger ook deel uitmaakte. Binnen de kortste keren zit Chetman in een spel verwikkeld dat geen genade kent en ontmoet daardoor opnieuw zijn oude liefje Manu (Christine Boisson, ooit nog een femme fatale in Emmanuelle).

Met wat goede wil kan je Rue Barbare met Mad Max vergelijken, ten minste als je de kale woestijnvlakte door desolate Franse straten vervangt. De karakters zijn zo over the top dat ze grappig zijn, maar door hun gevaarlijke uitspattingen worden ze toch nooit belachelijk. Giraudeau, die later één van Frankrijks beste acteurs zou worden, schittert als held, terwijl Bernard-Pierre Donnadieu (ooit nog een verschrikkelijke seriemoordenaar in Spoorloos van George Sluizer) ideaal is gecast als levensgevaarlijke gek. Rue Barbare heeft een zeer decadent karakter en was zeer gewaagd voor zijn tijd. En laten we ook de briljante rocksoundtrack van Bernard Lavilliers niet vergeten, die perfect bij de sfeer past.

Alles aan de film is cult, en het is eentje die je absoluut moet zien, al zal je de dvd op de rommelmarkt moeten zoeken, en dat is een calvarietocht die wellicht lang kan duren (maar ondergetekende kan je verklappen dat de aanhouder uiteindelijk wint). Rue Barbare werd destijds op Studio Canal via de Crime & Cinema-reeks uitgebracht. Een schitterende serie waarvan nu bijna alle titels een collector zijn geworden (ook Rue Barbare). Zo mag je tegenwoordig voor Descente Aux Enfers met Sophie Marceau op Ebay 185 euro neertellen. Zoeken tussen de rommel dus!

Didier BECU
15/08/2015


15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare 15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare 15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare 15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare 15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare 15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare 15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare 15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare 15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare 15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare 15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare 15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare 15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare 15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare 15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare 15/08/2015 : GILLES BEHAT - Rue Barbare

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
19
02
Gothic Industrial Band BATAVIA Unveils Remix Album, Batavia And Their Friends

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag
22
02
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth