tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach

JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI

Beyond The Reach

Movie
Action

[30/100]   

E1
05/08/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It often happens that you have some questions about a film. What is its real goal, what do they want to say or how can someone be so stupid to put money into such a vehicle? Questions you have in mind when you are watching Beyond The Reach. Michael Douglas remains a movie icon that no one will forget, but it seems as if he (at least if you don’t count the sublime Behind The Candelabra by Soderbergh) accepts almost all the roles he is offered. He certainly does not have to do it for money (his fortune is estimated at 200 million dollars), but when it only serves to stretch his filmography, then there should be someone (Catherine Zeta-Jones?) to stop him, because his film career is getting sillier every day.

Beyond The Reach was almost worldwide released to DVD and once you start watching this boring film, you know why. A scenario that does not make sense, dreadful dialogues, undeveloped plots and dull performances are the main elements of this action movie that has a promising start, but bores very quickly.

Madec (Michael Douglas) is a guy that every normal man would hate. He is immensely rich, he thinks he's funny and to kill his time, he hunts in the American desert bighorn sheep. With his imposing expensive Mercedes jeep and his ultramodern weapons, Madec finds himself an important man. Together with his guide Ben (Jeremy Irvine), he revisits the desert, but it goes wrong when the businessman accidentally shoots down an old miner. Suddenly Madec’s empire collapses. He first tries to blame Ben for the murder, and when that plan fails, he offers him a good paid job for the rest of his life. Madec is stunned when he realizes that the young guide refuses to accept his offer. It is the beginning of a (sloppy and incredibly annoying) cat-and-mouse game.

Didier BECU
05/08/2015


NL

Het gebeurt wel vaker dat je je bij een film vragen stelt. Hoe komen ze er bij, wie heeft er wat aan of hoe dom kan iemand zijn om in een vehikel geld te pompen? Michael Douglas blijft een filmicoon die niemand zal vergeten, toch lijkt het erop alsof hij (op de sublieme Behind The Candelabra van Soderbergh na) zowat alle rollen accepteert die hij aangeboden krijgt. Voor het geld moet hij het zeker niet doen (zijn fortuin wordt op een slordige 200 miljoen dollar geschat), maar als het alleen maar dient om zijn filmografie te rekken, zou er toch iemand (Catherina Zeta-Jones?) hem een halt moeten toeroepen want zijn filmcarrière wordt eerlijkheidshalve met de dag onnozeler. 

Beyond The Reach werd bijna wereldwijd rechtstreeks op dvd gedropt en eens je aan deze saaie filmrit begint, weet je ook waarom. Een scenario dat nergens op slaat, barslechte dialogen, onuitgewerkte plots en saaie vertolkingen zijn de hoofdelementen van deze (nou ja) actiefilm, die na een veelbelovende start ontzettend snel begint te vervelen. 

Madec (Michael Douglas) is een vent die ieder normaal mens zou moeten haten. Hij is steenrijk, hij vindt zichzelf de plezantste thuis en om zijn tijd te doden knalt deze macho in de Amerikaanse woestijn voor zijn plezier dikhoornschapen neer. Met zijn imponerende peperdure Mercedes-jeep en zijn ultramoderne wapens vindt Madec zich een hele vent. Samen met z'n gids Ben (Jeremy Irvine) trekt hij er nog maar eens op uit, maar het loopt fout af als de zakenman per abuis een oude mijnwerker neerknalt. Plotseling valt Madecs imperium in duigen en breekt het angstzweet hem uit. Hij probeert eerst de schuld in Bens schoenen te schuiven, en als dat hem niet lukt, stelt hij Ben voor de rest van zijn leven een vet betaalde job voor. Madec is verbijsterd als hij merkt dat de jonge gids weigert om op zijn voorstel in te gaan. Het is het begin van een (slordig en ongelooflijk vervelend) kat-en-muisspel.

Beyond The Reach wordt verondersteld een spannend kat-en-muisspel te zijn, maar jammer genoeg is de kat na een kwartiertje in slaap gedommeld waardoor er alleen maar verveling overblijft.

Didier BECU
05/08/2015


05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach 05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach 05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach 05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach 05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach 05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach 05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach 05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach 05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach 05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach 05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach 05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach 05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach 05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach 05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach 05/08/2015 : JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI - Beyond The Reach

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

28
06
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
THE MISSION
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
IAMX
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
W.H. LUNG
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
FORCED TO MODE
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
TORUL
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
ATMOSPHERE
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete