tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

04/08/2015 : CRAIG ZOBEL - COMPLIANCE

CRAIG ZOBEL

COMPLIANCE

MovieMovie classics
CrimeDrama

[76/100]   

Softdrive Records
04/08/2015, Didier BECU

EN

You might be familiar with Phone Booth starring Colin Farrell, a film that is set in a phone booth. If you want to see more terror on the phone, you absolutely have to see the indie film Compliance by Craig Zobel. Today, this New Yorker is, as the founder of Homestar Runner, more concerned with cartoons, but in his third film he proofs that he can handle the camera.

Many viewers will be wondering why Zobel has come up with such an apocryphal story, but once the movie is over you get a cold shower, because the story turns out to be true and it even happened more than once. What is it about then? Becky (Dreama Walker, known from Gossip Girl and The Good Wife) works as a waitress in a fast food restaurant. It's Friday and that is the busiest day of the week. To make the pressure even bigger, manager Sandra (Ann Dowd) is informed that the restaurant will be visited by an inspector. Just when she is at the edge of a nervous breakdown, she receives a call. A voice says that he is a police officer. At the police bureau a lady claims that Becky has stolen money from her purse. Because the police can’t come immediately, the voice demands the manager to take her employee to a backroom to interview Becky. It turns into a humiliation.

You keep on wondering how stupid people were to get trapped into this perverse game, but the fact is that they were. This psychological thriller was filmed with a minimal budget (but with a maximum of talent). Even though this film is almost 90 minutes filmed on the phone, it doesn’t bore a second, and that is due to the excellent scenario and the outstanding performances of the entire cast. Despite the fact that all the reviews of this festival favorite were extremely positive, the film was only screened outside the US at some film festivals (including Ghent). The film is released on DVD by Soda Pictures.

Didier BECU
04/08/2015


NL

Je kent wellicht Phone Booth met Colin Farrell, een film die zich bijna de hele tijd in een telefooncel afspeelt. Wie nog meer terreur met de telefoon wil zien, moet absoluut de indiefilm Compliance van Craig Zobel een kans geven. Tegenwoordig houdt deze New Yorker zich als oprichter van Homestar Runner meer met cartoons bezig, maar deze derde film van Zobel is een bewijs dat hij met de camera overweg kan.

Menig kijker zal zich de hele tijd afvragen waarom Zobel zo’n ongeloofwaardig verhaal heeft bedacht, maar eens de film is afgelopen krijg je een koude douche, want het blijkt allemaal waar te zijn en is zelfs meer dan één keer gebeurd. Waarover gaat het dan? Becky (Dreama Walker, bekend uit Gossip Girl en The Good Wife) werkt als serveerster in een fastfoodrestaurant. Het is vrijdag en dat is de drukste dag van de week. Om de druk nog wat groter te maken verneemt manager Sandra (Ann Dowd) dat het eethuis controle zal krijgen van één of andere inspecteur. Net op het moment dat ze haar zenuwen bijna niet meer de baas kan, krijgt ze een telefoontje. Een stem zegt dat hij van de politie is. Op het politiebureel zit een dame die beweert dat Becky geld uit haar tas heeft gestolen. Omdat de politie niet meteen ter plaatse kan komen, vraagt de stem aan de manager of zij haar werkneemster wil meenemen in een kamertje om haar daar te ondervragen. Het “onderzoek” ontaardt in een vernedering.

Je blijft je wel afvragen hoe dom mensen kunnen zijn om in dit pervers spelletje te trappen, feit is wel dat ze het deden. Deze psychologische thriller werd met een minimum aan middelen (maar met maximaal talent) in elkaar gestoken. Ook al speelt deze film zich bijna anderhalf uur aan de telefoon af, verveelt hij geen seconde en dat is te danken aan het leuke scenario en de schitterende vertolkingen. Zo wat alle kritieken die je over deze festivalfavoriet leest zijn uiterst positief, alleen is het jammer dat de film buiten de VS alleen maar op een paar filmfestivals (o.a. in Gent) is vertoond. De film is op dvd uitgebracht via Soda Pictures.

Didier BECU
04/08/2015


04/08/2015 : CRAIG ZOBEL - COMPLIANCE 04/08/2015 : CRAIG ZOBEL - COMPLIANCE 04/08/2015 : CRAIG ZOBEL - COMPLIANCE 04/08/2015 : CRAIG ZOBEL - COMPLIANCE 04/08/2015 : CRAIG ZOBEL - COMPLIANCE 04/08/2015 : CRAIG ZOBEL - COMPLIANCE 04/08/2015 : CRAIG ZOBEL - COMPLIANCE 04/08/2015 : CRAIG ZOBEL - COMPLIANCE 04/08/2015 : CRAIG ZOBEL - COMPLIANCE 04/08/2015 : CRAIG ZOBEL - COMPLIANCE 04/08/2015 : CRAIG ZOBEL - COMPLIANCE 04/08/2015 : CRAIG ZOBEL - COMPLIANCE 04/08/2015 : CRAIG ZOBEL - COMPLIANCE 04/08/2015 : CRAIG ZOBEL - COMPLIANCE 04/08/2015 : CRAIG ZOBEL - COMPLIANCE 04/08/2015 : CRAIG ZOBEL - COMPLIANCE

 

Next reviews
RICHARD BROOKS • IN COLD BLOOD
THE LOVER SPEAKS • The Lover Speaks
RABIA SORDA @ AMPHI FESTIVAL • Köln, 25.07.2015
PIERRE AND JEAN-MARC PAULY (PARADE GROUND) • Ten albums that changed my life!
MIRLAND FEAT. CLAUS LARSEN (LEAETHER STRIP, KLUTAE) • Fragments
DAVID BRADLEY • Harry Brown
ANNE PIGALLE • Everything Could Be So Perfect
MUSEUM NIGHT/MUSEUM NACHT • Antwerpen (01/08/2015)
LEN WISEMAN • Total Recall (2012)
ANDRÉ STEINIGEN (VERSUS & NACHTMAHR) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same combination of genres: CRIME + DRAMA
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators
GEORGE SLUIZER • Spoorloos
• THE MISSING
PIETER VAN HEES • Waste Land
JOSEPHN HAHN • Mall
ANDREJY ZVYAGINTSEV • Leviathan
DAVID MACKENZIE • Starred Up
ATOM EGOYAN • The Captive (FilmFest Ghent 2014)
MARTIN WEISZ • Squatters
SEAN ELLIS • Metro Manila

 

Same genre: CRIME
ANDREA DI STEFANO • Escobar: Paradise Lost
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
ANDRE VAN DUREN • De Bende Van Oss
RICHARD BROOKS • IN COLD BLOOD
DAVID BRADLEY • Harry Brown
PHIL JOANOU • State Of Grace
SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER • Victoria
PAUL THOMAS ANDERSON • Inherent Vice
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2
MICHAEL MANN • Blackhat

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper