tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

20/09/2015 : ANDREA DI STEFANO - Escobar: Paradise Lost

ANDREA DI STEFANO

Escobar: Paradise Lost

Movie
Crime

[65/100]   

Universal Pictures
20/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It was actually written in the stars that Benicio del Toro would one day play the role of the Colombian drug lord Pablo Escobar. It is very sad though that this is in Escobar: Paradise Lost, a mediocre film with superb performances.

Unfortunately director Di Stefano didn’t want to make a biography, but he was satisfied with a trashy story in which Pablo Escobar almost disappears in the background, and that is very sad, especially when you know this could have been another Scarface.

Actually, this story is not about Escobar, but about the Canadian surfer Nick (Josh Hutcherson, yeah, the guy of The Hunger Games), who travels to Columbia and falls in love with Maria (Claudia Traisac), Escobar’s niece. And yes, the fairytale marriage becomes a nightmare once the true nature of Escobar rises above.

Benicio del Toro does everything to make the best of it, and he manages to do so, but the rest of the cast is simply too light to let this movie rise above the average. What follows is nothing more than "what could have been if..."

Didier BECU
20/09/2015


NL

Het stond eigenlijk in de sterren geschreven dat Benicio del Toro ooit eens de rol van de machtige Columbiaanse drugsbaron Pablo Escobar zou vertolken. Het is wel bijzonder jammer dat dit in Escobar: Paradise Lost is, een matige film met sublieme vertolkingen.

Regisseur Di Stefano had jammer genoeg geen zin in het maken van een biografie, maar was tevreden met een flutverhaaltje waardoor Pablo Escobar bijna volledig op de achtergrond terechtkomt, en dat is toch bijzonder triest, zeker als je weet dat hier eigenlijk een tweede Scarface in zat.

Eigenlijk draait het verhaal niet om Escobar, wel om de Canadese surfer Nick (Josh Hutcherson, die je wel kent uit The Hunger Games), die naar Columbia trekt en daar pardoes verliefd wordt op Maria (Claudia Traisac), het nichtje van Escobar. En jawel, het sprookjeshuwelijk wordt een nachtmerrie eens de ware aard van Escobar naar boven komt.

Benicio del Toro doet er wel alles aan om zo goed mogelijk Escobar te vertolken, en ook al slaagt hij daar zeer goed in, is de rest van de cast gewoon te licht om deze film alsnog boven het gemiddelde te laten uitstijgen. Wat volgt is niet meer dan “wat had kunnen zijn als…”.

 

 

 

Didier BECU
20/09/2015


20/09/2015 : ANDREA DI STEFANO - Escobar: Paradise Lost 20/09/2015 : ANDREA DI STEFANO - Escobar: Paradise Lost 20/09/2015 : ANDREA DI STEFANO - Escobar: Paradise Lost 20/09/2015 : ANDREA DI STEFANO - Escobar: Paradise Lost 20/09/2015 : ANDREA DI STEFANO - Escobar: Paradise Lost 20/09/2015 : ANDREA DI STEFANO - Escobar: Paradise Lost 20/09/2015 : ANDREA DI STEFANO - Escobar: Paradise Lost

Music reviews

22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 35 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
04
DAVID BOWIE
Blackstar
22
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
Mountains Crave
21
04
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
20
04
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
19
04
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald