tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

03/08/2015 : DAVID BRADLEY - Harry Brown

DAVID BRADLEY

Harry Brown

MovieMovie classics
Crime

[78/100]   
03/08/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Fancy a game? Take twenty film fans and give them a sheet of paper. Ask them to pen down twenty famous actors within two minutes. I bet that not one list will mention the name of Michael Caine! Strange, because if you list all his movies, then you get an impressive filmography that will make many actors jealous. Because of his age, we know him these days for roles such as the butler Alfred Pennyworth in the Batman-series, but in the 60s and 70s he was a dream name if you needed a spy or a bad boy (Get Carter, The Ipcress File or the original version of The Italian Job).

Daniel Barber's film debut Harry Brown reintroduces Caine’s old image. He is a gentleman, let’s say an example, it is a bad idea to make him angry. Harry Brown is a retired Marine. He spends his old days in the pub or by playing a game of chess at home with his only friend Leonard (David Bradley, who you certainly have seen in Game Of Thrones or Harry Potter). The neighbourhood in which they live is daily plagued by young rascals, who sells drugs and destroy the properties of others. Harry gives his old friend the advice to go to the police, but they do not listen to his story. After another humiliation, it is all too much for Leonard. The outcome is dramatic: after a altercation, he is stabbed by one of the youngsters. Harry Brown, who has nothing to lose, takes the law into his own hands.

Although the film is completely unbelievable (especially the end looks too much like a scene that’s been taken from Mad Max), Harry Brown remains one of the best revenge movies of recent years. In pure Death Wish-style, Caine uses hus gun without pity. Those who are directly or indirectly involved with Leonard’s death get a free ticket to hell.

Despite his glittering Hollywood career, Michael Caine stays a Brit at heart and in a British films that is always a plus. Caine stars as an avenger without mercy. It is therefore no exaggeration to say that this movie is almost like a one-man show of Michael Caine. It is kind of weird to see him play on his old age a Steven Seagal-like role, but it works. The film is sadly enough overlooked, but you can find it regularly at cheap price bins. So next time, just take it home!

Didier BECU
03/08/2015


NL

Zin in een spelletje? Neem twintig filmfans en geef ze een blaadje papier. Verplicht ze om binnen de twee minuten twintig acteurs neer te pennen. Wedden dat daar geen enkele keer de naam van Michael Caine in voorkomt? Vreemd, want als je al zijn films opsomt, dan heb je een aardig lijst waarop heel wat acteurs jaloers zouden zijn. Door zijn hoge leeftijd kennen we de Londenaar tegenwoordig uit rollen zoals die als butler Alfred Pennyworth uit de Batman-reeks, maar in de jaren 60 en 70 was hij de droomnaam voor het vertolken van een spion of zware jongen (Get Carter, The Ipcress File of de oorspronkelijke versie van The Italian Job).

In Daniel Barbers debuutfilm Harry Brown grijpt men terug naar Caines oude imago. Hij is een gentleman, een voorbeeld zeg maar, alleen maak je hem beter niet boos. Harry Brown is een marinier op rust. Hij brengt zijn dagen door in de kroeg ofwel door thuis een partijtje schaak te spelen met zijn enige vriend Leonard (David Bradley, een karakterkop die je zeker uit Game Of Thrones of Harry Potter kent). Een rustige oude dag is het voor de twee niet geworden, want de wijk waarin ze wonen wordt dag in dag uit geteisterd door de wandaden van jong gespuis dat drugs verkoopt. Harry geeft zijn oude vriend de raad om langs te gaan bij de politie, maar de wethouders hebben geen oren naar zijn verhaal. Na de zoveelste vernedering wordt het allemaal te veel voor Leonard. De afloop is dramatisch: na een flinke woordenwisseling wordt hij door één van de jongeren doodgestoken. Harry Brown, die toch niets meer te verliezen heeft, neemt het recht in eigen handen.

Alhoewel de film compleet ongeloofwaardig is (vooral het einde lijkt net iets te veel op een scène uit Mad Max), is Harry Brown toch één van de betere wraakfilms van de laatste jaren. In pure Death Wish-stijl hanteert Caine zonder medelijden het geweer. Wie rechtstreeks of onrechtstreeks bij Leonards dood betrokken is, krijgt zonder omzien een gratis kaartje voor de hellepoort.

Ondanks zijn glansrijke Hollywoodcarrière, is Michael Caine een Brit in hart en nieren en in een Britse film is hij dan ook een meerwaarde. Ook hier schittert Caine volop als wraaknemer zonder genade. Het is dan ook niet overdreven als we zeggen dat deze actiefilm bijna een onemanshow van Caine is geworden. Caine die op hoogbejaarde leeftijd schittert in een Steven Seagal-achtige rol, wie had dat ooit gedacht? De film is misschien een beetje vergeten, maar daarom niet minder goed. Je vindt hem met de regelmaat van een klok tegen een spotgoedkope prijs in de uitverkoopbakken. Volgende keer dus gewoon meenemen!

Didier BECU
03/08/2015


03/08/2015 : DAVID BRADLEY - Harry Brown 03/08/2015 : DAVID BRADLEY - Harry Brown 03/08/2015 : DAVID BRADLEY - Harry Brown 03/08/2015 : DAVID BRADLEY - Harry Brown 03/08/2015 : DAVID BRADLEY - Harry Brown 03/08/2015 : DAVID BRADLEY - Harry Brown 03/08/2015 : DAVID BRADLEY - Harry Brown 03/08/2015 : DAVID BRADLEY - Harry Brown 03/08/2015 : DAVID BRADLEY - Harry Brown 03/08/2015 : DAVID BRADLEY - Harry Brown 03/08/2015 : DAVID BRADLEY - Harry Brown 03/08/2015 : DAVID BRADLEY - Harry Brown 03/08/2015 : DAVID BRADLEY - Harry Brown 03/08/2015 : DAVID BRADLEY - Harry Brown 03/08/2015 : DAVID BRADLEY - Harry Brown 03/08/2015 : DAVID BRADLEY - Harry Brown

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown