tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

20/08/2015 : ANDRE VAN DUREN - De Bende Van Oss

ANDRE VAN DUREN

De Bende Van Oss

Movie
Crime

[72/100]   

E1
20/08/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Every place on earth has a black side. Oss, the North Brabant town in the Netherlands, had barely 20,000 inhabitants before the Second World War, but it got the nickname "Chicago on the Maas River'. 160 people were arrested in Oss in 1934. It was not until 2011 that a film was made about this well known gang, and although not everyone had friendly words for director André Van Duren, The Gang Of Oss is nonetheless a must.

Despite the Dutch dialect, The Gang Of Oss really looks like an American Hollywood movie. The story is told from the perspective of a female protagonist. A perfect choice, because the pub owner Johanna van Heesch (Sylvia Hoeks), who earns some extra money as a hooker, is a very interesting character. Johanna is married to Ties (Matthias Schoenaerts), who has just been discharged from prison. Ties is a very brutal and dangerous guy, he thinks it’s normal to kick the baby out of Johanna’s womb when she refuses an abortion. Crime is in his blood, and he is a member of the feared gang of Oss that is led by Wim de Kuiper (Marcel Musters). Even the Royal Military Police can’t prevent that the mafia boss controls Oss.

Our Dutch readers might not be happy to read this, but unfortunately the number of good Dutch films can be counted on ten fingers. The Gang Of Oss is totally different, and that is mainly due to the excellent performances. It feels a bit strange to see Schoenaerts performing in a Dutch dialect, but not only does it sound funny, it also works! Sylvia Hoeks is more than just a beauty, as she proves in this crime drama that she is able to carry a whole film. Marcel Musters is hilariously funny (but dangerous) as mafia boss, that it seems as if he comes from a scene of Boardwalk Empire. If you have the chance to watch the movie, then do it!

Didier BECU
20/08/2015


NL

Iedere plek op aarde heeft wel een zwarte zijde. Ook al zou je dat niet meteen zeggen van Oss, het Noord-Brabantse stadje in Nederland. Toch kreeg deze plaats, die voor de Tweede Wereldoorlog amper 20.000 inwoners telde niet voor niets de bijnaam “Chicago aan de Maas”. Slik niet als je weet dat er in 1934 ruim 160 Ossenaren werden aangehouden. Ideaal voer dus om een film over deze bende te maken, ook al duurde dat tot 2011. Maar wachten loont, ofschoon niet iedereen even vriendelijk was met zijn pen voor regisseur André Van Duren, is De Bende Van Oss een aanrader.

Er wordt wel plat Limburgs gesproken en het gaat er wel een tikkeltje vulgair aan toe (zoals in zo veel andere Nederlandse films), toch ziet De Bende Van Oss er als een Amerikaanse Hollywoodfilm uit. Het verhaal wordt vanuit het standpunt van een vrouwelijke protagoniste verteld. Een perfecte keuze, want de café-uitbaatster Johanna van Heesch (Sylvia Hoeks) die als hoertje wat centen bijverdient, is immers een zeer interessant personage. Johanna is getrouwd met Ties (Matthias Schoenaerts) die net uit de gevangenis is ontslagen. Ties heeft losse handjes en vindt het normaal om de baby uit Johannas buik te schoppen als zij een abortus weigert. Misdaad zit in Ties bloed en hij is dan ook lid van de gevreesde bende van Oss, die wordt geleid door Wim de Kuiper (Marcel Musters) die de plak zwaait in de hele stad. Zelfs de Koninklijke Marechaussee kan niet verhinderen dat deze maffiabaas de handel en wandel van de Ossenaren controleert. 

Onze noorderburen zullen het misschien niet al te graag horen, maar het aantal goede Nederlandse films kan je helaas op tien vingers tellen. Dat is geen probleem voor De Bende Van Oss, en dat komt voornamelijk door de puike vertolkingen. Het voelt een beetje vreemd aan om onze nationale trots Matthias Schoenaerts plat Brabants te horen praten, maar het klinkt niet alleen grappig, het werkt nog ook! Sylvia Hoeks is meer dan bloedstollend mooi, ze bewijst in dit misdaaddrama ook dat ze in staat is om een film te dragen. Marcel Musters is als maffiabaas dan weer zo hilarisch grappig dat het lijkt alsof hij uit een scène uit Boardwalk Empire komt. Als je de film ooit eens kan bekijken, beslist doen!

Didier BECU
20/08/2015


20/08/2015 : ANDRE VAN DUREN - De Bende Van Oss 20/08/2015 : ANDRE VAN DUREN - De Bende Van Oss 20/08/2015 : ANDRE VAN DUREN - De Bende Van Oss 20/08/2015 : ANDRE VAN DUREN - De Bende Van Oss 20/08/2015 : ANDRE VAN DUREN - De Bende Van Oss 20/08/2015 : ANDRE VAN DUREN - De Bende Van Oss 20/08/2015 : ANDRE VAN DUREN - De Bende Van Oss 20/08/2015 : ANDRE VAN DUREN - De Bende Van Oss 20/08/2015 : ANDRE VAN DUREN - De Bende Van Oss 20/08/2015 : ANDRE VAN DUREN - De Bende Van Oss 20/08/2015 : ANDRE VAN DUREN - De Bende Van Oss 20/08/2015 : ANDRE VAN DUREN - De Bende Van Oss 20/08/2015 : ANDRE VAN DUREN - De Bende Van Oss 20/08/2015 : ANDRE VAN DUREN - De Bende Van Oss 20/08/2015 : ANDRE VAN DUREN - De Bende Van Oss

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)