tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior

DESIREE AKHAVAN

Appropriate Behavior

Movie

Homescreen
18/08/2015, Didier BECU

EN

If you follow the arthouse genre, then you will definitely know that Desiree Akhavan is totally in. Her contemporary style is compared with both Woody Allen and Lena Dunham of Girls, and that means a lot, especially knowing that her debut film is a gay movie, a genre that rarely gets out of the circuit. Akhavan is not only the director, she also plays the lead role.

The first image we see is the one in which Shirin throws a dildo in the bin. The young woman has just broken up with her friend Maxine (Rebecca Henderson) and in the following 80 minutes, we know why. The nice thing about this gay film is that Desiree Akhavan uses the typical themes of the genre (doubts, the problems to be understood and to tell that to the outside world), but she does it differently than many others and that makes Appropriate Behavior a real refreshment. Say, La Vie D'Adele without the French charm, but with the genius touch of Noah Baumbach.

The characters in Appropriate Behavior are not broken. Shirin does not dare to tell her parents that she is keen on women, because in her homeland Iran you still can be stoned for being an lesbian, but for the rest, she is a happy, fashionable girl. She visits trendy shops, she goes to discos, she is a loudmouth andshe is happy with her job as a nanny. Only the relationship with Maxine has not proved successful. Is she the problem or Maxine? Shirin starts a psychological quest (which of course always ends in bed), and that means that the viewer is part of a handsome, modern, quirky and hyper cool character study.

Appropriate Behavior is different, a bit like the gay series Looking and therefore a tip!

Didier BECU
18/08/2015


NL

Indien je arthouse op de voet volgt, zal je beslist weten dat de regisseuse Desiree Akhavan helemaal in is. Haar eigentijdse stijl wordt zowel met Woody Allen als met Lena Dunham van Girls vergeleken, en dat is toch heel wat, zeker als je weet dat haar filmdebuut een holebifilm is, een genre dat jammer genoeg zelden buiten het circuit geraakt. Akhavan regisseert niet alleen, ze speelt ook de hoofdrol.

Het eerste beeld dat we zien is dat van Shirin, die een dildo in de vuilnisbak gooit. De jonge vrouw heeft het net uitgemaakt met haar vriendin Maxine (Rebecca Henderson) en in de 80 minuten die volgen weten we waarom. Het leuke aan deze holebifilm is dat Desiree Akhavan het wel over de typische onderwerpen van het genre heeft (twijfel, begrepen worden en het “anders zijn” aan de buitenwereld vertellen), maar ze doet er toch heel wat anders mee dan vele andere collega’s waardoor Appropriate Behaviour een verfrissing is. Zeg maar, La Vie D’Adèle zonder de Franse charme, maar wel met het venijn van Noah Baumbach.

De personages in Appropriate Behavior zijn niet gebroken. Shirin durft wel niet aan haar ouders vertellen dat ze op vrouwen valt, want in haar thuisland Iran kan je daar nog altijd voor gestenigd worden, voor de rest is ze een gelukkige, hippe meid. Ze bezoekt trendy winkels, gaat naar discotheken, is zeker niet op haar mondje gevallen, is gelukkig met haar job als kinderjuf, alleen loopt haar relatie met Maxine niet zoals het hoort. Ligt het aan haar of aan Maxine? Shirin start een psychologische zoektocht (die natuurlijk steeds in bed wordt uitgevoerd) en dat levert voor de kijker een knappe, moderne, eigenzinnige en hyperleuke karakterstudie op.

Appropriate Behavior is anders, een beetje zoals de homoreeks Looking en dat maakt het daarom zo’n aanrader. 

Didier BECU
18/08/2015


18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
05
36 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
41 years Spellbound!
19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
05
MARBLE SOUNDS
Tout et Partout
21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day
19
05
NITZER EBB
Join in the Chant (Burn!)
18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us