tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior

DESIREE AKHAVAN

Appropriate Behavior

Movie

Homescreen
18/08/2015, Didier BECU

EN

If you follow the arthouse genre, then you will definitely know that Desiree Akhavan is totally in. Her contemporary style is compared with both Woody Allen and Lena Dunham of Girls, and that means a lot, especially knowing that her debut film is a gay movie, a genre that rarely gets out of the circuit. Akhavan is not only the director, she also plays the lead role.

The first image we see is the one in which Shirin throws a dildo in the bin. The young woman has just broken up with her friend Maxine (Rebecca Henderson) and in the following 80 minutes, we know why. The nice thing about this gay film is that Desiree Akhavan uses the typical themes of the genre (doubts, the problems to be understood and to tell that to the outside world), but she does it differently than many others and that makes Appropriate Behavior a real refreshment. Say, La Vie D'Adele without the French charm, but with the genius touch of Noah Baumbach.

The characters in Appropriate Behavior are not broken. Shirin does not dare to tell her parents that she is keen on women, because in her homeland Iran you still can be stoned for being an lesbian, but for the rest, she is a happy, fashionable girl. She visits trendy shops, she goes to discos, she is a loudmouth andshe is happy with her job as a nanny. Only the relationship with Maxine has not proved successful. Is she the problem or Maxine? Shirin starts a psychological quest (which of course always ends in bed), and that means that the viewer is part of a handsome, modern, quirky and hyper cool character study.

Appropriate Behavior is different, a bit like the gay series Looking and therefore a tip!

Didier BECU
18/08/2015


NL

Indien je arthouse op de voet volgt, zal je beslist weten dat de regisseuse Desiree Akhavan helemaal in is. Haar eigentijdse stijl wordt zowel met Woody Allen als met Lena Dunham van Girls vergeleken, en dat is toch heel wat, zeker als je weet dat haar filmdebuut een holebifilm is, een genre dat jammer genoeg zelden buiten het circuit geraakt. Akhavan regisseert niet alleen, ze speelt ook de hoofdrol.

Het eerste beeld dat we zien is dat van Shirin, die een dildo in de vuilnisbak gooit. De jonge vrouw heeft het net uitgemaakt met haar vriendin Maxine (Rebecca Henderson) en in de 80 minuten die volgen weten we waarom. Het leuke aan deze holebifilm is dat Desiree Akhavan het wel over de typische onderwerpen van het genre heeft (twijfel, begrepen worden en het “anders zijn” aan de buitenwereld vertellen), maar ze doet er toch heel wat anders mee dan vele andere collega’s waardoor Appropriate Behaviour een verfrissing is. Zeg maar, La Vie D’Adèle zonder de Franse charme, maar wel met het venijn van Noah Baumbach.

De personages in Appropriate Behavior zijn niet gebroken. Shirin durft wel niet aan haar ouders vertellen dat ze op vrouwen valt, want in haar thuisland Iran kan je daar nog altijd voor gestenigd worden, voor de rest is ze een gelukkige, hippe meid. Ze bezoekt trendy winkels, gaat naar discotheken, is zeker niet op haar mondje gevallen, is gelukkig met haar job als kinderjuf, alleen loopt haar relatie met Maxine niet zoals het hoort. Ligt het aan haar of aan Maxine? Shirin start een psychologische zoektocht (die natuurlijk steeds in bed wordt uitgevoerd) en dat levert voor de kijker een knappe, moderne, eigenzinnige en hyperleuke karakterstudie op.

Appropriate Behavior is anders, een beetje zoals de homoreeks Looking en dat maakt het daarom zo’n aanrader. 

Didier BECU
18/08/2015


18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline