tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior

DESIREE AKHAVAN

Appropriate Behavior

Movie

Homescreen
18/08/2015, Didier BECU

EN

If you follow the arthouse genre, then you will definitely know that Desiree Akhavan is totally in. Her contemporary style is compared with both Woody Allen and Lena Dunham of Girls, and that means a lot, especially knowing that her debut film is a gay movie, a genre that rarely gets out of the circuit. Akhavan is not only the director, she also plays the lead role.

The first image we see is the one in which Shirin throws a dildo in the bin. The young woman has just broken up with her friend Maxine (Rebecca Henderson) and in the following 80 minutes, we know why. The nice thing about this gay film is that Desiree Akhavan uses the typical themes of the genre (doubts, the problems to be understood and to tell that to the outside world), but she does it differently than many others and that makes Appropriate Behavior a real refreshment. Say, La Vie D'Adele without the French charm, but with the genius touch of Noah Baumbach.

The characters in Appropriate Behavior are not broken. Shirin does not dare to tell her parents that she is keen on women, because in her homeland Iran you still can be stoned for being an lesbian, but for the rest, she is a happy, fashionable girl. She visits trendy shops, she goes to discos, she is a loudmouth andshe is happy with her job as a nanny. Only the relationship with Maxine has not proved successful. Is she the problem or Maxine? Shirin starts a psychological quest (which of course always ends in bed), and that means that the viewer is part of a handsome, modern, quirky and hyper cool character study.

Appropriate Behavior is different, a bit like the gay series Looking and therefore a tip!

Didier BECU
18/08/2015


NL

Indien je arthouse op de voet volgt, zal je beslist weten dat de regisseuse Desiree Akhavan helemaal in is. Haar eigentijdse stijl wordt zowel met Woody Allen als met Lena Dunham van Girls vergeleken, en dat is toch heel wat, zeker als je weet dat haar filmdebuut een holebifilm is, een genre dat jammer genoeg zelden buiten het circuit geraakt. Akhavan regisseert niet alleen, ze speelt ook de hoofdrol.

Het eerste beeld dat we zien is dat van Shirin, die een dildo in de vuilnisbak gooit. De jonge vrouw heeft het net uitgemaakt met haar vriendin Maxine (Rebecca Henderson) en in de 80 minuten die volgen weten we waarom. Het leuke aan deze holebifilm is dat Desiree Akhavan het wel over de typische onderwerpen van het genre heeft (twijfel, begrepen worden en het “anders zijn” aan de buitenwereld vertellen), maar ze doet er toch heel wat anders mee dan vele andere collega’s waardoor Appropriate Behaviour een verfrissing is. Zeg maar, La Vie D’Adèle zonder de Franse charme, maar wel met het venijn van Noah Baumbach.

De personages in Appropriate Behavior zijn niet gebroken. Shirin durft wel niet aan haar ouders vertellen dat ze op vrouwen valt, want in haar thuisland Iran kan je daar nog altijd voor gestenigd worden, voor de rest is ze een gelukkige, hippe meid. Ze bezoekt trendy winkels, gaat naar discotheken, is zeker niet op haar mondje gevallen, is gelukkig met haar job als kinderjuf, alleen loopt haar relatie met Maxine niet zoals het hoort. Ligt het aan haar of aan Maxine? Shirin start een psychologische zoektocht (die natuurlijk steeds in bed wordt uitgevoerd) en dat levert voor de kijker een knappe, moderne, eigenzinnige en hyperleuke karakterstudie op.

Appropriate Behavior is anders, een beetje zoals de homoreeks Looking en dat maakt het daarom zo’n aanrader. 

Didier BECU
18/08/2015


18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior 18/08/2015 : DESIREE AKHAVAN - Appropriate Behavior

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa