tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/08/2015 : THE MORGANATICS - We Come From The Stars

THE MORGANATICS

We Come From The Stars

MusicCD
Alternative RockDream Metal

[70/100]   
17/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

At the first listen, you sometimes know immediately: this is good or bad. You’ve got albums that need time to grow (usually those are the best albums…). This album was hard. First I thought it will be a grower. But after many listenings, I can only conclude that this record has only a pair of good moments. Sadly not everything is good. The album sometimes chooses the metal way and sometimes the music sounds like dream pop/rock pop. For me no problem, but I missed some cohesion. Secondly, the mix is a little flat and as a consequence not everything sounds in the right proportions. The parts with vocals are the best. The solo parts of the male singer (specially with the effects behind his voice) are difficult to listen to for a whole album. His voice suits better by poppy songs, I guess…

Strong moments: a lot of ideas, some very nice guitar parts and the female voice who suits good with the dreamy passages. The album lacks some consistency, though. When you look at the artwork (cover, band pics), you might think that is a CD of a R&B band. That’ s a shame, because the music contains some good elements, but there’s still some work to do in in the build up of the songs and the album in general.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/08/2015


NL

Je hebt albums waarvan je direct weet: dit is goed of slecht. Je hebt er die moeten groeien (en dat zijn meestal de beste…). Dit album was een moeilijke. Ik dacht eerst dat het een groeiplaat zou worden. Uiteindelijk ben ik na meerdere luisterbeurten tot het besluit gekomen dat deze plaat zeker een aantal goede muzikale momenten bevat. Maar er schort toch hier en daar wat aan. Ten eerste hinkt ze wat op twee gedachten: sommige nummers zoeken metal wat op, terwijl andere songs eerder rockpop of dreampop zijn. Op zich kan dit geen kwaad, maar daardoor ontbreekt de samenhang wat. Ten tweede is de mix wat vlak waardoor sommige elementen onvoldoende tot hun recht komen. De samenzang dient de nummers het best. Als de zanger alleen zingt (met telkens dat effect erop) dan vind ik het moeilijk om het album helemaal te beluisteren. Hij heeft eerder een pop stem die wat te licht is in de zwaardere passages.

Sterke momenten zijn: veel ideeën, hier en daar prachtige gitaarpartijen en de vrouwenstem die heel goed past bij de dromerige passages. Het album zelf mocht iets consistenter zijn, alsook de hoes en de bandfoto’s die bij een eerste aanblik je doet denken aan een R&B-band. Dat is jammer want zoals gezegd heeft de muziek goede elementen, maar qua song- en albumopbouw is er nog werk aan de winkel.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/08/2015


17/08/2015 : THE MORGANATICS - We Come From The Stars 17/08/2015 : THE MORGANATICS - We Come From The Stars

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day
19
05
NITZER EBB
Join in the Chant (Burn!)
18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)