tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/08/2015 : THE MORGANATICS - We Come From The Stars

THE MORGANATICS

We Come From The Stars

MusicCD
Alternative RockDream Metal

[70/100]   
17/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

At the first listen, you sometimes know immediately: this is good or bad. You’ve got albums that need time to grow (usually those are the best albums…). This album was hard. First I thought it will be a grower. But after many listenings, I can only conclude that this record has only a pair of good moments. Sadly not everything is good. The album sometimes chooses the metal way and sometimes the music sounds like dream pop/rock pop. For me no problem, but I missed some cohesion. Secondly, the mix is a little flat and as a consequence not everything sounds in the right proportions. The parts with vocals are the best. The solo parts of the male singer (specially with the effects behind his voice) are difficult to listen to for a whole album. His voice suits better by poppy songs, I guess…

Strong moments: a lot of ideas, some very nice guitar parts and the female voice who suits good with the dreamy passages. The album lacks some consistency, though. When you look at the artwork (cover, band pics), you might think that is a CD of a R&B band. That’ s a shame, because the music contains some good elements, but there’s still some work to do in in the build up of the songs and the album in general.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/08/2015


NL

Je hebt albums waarvan je direct weet: dit is goed of slecht. Je hebt er die moeten groeien (en dat zijn meestal de beste…). Dit album was een moeilijke. Ik dacht eerst dat het een groeiplaat zou worden. Uiteindelijk ben ik na meerdere luisterbeurten tot het besluit gekomen dat deze plaat zeker een aantal goede muzikale momenten bevat. Maar er schort toch hier en daar wat aan. Ten eerste hinkt ze wat op twee gedachten: sommige nummers zoeken metal wat op, terwijl andere songs eerder rockpop of dreampop zijn. Op zich kan dit geen kwaad, maar daardoor ontbreekt de samenhang wat. Ten tweede is de mix wat vlak waardoor sommige elementen onvoldoende tot hun recht komen. De samenzang dient de nummers het best. Als de zanger alleen zingt (met telkens dat effect erop) dan vind ik het moeilijk om het album helemaal te beluisteren. Hij heeft eerder een pop stem die wat te licht is in de zwaardere passages.

Sterke momenten zijn: veel ideeën, hier en daar prachtige gitaarpartijen en de vrouwenstem die heel goed past bij de dromerige passages. Het album zelf mocht iets consistenter zijn, alsook de hoes en de bandfoto’s die bij een eerste aanblik je doet denken aan een R&B-band. Dat is jammer want zoals gezegd heeft de muziek goede elementen, maar qua song- en albumopbouw is er nog werk aan de winkel.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/08/2015


17/08/2015 : THE MORGANATICS - We Come From The Stars 17/08/2015 : THE MORGANATICS - We Come From The Stars

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 38 today!
08
10
'Deathgaze' Band VAZUM Unleashes Halloween-Themed Album, 'Rated V'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On
18
10
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent
17
10
EYE STEAL
Burn Alive
16
10
PIETER VERMEYEN
Deep Into The Woods