tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/08/2015 : THE MORGANATICS - We Come From The Stars

THE MORGANATICS

We Come From The Stars

MusicCD
Alternative RockDream Metal

[70/100]   
17/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

At the first listen, you sometimes know immediately: this is good or bad. You’ve got albums that need time to grow (usually those are the best albums…). This album was hard. First I thought it will be a grower. But after many listenings, I can only conclude that this record has only a pair of good moments. Sadly not everything is good. The album sometimes chooses the metal way and sometimes the music sounds like dream pop/rock pop. For me no problem, but I missed some cohesion. Secondly, the mix is a little flat and as a consequence not everything sounds in the right proportions. The parts with vocals are the best. The solo parts of the male singer (specially with the effects behind his voice) are difficult to listen to for a whole album. His voice suits better by poppy songs, I guess…

Strong moments: a lot of ideas, some very nice guitar parts and the female voice who suits good with the dreamy passages. The album lacks some consistency, though. When you look at the artwork (cover, band pics), you might think that is a CD of a R&B band. That’ s a shame, because the music contains some good elements, but there’s still some work to do in in the build up of the songs and the album in general.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/08/2015


NL

Je hebt albums waarvan je direct weet: dit is goed of slecht. Je hebt er die moeten groeien (en dat zijn meestal de beste…). Dit album was een moeilijke. Ik dacht eerst dat het een groeiplaat zou worden. Uiteindelijk ben ik na meerdere luisterbeurten tot het besluit gekomen dat deze plaat zeker een aantal goede muzikale momenten bevat. Maar er schort toch hier en daar wat aan. Ten eerste hinkt ze wat op twee gedachten: sommige nummers zoeken metal wat op, terwijl andere songs eerder rockpop of dreampop zijn. Op zich kan dit geen kwaad, maar daardoor ontbreekt de samenhang wat. Ten tweede is de mix wat vlak waardoor sommige elementen onvoldoende tot hun recht komen. De samenzang dient de nummers het best. Als de zanger alleen zingt (met telkens dat effect erop) dan vind ik het moeilijk om het album helemaal te beluisteren. Hij heeft eerder een pop stem die wat te licht is in de zwaardere passages.

Sterke momenten zijn: veel ideeën, hier en daar prachtige gitaarpartijen en de vrouwenstem die heel goed past bij de dromerige passages. Het album zelf mocht iets consistenter zijn, alsook de hoes en de bandfoto’s die bij een eerste aanblik je doet denken aan een R&B-band. Dat is jammer want zoals gezegd heeft de muziek goede elementen, maar qua song- en albumopbouw is er nog werk aan de winkel.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/08/2015


17/08/2015 : THE MORGANATICS - We Come From The Stars 17/08/2015 : THE MORGANATICS - We Come From The Stars

Music reviews

19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
11
COLD CAVE
Villains Of The Moon
19
11
HYPERMOND.
Double
19
11
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON:
Caught In Winters Weave
19
11
NITZER EBB
Llive at Kulttempel in Oberhausen, Germany - 15.11.2019
18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin
17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring