tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/08/2015 : THE MORGANATICS - We Come From The Stars

THE MORGANATICS

We Come From The Stars

MusicCD
Alternative RockDream Metal

[70/100]   
17/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

At the first listen, you sometimes know immediately: this is good or bad. You’ve got albums that need time to grow (usually those are the best albums…). This album was hard. First I thought it will be a grower. But after many listenings, I can only conclude that this record has only a pair of good moments. Sadly not everything is good. The album sometimes chooses the metal way and sometimes the music sounds like dream pop/rock pop. For me no problem, but I missed some cohesion. Secondly, the mix is a little flat and as a consequence not everything sounds in the right proportions. The parts with vocals are the best. The solo parts of the male singer (specially with the effects behind his voice) are difficult to listen to for a whole album. His voice suits better by poppy songs, I guess…

Strong moments: a lot of ideas, some very nice guitar parts and the female voice who suits good with the dreamy passages. The album lacks some consistency, though. When you look at the artwork (cover, band pics), you might think that is a CD of a R&B band. That’ s a shame, because the music contains some good elements, but there’s still some work to do in in the build up of the songs and the album in general.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/08/2015


NL

Je hebt albums waarvan je direct weet: dit is goed of slecht. Je hebt er die moeten groeien (en dat zijn meestal de beste…). Dit album was een moeilijke. Ik dacht eerst dat het een groeiplaat zou worden. Uiteindelijk ben ik na meerdere luisterbeurten tot het besluit gekomen dat deze plaat zeker een aantal goede muzikale momenten bevat. Maar er schort toch hier en daar wat aan. Ten eerste hinkt ze wat op twee gedachten: sommige nummers zoeken metal wat op, terwijl andere songs eerder rockpop of dreampop zijn. Op zich kan dit geen kwaad, maar daardoor ontbreekt de samenhang wat. Ten tweede is de mix wat vlak waardoor sommige elementen onvoldoende tot hun recht komen. De samenzang dient de nummers het best. Als de zanger alleen zingt (met telkens dat effect erop) dan vind ik het moeilijk om het album helemaal te beluisteren. Hij heeft eerder een pop stem die wat te licht is in de zwaardere passages.

Sterke momenten zijn: veel ideeën, hier en daar prachtige gitaarpartijen en de vrouwenstem die heel goed past bij de dromerige passages. Het album zelf mocht iets consistenter zijn, alsook de hoes en de bandfoto’s die bij een eerste aanblik je doet denken aan een R&B-band. Dat is jammer want zoals gezegd heeft de muziek goede elementen, maar qua song- en albumopbouw is er nog werk aan de winkel.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/08/2015


17/08/2015 : THE MORGANATICS - We Come From The Stars 17/08/2015 : THE MORGANATICS - We Come From The Stars

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis