tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

06/06/2014 : SAVN - Savn

SAVN

Savn

MusicCD
Dream MetalGothicHard Rock

[65/100]   

CDR Records
06/06/2014, Didier BECU

The German/Norwegian outfit SAVN are in fact a bit of a superband. Not only as one of the tracks (I Am Free) features Liv Kristine, but also because two of their founding members Stig Johansen and Anders Thue used to play in The Sins of Thy Beloved, one of the leading gothmetal-female bands from a decade ago. The two teamed up with singer Carmen Elise Espenæs from Midnattsol and so SAVN (Norwegian for “deprivation”) was born.

Their self titled album consists of 50 minutes music that is quite varied. Perhaps too varied for some as you can feel that this trio is looking for the perfect way to fit in the current metal landscape.

The most strong track is without any doubt Hang On that happens to be the single. Some tracks reminded me of both Theatre Of Tragedy (you know, the play between ethereal vocals and growling) and Crematory (because of the melancholic synth sounds). Two references that of course aren’t bad.

The sole letdown however is that this trio has found the right sound, but their songs are a bit too weak. Once the album is over, it feels like you’ve heard something good, but you can’t remember a thing. Of course this is because this genre has been explored too much as there’s no novelty left.

But mind you, SAVN is worth a listen if you love female vocals (who doesn’t?) and like to play some air guitar.

Tracklist:

Musical Silence

Hang On

The Demons in Me

Longing For Love

I Am Free

Sorrowful

All I Want

Now or Never

Lengselens H?nd

Hang On (Growling Version)

The Demons in Me (Growling Version)

Didier BECU
06/06/2014


 

Next reviews
GOD MACCABRE • THE WINTERLONG (reissue)
ACCOLADE • Legends
BETRAYING THE MARTYRS • Where The World Ends
THE HIGH WIRE • Found in Honey
• HIDDEN KINGDOMS
EPOCHE • Noose
BERNARD ROSE • Sxtape
BATTLEAXE • Heavy Metal Sanctuary
MONO - AMINE • Human Farming
4TH DIMENSION • Dispelling The Veil Of Illusions

 

Same genre: DREAM METAL
THE MORGANATICS • We Come From The Stars
EUROROCK FEST • Day 1 (15/05/2015)
ELUVEITIE • Origins
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 2, 18/10/2014 | Leaves' Eyes, Sirenia, The Sirens and more...
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 1, 17/10/2014 | MFV United, Ayin Aleph and more...
LIV KRISTINE • Vervain
SKEPTICAL MINDS • Run for your live 2014
KALIDIA • LIES DEVICE
DISKELION • Remember Sorrow
XANDRIA • Sacrificum

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'
25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
10
MIND & FLESH
Krigserklæring
15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
14
10
NOISUF-X
Let's Rock
13
10
ANNA MEREDITH
R-Type
12
10
LOLA ANGST
Wie Gott
11
10
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
10
10
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Halloween