tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

06/06/2014 : SAVN - Savn

SAVN

Savn

MusicCD
Dream MetalGothicHard Rock

[65/100]   

CDR Records
06/06/2014, Didier BECU

The German/Norwegian outfit SAVN are in fact a bit of a superband. Not only as one of the tracks (I Am Free) features Liv Kristine, but also because two of their founding members Stig Johansen and Anders Thue used to play in The Sins of Thy Beloved, one of the leading gothmetal-female bands from a decade ago. The two teamed up with singer Carmen Elise Espenæs from Midnattsol and so SAVN (Norwegian for “deprivation”) was born.

Their self titled album consists of 50 minutes music that is quite varied. Perhaps too varied for some as you can feel that this trio is looking for the perfect way to fit in the current metal landscape.

The most strong track is without any doubt Hang On that happens to be the single. Some tracks reminded me of both Theatre Of Tragedy (you know, the play between ethereal vocals and growling) and Crematory (because of the melancholic synth sounds). Two references that of course aren’t bad.

The sole letdown however is that this trio has found the right sound, but their songs are a bit too weak. Once the album is over, it feels like you’ve heard something good, but you can’t remember a thing. Of course this is because this genre has been explored too much as there’s no novelty left.

But mind you, SAVN is worth a listen if you love female vocals (who doesn’t?) and like to play some air guitar.

Tracklist:

Musical Silence

Hang On

The Demons in Me

Longing For Love

I Am Free

Sorrowful

All I Want

Now or Never

Lengselens H?nd

Hang On (Growling Version)

The Demons in Me (Growling Version)

Didier BECU
06/06/2014


 

Next reviews
GOD MACCABRE • THE WINTERLONG (reissue)
ACCOLADE • Legends
BETRAYING THE MARTYRS • Where The World Ends
THE HIGH WIRE • Found in Honey
• HIDDEN KINGDOMS
EPOCHE • Noose
BERNARD ROSE • Sxtape
BATTLEAXE • Heavy Metal Sanctuary
MONO - AMINE • Human Farming
4TH DIMENSION • Dispelling The Veil Of Illusions

 

Same genre: DREAM METAL
THE MORGANATICS • We Come From The Stars
EUROROCK FEST • Day 1 (15/05/2015)
ELUVEITIE • Origins
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 2, 18/10/2014 | Leaves' Eyes, Sirenia, The Sirens and more...
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 1, 17/10/2014 | MFV United, Ayin Aleph and more...
LIV KRISTINE • Vervain
SKEPTICAL MINDS • Run for your live 2014
KALIDIA • LIES DEVICE
DISKELION • Remember Sorrow
XANDRIA • Sacrificum

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
12
'Vampire' - new Blutengel single
15
12
A Date In Camden | The Fall At The Witch Trial
14
12
On this day, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 39 Today!
13
12
Horses | Patti Smith’s Debut Masterpiece 43 Years On!
12
12
This weekend, BIMFEST 2018 kicks off with Covenant, Leaether Strip, Light Asylum, Clock Dva & Agent Side Grinder amongst others!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

13
12
DIVE
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
13
12
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
12
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie
15
12
LACRIMOSA
Die Unbekannte Farbe
14
12
OFELIADORME
Hands
13
12
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)