tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

06/06/2014 : XP8 - Nigredo EP

XP8

Nigredo EP

MusicDigital
CyberpunkDark ElectroEBMFuture PopIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Synth Pop / Electro PopTechnoTrance/Rave

[94/100]   
06/06/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

One year after the successful release of ‘Adrenochrome’ and its follow-up remix EP, "Meathead’s Lost HD", Marco Visconti and Marko Resurreccion are back and ready to unleash the Alchemy Series: three EPs planned to be released no more than six months from each other, an non-stop audio assault that will once again set aflame the alternative dance floors worldwide with its mixture of old and new influences from the classic sounds of trance to the modern beats of EDM.

Three releases as three are the phases of the Alchemical process, said to transform the lower metals such as lead into gold, and which is nothing else but a veiled allegory of the initiatory path from man to Godhead.

The journey starts on June 6th, 2014 with One Of Three: Nigredo.

Nigredo, or blackness, in alchemy means putrefaction or decomposition. The alchemists believed that as a first step in the pathway to the philosopher's stone all alchemical ingredients had to be cleansed and cooked extensively to a uniform black matter. In analytical psychology, the term became a metaphor for the dark night of the soul, when an individual confronts the shadow within.

Well, would they be influenced by the Full Metal Alchemist series? Could be a nice question for the interview?

It starts with a live vibe called 'Dolly was a raver': pumping beats, a nice clean voice mixed up with a computer animated voice and a fuelled electronic sound. 'Engage the bass' is a great clubber! I can see it being played in many clubs. I'm pretty sure that a lot of people want to remix this one! This one is for sure the continuation of the great XP8! Great future electro pop with a slice of cyber techno! 'Primitive' is a false slow one! Watch out for the growing beats! The longer the track plays, the stronger they get (until faded out). I like the melancholic sound of the voice, for sure the way it is recorded and produced! 'Troll Control': I see the title I think of something funny. I feel the rage when I listen to it and it has a nice live vibe too! This one is way hotter and sharper than Faderhead! Love the little trance/techno part in it! Throw a bomb with this track! I feel some Front 242 influences in the vocals! 'Information (Phaezek 4 remix)' is a great track coming from 'Adrenochrome' and I really love this version! The original was already a great one, so here we get some great upgrades!

One thing is for sure: this EP is not like most EP's: one great track and lots of fillers or alternative mixes: these are all great tracks! Bombs! It's nice to feel the chemistry (and the fun) between the boys!

Interview

Filip VAN MUYLEM
06/06/2014


 

Next reviews
SAVN • Savn
GOD MACCABRE • THE WINTERLONG (reissue)
ACCOLADE • Legends
BETRAYING THE MARTYRS • Where The World Ends
THE HIGH WIRE • Found in Honey
• HIDDEN KINGDOMS
EPOCHE • Noose
BERNARD ROSE • Sxtape
BATTLEAXE • Heavy Metal Sanctuary
MONO - AMINE • Human Farming

 

Other reviews from XP8
XP8 • Albedo
XP8 • Adrenochrome

 

Same genre: CYBERPUNK
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
NEON SHUDDER • O-8015
XP8 • Albedo
XMH • The Blind
CHRYSALIDE • Personal Revolution
AGONOIZE • Apokalypse
C-LEKKTOR • Final Alternativo
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Nuns are pregnant EP
VARIOUS ARISTS • Cultural Differences Vol 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • MATRIX DOWNLOADED 02

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
FEU FOLLET • Le champ des morts
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer

 

Same genre: EBM
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
TUKT • Tukt
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
AUGER • Insurgence
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
AUTOGEN • Antigen

 

Same genre: TRANCE/RAVE
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
CRISIS ACTOR • Superstar
GLENN LOVE • (R)age Electric (EP)
KONER • Die Babbie
ALEK DRIVE • Frontière
JUNO REACTOR • The Golden Sun… Remixed
NON-HUMAN PERSONS • Original Fascination #2
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
FUNKER VOGT • Survivors Collector's Edition
ZONE TRIPPER • Horizon

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
10
43 years Never Mind The Bollocks!
28
10
On this day, 32 years ago, Front 242 released Front By Front!
24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
10
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
27
10
NO MORE
Turnaround
26
10
DEVO
Beautiful World
25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)