tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

06/06/2014 : XP8 - Nigredo EP

XP8

Nigredo EP

MusicDigital
CyberpunkDark ElectroEBMFuture PopIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Synth Pop / Electro PopTechnoTrance/Rave

[94/100]   
06/06/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

One year after the successful release of ‘Adrenochrome’ and its follow-up remix EP, "Meathead’s Lost HD", Marco Visconti and Marko Resurreccion are back and ready to unleash the Alchemy Series: three EPs planned to be released no more than six months from each other, an non-stop audio assault that will once again set aflame the alternative dance floors worldwide with its mixture of old and new influences from the classic sounds of trance to the modern beats of EDM.

Three releases as three are the phases of the Alchemical process, said to transform the lower metals such as lead into gold, and which is nothing else but a veiled allegory of the initiatory path from man to Godhead.

The journey starts on June 6th, 2014 with One Of Three: Nigredo.

Nigredo, or blackness, in alchemy means putrefaction or decomposition. The alchemists believed that as a first step in the pathway to the philosopher's stone all alchemical ingredients had to be cleansed and cooked extensively to a uniform black matter. In analytical psychology, the term became a metaphor for the dark night of the soul, when an individual confronts the shadow within.

Well, would they be influenced by the Full Metal Alchemist series? Could be a nice question for the interview?

It starts with a live vibe called 'Dolly was a raver': pumping beats, a nice clean voice mixed up with a computer animated voice and a fuelled electronic sound. 'Engage the bass' is a great clubber! I can see it being played in many clubs. I'm pretty sure that a lot of people want to remix this one! This one is for sure the continuation of the great XP8! Great future electro pop with a slice of cyber techno! 'Primitive' is a false slow one! Watch out for the growing beats! The longer the track plays, the stronger they get (until faded out). I like the melancholic sound of the voice, for sure the way it is recorded and produced! 'Troll Control': I see the title I think of something funny. I feel the rage when I listen to it and it has a nice live vibe too! This one is way hotter and sharper than Faderhead! Love the little trance/techno part in it! Throw a bomb with this track! I feel some Front 242 influences in the vocals! 'Information (Phaezek 4 remix)' is a great track coming from 'Adrenochrome' and I really love this version! The original was already a great one, so here we get some great upgrades!

One thing is for sure: this EP is not like most EP's: one great track and lots of fillers or alternative mixes: these are all great tracks! Bombs! It's nice to feel the chemistry (and the fun) between the boys!

Interview

Filip VAN MUYLEM
06/06/2014


 

Next reviews
SAVN • Savn
GOD MACCABRE • THE WINTERLONG (reissue)
ACCOLADE • Legends
BETRAYING THE MARTYRS • Where The World Ends
THE HIGH WIRE • Found in Honey
• HIDDEN KINGDOMS
EPOCHE • Noose
BERNARD ROSE • Sxtape
BATTLEAXE • Heavy Metal Sanctuary
MONO - AMINE • Human Farming

 

Other reviews from XP8
XP8 • Albedo
XP8 • Adrenochrome

 

Same genre: CYBERPUNK
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
NEON SHUDDER • O-8015
XP8 • Albedo
XMH • The Blind
CHRYSALIDE • Personal Revolution
AGONOIZE • Apokalypse
C-LEKKTOR • Final Alternativo
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Nuns are pregnant EP
VARIOUS ARISTS • Cultural Differences Vol 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • MATRIX DOWNLOADED 02

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
FEU FOLLET • Le champ des morts
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
ENZO KREFT • Control
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia

 

Same genre: EBM
STRIKKLAND • Predatorial Right
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Armèn
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
AUTOGEN • Antigen

 

Same genre: TRANCE/RAVE
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
CRISIS ACTOR • Superstar
GLENN LOVE • (R)age Electric (EP)
KONER • Die Babbie
ALEK DRIVE • Frontière
JUNO REACTOR • The Golden Sun… Remixed
NON-HUMAN PERSONS • Original Fascination #2
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
FUNKER VOGT • Survivors Collector's Edition
ZONE TRIPPER • Horizon

Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)