tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

26/11/2017 : PLEASURE TIME - Years About Us

PLEASURE TIME

Years About Us

MusicCD
FuturepopSynthpopTechno

[75/100]   

ScentAir Records
26/11/2017, Masha KASHA

The band

Pleasure Time is Chilean duo consisting of Axel Marinkovic as vocalist and Felipe Alarcon at the synth. The music they play is a "classical" synthpop/futurepop with a hint of techno influence. The guys have already issued their first EP single with "No quiero regresar" and "Tranquilidad". Now the both songs included in the single can be found as "I don't want to go back" and "Tranquility" at their full album "Years about us" (as their English fraternal twins of course ;)

The style

The style resembles some "trancy" futurepop, with some VNV Nation like synth, but much darker vocals closer to Estados Alterados. Actually the sound is very close to Zedna. The album features half of the songs in English - the other half is in Spanish, continuing the good old South American futurepop tradition.

Favourite songs

Although the two EP tracks mentioned above have surely won the audience's prize, my personal preferences fall on the Spanish speaking tracks. "Una vez mas" is a really electrifying and energising trance experience with really really nice lyrics uniting the inner and outer space. Reminds me a lot of "Starsign" from Apoptygma Berzerk, although much softer and meditative on the beat part. The second favourite is "Maldito corazon" as a very vibrant peace with melancholic vibes and lyrics.

When to listen to it

On the way back home after the afterparty, when you want to escape the reality, while walking in the city alone at night, while watching the stars.

To sum it up

The general mood of the album can be classified as "romantic techno". For some it will sound monotone, for the others it will give a good meditation escapism. It will surely please some fans of Apoptygma's "Welcome to Earth" or "VNV Nation" if just in case you are tired of looping the same EP for X times and appreciate some fresh sound. Conclusion: in general good job and a good beginning for the "Pleasure Time".

Tracklist

01 Take Me Away
02 I Dont Want To Go Back
03 I Will Not Repeat
04 No More To Talk
05 Pensado En Ti
06 Pleasure
07 Que Sera
08 Tranquility
09 Una Vez Mas
10 Your Love
11 Lo Mejor De Mi
12 Maldito Corazon
13 Es Mejor

Masha KASHA
26/11/2017


 

Next reviews
ELEZORIA • Astray
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK • OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
AM TIERPARK • Trashy Luxury
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF • Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
BOY HARSHER • Country Girl
OUR BANSHEE • 4200
IMPLANT • The Phone Call (EP)
SEESAYLE • Stamina
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection

 

Same genre: FUTUREPOP
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
LAS AVES • Die in Shangai
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
CHIRON • Breaking Point EP
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
MR.KITTY • Fragments
ANGELS & AGONY • Monument
[:SITD:] • Dunkelziffer
ADVANCE • Deus Ex Machina

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo

 

Same genre: TECHNO
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
AUTOGEN • Antigen
AXIOME • L’avenir est un cerf teint

Music reviews

19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever