tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

26/11/2017 : PLEASURE TIME - Years About Us

PLEASURE TIME

Years About Us

MusicCD
FuturepopSynthpopTechno

[75/100]   

ScentAir Records
26/11/2017, Masha KASHA

The band

Pleasure Time is Chilean duo consisting of Axel Marinkovic as vocalist and Felipe Alarcon at the synth. The music they play is a "classical" synthpop/futurepop with a hint of techno influence. The guys have already issued their first EP single with "No quiero regresar" and "Tranquilidad". Now the both songs included in the single can be found as "I don't want to go back" and "Tranquility" at their full album "Years about us" (as their English fraternal twins of course ;)

The style

The style resembles some "trancy" futurepop, with some VNV Nation like synth, but much darker vocals closer to Estados Alterados. Actually the sound is very close to Zedna. The album features half of the songs in English - the other half is in Spanish, continuing the good old South American futurepop tradition.

Favourite songs

Although the two EP tracks mentioned above have surely won the audience's prize, my personal preferences fall on the Spanish speaking tracks. "Una vez mas" is a really electrifying and energising trance experience with really really nice lyrics uniting the inner and outer space. Reminds me a lot of "Starsign" from Apoptygma Berzerk, although much softer and meditative on the beat part. The second favourite is "Maldito corazon" as a very vibrant peace with melancholic vibes and lyrics.

When to listen to it

On the way back home after the afterparty, when you want to escape the reality, while walking in the city alone at night, while watching the stars.

To sum it up

The general mood of the album can be classified as "romantic techno". For some it will sound monotone, for the others it will give a good meditation escapism. It will surely please some fans of Apoptygma's "Welcome to Earth" or "VNV Nation" if just in case you are tired of looping the same EP for X times and appreciate some fresh sound. Conclusion: in general good job and a good beginning for the "Pleasure Time".

Tracklist

01 Take Me Away
02 I Dont Want To Go Back
03 I Will Not Repeat
04 No More To Talk
05 Pensado En Ti
06 Pleasure
07 Que Sera
08 Tranquility
09 Una Vez Mas
10 Your Love
11 Lo Mejor De Mi
12 Maldito Corazon
13 Es Mejor

Masha KASHA
26/11/2017


 

Next reviews
ELEZORIA • Astray
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK • OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
AM TIERPARK • Trashy Luxury
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF • Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
BOY HARSHER • Country Girl
OUR BANSHEE • 4200
IMPLANT • The Phone Call (EP)
SEESAYLE • Stamina
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection

 

Same genre: FUTUREPOP
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
LAS AVES • Die in Shangai
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
CHIRON • Breaking Point EP
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
MR.KITTY • Fragments
ANGELS & AGONY • Monument
[:SITD:] • Dunkelziffer
ADVANCE • Deus Ex Machina

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo
ELEZORIA • Astray

 

Same genre: TECHNO
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
AUTOGEN • Antigen
AXIOME • L’avenir est un cerf teint

Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, exactly 9 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex on Major Records!
22
01
This month 47 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
MILA MAR
Haime
21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life