tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

26/11/2017 : PLEASURE TIME - Years About Us

PLEASURE TIME

Years About Us

MusicCD
FuturepopSynthpopTechno

[75/100]   

ScentAir Records
26/11/2017, Masha KASHA

The band

Pleasure Time is Chilean duo consisting of Axel Marinkovic as vocalist and Felipe Alarcon at the synth. The music they play is a "classical" synthpop/futurepop with a hint of techno influence. The guys have already issued their first EP single with "No quiero regresar" and "Tranquilidad". Now the both songs included in the single can be found as "I don't want to go back" and "Tranquility" at their full album "Years about us" (as their English fraternal twins of course ;)

The style

The style resembles some "trancy" futurepop, with some VNV Nation like synth, but much darker vocals closer to Estados Alterados. Actually the sound is very close to Zedna. The album features half of the songs in English - the other half is in Spanish, continuing the good old South American futurepop tradition.

Favourite songs

Although the two EP tracks mentioned above have surely won the audience's prize, my personal preferences fall on the Spanish speaking tracks. "Una vez mas" is a really electrifying and energising trance experience with really really nice lyrics uniting the inner and outer space. Reminds me a lot of "Starsign" from Apoptygma Berzerk, although much softer and meditative on the beat part. The second favourite is "Maldito corazon" as a very vibrant peace with melancholic vibes and lyrics.

When to listen to it

On the way back home after the afterparty, when you want to escape the reality, while walking in the city alone at night, while watching the stars.

To sum it up

The general mood of the album can be classified as "romantic techno". For some it will sound monotone, for the others it will give a good meditation escapism. It will surely please some fans of Apoptygma's "Welcome to Earth" or "VNV Nation" if just in case you are tired of looping the same EP for X times and appreciate some fresh sound. Conclusion: in general good job and a good beginning for the "Pleasure Time".

Tracklist

01 Take Me Away
02 I Dont Want To Go Back
03 I Will Not Repeat
04 No More To Talk
05 Pensado En Ti
06 Pleasure
07 Que Sera
08 Tranquility
09 Una Vez Mas
10 Your Love
11 Lo Mejor De Mi
12 Maldito Corazon
13 Es Mejor

Masha KASHA
26/11/2017


Music reviews

29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park
14
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Melancholic Disposition

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!
21
03
Bone Machine | 32 - Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...
03
03
DAVID SARDY
Producer David Sardy on his work with The Who, Oasis, Marilyn Manson and scoring work.

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes
25
03
JOZEF VAN WISSEM
Ruins
24
03
KRANKLAND
In the Realms of the Unreal