tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

26/11/2017 : PLEASURE TIME - Years About Us

PLEASURE TIME

Years About Us

MusicCD
FuturepopSynthpopTechno

[75/100]   

ScentAir Records
26/11/2017, Masha KASHA

The band

Pleasure Time is Chilean duo consisting of Axel Marinkovic as vocalist and Felipe Alarcon at the synth. The music they play is a "classical" synthpop/futurepop with a hint of techno influence. The guys have already issued their first EP single with "No quiero regresar" and "Tranquilidad". Now the both songs included in the single can be found as "I don't want to go back" and "Tranquility" at their full album "Years about us" (as their English fraternal twins of course ;)

The style

The style resembles some "trancy" futurepop, with some VNV Nation like synth, but much darker vocals closer to Estados Alterados. Actually the sound is very close to Zedna. The album features half of the songs in English - the other half is in Spanish, continuing the good old South American futurepop tradition.

Favourite songs

Although the two EP tracks mentioned above have surely won the audience's prize, my personal preferences fall on the Spanish speaking tracks. "Una vez mas" is a really electrifying and energising trance experience with really really nice lyrics uniting the inner and outer space. Reminds me a lot of "Starsign" from Apoptygma Berzerk, although much softer and meditative on the beat part. The second favourite is "Maldito corazon" as a very vibrant peace with melancholic vibes and lyrics.

When to listen to it

On the way back home after the afterparty, when you want to escape the reality, while walking in the city alone at night, while watching the stars.

To sum it up

The general mood of the album can be classified as "romantic techno". For some it will sound monotone, for the others it will give a good meditation escapism. It will surely please some fans of Apoptygma's "Welcome to Earth" or "VNV Nation" if just in case you are tired of looping the same EP for X times and appreciate some fresh sound. Conclusion: in general good job and a good beginning for the "Pleasure Time".

Tracklist

01 Take Me Away
02 I Dont Want To Go Back
03 I Will Not Repeat
04 No More To Talk
05 Pensado En Ti
06 Pleasure
07 Que Sera
08 Tranquility
09 Una Vez Mas
10 Your Love
11 Lo Mejor De Mi
12 Maldito Corazon
13 Es Mejor

Masha KASHA
26/11/2017


Music reviews

12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face