tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : LAS AVES - Die in Shangai

LAS AVES

Die in Shangai

MusicCD
Electro PopFuturepop

[85/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Las Aves has released a debut album that sounds like futurepop, which is reflected in their image: white clothes, tattoos and artful photographs.

The music is catchy sounding pop (especially the synths) with more depth than what we hear on the radio. How to describe the music? You take a pinch of M.I.A.., Robyn, The Knife (the easy songs) and Kate Perry. You put everything in a blender and the result is Las Aves: poppy, catchy and sometimes alienating.

And it works. The music is expertly done and contains different layers. Leo opens the album and at first it sounds like vintage electro, butthe trackt evolves into modern synth work. Like Die In Shanghai and First Aid Blanket, Perfect Mess has nice synth sounds and a catchy melody.

Heartbeats sounds rather dark. N.E.M. is a nod to the R ’n B scene. Lioness is also worth exploring. After a rather slow and atmospheric intro, the song suddenly accelerates and the atmosphere changes. It feels abrupt and even crazy, but the song gets that little bit more.

I Dreamed is done with Olivia of The Do. A track that sounds rather exotic.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Las Aves komt met een debuut aanzetten waarvan de muziek naar futurepop neigt. Dat straalt hun imago ook uit: witte kleren, tattoos en kunstige foto’s zetten de toon.

De muziek is catchy klinkende pop (vooral synths) met toch wat meer diepgang dan wat we op de radio horen. Hoe moeten we de muziek omschrijven? Men neme een snuifje M.I.A., Robyn, The Knife ( de toegankelijkste nummers) en Kate Perry, stopt alles in de blender en het resultaat is Las Aves: poppy, catchy en soms vervreemdend.

Hoe dan ook, het werkt. Het nodigt uit tot meer. En de muziek zit vakkundig en gelaagd ineen, waardoor je meerdere keren luisterplezier hebt aan het album. De zangeres heeft trouwens een aangename stem. Leo opent het album en klinkt in eerste instantie als vintage electro en evolueert vervolgens tot moderner synthwerk. Perfect Mess heeft, net als Die In Shangai en First Aid Blanket, wat leuke synthsounds en een aanstekelijke zanglijn dat al snel blijft hangen. Dit is singlemateriaal, terwijl Heartbeats eerder donker en vervreemdend klinkt. De tekst verklaart dat ze niet met zich laat sollen en door de manier waarop het wordt gezongen, klinkt het geloofwaardig.

N.E.M. is een knipoog naar de R&B-scène. Ook Lioness is het ontdekken waard. Na een eerder trage en sfeervolle intro, versnelt de song plots en verandert de sfeer een beetje. De eerste maal klinkt die verandering wat abrupt en gek, maar het geeft de song net dat beetje meer. Als afsluiter horen we I Dreamed, een samenwerking met Olivia van The Do. Een track dat eerder exotisch klinkt.

Een aangenaam en sterk debuut dat ons uit Parijs bereikt. Heerlijk om te ontdekken. Live kan je deze band op Les Ardentes ontdekken op 7 juli.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On