tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : LAS AVES - Die in Shangai

LAS AVES

Die in Shangai

MusicCD
Electro PopFuturepop

[85/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Las Aves has released a debut album that sounds like futurepop, which is reflected in their image: white clothes, tattoos and artful photographs.

The music is catchy sounding pop (especially the synths) with more depth than what we hear on the radio. How to describe the music? You take a pinch of M.I.A.., Robyn, The Knife (the easy songs) and Kate Perry. You put everything in a blender and the result is Las Aves: poppy, catchy and sometimes alienating.

And it works. The music is expertly done and contains different layers. Leo opens the album and at first it sounds like vintage electro, butthe trackt evolves into modern synth work. Like Die In Shanghai and First Aid Blanket, Perfect Mess has nice synth sounds and a catchy melody.

Heartbeats sounds rather dark. N.E.M. is a nod to the R ’n B scene. Lioness is also worth exploring. After a rather slow and atmospheric intro, the song suddenly accelerates and the atmosphere changes. It feels abrupt and even crazy, but the song gets that little bit more.

I Dreamed is done with Olivia of The Do. A track that sounds rather exotic.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Las Aves komt met een debuut aanzetten waarvan de muziek naar futurepop neigt. Dat straalt hun imago ook uit: witte kleren, tattoos en kunstige foto’s zetten de toon.

De muziek is catchy klinkende pop (vooral synths) met toch wat meer diepgang dan wat we op de radio horen. Hoe moeten we de muziek omschrijven? Men neme een snuifje M.I.A., Robyn, The Knife ( de toegankelijkste nummers) en Kate Perry, stopt alles in de blender en het resultaat is Las Aves: poppy, catchy en soms vervreemdend.

Hoe dan ook, het werkt. Het nodigt uit tot meer. En de muziek zit vakkundig en gelaagd ineen, waardoor je meerdere keren luisterplezier hebt aan het album. De zangeres heeft trouwens een aangename stem. Leo opent het album en klinkt in eerste instantie als vintage electro en evolueert vervolgens tot moderner synthwerk. Perfect Mess heeft, net als Die In Shangai en First Aid Blanket, wat leuke synthsounds en een aanstekelijke zanglijn dat al snel blijft hangen. Dit is singlemateriaal, terwijl Heartbeats eerder donker en vervreemdend klinkt. De tekst verklaart dat ze niet met zich laat sollen en door de manier waarop het wordt gezongen, klinkt het geloofwaardig.

N.E.M. is een knipoog naar de R&B-scène. Ook Lioness is het ontdekken waard. Na een eerder trage en sfeervolle intro, versnelt de song plots en verandert de sfeer een beetje. De eerste maal klinkt die verandering wat abrupt en gek, maar het geeft de song net dat beetje meer. Als afsluiter horen we I Dreamed, een samenwerking met Olivia van The Do. Een track dat eerder exotisch klinkt.

Een aangenaam en sterk debuut dat ons uit Parijs bereikt. Heerlijk om te ontdekken. Live kan je deze band op Les Ardentes ontdekken op 7 juli.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)