tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : LAS AVES - Die in Shangai

LAS AVES

Die in Shangai

MusicCD
Electro PopFuturepop

[85/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Las Aves has released a debut album that sounds like futurepop, which is reflected in their image: white clothes, tattoos and artful photographs.

The music is catchy sounding pop (especially the synths) with more depth than what we hear on the radio. How to describe the music? You take a pinch of M.I.A.., Robyn, The Knife (the easy songs) and Kate Perry. You put everything in a blender and the result is Las Aves: poppy, catchy and sometimes alienating.

And it works. The music is expertly done and contains different layers. Leo opens the album and at first it sounds like vintage electro, butthe trackt evolves into modern synth work. Like Die In Shanghai and First Aid Blanket, Perfect Mess has nice synth sounds and a catchy melody.

Heartbeats sounds rather dark. N.E.M. is a nod to the R ’n B scene. Lioness is also worth exploring. After a rather slow and atmospheric intro, the song suddenly accelerates and the atmosphere changes. It feels abrupt and even crazy, but the song gets that little bit more.

I Dreamed is done with Olivia of The Do. A track that sounds rather exotic.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Las Aves komt met een debuut aanzetten waarvan de muziek naar futurepop neigt. Dat straalt hun imago ook uit: witte kleren, tattoos en kunstige foto’s zetten de toon.

De muziek is catchy klinkende pop (vooral synths) met toch wat meer diepgang dan wat we op de radio horen. Hoe moeten we de muziek omschrijven? Men neme een snuifje M.I.A., Robyn, The Knife ( de toegankelijkste nummers) en Kate Perry, stopt alles in de blender en het resultaat is Las Aves: poppy, catchy en soms vervreemdend.

Hoe dan ook, het werkt. Het nodigt uit tot meer. En de muziek zit vakkundig en gelaagd ineen, waardoor je meerdere keren luisterplezier hebt aan het album. De zangeres heeft trouwens een aangename stem. Leo opent het album en klinkt in eerste instantie als vintage electro en evolueert vervolgens tot moderner synthwerk. Perfect Mess heeft, net als Die In Shangai en First Aid Blanket, wat leuke synthsounds en een aanstekelijke zanglijn dat al snel blijft hangen. Dit is singlemateriaal, terwijl Heartbeats eerder donker en vervreemdend klinkt. De tekst verklaart dat ze niet met zich laat sollen en door de manier waarop het wordt gezongen, klinkt het geloofwaardig.

N.E.M. is een knipoog naar de R&B-scène. Ook Lioness is het ontdekken waard. Na een eerder trage en sfeervolle intro, versnelt de song plots en verandert de sfeer een beetje. De eerste maal klinkt die verandering wat abrupt en gek, maar het geeft de song net dat beetje meer. Als afsluiter horen we I Dreamed, een samenwerking met Olivia van The Do. Een track dat eerder exotisch klinkt.

Een aangenaam en sterk debuut dat ons uit Parijs bereikt. Heerlijk om te ontdekken. Live kan je deze band op Les Ardentes ontdekken op 7 juli.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift