tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : LAS AVES - Die in Shangai

LAS AVES

Die in Shangai

MusicCD
Electro PopFuturepop

[85/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Las Aves has released a debut album that sounds like futurepop, which is reflected in their image: white clothes, tattoos and artful photographs.

The music is catchy sounding pop (especially the synths) with more depth than what we hear on the radio. How to describe the music? You take a pinch of M.I.A.., Robyn, The Knife (the easy songs) and Kate Perry. You put everything in a blender and the result is Las Aves: poppy, catchy and sometimes alienating.

And it works. The music is expertly done and contains different layers. Leo opens the album and at first it sounds like vintage electro, butthe trackt evolves into modern synth work. Like Die In Shanghai and First Aid Blanket, Perfect Mess has nice synth sounds and a catchy melody.

Heartbeats sounds rather dark. N.E.M. is a nod to the R ’n B scene. Lioness is also worth exploring. After a rather slow and atmospheric intro, the song suddenly accelerates and the atmosphere changes. It feels abrupt and even crazy, but the song gets that little bit more.

I Dreamed is done with Olivia of The Do. A track that sounds rather exotic.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Las Aves komt met een debuut aanzetten waarvan de muziek naar futurepop neigt. Dat straalt hun imago ook uit: witte kleren, tattoos en kunstige foto’s zetten de toon.

De muziek is catchy klinkende pop (vooral synths) met toch wat meer diepgang dan wat we op de radio horen. Hoe moeten we de muziek omschrijven? Men neme een snuifje M.I.A., Robyn, The Knife ( de toegankelijkste nummers) en Kate Perry, stopt alles in de blender en het resultaat is Las Aves: poppy, catchy en soms vervreemdend.

Hoe dan ook, het werkt. Het nodigt uit tot meer. En de muziek zit vakkundig en gelaagd ineen, waardoor je meerdere keren luisterplezier hebt aan het album. De zangeres heeft trouwens een aangename stem. Leo opent het album en klinkt in eerste instantie als vintage electro en evolueert vervolgens tot moderner synthwerk. Perfect Mess heeft, net als Die In Shangai en First Aid Blanket, wat leuke synthsounds en een aanstekelijke zanglijn dat al snel blijft hangen. Dit is singlemateriaal, terwijl Heartbeats eerder donker en vervreemdend klinkt. De tekst verklaart dat ze niet met zich laat sollen en door de manier waarop het wordt gezongen, klinkt het geloofwaardig.

N.E.M. is een knipoog naar de R&B-scène. Ook Lioness is het ontdekken waard. Na een eerder trage en sfeervolle intro, versnelt de song plots en verandert de sfeer een beetje. De eerste maal klinkt die verandering wat abrupt en gek, maar het geeft de song net dat beetje meer. Als afsluiter horen we I Dreamed, een samenwerking met Olivia van The Do. Een track dat eerder exotisch klinkt.

Een aangenaam en sterk debuut dat ons uit Parijs bereikt. Heerlijk om te ontdekken. Live kan je deze band op Les Ardentes ontdekken op 7 juli.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane