tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : LAS AVES - Die in Shangai

LAS AVES

Die in Shangai

MusicCD
Electro PopFuturepop

[85/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Las Aves has released a debut album that sounds like futurepop, which is reflected in their image: white clothes, tattoos and artful photographs.

The music is catchy sounding pop (especially the synths) with more depth than what we hear on the radio. How to describe the music? You take a pinch of M.I.A.., Robyn, The Knife (the easy songs) and Kate Perry. You put everything in a blender and the result is Las Aves: poppy, catchy and sometimes alienating.

And it works. The music is expertly done and contains different layers. Leo opens the album and at first it sounds like vintage electro, butthe trackt evolves into modern synth work. Like Die In Shanghai and First Aid Blanket, Perfect Mess has nice synth sounds and a catchy melody.

Heartbeats sounds rather dark. N.E.M. is a nod to the R ’n B scene. Lioness is also worth exploring. After a rather slow and atmospheric intro, the song suddenly accelerates and the atmosphere changes. It feels abrupt and even crazy, but the song gets that little bit more.

I Dreamed is done with Olivia of The Do. A track that sounds rather exotic.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Las Aves komt met een debuut aanzetten waarvan de muziek naar futurepop neigt. Dat straalt hun imago ook uit: witte kleren, tattoos en kunstige foto’s zetten de toon.

De muziek is catchy klinkende pop (vooral synths) met toch wat meer diepgang dan wat we op de radio horen. Hoe moeten we de muziek omschrijven? Men neme een snuifje M.I.A., Robyn, The Knife ( de toegankelijkste nummers) en Kate Perry, stopt alles in de blender en het resultaat is Las Aves: poppy, catchy en soms vervreemdend.

Hoe dan ook, het werkt. Het nodigt uit tot meer. En de muziek zit vakkundig en gelaagd ineen, waardoor je meerdere keren luisterplezier hebt aan het album. De zangeres heeft trouwens een aangename stem. Leo opent het album en klinkt in eerste instantie als vintage electro en evolueert vervolgens tot moderner synthwerk. Perfect Mess heeft, net als Die In Shangai en First Aid Blanket, wat leuke synthsounds en een aanstekelijke zanglijn dat al snel blijft hangen. Dit is singlemateriaal, terwijl Heartbeats eerder donker en vervreemdend klinkt. De tekst verklaart dat ze niet met zich laat sollen en door de manier waarop het wordt gezongen, klinkt het geloofwaardig.

N.E.M. is een knipoog naar de R&B-scène. Ook Lioness is het ontdekken waard. Na een eerder trage en sfeervolle intro, versnelt de song plots en verandert de sfeer een beetje. De eerste maal klinkt die verandering wat abrupt en gek, maar het geeft de song net dat beetje meer. Als afsluiter horen we I Dreamed, een samenwerking met Olivia van The Do. Een track dat eerder exotisch klinkt.

Een aangenaam en sterk debuut dat ons uit Parijs bereikt. Heerlijk om te ontdekken. Live kan je deze band op Les Ardentes ontdekken op 7 juli.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 1 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You