tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

10/12/2016 : ANTONYMES - Delicate Powers (In the Hands of Others)

ANTONYMES

Delicate Powers (In the Hands of Others)

MusicCD (EP)
AmbientElectronicsNeoclassical

[80/100]   

Hidden Shoal
10/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

The American designer, photographer, conceptualist and neoclassical composer M. Hazeldine (pseudonym: Antonymes) has released a (second) single from the album (For Now We See) Through a Glass Dimly. The EP Delicate Power (In The Hands of Others) contains the original version of the album track, plus three remixes by other artists and two by Antonymes himself.

In the review of the album on this site we wrote that Delicate Powers...is a track that you will not hear on pop radio stations, because Antonymes remains in the field of classical music... and that goes for his remix version Delicate Power (Jung's Drug Drum Waltz) as well: the plucked strings have been replaced by the sound of smoother violins and cellos, combined with dark, albeit quiet woody percussion. Halfway, Antonymus also adds a short spoken passage.

Initially, the Marconi Union remix sounds very different, because we only hear the piano in the second half of the track, albeit much less emphatic. In this version, Delicate Power sounds more like an orchestral track with quiet synths, a plucked and repetitive acoustic guitar and what appears to be the sound of dark brass instruments, gently interspersed with the sound of the piano : ballad-like, atmospheric, dreamy even. A nice alternative version.

The Marcus Mehr Re-invention remix introduces buzzing synths and a repetitive percussion track, the sound of a plucked guitar and dark atmospheric synths with a more menacing tone. The piano is present, but in a subtle way. The Lvmarked remix keeps the melodic elements of the piano sound from the original composition, adds prudent metallic and later thumping percussion, the sound of what sounds as plucked violins, electronics and economical noise. Recognizable and yet very different.

Antonymes own second remix, Delicate Power (Waltz for Mary Anne), gets good sounding synths that mimic plucked violins in the background (in the second half of the composition). It is a romantic version for a quiet evening, in which the slow waltz effect very clearly comes to the fore.

Tracklist:
1 Delicate Power (original version)
2 Delicate Power (Jung’s Drug Drum Waltz) – Antonymes
3 Delicate Power (Marconi Union)
4 Delicate Power (Marcus Mehr Re-invention)
5 Delicate Power (Lvmarked)
6 Delicate Power (Waltz for Mary Anne) – Antonymes

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


NL

Uit het album (For Now We See) Through a Glass Dimly van de Amerikaanse ontwerper, fotograaf, conceptualist en neoklassieke componist M. Hazeldine (pseudoniem: Antonymes) is een (tweede) single gereleaset. De ep Delicate Power (In The Hands of Others) bevat de originele versie van de albumtrack, aangevuld met drie remixen van andere artiesten en twee van Antonymes zelf.

In de recensie over het album schreven we eerder dat Delicate Powers …een compositie is die je eerder op Klara zal tegenkomen dan op Studio Brussel, want Antonymes blijft in deze track op het terrein van de klassieke muziek… en dat geld ook voor zijn remixversie Delicate Power (Jung’s Drug Drum Waltz), waarin de getokkelde strijkers zijn vervangen door het geluid van vloeiendere violen en cello’s en een donkere, zij het rustige houtachtige percussie. Halfweg voegt Antonymus ook een korte gesproken passage toe.

De Marconi Union-remix klinkt aanvankelijk heel anders, want pas in de tweede helft van de track horen we de piano, die trouwens veel minder nadrukkelijk klinkt. In deze versie is Delicate Power veel meer een orkestrale track met rustige synths, een getokkelde en repetitieve akoestische gitaar en wat lijkt op het geluid van donkere koperinstrumenten, waartussen het pianogeluid zich voorzichtig nestelt: ballade-achtig en atmosferisch, dromerig zelfs. Een mooie alternatieve versie.

De Marcus Mehr Re-invention-remix introduceert zoemende synths en een repetitief percussieschema, het geluid van een getokkelde gitaar en donkere atmosferische synths met een wat dreigende toon. De piano is niet meer dan subtiel aanwezig. De Lvmarked-remix kiest uitdrukkelijk voor de melodische piano-elementen uit het origineel, stopt er voorzichtige metaalachtige en later bonkende percussie onder, het geluid als van getokkelde violen, elektronica en spaarzame noise. Herkenbaar en toch heel anders.

Antonymes eigen tweede remixversie, Delicate Power (Waltz for Mary Anne), krijgt in de tweede helft goed klinkende synths die in de achtergrond getokkelde violen imiteren. Het is een romantische versie voor de late uurtjes, waarin het tragewalseffect zeer duidelijk op de voorgrond treedt.

Tracklist:
1 Delicate Power (original version)
2 Delicate Power (Jung’s Drug Drum Waltz) – Antonymes
3 Delicate Power (Marconi Union)
4 Delicate Power (Marcus Mehr Re-invention)
5 Delicate Power (Lvmarked)
6 Delicate Power (Waltz for Mary Anne) – Antonymes

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : ANTONYMES - Delicate Powers (In the Hands of Others)

Music reviews

28
04
DURUTTI COLUMN
Domo Arigato
26
04
PIANO MAGIC
Closure
25
04
VENN
Runes
23
04
BING AND RUTH
No Home of the Mind
21
04
CONRAD SCHNITZLER AND POLE
Con-Struct
19
04
BRIAN ENO
Reflection

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
04
INFEST 2017: Sidewalks & Skeletons confirmed!
27
04
The Residents are heading to Europe
26
04
New Roger Waters Album : Is This The Life We Really Want ?
26
04
Gary Numan announces a new album, a new tour and explains his new SAVAGE image!
25
04
New Names for Brussels Summer Festival 2017
22
04
New album by Illuminine

Concert reviews

15
04
DURBUY ROCK
New Model Army loves a hopeless cause... | Durbuy, Belgium | 08.04.2017
10
04
HAUSCHKA
Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
06
04
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Some postpunk, indie, coldwave bands to discover at WGT 2017 (Leipzig, D)
04
04
HOCICO, SHAARGHOT
Magasin 4 - 29 maart 2017
26
03
26 TH WAVE UND GOTIK TREFFEN - JUNE 2TH - 5 TH 2017
Some minimal bands to check out !
21
03
ELM, MONO ELECTRONIC DENSITY, LUMYIA
Les Vierges Morbides, Café Bobble, Lomme/Rijsel - 11 maart 2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
04
DIVE
'Music is a virus!'
20
04
SOVIETWAVE
Cosmonauts' day special
18
04
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
'The universe of dark industrial music takes me somewhere I want to be'
16
04
ATARAXIA
'Music is the miracle of coming into being and vanishing'
14
04
SPHERICAL DISRUPTED
‘Every single sound is very important and has to be effective!'

PHOTOS

25
04
DIVE
Darkest Night 2017, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
24
04
AKALOTZ
Darkest Night 2017, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
24
04
STIN SCATZOR
Darkest Night 2017, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
24
04
KNK
Darkest Night 2017, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
17
04
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
17
04
WILLIAM CONTROL
Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
17
04
EMPATHY TEST
Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

29
04
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
async
28
04
HELENA HAUFF
Sworn To Secrecy Part II
27
04
THIS MORN' OMINA
Garuda Vimana CCF
26
04
AMBASSADOR21
AMBASSADOR21 official video 'Revelation'
25
04
HAUSCHKA
Constant Growth Fails
24
04
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
24
04
DIVE
Far Away