tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : ANTONYMES - Delicate Powers (In the Hands of Others)

ANTONYMES

Delicate Powers (In the Hands of Others)

MusicCD (EP)
AmbientElectronicsNeoclassical

[80/100]   

Hidden Shoal
10/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

The American designer, photographer, conceptualist and neoclassical composer M. Hazeldine (pseudonym: Antonymes) has released a (second) single from the album (For Now We See) Through a Glass Dimly. The EP Delicate Power (In The Hands of Others) contains the original version of the album track, plus three remixes by other artists and two by Antonymes himself.

In the review of the album on this site we wrote that Delicate Powers...is a track that you will not hear on pop radio stations, because Antonymes remains in the field of classical music... and that goes for his remix version Delicate Power (Jung's Drug Drum Waltz) as well: the plucked strings have been replaced by the sound of smoother violins and cellos, combined with dark, albeit quiet woody percussion. Halfway, Antonymus also adds a short spoken passage.

Initially, the Marconi Union remix sounds very different, because we only hear the piano in the second half of the track, albeit much less emphatic. In this version, Delicate Power sounds more like an orchestral track with quiet synths, a plucked and repetitive acoustic guitar and what appears to be the sound of dark brass instruments, gently interspersed with the sound of the piano : ballad-like, atmospheric, dreamy even. A nice alternative version.

The Marcus Mehr Re-invention remix introduces buzzing synths and a repetitive percussion track, the sound of a plucked guitar and dark atmospheric synths with a more menacing tone. The piano is present, but in a subtle way. The Lvmarked remix keeps the melodic elements of the piano sound from the original composition, adds prudent metallic and later thumping percussion, the sound of what sounds as plucked violins, electronics and economical noise. Recognizable and yet very different.

Antonymes own second remix, Delicate Power (Waltz for Mary Anne), gets good sounding synths that mimic plucked violins in the background (in the second half of the composition). It is a romantic version for a quiet evening, in which the slow waltz effect very clearly comes to the fore.

Tracklist:
1 Delicate Power (original version)
2 Delicate Power (Jung’s Drug Drum Waltz) – Antonymes
3 Delicate Power (Marconi Union)
4 Delicate Power (Marcus Mehr Re-invention)
5 Delicate Power (Lvmarked)
6 Delicate Power (Waltz for Mary Anne) – Antonymes

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


NL

Uit het album (For Now We See) Through a Glass Dimly van de Amerikaanse ontwerper, fotograaf, conceptualist en neoklassieke componist M. Hazeldine (pseudoniem: Antonymes) is een (tweede) single gereleaset. De ep Delicate Power (In The Hands of Others) bevat de originele versie van de albumtrack, aangevuld met drie remixen van andere artiesten en twee van Antonymes zelf.

In de recensie over het album schreven we eerder dat Delicate Powers …een compositie is die je eerder op Klara zal tegenkomen dan op Studio Brussel, want Antonymes blijft in deze track op het terrein van de klassieke muziek… en dat geld ook voor zijn remixversie Delicate Power (Jung’s Drug Drum Waltz), waarin de getokkelde strijkers zijn vervangen door het geluid van vloeiendere violen en cello’s en een donkere, zij het rustige houtachtige percussie. Halfweg voegt Antonymus ook een korte gesproken passage toe.

De Marconi Union-remix klinkt aanvankelijk heel anders, want pas in de tweede helft van de track horen we de piano, die trouwens veel minder nadrukkelijk klinkt. In deze versie is Delicate Power veel meer een orkestrale track met rustige synths, een getokkelde en repetitieve akoestische gitaar en wat lijkt op het geluid van donkere koperinstrumenten, waartussen het pianogeluid zich voorzichtig nestelt: ballade-achtig en atmosferisch, dromerig zelfs. Een mooie alternatieve versie.

De Marcus Mehr Re-invention-remix introduceert zoemende synths en een repetitief percussieschema, het geluid van een getokkelde gitaar en donkere atmosferische synths met een wat dreigende toon. De piano is niet meer dan subtiel aanwezig. De Lvmarked-remix kiest uitdrukkelijk voor de melodische piano-elementen uit het origineel, stopt er voorzichtige metaalachtige en later bonkende percussie onder, het geluid als van getokkelde violen, elektronica en spaarzame noise. Herkenbaar en toch heel anders.

Antonymes eigen tweede remixversie, Delicate Power (Waltz for Mary Anne), krijgt in de tweede helft goed klinkende synths die in de achtergrond getokkelde violen imiteren. Het is een romantische versie voor de late uurtjes, waarin het tragewalseffect zeer duidelijk op de voorgrond treedt.

Tracklist:
1 Delicate Power (original version)
2 Delicate Power (Jung’s Drug Drum Waltz) – Antonymes
3 Delicate Power (Marconi Union)
4 Delicate Power (Marcus Mehr Re-invention)
5 Delicate Power (Lvmarked)
6 Delicate Power (Waltz for Mary Anne) – Antonymes

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : ANTONYMES - Delicate Powers (In the Hands of Others) 10/12/2016 : ANTONYMES - Delicate Powers (In the Hands of Others)

 

Next reviews
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
INVOKE THE INSULT • You Can Trust
SPOOKYLAND • Beauty Already Beautiful
FEWS • Means
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
NERVOSA • Agony
SPARK! • Maskiner
DEAD RABBITS • The Ticket That Exploded
RHOMBUS • Purity & Perversion
NEON LINES • Demo

 

Other reviews from ANTONYMES
ANTONYMES • (For Now We See) Through a Glass Dimly

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + ELECTRONICS + NEOCLASSICAL
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
THOMAS KÖNER • Tiento de la Luz

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
CAVERNA DELLE ROSE • Elysian Chants
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design