tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : RHOMBUS - Purity & Perversion

RHOMBUS

Purity & Perversion

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[79/100]   

Models Own Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

Next year, the British goth rock band Rhombus will celebrate its tenth anniversary. Apart from some EP’s and three albums, the band regularly plays at British alternative clubs and is a welcome guests in other European countries (Rhombus played at WGT in front of 1500 people).

The power of it all? Excellent, melancholic gothic rock that has a touch of the 70s (think of Bowie and even some Led Zeppelin) and traditional 90s goth rock (because of Alixandra Corvyn’s superb female vocals, I guess Skeletal Family is a quite good reference). But let us stop with name dropping because Rhombus doesn’t need that! Of course you can easily guess which records the band members have in their collection, but they definitely have developed a Rhombus-sound.

As you can guess, we receive many goth rock records at our office, but it rarely happens that all tracks are good and that’s exactly the case here. Purity & Perversion was released last year as an EP, but to this deluxe edition an extra track is added (Written In My Eyes), a cover and a remix. And above all, the songs are re-recorded and so they include Alixandra’s intriguing voice.

The alternate singing between the male voice (Edward) and the ethereal Alixandra works perfectly, and above all these guys know how to write tunes that move you to tears. Okay, I promised not to mention other names, but Daylight definitely could have been a tune by Wayne Hussey, simply because this is goth rock that makes you feel alive. The high light surely is A Moment Today which is featured twice... it’s the kind of song that makes you speechless. Pure gothic beauty.

As said, this new version also includes a cover. Rhombus opted for Adrianne Dances by the obscure band Das Projekt (Adrianne Dances). This band from Yorkshire proves (once again) that the best goth rock still comes from Great Britain.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

09
04
DDDJMX
Oceaned
31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
04
Rabia Sorda strikes back with new single!
06
04
Blutengel and Hocico, have recorded the single 'Obscured' in collaboration!
04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
04
NZ
Attitude And Passion
30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

10
04
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
09
04
DAVID A. LINE
Der dunkelste Tag
08
04
DEATH OF A CHEERLEADER
Tanna
07
04
HAUSCHKA
My Kids Live On Mars
06
04
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
05
04
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL