tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : RHOMBUS - Purity & Perversion

RHOMBUS

Purity & Perversion

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[79/100]   

Models Own Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

Next year, the British goth rock band Rhombus will celebrate its tenth anniversary. Apart from some EP’s and three albums, the band regularly plays at British alternative clubs and is a welcome guests in other European countries (Rhombus played at WGT in front of 1500 people).

The power of it all? Excellent, melancholic gothic rock that has a touch of the 70s (think of Bowie and even some Led Zeppelin) and traditional 90s goth rock (because of Alixandra Corvyn’s superb female vocals, I guess Skeletal Family is a quite good reference). But let us stop with name dropping because Rhombus doesn’t need that! Of course you can easily guess which records the band members have in their collection, but they definitely have developed a Rhombus-sound.

As you can guess, we receive many goth rock records at our office, but it rarely happens that all tracks are good and that’s exactly the case here. Purity & Perversion was released last year as an EP, but to this deluxe edition an extra track is added (Written In My Eyes), a cover and a remix. And above all, the songs are re-recorded and so they include Alixandra’s intriguing voice.

The alternate singing between the male voice (Edward) and the ethereal Alixandra works perfectly, and above all these guys know how to write tunes that move you to tears. Okay, I promised not to mention other names, but Daylight definitely could have been a tune by Wayne Hussey, simply because this is goth rock that makes you feel alive. The high light surely is A Moment Today which is featured twice... it’s the kind of song that makes you speechless. Pure gothic beauty.

As said, this new version also includes a cover. Rhombus opted for Adrianne Dances by the obscure band Das Projekt (Adrianne Dances). This band from Yorkshire proves (once again) that the best goth rock still comes from Great Britain.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus
15
07
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Melancholic Maniac

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'
30
07
Electronic Act VEXILLARY Examines Surveillance Culture With New EP

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'
02
08
VELVET KILLS
Velvet Kills Is A Paradox, Wrapped In A Mystery, Inside Of An Enigma…
11
07
PAGE HAMILTON (HELMET)
'I think in 2021 we’ll have a new album...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED
07
08
SUPERNOVA 1006
Dope
06
08
SIXTH JUNE
Nebo
05
08
ANNE CLARK
Our Darkness
04
08
PIL
Rise