tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : RHOMBUS - Purity & Perversion

RHOMBUS

Purity & Perversion

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[79/100]   

Models Own Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

Next year, the British goth rock band Rhombus will celebrate its tenth anniversary. Apart from some EP’s and three albums, the band regularly plays at British alternative clubs and is a welcome guests in other European countries (Rhombus played at WGT in front of 1500 people).

The power of it all? Excellent, melancholic gothic rock that has a touch of the 70s (think of Bowie and even some Led Zeppelin) and traditional 90s goth rock (because of Alixandra Corvyn’s superb female vocals, I guess Skeletal Family is a quite good reference). But let us stop with name dropping because Rhombus doesn’t need that! Of course you can easily guess which records the band members have in their collection, but they definitely have developed a Rhombus-sound.

As you can guess, we receive many goth rock records at our office, but it rarely happens that all tracks are good and that’s exactly the case here. Purity & Perversion was released last year as an EP, but to this deluxe edition an extra track is added (Written In My Eyes), a cover and a remix. And above all, the songs are re-recorded and so they include Alixandra’s intriguing voice.

The alternate singing between the male voice (Edward) and the ethereal Alixandra works perfectly, and above all these guys know how to write tunes that move you to tears. Okay, I promised not to mention other names, but Daylight definitely could have been a tune by Wayne Hussey, simply because this is goth rock that makes you feel alive. The high light surely is A Moment Today which is featured twice... it’s the kind of song that makes you speechless. Pure gothic beauty.

As said, this new version also includes a cover. Rhombus opted for Adrianne Dances by the obscure band Das Projekt (Adrianne Dances). This band from Yorkshire proves (once again) that the best goth rock still comes from Great Britain.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
04
12
BLUTENGEL
Soul Of Ice