tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : RHOMBUS - Purity & Perversion

RHOMBUS

Purity & Perversion

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[79/100]   

Models Own Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

Next year, the British goth rock band Rhombus will celebrate its tenth anniversary. Apart from some EP’s and three albums, the band regularly plays at British alternative clubs and is a welcome guests in other European countries (Rhombus played at WGT in front of 1500 people).

The power of it all? Excellent, melancholic gothic rock that has a touch of the 70s (think of Bowie and even some Led Zeppelin) and traditional 90s goth rock (because of Alixandra Corvyn’s superb female vocals, I guess Skeletal Family is a quite good reference). But let us stop with name dropping because Rhombus doesn’t need that! Of course you can easily guess which records the band members have in their collection, but they definitely have developed a Rhombus-sound.

As you can guess, we receive many goth rock records at our office, but it rarely happens that all tracks are good and that’s exactly the case here. Purity & Perversion was released last year as an EP, but to this deluxe edition an extra track is added (Written In My Eyes), a cover and a remix. And above all, the songs are re-recorded and so they include Alixandra’s intriguing voice.

The alternate singing between the male voice (Edward) and the ethereal Alixandra works perfectly, and above all these guys know how to write tunes that move you to tears. Okay, I promised not to mention other names, but Daylight definitely could have been a tune by Wayne Hussey, simply because this is goth rock that makes you feel alive. The high light surely is A Moment Today which is featured twice... it’s the kind of song that makes you speechless. Pure gothic beauty.

As said, this new version also includes a cover. Rhombus opted for Adrianne Dances by the obscure band Das Projekt (Adrianne Dances). This band from Yorkshire proves (once again) that the best goth rock still comes from Great Britain.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
09
JOHN HASSALL(THE LIBERTINES,THE APRIL RAINERS)
'I’m trying to write for everybody!'
21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem