tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : RHOMBUS - Purity & Perversion

RHOMBUS

Purity & Perversion

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[79/100]   

Models Own Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

Next year, the British goth rock band Rhombus will celebrate its tenth anniversary. Apart from some EP’s and three albums, the band regularly plays at British alternative clubs and is a welcome guests in other European countries (Rhombus played at WGT in front of 1500 people).

The power of it all? Excellent, melancholic gothic rock that has a touch of the 70s (think of Bowie and even some Led Zeppelin) and traditional 90s goth rock (because of Alixandra Corvyn’s superb female vocals, I guess Skeletal Family is a quite good reference). But let us stop with name dropping because Rhombus doesn’t need that! Of course you can easily guess which records the band members have in their collection, but they definitely have developed a Rhombus-sound.

As you can guess, we receive many goth rock records at our office, but it rarely happens that all tracks are good and that’s exactly the case here. Purity & Perversion was released last year as an EP, but to this deluxe edition an extra track is added (Written In My Eyes), a cover and a remix. And above all, the songs are re-recorded and so they include Alixandra’s intriguing voice.

The alternate singing between the male voice (Edward) and the ethereal Alixandra works perfectly, and above all these guys know how to write tunes that move you to tears. Okay, I promised not to mention other names, but Daylight definitely could have been a tune by Wayne Hussey, simply because this is goth rock that makes you feel alive. The high light surely is A Moment Today which is featured twice... it’s the kind of song that makes you speechless. Pure gothic beauty.

As said, this new version also includes a cover. Rhombus opted for Adrianne Dances by the obscure band Das Projekt (Adrianne Dances). This band from Yorkshire proves (once again) that the best goth rock still comes from Great Britain.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On