tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

28/09/2022 : THIS VALE OF TEARS - This Vale Of Tears

THIS VALE OF TEARS

This Vale Of Tears

MusicVinyl
Dark WaveGothicGothic RockNew wave

[80/100]   

JE M'EN FISH
28/09/2022, Fred GADGET

This Vale Of Tears disbanded somewhere in the early 2000s after their third and final album, Exceed, in 2002. Now 10 years later, this self-titled demo which was originally recorded at Rockfabriek in Brussels and released in 1994 as a DIY tape only, found its way onto a nice colourful 12' vinyl disc. This is thanks to the efforts of J'en Fish label and original founder Tom Simons (programming, keys, vocals and production) who had these six track remastered in the UK by Henry Bainbridge of The Heatwave. I must admit I was a bit skeptical when I got this record in my hands... but when the needle dropped it only took a few seconds to remind me how good this band actually was!

Even though I've slightly grown out of the doomy Goth-Rock scene in the last decades I like what I hear on the record. I must have the original tape lying around here somewhere but man, did I forget how good these songs were! Of course it's clear the perfect remastering took them to another level. Considering is was originally intended as 'just' a demo tape this sounds damn good! The cunning programming from Tom, the 'sister' like guitar play between Bart Van Laeken (Lizard Smile) and Johan Peeters, the thundering basslines by Albert Van Onckelen and the übergoth vocals by Eric Duffeler seem to blend perfectly into six magnificent Goth-rock tracks! Are you into Goth? Well then, don't hesitate or you will be too late! Only 200 copies have been pressed!

Fred GADGET
28/09/2022


 

Next reviews
KMFDM • Hyena
DEMI LOVATO • HOLY FVCK
MISERIA ULTIMA • Witch Heart Apparition
SYGO CRIES • In Outside Places
PARADOX OBSCUR • Intercourse
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
VANGUARD • Spectrum
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
KALTE NACHT • The Last Breath
PARTIKUL • Having Gone
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
DER KLINKE • Facing Fate
NFD • Trinity
THE MARS MODEL • Primal Urge
FEATHER TRADE • Dead Boy
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
DARK • Nightmare
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CHRYPTOCHROMA • Ominous Clouds
SKINNY PUPPY • PIAS 40
THE NEON JUDGEMENT • Blue Screens 1995 -2009
A SLICE OF LIFE • Tabula Rasa
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)

Music reviews

10
05
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Fear And Cufre
09
05
NEL & JP
Desinterersse
07
05
DARKEST NIGHT 2024
30
04
ATTRITION
The Black Maria
26
04
HYBRYDS
Mythopia, the sequel
25
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Elysium

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
05
TRAGIC VISIONS Confronts Mental Health Struggles With First New Album In 15 Years
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
50 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
38 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
43 years Spellbound!
19
05
46 of The Man-Machine!

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
05
LIVERNOIS
An Interview With Industrial Band, Livernois
27
05
AUSGANG
“This crushing, slamming, heavy strife …” It is 1982. In and around Birmingham a band arises from the ashes of various Post-Punk acts.
11
05
XTR HUMAN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist, XTR Human
09
05
THE RED MOON MACABRE
Resurrected after 32 years in 2021, now very active again. Interview with Renzo Tellez, founder of the classic Goth Rock band ‘The Red Moon Macabre’.
06
05
NOW AFTER NOTHING
An Interview With Darkwave Band, NOW AFTER NOTHING

PHOTOS

26
05
DER W STEFAN WEIDNER
Christuskirche Bochum
20
05
MONO INC
Christuskirche Bochum
14
05
CHRISTIAN DEATH
Rockpalast Bochum Matrix
16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
05
VOITH
Kraftwerk (Roboterkönige)
28
05
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
27
05
MIDAS FALL
Glue
26
05
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
25
05
ANIMAUX ANIME
Power
24
05
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth
23
05
SRSQ
Permission