tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl review

30/01/2020 : THE MARS MODEL - FrancoBelga

THE MARS MODEL

FrancoBelga

MusicCD / Vinyl
Gothic RockPost Punk

[86/100]   

Wool-E Discs
30/01/2020, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The Mars Model was founded at the beginning of 2019 by some individuals who have a musical past in a variety of styles. For instance singer Hans Verbeke who we already know from his work in the Belgian / West-Flemish hardcore scene with his band Liar. But don't expect hardcore, metal, speed or grind-core on this release. Because here this five-member band is showing off darker-tinted riffs, refined electronics and keys, fairly aggressive drumming and a no-nonsense message. From Gothic-Rock to Post-Punk. Curious? Well, take my advice, listen and be surprised, cherish the impressions and let them sink in. Nothing more, nothing less...

This is their first EP FrancoBelga, which contains four tracks. What lays hidden in these songs? Sturdy guitars, vocals interspersed with some more desperate cries from deep down. The songs are firm with a greasy edge. Wild and restless, swirling in contemporary society, where we are connected more than ever, and yet more isolated than ever. Lashing out wildly, from despair to hope, from unrest and fear to depression. The extremes are clearly audible and the balance seems lost. Four solid rocking songs, with predominating guitars, but without being too overwhelming and pruning. Like a firm fist punch in the stomach. But once you beat this pain, it becomes a pleasure. A piece of self-chastisement of more than 20 minutes, disguised in four songs.

It is the business card of a new kid on the block, the Mars Model. This debut EP already announces there is much more to come! There is still more to sing about, there is still so much in our contemporary society that can be musically shocked-up. And all the emotions that come with it. I don't doubt The Mars Model will take care of that soon. A very strong debut!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
30/01/2020


NL

The Mars Model begon vorm te krijgen begin 2019. Met individuen die een muzikaal verleden hebben in een amalgaam van stijlen. Om er ééntje te noemen: zanger Hans Verbeke kennen we uit de Belgisch/West-Vlaamse hardcore-scene met zijn band Liar.... Maar verwacht geen hardcore. Noch metal, noch speed- of grindcore. Want het 5-koppige gezelschap pakt uit met donkerder getinte riffs, met verfijnde electro-toetsen, vrij aggressief drumwerk en een no-nonsense boodschap. Gothic rock tot postpunk. Benieuwd? Eén raad: beluisteren, verbaasd worden, de indrukken opnemen en laten bezinken. Niet meer, niet minder...

Er is de eerste EP FrancoBelge, die 4 nummers bevat. Wat verbindt de songs? Stevige gitaren, zang die afgewisseld wordt met enige toch meer vanuit de diepte komende wanhoopskreten. De songs zijn robuust met een vettig randje. Woest en rusteloos, ronddwarrelend in de hedendaagse samenleving, waarbij we meer dan ooit verbonden zijn en toch geïsoleerder dan ooit. Hard om zich heen slaand, van wanhoop tot hoop, van onrust en angst tot depressies. De extremen zijn hoorbaar en het evenwicht is zoek. En dat is hoorbaar. In 4 stevige rockende songs, waar de gitaren de boventoon hebben. Zonder té overweldigend en snoeihard te zijn is dit een stevige stomp in de maag. En als je de pijn verbijt, wordt het genieten. Een stukje zelfkastijding van dik 20 minuten, vermomd in 4 songs.

Het is het visitekaartje van een jonge snaak, die The Mars Model. Deze debuut-EP laat nu al aanvoelen dat er nog veel méér komt. Dat er nog méér te bezingen valt. Dat er nog teveel is in onze hedendaagse maatschappij dat muzikaal door elkaar mag worden geschud. Met alle emoties die daarbij komen. En daar zal The Mars Model ongetwijfeld voor zorgen. Een sterk debuut.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
30/01/2020


 

Next reviews
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
RINGFINGER • Pressure
SYRENOMILIA • A Rose Shattered
M73 • Tainted
NEGANT • Schwarz!
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD • SSS
KMFDM • Paradise
PRO PATRIA • Executioner
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION • EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC ROCK + POST PUNK
NAUT • Raise The Lights
RAZORLINE • Razorline
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
MASQUERADE • Blood is the New Black
CRIMSON SCARLET • Collection: 2011-2014
FADING RAIN • Winter Ballads
BABY FIRE • The Red Robe
THEN COMES SILENCE • Then Comes Silence II
TERMINAL GODS • Machine Beat Messiah

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines

Music reviews

03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair
28
04
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE
DIAMONDS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!
20
05
40 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
23
05
SCHONWALD
Fury
22
05
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE
Awake
21
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Happy House
20
05
ELEFANT
Mumbo Jumbo