tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

06/01/2020 : KMFDM - Paradise

KMFDM

Paradise

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Industrial Rock

[80/100]   

Metropolis Records
06/01/2020, Steven REDANT

EN

KMFDM is and always will be KMFDM. No surprises. Or the 'conceptual continuity' they are proud of. That also means a new album with wide spread influences and a clear message. Our planet is a paradise for assholes. Live without remorse. Don't look back. Destroy what destroys you and rip apart the system. And of course this also means another successful album cover by Brute.

Style wise there is a lot going on as usual. Hip Hop ('K.M.F.'), alternative rock ('Oh my Goth'), dub (the second part of 'Paradise' and 'No God'), industrial rock ('Piggy', 'Binge Boil & Blow'), dance rock ('Automaton', 'Megalo'), drum & bass ('No Regret'), disco-vibes ('WDYWB')....no lack of diversity on 'Paradise'.

After 35 years and 21 albums the formula is still working. This album excels at bringing a very poppy sound, mainly by the choices made in production. Which turns out to be the only downside.

'Paradise' mainly keeps afloat on the beats which undermine the guitar work of Andee Blacksugar. Andee was already part of the HELL YEAH-tour, after Lord Of The Lost was told they wouldn't get a working visa for the US. It's clear the man can play, but his riffs somehow don't stand out enough. The shred solo in 'Disturb The Peace' - my favourite on this album - should have been at least double the length. And in WDYWB some solo work would not have been misplaced.

So this album wasn't love at first sight. And, after listening to it several times, I conclude that the tracks on this album will not be at the top of my KMFDM playlist. Because they are just a bit too polished. Too clean.

Steven REDANT
06/01/2020


NL

U kan de Nederlandstalige versie van dit interview nalezen bij onze collega's van Dark Entries!

Steven REDANT
06/01/2020


Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 40 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 4 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

24
01
DUCTAPE
Dark Winter Liège Festival - Le Garage
07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
156
Kokoro
26
01
WARDRUNA
Raido
25
01
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
24
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Spring Dance
23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion