tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

06/01/2020 : KMFDM - Paradise

KMFDM

Paradise

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Industrial Rock

[80/100]   

Metropolis Records
06/01/2020, Steven REDANT

EN

KMFDM is and always will be KMFDM. No surprises. Or the 'conceptual continuity' they are proud of. That also means a new album with wide spread influences and a clear message. Our planet is a paradise for assholes. Live without remorse. Don't look back. Destroy what destroys you and rip apart the system. And of course this also means another successful album cover by Brute.

Style wise there is a lot going on as usual. Hip Hop ('K.M.F.'), alternative rock ('Oh my Goth'), dub (the second part of 'Paradise' and 'No God'), industrial rock ('Piggy', 'Binge Boil & Blow'), dance rock ('Automaton', 'Megalo'), drum & bass ('No Regret'), disco-vibes ('WDYWB')....no lack of diversity on 'Paradise'.

After 35 years and 21 albums the formula is still working. This album excels at bringing a very poppy sound, mainly by the choices made in production. Which turns out to be the only downside.

'Paradise' mainly keeps afloat on the beats which undermine the guitar work of Andee Blacksugar. Andee was already part of the HELL YEAH-tour, after Lord Of The Lost was told they wouldn't get a working visa for the US. It's clear the man can play, but his riffs somehow don't stand out enough. The shred solo in 'Disturb The Peace' - my favourite on this album - should have been at least double the length. And in WDYWB some solo work would not have been misplaced.

So this album wasn't love at first sight. And, after listening to it several times, I conclude that the tracks on this album will not be at the top of my KMFDM playlist. Because they are just a bit too polished. Too clean.

Steven REDANT
06/01/2020


NL

U kan de Nederlandstalige versie van dit interview nalezen bij onze collega's van Dark Entries!

Steven REDANT
06/01/2020


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)