tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

06/01/2020 : KMFDM - Paradise

KMFDM

Paradise

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Industrial Rock

[80/100]   

Metropolis Records
06/01/2020, Steven REDANT

EN

KMFDM is and always will be KMFDM. No surprises. Or the 'conceptual continuity' they are proud of. That also means a new album with wide spread influences and a clear message. Our planet is a paradise for assholes. Live without remorse. Don't look back. Destroy what destroys you and rip apart the system. And of course this also means another successful album cover by Brute.

Style wise there is a lot going on as usual. Hip Hop ('K.M.F.'), alternative rock ('Oh my Goth'), dub (the second part of 'Paradise' and 'No God'), industrial rock ('Piggy', 'Binge Boil & Blow'), dance rock ('Automaton', 'Megalo'), drum & bass ('No Regret'), disco-vibes ('WDYWB')....no lack of diversity on 'Paradise'.

After 35 years and 21 albums the formula is still working. This album excels at bringing a very poppy sound, mainly by the choices made in production. Which turns out to be the only downside.

'Paradise' mainly keeps afloat on the beats which undermine the guitar work of Andee Blacksugar. Andee was already part of the HELL YEAH-tour, after Lord Of The Lost was told they wouldn't get a working visa for the US. It's clear the man can play, but his riffs somehow don't stand out enough. The shred solo in 'Disturb The Peace' - my favourite on this album - should have been at least double the length. And in WDYWB some solo work would not have been misplaced.

So this album wasn't love at first sight. And, after listening to it several times, I conclude that the tracks on this album will not be at the top of my KMFDM playlist. Because they are just a bit too polished. Too clean.

Steven REDANT
06/01/2020


NL

U kan de Nederlandstalige versie van dit interview nalezen bij onze collega's van Dark Entries!

Steven REDANT
06/01/2020


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

28
06
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
THE MISSION
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
IAMX
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
W.H. LUNG
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
FORCED TO MODE
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
TORUL
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
ATMOSPHERE
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete