tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

06/01/2020 : KMFDM - Paradise

KMFDM

Paradise

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Industrial Rock

[80/100]   

Metropolis Records
06/01/2020, Steven REDANT

EN

KMFDM is and always will be KMFDM. No surprises. Or the 'conceptual continuity' they are proud of. That also means a new album with wide spread influences and a clear message. Our planet is a paradise for assholes. Live without remorse. Don't look back. Destroy what destroys you and rip apart the system. And of course this also means another successful album cover by Brute.

Style wise there is a lot going on as usual. Hip Hop ('K.M.F.'), alternative rock ('Oh my Goth'), dub (the second part of 'Paradise' and 'No God'), industrial rock ('Piggy', 'Binge Boil & Blow'), dance rock ('Automaton', 'Megalo'), drum & bass ('No Regret'), disco-vibes ('WDYWB')....no lack of diversity on 'Paradise'.

After 35 years and 21 albums the formula is still working. This album excels at bringing a very poppy sound, mainly by the choices made in production. Which turns out to be the only downside.

'Paradise' mainly keeps afloat on the beats which undermine the guitar work of Andee Blacksugar. Andee was already part of the HELL YEAH-tour, after Lord Of The Lost was told they wouldn't get a working visa for the US. It's clear the man can play, but his riffs somehow don't stand out enough. The shred solo in 'Disturb The Peace' - my favourite on this album - should have been at least double the length. And in WDYWB some solo work would not have been misplaced.

So this album wasn't love at first sight. And, after listening to it several times, I conclude that the tracks on this album will not be at the top of my KMFDM playlist. Because they are just a bit too polished. Too clean.

Steven REDANT
06/01/2020


NL

U kan de Nederlandstalige versie van dit interview nalezen bij onze collega's van Dark Entries!

Steven REDANT
06/01/2020


Music reviews

27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
GEOMETRIC VISION
Apocalypse Queen
26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?