tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

06/01/2020 : KMFDM - Paradise

KMFDM

Paradise

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Industrial Rock

[80/100]   

Metropolis Records
06/01/2020, Steven REDANT

EN

KMFDM is and always will be KMFDM. No surprises. Or the 'conceptual continuity' they are proud of. That also means a new album with wide spread influences and a clear message. Our planet is a paradise for assholes. Live without remorse. Don't look back. Destroy what destroys you and rip apart the system. And of course this also means another successful album cover by Brute.

Style wise there is a lot going on as usual. Hip Hop ('K.M.F.'), alternative rock ('Oh my Goth'), dub (the second part of 'Paradise' and 'No God'), industrial rock ('Piggy', 'Binge Boil & Blow'), dance rock ('Automaton', 'Megalo'), drum & bass ('No Regret'), disco-vibes ('WDYWB')....no lack of diversity on 'Paradise'.

After 35 years and 21 albums the formula is still working. This album excels at bringing a very poppy sound, mainly by the choices made in production. Which turns out to be the only downside.

'Paradise' mainly keeps afloat on the beats which undermine the guitar work of Andee Blacksugar. Andee was already part of the HELL YEAH-tour, after Lord Of The Lost was told they wouldn't get a working visa for the US. It's clear the man can play, but his riffs somehow don't stand out enough. The shred solo in 'Disturb The Peace' - my favourite on this album - should have been at least double the length. And in WDYWB some solo work would not have been misplaced.

So this album wasn't love at first sight. And, after listening to it several times, I conclude that the tracks on this album will not be at the top of my KMFDM playlist. Because they are just a bit too polished. Too clean.

Steven REDANT
06/01/2020


NL

U kan de Nederlandstalige versie van dit interview nalezen bij onze collega's van Dark Entries!

Steven REDANT
06/01/2020


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque