tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

19/04/2011 : KMFDM - WTF

KMFDM

WTF

MusicCD
EBMElectroIndieMetal

[70/100]   

Dependent
19/04/2011, Didier BECU

In 1984 KMFDM got founded. They became immediately one of the pioneers who created music that combined indus-technosounds with metallic guitars.

From the early beginning it was clear that this band owned an American-like sound, which gave them the chance to sign with Wax Trax.

Last year Sascha and Lucia Cifarelli were busy with their successful “Für Die Mehrheit Kein Mitleid”-tour.
Now they’re back with a brand new “WTF”-cd.

Let’s begin with the bad news (?) by saying that their latest one is without any doubt their most accessible and most poppy so far. However, now and then you hear the old sound, which might be insufficient for some fans who got stuck with the familiar sound.

The good news is that this album features not one bad song at all!

From opening song “Krank” we can hear that KMFDM are aiming at the dance floor. It is one of the few songs that stays true to their old sound. The next songs are entering the more electronic area, where you can definitely hear Lucia taking care of the vocals. Songs like “Take it like a man” or “Dystopia” are really nice & rather familiar with what Praga Khan is doing.

Some fans could be disappointed with this new sound, but tracks like “Rebels in control” or “Amnesia” are splendid nonetheless & should get our full attention!

“WTF” is a nice album as it features great songs but it’s also the first KMFDM-album in history which doesn’t freak out our neighbour.

Didier BECU
19/04/2011


 

Next reviews
LADYTRON • Best of 00-10
BATTLESHIP ROMANCE • Listen.Edit.Record.Repeat EP
KEPESLAP • Power And Darkness
DER KLINKE • Square Moon
COVENANT • Modern Ruin
BLITZMASCHINE • Faustrecht
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Untergrund
VEIL VEIL VANISH • Change in The Neon Light
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electric Body Matrix
THE YOUNG GODS • Everybody Knows

 

Other reviews from KMFDM
KMFDM • In Dub
KMFDM • Paradise
KMFDM • Kunst

 

Same genre: EBM
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 27 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You