tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

25/11/2022 : DEZ MONA - LOOSE ENDS

DEZ MONA

LOOSE ENDS

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
DiscoFunk/SoulIndiePop 25/11/2022, Tom PLOVIE

EN

A group that keeps modernizing and remaining relevant is Dez Mona. They proved it again, with this ninth album. ‘Lucy’ was released last year in collaboration with Baroque Orchestration X (B.O.X.). Therefore they took the oratorio (!) as one of their sources of inspiration. Emphasis was placed on dark ballads. With their album 'Loose Ends', they explore a new path: that of the cosmopolitan. After listening to the album many times, I think spontaneously about terms such as sexy, funky, eighties and also (high) energy! Although the album is released in the fall, you might think it's still a warm and sensual summer.

Numerous changes in the composition of the group characterise Dez Mona. On ‘Loose Ends’ there's a bassist missing. This is solved by the musical creativity of Sjoerd Bruil (on guitars and synths) and Roel Van Camp (on piano and synth accordion). New name in the band is Karel De Backer who is responsible for percussion. Singer Gregory Frateur took care of the lyrics and gave his instrumentalists complete freedom to leave their comfort zone. For example, we did not often see Roel Van Camp on the piano and they let their ‘compagnon de route’, Tijs Delbeke, go to Balthazar. He still signed up to produce. It pays off to choose a smooth landing.

‘Loose Ends’ is therefore a cheerful and danceable album. This can also be seen in the video clips ‘Wicked’ (Frateur dancing on high heels) and ‘Fresh Water’ (dancing in delightful fluo colors). The muggy atmosphere in the clip of ‘Wicked’ is also expressed in the lyrics: “Cold sweat runs down my spine as you take the strain. Our bodies collide, intentionally. I want to give you all, darling take all of me!”. Add to the chorus a funky rhythm and some hocus voodoo pocus and the sexy ambiance flows out of it. A true hoodoo high! Cooling is also necessary in ‘Fresh Water' with a pickup line such as “Everybody says you’re not worth it. Still you got me going crazy. Captivated by your fierce attraction. While everything in me shouts danger”. If the slow motion images in the clip, where the beverage bottles are poured into the faces, really cool down is doubtful. I've said it before: it was a warm summer.

The groove of 'The Power' is one where you don't keep your legs still. This is one of my favourite songs. Dez Mona would deny itself, if there was a lack of melancholy. This is one of the emotions which, in spite of the differences in each of their albums, is a constant. With Frateur's unique colorful voice, this combo forms the backbone of the group. That melancholy runs generously in ‘Cops in Love’. Fortunately, it is wrapped in such warmth that it immediately softens heartache. And then you get the ballad! A better one than ‘Better Place' you won't hear this year. Leaving with the love of your life to this very pleasant world: the place where you can be yourself! Also for this single, Guido Verelst, Frateur's partner, contributed a video: full of personal holiday memories. Delayed images add to the languishing feeling associated with travel and warmth. This ‘best place’ cannot be more heavenly: together with loved ones enjoying sun, sea and sometimes doing silly things.

A remarkable track on this album is ‘Connection’, a firm song. Although the angular rhythms of ‘The One’ are surely surprising and refreshing too! Loose ends are not to be found on the title track: it's one of the calmer songs. The final track 'Dynamite' brings a loving point to this journey: it ends with a long instrumental passage in which it is still wonderful to relish. 'Loose Ends' is like the cover image: a powerful bouquet of fresh colors where you will have fun diving with your nose to discover all the frivolous perfumes. Looking for a smooth landing into winter? Then you know what to buy.

On November 16, Dez Mona played their last release concert at Roma (Borgerhout). Starting in January 2023, there will be a series of concerts in Belgium and the Netherlands. For a complete list, please visit http://www.dezmona.com/concerts/

Tom PLOVIE
25/11/2022


NL

Jezelf als band voortdurend vernieuwen én relevant blijven is niet elke groep gegeven. Het Antwerpse Dez Mona slaagt daar, met hun negende langspeler, absoluut in. Vorig jaar nog kwam ‘Lucy’ uit, in samenwerking met het B.O.X.-ensemble (Baroque Orchestration X). Daarvoor namen ze het oratorium (jawel!) als één van de inspiratiebronnen en lag het accent op donkere ballades. Met ‘Loose Ends’ gaat het een heel ander tour op: die van de kosmopoliet. Na enkele luisterbeurten denk ik spontaan aan termen als sexy, funky, eighties en ook (high) energy! Ware het niet dat dit album in het najaar uitkomt, ik waan me ermee nog volop in een hete en zwoele zomer.

Vervellen qua bezetting is eigen aan Dez Mona. Een bassist ontbreekt op ‘Loose Ends’ maar wordt waardig opgevangen door de muzikale creativiteit van Sjoerd Bruil (op gitaren en synths) en Roel Van Camp (op piano en synth accordeon). Nieuwe naam in het gezelschap is Karel De Backer die zich ontfermt over de drums en percussie. Zanger Gregory Frateur nam enkel de teksten voor zijn rekening en gaf zijn instrumentalisten alle vrijheid om uit hun gezamelijke comfortzone te treden. Zo zagen we Roel Van Camp nog niet vaak achter de piano en lieten ze hun compagon de route Tijs Delbeke naar Balthazar gaan. Hij tekende wel nog present voor de productie. Kiezen voor een zachte landing werpt zijn vruchten af.

‘Loose Ends’ is dus een opgewekte en dansbare plaat, zoals te zien in de videoclips ‘Wicked’ (Frateur dansend op hakken) en ‘Fresh Water’ (dansen in heerlijke fluokleuren). De broeierige sfeer in de clip van ‘Wicked’ vertaalt zich ook in de bezwerende lyrics: “Cold sweat runs down my spine as you take the strain. Our bodies collide, intentionally. I want to give you all, darling take all of me!”. Voeg daarbij het refrein met een funky ritme, wat voodoo hocus pocus en de sexy vibe druipt ervan af. Een echte ‘hoodoo high’! Afkoeling is ook nodig in ‘Fresh Water’ met een opener als “Everybody says you’re not worth it. Still you got me going crazy. Captivated by your fierce attraction. While everything in me shouts danger”. Of de slow motion beelden in de clip, waarbij drinkflessen in het gezicht worden leeggegoten écht verkoeling brengen valt te betwijfelen. Ik zei het al: het was een hete zomer.

De groove die ‘The Power’ heeft, is er één waarbij je de benen niet stil houdt. Ze valt meteen onder mijn favoriete tracks. Nu, Dez Mona zou zichzelf verloochenen mocht de melancholie ontbreken. Het is één van de emoties die, ondanks de verschillen in elk van hun albums, een constante is. Tezamen met de uniek gekleurde stem van Frateur vormt deze combinatie de ruggengraat van de groep. Die weemoed vloeit gul in ‘Cops In Love’. Gelukkig wordt ze met zoveel warmte omzwachteld dat het de hartenpijn onmiddellijk verzacht. En dan is er nog de ballade! Een mooiere dan ‘Better Place’ zal je dit jaar niet meer te horen krijgen. Samen met de liefde van je leven naar die mooiere wereld: de plaats waar je jezelf mag zijn. Ook voor deze single voorzag Guido Verelst, partner van Frateur, een video vol persoonlijke vakantieherinneringen. De vertraagde beelden accentueren het lome gevoel dat bij reizen en hitte horen. Paradijselijker kan deze ‘betere plek’ niet worden: samen met geliefden genieten van zon, zee en op tijd en stond wat zot doen.

Opmerkelijkste song op de plaat is ‘Connection’, als meest stevige nummer. Al zijn de hoekige ritmes op ‘The One’ ook zeker verrassend en verfrissend! Losse eindjes zijn er niet terug te vinden op de titeltrack: die hoort dan weer meer bij de rustiger songs. Slotnummer ‘Dynamite’ zet een liefdevol punt achter deze trip en eindigt met een lange instrumentale passage waarbij het nog heerlijk nagenieten is. ‘Loose Ends’ is net als de hoes: een stevig boeket vol frisse kleuren waar je graag eens met de neus induikt om alle frivole geuren te ontdekken. Een zachte landing richting winter nodig? Je weet wat in huis te halen.

Op 16 november speelde Dez Mona hun laatste release concert in De Roma (Borgerhout). Vanaf januari 2023 volgt een reeks concerten in België en Nederland. De volledige lijst is terug te vinden op http://www.dezmona.com/concerts/

Tom PLOVIE
25/11/2022


25/11/2022 : DEZ MONA - LOOSE ENDS 25/11/2022 : DEZ MONA - LOOSE ENDS 25/11/2022 : DEZ MONA - LOOSE ENDS 25/11/2022 : DEZ MONA - LOOSE ENDS 25/11/2022 : DEZ MONA - LOOSE ENDS

 

Next reviews
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7 • EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
STAATSEINDE • Fehlerlinie
A SLICE OF LIFE • Tabula Rasa
THIS VALE OF TEARS • This Vale Of Tears
KMFDM • Hyena
DEMI LOVATO • HOLY FVCK
MISERIA ULTIMA • Witch Heart Apparition
SYGO CRIES • In Outside Places
PARADOX OBSCUR • Intercourse
KILL SHELTER • Asylum

 

Other reviews from DEZ MONA
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
DEZ MONA • ORIGIN
DEZ MONA • Ten albums That Changed (our) Lives
DEZ MONA • Saga

 

Same genre: DISCO
PET SHOP BOYS • Super
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
DIVINE • Shoot Your Shot - Anthology
PARRALOX FT FRANCINE • Crying On The Dancefloor
PATRICK COWLEY • Kickin' In

 

Same genre: FUNK/SOUL
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
CROOKED MAN • Crooked Man
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
AURRA • Body Rock
MARCUS MILLER • Het Depot, Leuven (07/04/2016)
BIG HARE • Hasyayoga
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
MARCUS MARR & CHET FAKER • Work (EP)
PURE BEAUTY • Pure Beauty (EP)

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

 

Same genre: POP
DEMI LOVATO • HOLY FVCK
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 41 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 45 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 5 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 32 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
47 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 13 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
SHE PAST AWAY
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
ASH CODE
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
MERCIFUL NUNS
Cremation
26
01
MARSHEAUX
Safe Tonight
25
01
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
24
01
EMPUSAE
Cadence Chamanique
23
01
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void
22
01
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
21
01
RABIA SORDA
King Of The Wasteland