tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)

LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET

Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)

Concert
Funk/SoulJazzSoul 11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

Friday, September 23rd, The Laurent Doumont Quartet played its soulful and groovy tunes to a fully packed Jazzzolder in Mechelen, honouring Alain Toussaint’s adagio Everything I do Gonna Be Funky. And funky it was, boys and girls.

The Laurent Doumont Quartet gave us an overdose of souljazz, soul, funk and blues! Of course featuring the mentioned gem and adagio by Toussaint.

Together with the top musicians Sal La Rocca on double bass, Raf De Bakker on piano, Bilou Doneux on percussion and funny face and band leader Laurent Doumont on sax and vocals, Papa Soul and Mama Soul played the starring roles that Friday night.

Almost the whole of Laurent Doumont’s most recent album Papa Soul Talkin’ (2012) was played, including the lovely Sleeping Beauties, which Doumont wrote for his little daughter. Big City with it’s majestic grandeur, the absolute Toussaint gem Everything I Do Gonna Be Funky, the brilliant gig opener Back On Broadway and the stunning title track Papa Soul Talkin’. The latter honouring the legendary James Brown. Doumont played together with Brown for a while and you could clearly hear how much he respects the master. Great stuff!

Laurent Doumont is not only a grand sax player, he’s also a brilliant crooner and vocalist. With much ease he switched from vocals to playing his sax. One wouldn’t be too surprised if the man could do both at the same time!

The day after the gig ,a play was staged at the Stadsschouwburg in Mechelen about Chet Baker, a somewhat strange tribute. The performer is probably a good actor, but surely doesn’t make a great musician. Maybe Laurent Doumont was better placed to play the part of Chet Baker, with both a wonderful voice and great sax playing?

Laurent Doumont and his band played an energetic, refreshing and utterly groovy gig filled with good vibes. It was absolutely funky. And after the last note of the encore was played, you left the venue with a big smile on your face, the kind of smile that refuses go away. So, if you spotted someone in the streets of Mechelen with a big grin on his or her face, he or she probably attended the gig! I’m sure, well almost!

Setlist:
Back On Broadway / Love Or Leave / Big City / Sleeping Beauties / Do Me Wrong / Everything I Do Gonna Be Funky (Alain Toussaint) / Cocaine Blues (Rev Gary Davis) / Gonna Be A Godfather / Papa Soul Talkin'

Encore:
Good Lovin'

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

Everything I do Gonna Be Funky, de belofte die Alain Toussaint ooit deed, was misschien nog een betere opener geweest van de bijzondere sfeervolle en swingende avond in een volgepakte Jazzzolder, vrijdagavond 23 september 2016. Toussaint's belofte werd meer dan ingelost. Het Laurent Doumont Quartet serveerde een geweldige selectie songs met een gezonde overdosis souljazz, soul en funk, maar ook blues!

Saxofoon, contrabas, piano en drums, een goede bezetting voor een typische jazzgig? Ongetwijfeld. Maar het waren papa soul en mama funk die de belangrijkste rollen vertolkten, bijgestaan door uitstekende muzikanten zoals contrabassist Sal La Rocca, pianist Raf De Bakker, de prettig gestoorde drummer Bilou Doneux en saxofonist-zanger Laurent Doumont.

Zowat alle composities in de set prijken op het album Papa Soul Talkin' (2012), met toppers zoals Love Or Leave, het prachtige Sleeping Beauties, dat Doumont voor zijn dochtertje schreef. Big City en ook de knaller Everything I Do Gonna Be Funky van Alain Toussaint dus, Back on Broadway en titeltrack Papa Soul Talkin', een subliem eerbetoon aan legende James Brown. Doumont deelde ooit nog het podium met Brown en doet de meester alle eer aan met Papa Soul Talkin'.

Laurent Doumont is niet alleen een meer dan begenadigd saxspeler, hij is ook een prima vocalist en crooner. Hij wisselde vlot van stem naar sax en deed nog nét niet gelijktijdig. Daags na het concert vond in de Mechelse stadsschouwburg een nogal bizar eerbetoon plaats aan Chet Baker met soms rare wendingen (Compagnie Cecillia, 'Chet' – nvdr). Misschien had Doumont er wel de rol van Baker kunnen vertolken met zijn knappe vocalen en sterk saxwerk, denk ik achteraf.

Het Laurent Doumont Quartet bezorgde Mechelen een verkwikkend, verfrissend en groovy avondje. Aan grooves en good vibes was nooit gebrek, everything they did was absoluut funky, en alles klonk oprecht geméénd. Het was zo'n avond waarna je na de laatste noot van de encore de zaal verlaat met een glimlach die je de rest van het weekend amper nog wegkrijgt, of misschien is die er nog? Als je dus zo iemand in de Mechelse binnenstad spotte of spot, zondag, maandag, straks... dan kén je de reden!

Setlist:
Back On Broadway / Love Or Leave / Big City / Sleeping Beauties / Do Me Wrong / Everything I Do Gonna Be Funky (Alain Toussaint) / Cocaine Blues (Rev Gary Davis) / Gonna Be A Godfather / Papa Soul Talkin'

Encore:
Good Lovin'

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016) 11/12/2016 : LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016) 11/12/2016 : LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016) 11/12/2016 : LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016) 11/12/2016 : LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)

 

Next reviews
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
THE AGONIST • Five
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
WOLVERINE • Machina Viva
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
OBITUARY • Then Thousand Ways To Die
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)

 

Same genre: FUNK/SOUL
CROOKED MAN • Crooked Man
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
AURRA • Body Rock
MARCUS MILLER • Het Depot, Leuven (07/04/2016)
BIG HARE • Hasyayoga
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
MARCUS MARR & CHET FAKER • Work (EP)
PURE BEAUTY • Pure Beauty (EP)
ABRAXAS • Totem

 

Same genre: JAZZ
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)
WOLF IN THE WOOD • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (10/06/2016)
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
DAVID BOWIE • Black Star

 

Same genre: SOUL
SERATONES • Get Gone
FAT FREDDY'S DROP • Bays
JOHN MILK • Treat Me Right
TEXAS • Texas 25: The Truth & Soul Sessions
ARETHA FRANKLIN • Sings the diva classics

Music reviews

25
09
THE EXPLODING BOY
Alarms!
01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 31 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
LES PANTIES
L'Arrivée
25
09
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth