tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)

LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET

Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)

Concert
Funk/SoulJazzSoul 11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

Friday, September 23rd, The Laurent Doumont Quartet played its soulful and groovy tunes to a fully packed Jazzzolder in Mechelen, honouring Alain Toussaint’s adagio Everything I do Gonna Be Funky. And funky it was, boys and girls.

The Laurent Doumont Quartet gave us an overdose of souljazz, soul, funk and blues! Of course featuring the mentioned gem and adagio by Toussaint.

Together with the top musicians Sal La Rocca on double bass, Raf De Bakker on piano, Bilou Doneux on percussion and funny face and band leader Laurent Doumont on sax and vocals, Papa Soul and Mama Soul played the starring roles that Friday night.

Almost the whole of Laurent Doumont’s most recent album Papa Soul Talkin’ (2012) was played, including the lovely Sleeping Beauties, which Doumont wrote for his little daughter. Big City with it’s majestic grandeur, the absolute Toussaint gem Everything I Do Gonna Be Funky, the brilliant gig opener Back On Broadway and the stunning title track Papa Soul Talkin’. The latter honouring the legendary James Brown. Doumont played together with Brown for a while and you could clearly hear how much he respects the master. Great stuff!

Laurent Doumont is not only a grand sax player, he’s also a brilliant crooner and vocalist. With much ease he switched from vocals to playing his sax. One wouldn’t be too surprised if the man could do both at the same time!

The day after the gig ,a play was staged at the Stadsschouwburg in Mechelen about Chet Baker, a somewhat strange tribute. The performer is probably a good actor, but surely doesn’t make a great musician. Maybe Laurent Doumont was better placed to play the part of Chet Baker, with both a wonderful voice and great sax playing?

Laurent Doumont and his band played an energetic, refreshing and utterly groovy gig filled with good vibes. It was absolutely funky. And after the last note of the encore was played, you left the venue with a big smile on your face, the kind of smile that refuses go away. So, if you spotted someone in the streets of Mechelen with a big grin on his or her face, he or she probably attended the gig! I’m sure, well almost!

Setlist:
Back On Broadway / Love Or Leave / Big City / Sleeping Beauties / Do Me Wrong / Everything I Do Gonna Be Funky (Alain Toussaint) / Cocaine Blues (Rev Gary Davis) / Gonna Be A Godfather / Papa Soul Talkin'

Encore:
Good Lovin'

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

Everything I do Gonna Be Funky, de belofte die Alain Toussaint ooit deed, was misschien nog een betere opener geweest van de bijzondere sfeervolle en swingende avond in een volgepakte Jazzzolder, vrijdagavond 23 september 2016. Toussaint's belofte werd meer dan ingelost. Het Laurent Doumont Quartet serveerde een geweldige selectie songs met een gezonde overdosis souljazz, soul en funk, maar ook blues!

Saxofoon, contrabas, piano en drums, een goede bezetting voor een typische jazzgig? Ongetwijfeld. Maar het waren papa soul en mama funk die de belangrijkste rollen vertolkten, bijgestaan door uitstekende muzikanten zoals contrabassist Sal La Rocca, pianist Raf De Bakker, de prettig gestoorde drummer Bilou Doneux en saxofonist-zanger Laurent Doumont.

Zowat alle composities in de set prijken op het album Papa Soul Talkin' (2012), met toppers zoals Love Or Leave, het prachtige Sleeping Beauties, dat Doumont voor zijn dochtertje schreef. Big City en ook de knaller Everything I Do Gonna Be Funky van Alain Toussaint dus, Back on Broadway en titeltrack Papa Soul Talkin', een subliem eerbetoon aan legende James Brown. Doumont deelde ooit nog het podium met Brown en doet de meester alle eer aan met Papa Soul Talkin'.

Laurent Doumont is niet alleen een meer dan begenadigd saxspeler, hij is ook een prima vocalist en crooner. Hij wisselde vlot van stem naar sax en deed nog nét niet gelijktijdig. Daags na het concert vond in de Mechelse stadsschouwburg een nogal bizar eerbetoon plaats aan Chet Baker met soms rare wendingen (Compagnie Cecillia, 'Chet' – nvdr). Misschien had Doumont er wel de rol van Baker kunnen vertolken met zijn knappe vocalen en sterk saxwerk, denk ik achteraf.

Het Laurent Doumont Quartet bezorgde Mechelen een verkwikkend, verfrissend en groovy avondje. Aan grooves en good vibes was nooit gebrek, everything they did was absoluut funky, en alles klonk oprecht geméénd. Het was zo'n avond waarna je na de laatste noot van de encore de zaal verlaat met een glimlach die je de rest van het weekend amper nog wegkrijgt, of misschien is die er nog? Als je dus zo iemand in de Mechelse binnenstad spotte of spot, zondag, maandag, straks... dan kén je de reden!

Setlist:
Back On Broadway / Love Or Leave / Big City / Sleeping Beauties / Do Me Wrong / Everything I Do Gonna Be Funky (Alain Toussaint) / Cocaine Blues (Rev Gary Davis) / Gonna Be A Godfather / Papa Soul Talkin'

Encore:
Good Lovin'

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016) 11/12/2016 : LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016) 11/12/2016 : LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016) 11/12/2016 : LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016) 11/12/2016 : LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)

 

Next reviews
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
THE AGONIST • Five
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
WOLVERINE • Machina Viva
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
OBITUARY • Then Thousand Ways To Die
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)

 

Same genre: FUNK/SOUL
CROOKED MAN • Crooked Man
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
AURRA • Body Rock
MARCUS MILLER • Het Depot, Leuven (07/04/2016)
BIG HARE • Hasyayoga
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
MARCUS MARR & CHET FAKER • Work (EP)
PURE BEAUTY • Pure Beauty (EP)
ABRAXAS • Totem

 

Same genre: JAZZ
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)
WOLF IN THE WOOD • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (10/06/2016)
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
DAVID BOWIE • Black Star

 

Same genre: SOUL
SERATONES • Get Gone
FAT FREDDY'S DROP • Bays
JOHN MILK • Treat Me Right
TEXAS • Texas 25: The Truth & Soul Sessions
ARETHA FRANKLIN • Sings the diva classics

Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
07
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen