tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)

LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET

Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)

Concert
Funk/SoulJazzSoul 11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

Friday, September 23rd, The Laurent Doumont Quartet played its soulful and groovy tunes to a fully packed Jazzzolder in Mechelen, honouring Alain Toussaint’s adagio Everything I do Gonna Be Funky. And funky it was, boys and girls.

The Laurent Doumont Quartet gave us an overdose of souljazz, soul, funk and blues! Of course featuring the mentioned gem and adagio by Toussaint.

Together with the top musicians Sal La Rocca on double bass, Raf De Bakker on piano, Bilou Doneux on percussion and funny face and band leader Laurent Doumont on sax and vocals, Papa Soul and Mama Soul played the starring roles that Friday night.

Almost the whole of Laurent Doumont’s most recent album Papa Soul Talkin’ (2012) was played, including the lovely Sleeping Beauties, which Doumont wrote for his little daughter. Big City with it’s majestic grandeur, the absolute Toussaint gem Everything I Do Gonna Be Funky, the brilliant gig opener Back On Broadway and the stunning title track Papa Soul Talkin’. The latter honouring the legendary James Brown. Doumont played together with Brown for a while and you could clearly hear how much he respects the master. Great stuff!

Laurent Doumont is not only a grand sax player, he’s also a brilliant crooner and vocalist. With much ease he switched from vocals to playing his sax. One wouldn’t be too surprised if the man could do both at the same time!

The day after the gig ,a play was staged at the Stadsschouwburg in Mechelen about Chet Baker, a somewhat strange tribute. The performer is probably a good actor, but surely doesn’t make a great musician. Maybe Laurent Doumont was better placed to play the part of Chet Baker, with both a wonderful voice and great sax playing?

Laurent Doumont and his band played an energetic, refreshing and utterly groovy gig filled with good vibes. It was absolutely funky. And after the last note of the encore was played, you left the venue with a big smile on your face, the kind of smile that refuses go away. So, if you spotted someone in the streets of Mechelen with a big grin on his or her face, he or she probably attended the gig! I’m sure, well almost!

Setlist:
Back On Broadway / Love Or Leave / Big City / Sleeping Beauties / Do Me Wrong / Everything I Do Gonna Be Funky (Alain Toussaint) / Cocaine Blues (Rev Gary Davis) / Gonna Be A Godfather / Papa Soul Talkin'

Encore:
Good Lovin'

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

Everything I do Gonna Be Funky, de belofte die Alain Toussaint ooit deed, was misschien nog een betere opener geweest van de bijzondere sfeervolle en swingende avond in een volgepakte Jazzzolder, vrijdagavond 23 september 2016. Toussaint's belofte werd meer dan ingelost. Het Laurent Doumont Quartet serveerde een geweldige selectie songs met een gezonde overdosis souljazz, soul en funk, maar ook blues!

Saxofoon, contrabas, piano en drums, een goede bezetting voor een typische jazzgig? Ongetwijfeld. Maar het waren papa soul en mama funk die de belangrijkste rollen vertolkten, bijgestaan door uitstekende muzikanten zoals contrabassist Sal La Rocca, pianist Raf De Bakker, de prettig gestoorde drummer Bilou Doneux en saxofonist-zanger Laurent Doumont.

Zowat alle composities in de set prijken op het album Papa Soul Talkin' (2012), met toppers zoals Love Or Leave, het prachtige Sleeping Beauties, dat Doumont voor zijn dochtertje schreef. Big City en ook de knaller Everything I Do Gonna Be Funky van Alain Toussaint dus, Back on Broadway en titeltrack Papa Soul Talkin', een subliem eerbetoon aan legende James Brown. Doumont deelde ooit nog het podium met Brown en doet de meester alle eer aan met Papa Soul Talkin'.

Laurent Doumont is niet alleen een meer dan begenadigd saxspeler, hij is ook een prima vocalist en crooner. Hij wisselde vlot van stem naar sax en deed nog nét niet gelijktijdig. Daags na het concert vond in de Mechelse stadsschouwburg een nogal bizar eerbetoon plaats aan Chet Baker met soms rare wendingen (Compagnie Cecillia, 'Chet' – nvdr). Misschien had Doumont er wel de rol van Baker kunnen vertolken met zijn knappe vocalen en sterk saxwerk, denk ik achteraf.

Het Laurent Doumont Quartet bezorgde Mechelen een verkwikkend, verfrissend en groovy avondje. Aan grooves en good vibes was nooit gebrek, everything they did was absoluut funky, en alles klonk oprecht geméénd. Het was zo'n avond waarna je na de laatste noot van de encore de zaal verlaat met een glimlach die je de rest van het weekend amper nog wegkrijgt, of misschien is die er nog? Als je dus zo iemand in de Mechelse binnenstad spotte of spot, zondag, maandag, straks... dan kén je de reden!

Setlist:
Back On Broadway / Love Or Leave / Big City / Sleeping Beauties / Do Me Wrong / Everything I Do Gonna Be Funky (Alain Toussaint) / Cocaine Blues (Rev Gary Davis) / Gonna Be A Godfather / Papa Soul Talkin'

Encore:
Good Lovin'

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016) 11/12/2016 : LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016) 11/12/2016 : LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016) 11/12/2016 : LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016) 11/12/2016 : LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)

 

Next reviews
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
THE AGONIST • Five
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
WOLVERINE • Machina Viva
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
OBITUARY • Then Thousand Ways To Die
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)

 

Same genre: FUNK/SOUL
CROOKED MAN • Crooked Man
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
AURRA • Body Rock
MARCUS MILLER • Het Depot, Leuven (07/04/2016)
BIG HARE • Hasyayoga
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
MARCUS MARR & CHET FAKER • Work (EP)
PURE BEAUTY • Pure Beauty (EP)
ABRAXAS • Totem

 

Same genre: JAZZ
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)
WOLF IN THE WOOD • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (10/06/2016)
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities

 

Same genre: SOUL
SERATONES • Get Gone
FAT FREDDY'S DROP • Bays
JOHN MILK • Treat Me Right
TEXAS • Texas 25: The Truth & Soul Sessions
ARETHA FRANKLIN • Sings the diva classics

Music reviews

20
04
LUCKY AND LOVE
Transitions
12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts
02
04
FONTAINES D.C
Dogrel
01
04
FRAGRANCE
Now That I'm Real

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 33 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

22
04
CHARLES DE GOAL
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
STILL PATIENT ?
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
THE INVICIBLE SPIRIT
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
22
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
22
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
21
04
JO QUAIL
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
04
NO SLEEP BY THE MACHINE
Old Track
21
04
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Gone (Feat. Yvette Winkler)
20
04
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
19
04
GNOSTIC GORRILA
St. Basil's Asylum
18
04
UNDERTHESKIN
Borderline
18
04
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
17
04
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang