tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)

LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET

Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)

Concert
Funk/SoulJazzSoul 11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

Friday, September 23rd, The Laurent Doumont Quartet played its soulful and groovy tunes to a fully packed Jazzzolder in Mechelen, honouring Alain Toussaint’s adagio Everything I do Gonna Be Funky. And funky it was, boys and girls.

The Laurent Doumont Quartet gave us an overdose of souljazz, soul, funk and blues! Of course featuring the mentioned gem and adagio by Toussaint.

Together with the top musicians Sal La Rocca on double bass, Raf De Bakker on piano, Bilou Doneux on percussion and funny face and band leader Laurent Doumont on sax and vocals, Papa Soul and Mama Soul played the starring roles that Friday night.

Almost the whole of Laurent Doumont’s most recent album Papa Soul Talkin’ (2012) was played, including the lovely Sleeping Beauties, which Doumont wrote for his little daughter. Big City with it’s majestic grandeur, the absolute Toussaint gem Everything I Do Gonna Be Funky, the brilliant gig opener Back On Broadway and the stunning title track Papa Soul Talkin’. The latter honouring the legendary James Brown. Doumont played together with Brown for a while and you could clearly hear how much he respects the master. Great stuff!

Laurent Doumont is not only a grand sax player, he’s also a brilliant crooner and vocalist. With much ease he switched from vocals to playing his sax. One wouldn’t be too surprised if the man could do both at the same time!

The day after the gig ,a play was staged at the Stadsschouwburg in Mechelen about Chet Baker, a somewhat strange tribute. The performer is probably a good actor, but surely doesn’t make a great musician. Maybe Laurent Doumont was better placed to play the part of Chet Baker, with both a wonderful voice and great sax playing?

Laurent Doumont and his band played an energetic, refreshing and utterly groovy gig filled with good vibes. It was absolutely funky. And after the last note of the encore was played, you left the venue with a big smile on your face, the kind of smile that refuses go away. So, if you spotted someone in the streets of Mechelen with a big grin on his or her face, he or she probably attended the gig! I’m sure, well almost!

Setlist:
Back On Broadway / Love Or Leave / Big City / Sleeping Beauties / Do Me Wrong / Everything I Do Gonna Be Funky (Alain Toussaint) / Cocaine Blues (Rev Gary Davis) / Gonna Be A Godfather / Papa Soul Talkin'

Encore:
Good Lovin'

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

Everything I do Gonna Be Funky, de belofte die Alain Toussaint ooit deed, was misschien nog een betere opener geweest van de bijzondere sfeervolle en swingende avond in een volgepakte Jazzzolder, vrijdagavond 23 september 2016. Toussaint's belofte werd meer dan ingelost. Het Laurent Doumont Quartet serveerde een geweldige selectie songs met een gezonde overdosis souljazz, soul en funk, maar ook blues!

Saxofoon, contrabas, piano en drums, een goede bezetting voor een typische jazzgig? Ongetwijfeld. Maar het waren papa soul en mama funk die de belangrijkste rollen vertolkten, bijgestaan door uitstekende muzikanten zoals contrabassist Sal La Rocca, pianist Raf De Bakker, de prettig gestoorde drummer Bilou Doneux en saxofonist-zanger Laurent Doumont.

Zowat alle composities in de set prijken op het album Papa Soul Talkin' (2012), met toppers zoals Love Or Leave, het prachtige Sleeping Beauties, dat Doumont voor zijn dochtertje schreef. Big City en ook de knaller Everything I Do Gonna Be Funky van Alain Toussaint dus, Back on Broadway en titeltrack Papa Soul Talkin', een subliem eerbetoon aan legende James Brown. Doumont deelde ooit nog het podium met Brown en doet de meester alle eer aan met Papa Soul Talkin'.

Laurent Doumont is niet alleen een meer dan begenadigd saxspeler, hij is ook een prima vocalist en crooner. Hij wisselde vlot van stem naar sax en deed nog nét niet gelijktijdig. Daags na het concert vond in de Mechelse stadsschouwburg een nogal bizar eerbetoon plaats aan Chet Baker met soms rare wendingen (Compagnie Cecillia, 'Chet' – nvdr). Misschien had Doumont er wel de rol van Baker kunnen vertolken met zijn knappe vocalen en sterk saxwerk, denk ik achteraf.

Het Laurent Doumont Quartet bezorgde Mechelen een verkwikkend, verfrissend en groovy avondje. Aan grooves en good vibes was nooit gebrek, everything they did was absoluut funky, en alles klonk oprecht geméénd. Het was zo'n avond waarna je na de laatste noot van de encore de zaal verlaat met een glimlach die je de rest van het weekend amper nog wegkrijgt, of misschien is die er nog? Als je dus zo iemand in de Mechelse binnenstad spotte of spot, zondag, maandag, straks... dan kén je de reden!

Setlist:
Back On Broadway / Love Or Leave / Big City / Sleeping Beauties / Do Me Wrong / Everything I Do Gonna Be Funky (Alain Toussaint) / Cocaine Blues (Rev Gary Davis) / Gonna Be A Godfather / Papa Soul Talkin'

Encore:
Good Lovin'

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016) 11/12/2016 : LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016) 11/12/2016 : LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016) 11/12/2016 : LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016) 11/12/2016 : LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)

 

Next reviews
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
THE AGONIST • Five
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
WOLVERINE • Machina Viva
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
OBITUARY • Then Thousand Ways To Die
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)

 

Same genre: FUNK/SOUL
CROOKED MAN • Crooked Man
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
AURRA • Body Rock
MARCUS MILLER • Het Depot, Leuven (07/04/2016)
BIG HARE • Hasyayoga
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
MARCUS MARR & CHET FAKER • Work (EP)
PURE BEAUTY • Pure Beauty (EP)
ABRAXAS • Totem

 

Same genre: JAZZ
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)
WOLF IN THE WOOD • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (10/06/2016)
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities

 

Same genre: SOUL
SERATONES • Get Gone
FAT FREDDY'S DROP • Bays
JOHN MILK • Treat Me Right
TEXAS • Texas 25: The Truth & Soul Sessions
ARETHA FRANKLIN • Sings the diva classics

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless