tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)

LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET

Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)

Concert
Funk/SoulJazzSoul 11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

Friday, September 23rd, The Laurent Doumont Quartet played its soulful and groovy tunes to a fully packed Jazzzolder in Mechelen, honouring Alain Toussaint’s adagio Everything I do Gonna Be Funky. And funky it was, boys and girls.

The Laurent Doumont Quartet gave us an overdose of souljazz, soul, funk and blues! Of course featuring the mentioned gem and adagio by Toussaint.

Together with the top musicians Sal La Rocca on double bass, Raf De Bakker on piano, Bilou Doneux on percussion and funny face and band leader Laurent Doumont on sax and vocals, Papa Soul and Mama Soul played the starring roles that Friday night.

Almost the whole of Laurent Doumont’s most recent album Papa Soul Talkin’ (2012) was played, including the lovely Sleeping Beauties, which Doumont wrote for his little daughter. Big City with it’s majestic grandeur, the absolute Toussaint gem Everything I Do Gonna Be Funky, the brilliant gig opener Back On Broadway and the stunning title track Papa Soul Talkin’. The latter honouring the legendary James Brown. Doumont played together with Brown for a while and you could clearly hear how much he respects the master. Great stuff!

Laurent Doumont is not only a grand sax player, he’s also a brilliant crooner and vocalist. With much ease he switched from vocals to playing his sax. One wouldn’t be too surprised if the man could do both at the same time!

The day after the gig ,a play was staged at the Stadsschouwburg in Mechelen about Chet Baker, a somewhat strange tribute. The performer is probably a good actor, but surely doesn’t make a great musician. Maybe Laurent Doumont was better placed to play the part of Chet Baker, with both a wonderful voice and great sax playing?

Laurent Doumont and his band played an energetic, refreshing and utterly groovy gig filled with good vibes. It was absolutely funky. And after the last note of the encore was played, you left the venue with a big smile on your face, the kind of smile that refuses go away. So, if you spotted someone in the streets of Mechelen with a big grin on his or her face, he or she probably attended the gig! I’m sure, well almost!

Setlist:
Back On Broadway / Love Or Leave / Big City / Sleeping Beauties / Do Me Wrong / Everything I Do Gonna Be Funky (Alain Toussaint) / Cocaine Blues (Rev Gary Davis) / Gonna Be A Godfather / Papa Soul Talkin'

Encore:
Good Lovin'

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

Everything I do Gonna Be Funky, de belofte die Alain Toussaint ooit deed, was misschien nog een betere opener geweest van de bijzondere sfeervolle en swingende avond in een volgepakte Jazzzolder, vrijdagavond 23 september 2016. Toussaint's belofte werd meer dan ingelost. Het Laurent Doumont Quartet serveerde een geweldige selectie songs met een gezonde overdosis souljazz, soul en funk, maar ook blues!

Saxofoon, contrabas, piano en drums, een goede bezetting voor een typische jazzgig? Ongetwijfeld. Maar het waren papa soul en mama funk die de belangrijkste rollen vertolkten, bijgestaan door uitstekende muzikanten zoals contrabassist Sal La Rocca, pianist Raf De Bakker, de prettig gestoorde drummer Bilou Doneux en saxofonist-zanger Laurent Doumont.

Zowat alle composities in de set prijken op het album Papa Soul Talkin' (2012), met toppers zoals Love Or Leave, het prachtige Sleeping Beauties, dat Doumont voor zijn dochtertje schreef. Big City en ook de knaller Everything I Do Gonna Be Funky van Alain Toussaint dus, Back on Broadway en titeltrack Papa Soul Talkin', een subliem eerbetoon aan legende James Brown. Doumont deelde ooit nog het podium met Brown en doet de meester alle eer aan met Papa Soul Talkin'.

Laurent Doumont is niet alleen een meer dan begenadigd saxspeler, hij is ook een prima vocalist en crooner. Hij wisselde vlot van stem naar sax en deed nog nét niet gelijktijdig. Daags na het concert vond in de Mechelse stadsschouwburg een nogal bizar eerbetoon plaats aan Chet Baker met soms rare wendingen (Compagnie Cecillia, 'Chet' – nvdr). Misschien had Doumont er wel de rol van Baker kunnen vertolken met zijn knappe vocalen en sterk saxwerk, denk ik achteraf.

Het Laurent Doumont Quartet bezorgde Mechelen een verkwikkend, verfrissend en groovy avondje. Aan grooves en good vibes was nooit gebrek, everything they did was absoluut funky, en alles klonk oprecht geméénd. Het was zo'n avond waarna je na de laatste noot van de encore de zaal verlaat met een glimlach die je de rest van het weekend amper nog wegkrijgt, of misschien is die er nog? Als je dus zo iemand in de Mechelse binnenstad spotte of spot, zondag, maandag, straks... dan kén je de reden!

Setlist:
Back On Broadway / Love Or Leave / Big City / Sleeping Beauties / Do Me Wrong / Everything I Do Gonna Be Funky (Alain Toussaint) / Cocaine Blues (Rev Gary Davis) / Gonna Be A Godfather / Papa Soul Talkin'

Encore:
Good Lovin'

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016) 11/12/2016 : LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016) 11/12/2016 : LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016) 11/12/2016 : LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016) 11/12/2016 : LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET - Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)

 

Next reviews
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
THE AGONIST • Five
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
WOLVERINE • Machina Viva
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
OBITUARY • Then Thousand Ways To Die
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)

 

Same genre: FUNK/SOUL
CROOKED MAN • Crooked Man
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
AURRA • Body Rock
MARCUS MILLER • Het Depot, Leuven (07/04/2016)
BIG HARE • Hasyayoga
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
MARCUS MARR & CHET FAKER • Work (EP)
PURE BEAUTY • Pure Beauty (EP)
ABRAXAS • Totem

 

Same genre: JAZZ
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)
WOLF IN THE WOOD • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (10/06/2016)
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
DAVID BOWIE • Black Star

 

Same genre: SOUL
SERATONES • Get Gone
FAT FREDDY'S DROP • Bays
JOHN MILK • Treat Me Right
TEXAS • Texas 25: The Truth & Soul Sessions
ARETHA FRANKLIN • Sings the diva classics

Music reviews

25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night
20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
04
Dive releases Let Me In 12' vinyl on Out Of Line
25
04
Suicide Commando returns with a hard-hitting club EP release. “Death Will Find You”!
24
04
Rummelsnuff releases double album / best of - “Salzig schmeckt der Wind”
23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
04
GUNMAKER
Trust Me Or Lie
26
04
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
25
04
DIVE
Bloodmoney
24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only
21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos