tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : LOTUS THIEF - Gramarye

LOTUS THIEF

Gramarye

MusicCD
Black MetalPost-MetalProgSpacerock

[89/100]   

Prophecy Productions
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Lotus Thief from San Francisco puts old language on music that combines elements of post black metal, space and atmospheric rock. The band exists since 2012. This is the second album. The first album Rervm was well received and was based on De Rerum Natura: texts from books by Titus Lucretius Carus (around the first century BC).

On the second release the themes of Rervm are expanded and the are about the knowledge of learning. Gramarye comes from the Middle English and Middle French. It means grammar or book of sorcery. I'll spare you the details, you can find them on the site. Let's talk about the music.

It is at times great, wide and even a bit dark sometimes. Genres such as post rock, space rock, prog rock and black metal come to mind while listening. Everything is mixed into a homogeneous new genre. The vocals of the two singers sound like folk an they go well with the adaptation of the ancient languages.

It's all on five tracks (45 minutes of listening pleasure). You wouldn't expect it, but Lotus Thief is actually a trio that uses guitar and bass lines, excellent drumming and singing. Everything sounds crisp and Gramarye sounds more stylized than Rervm. I can think of lots of superlatives, but I would suggest to listen yourself. I think of songs like Circe or The Book of Lies. A strong and pleasant album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Lotus Thief uit San Francisco zet oude taal op muziek met elementen uit post-blackmetal, space en atmosferische rock. De band bestaat sinds 2012 en dit is het tweede album. Het eerste, Rervm, werd goed ontvangen en was gebaseerd op De Rerum Natura. Dat zijn teksten uit boeken van Titus Lucretius Carus (omstreeks de eerste eeuw voor Christus).

Op deze tweede release worden de thema’s van Rervm verruimd. Het gaat ook hier over de kennis van het leren. Gramarye komt uit het Midden-Engels en het Midden-Frans en betekent zoveel als grammatica of boek der tovenarij. Ik ga je de details besparen, die kan je zelf op de site lezen, ik wil het over de muziek hebben.

Die klinkt bij momenten groots, wijds en soms een beetje donker. Genres als postrock, spacerock, progrock en blackmetal passeren de revue tijdens het beluisteren. Alles is vermengd tot een homogeen nieuw genre. De samenzang van de twee zangeressen heeft iets van folk en gaat goed samen met de adaptatie van de oude talen.

Dit alles is verspreid over vijf tracks die samen goed zijn voor bijna 45 minuten luisterplezier. Je zou het niet vermoeden, maar Lotus Thief is in feite een trio dat zorgt voor piekfijne gitaar- en baslijnen, puike drums en zang. Alles klinkt haarscherp en Gramarye klinkt nog iets gestyleerder dan Rervm. Ik kan hier nog allerlei superlatieven neerschrijven, maar ik zou je aanbevelen om zelf eens te luisteren. Ik denk dan aan Circe of The Book of Lies. Een sterk en aangenaam album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE AGONIST • Five
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
WOLVERINE • Machina Viva
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
OBITUARY • Then Thousand Ways To Die
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
GHOST • Popestar

 

Same genre: BLACK METAL
KRALLICE • Mass Cathexis
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
CRADLE OF FILTH • Dusk And Her Embrace – The Original Sin
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
DOMINANZ • Noxious
EREB ALTOR • Blot-Ilt-Taut
MIGHTIEST • Sinisterra
DALLA NEBBIA • Felix Culpa
DRACONIAN • Sovran

 

Same genre: POST-METAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALCEST • Kodoma
SONS OF A WANTED MAN • Black Days, Black Dust
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
RISE • Resilience
CATAYA • Sukzession
WE DESERVE THIS • Pacific
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.
KILLING JOKE • Pylon
VERA GRACE • Novella (EP)

 

Same genre: PROG
NOSOUND • Scintilla
INFINITE SPECTRUM • Haunter of the Dark
ILL WICKER • Untamed
IRRADIANCE • Dissidence
EMBASSY OF SILENCE • Verisimilitude
ELDRITCH • Underlying Issues
OPETH • Brussels, AB (15/10/2015)
VLY • I/Time
NAïVE • Altra
EREB ALTOR • Nattram

 

Same genre: SPACEROCK
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM • Monolith of Phobos
TIDES FROM NEBULA • Safehaven
RADAR MEN FROM THE MOON • Subversive I
THE TELESCOPES • Hidden Fields
CAUDAL • Ascension
PARáRA
DER BLUTHARSCH • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 15th March 2012

Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
The Jesus and Mary Chain have signed to London-based independent label Fuzz Club Records.
21
01
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
'Giving Ground”…and Gaining It: The First Sisterhood Single, 36 ago, 20 January 1986
19
01
Electronic Band LUSCIOUS APPARATUS Addresses Domestic Violence With New Single, 'Infiltrate'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
20
01
FAUNLET
Anatomy
19
01
PSY'AVIAH FT MARIEKE LIGHTBAND
The Great Disconnect
18
01
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
17
01
MATT HART
Decimate