tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : LOTUS THIEF - Gramarye

LOTUS THIEF

Gramarye

MusicCD
Black MetalPost-MetalProgSpacerock

[89/100]   

Prophecy Productions
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Lotus Thief from San Francisco puts old language on music that combines elements of post black metal, space and atmospheric rock. The band exists since 2012. This is the second album. The first album Rervm was well received and was based on De Rerum Natura: texts from books by Titus Lucretius Carus (around the first century BC).

On the second release the themes of Rervm are expanded and the are about the knowledge of learning. Gramarye comes from the Middle English and Middle French. It means grammar or book of sorcery. I'll spare you the details, you can find them on the site. Let's talk about the music.

It is at times great, wide and even a bit dark sometimes. Genres such as post rock, space rock, prog rock and black metal come to mind while listening. Everything is mixed into a homogeneous new genre. The vocals of the two singers sound like folk an they go well with the adaptation of the ancient languages.

It's all on five tracks (45 minutes of listening pleasure). You wouldn't expect it, but Lotus Thief is actually a trio that uses guitar and bass lines, excellent drumming and singing. Everything sounds crisp and Gramarye sounds more stylized than Rervm. I can think of lots of superlatives, but I would suggest to listen yourself. I think of songs like Circe or The Book of Lies. A strong and pleasant album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Lotus Thief uit San Francisco zet oude taal op muziek met elementen uit post-blackmetal, space en atmosferische rock. De band bestaat sinds 2012 en dit is het tweede album. Het eerste, Rervm, werd goed ontvangen en was gebaseerd op De Rerum Natura. Dat zijn teksten uit boeken van Titus Lucretius Carus (omstreeks de eerste eeuw voor Christus).

Op deze tweede release worden de thema’s van Rervm verruimd. Het gaat ook hier over de kennis van het leren. Gramarye komt uit het Midden-Engels en het Midden-Frans en betekent zoveel als grammatica of boek der tovenarij. Ik ga je de details besparen, die kan je zelf op de site lezen, ik wil het over de muziek hebben.

Die klinkt bij momenten groots, wijds en soms een beetje donker. Genres als postrock, spacerock, progrock en blackmetal passeren de revue tijdens het beluisteren. Alles is vermengd tot een homogeen nieuw genre. De samenzang van de twee zangeressen heeft iets van folk en gaat goed samen met de adaptatie van de oude talen.

Dit alles is verspreid over vijf tracks die samen goed zijn voor bijna 45 minuten luisterplezier. Je zou het niet vermoeden, maar Lotus Thief is in feite een trio dat zorgt voor piekfijne gitaar- en baslijnen, puike drums en zang. Alles klinkt haarscherp en Gramarye klinkt nog iets gestyleerder dan Rervm. Ik kan hier nog allerlei superlatieven neerschrijven, maar ik zou je aanbevelen om zelf eens te luisteren. Ik denk dan aan Circe of The Book of Lies. Een sterk en aangenaam album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE AGONIST • Five
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
WOLVERINE • Machina Viva
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
OBITUARY • Then Thousand Ways To Die
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
GHOST • Popestar

 

Same genre: BLACK METAL
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
CRADLE OF FILTH • Dusk And Her Embrace – The Original Sin
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
DOMINANZ • Noxious
EREB ALTOR • Blot-Ilt-Taut
MIGHTIEST • Sinisterra
DALLA NEBBIA • Felix Culpa
DRACONIAN • Sovran
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015

 

Same genre: POST-METAL
ALCEST • Kodoma
SONS OF A WANTED MAN • Black Days, Black Dust
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
RISE • Resilience
CATAYA • Sukzession
WE DESERVE THIS • Pacific
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.
KILLING JOKE • Pylon
VERA GRACE • Novella (EP)
KRAKOW • Amaran

 

Same genre: PROG
NOSOUND • Scintilla
INFINITE SPECTRUM • Haunter of the Dark
ILL WICKER • Untamed
IRRADIANCE • Dissidence
EMBASSY OF SILENCE • Verisimilitude
ELDRITCH • Underlying Issues
OPETH • Brussels, AB (15/10/2015)
VLY • I/Time
NAïVE • Altra
EREB ALTOR • Nattram

 

Same genre: SPACEROCK
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM • Monolith of Phobos
TIDES FROM NEBULA • Safehaven
RADAR MEN FROM THE MOON • Subversive I
THE TELESCOPES • Hidden Fields
CAUDAL • Ascension
PARáRA
DER BLUTHARSCH • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 15th March 2012

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell