tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : LOTUS THIEF - Gramarye

LOTUS THIEF

Gramarye

MusicCD
Black MetalPost-MetalProgSpacerock

[89/100]   

Prophecy Productions
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Lotus Thief from San Francisco puts old language on music that combines elements of post black metal, space and atmospheric rock. The band exists since 2012. This is the second album. The first album Rervm was well received and was based on De Rerum Natura: texts from books by Titus Lucretius Carus (around the first century BC).

On the second release the themes of Rervm are expanded and the are about the knowledge of learning. Gramarye comes from the Middle English and Middle French. It means grammar or book of sorcery. I'll spare you the details, you can find them on the site. Let's talk about the music.

It is at times great, wide and even a bit dark sometimes. Genres such as post rock, space rock, prog rock and black metal come to mind while listening. Everything is mixed into a homogeneous new genre. The vocals of the two singers sound like folk an they go well with the adaptation of the ancient languages.

It's all on five tracks (45 minutes of listening pleasure). You wouldn't expect it, but Lotus Thief is actually a trio that uses guitar and bass lines, excellent drumming and singing. Everything sounds crisp and Gramarye sounds more stylized than Rervm. I can think of lots of superlatives, but I would suggest to listen yourself. I think of songs like Circe or The Book of Lies. A strong and pleasant album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Lotus Thief uit San Francisco zet oude taal op muziek met elementen uit post-blackmetal, space en atmosferische rock. De band bestaat sinds 2012 en dit is het tweede album. Het eerste, Rervm, werd goed ontvangen en was gebaseerd op De Rerum Natura. Dat zijn teksten uit boeken van Titus Lucretius Carus (omstreeks de eerste eeuw voor Christus).

Op deze tweede release worden de thema’s van Rervm verruimd. Het gaat ook hier over de kennis van het leren. Gramarye komt uit het Midden-Engels en het Midden-Frans en betekent zoveel als grammatica of boek der tovenarij. Ik ga je de details besparen, die kan je zelf op de site lezen, ik wil het over de muziek hebben.

Die klinkt bij momenten groots, wijds en soms een beetje donker. Genres als postrock, spacerock, progrock en blackmetal passeren de revue tijdens het beluisteren. Alles is vermengd tot een homogeen nieuw genre. De samenzang van de twee zangeressen heeft iets van folk en gaat goed samen met de adaptatie van de oude talen.

Dit alles is verspreid over vijf tracks die samen goed zijn voor bijna 45 minuten luisterplezier. Je zou het niet vermoeden, maar Lotus Thief is in feite een trio dat zorgt voor piekfijne gitaar- en baslijnen, puike drums en zang. Alles klinkt haarscherp en Gramarye klinkt nog iets gestyleerder dan Rervm. Ik kan hier nog allerlei superlatieven neerschrijven, maar ik zou je aanbevelen om zelf eens te luisteren. Ik denk dan aan Circe of The Book of Lies. Een sterk en aangenaam album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE AGONIST • Five
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
WOLVERINE • Machina Viva
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
OBITUARY • Then Thousand Ways To Die
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
GHOST • Popestar

 

Same genre: BLACK METAL
KRALLICE • Mass Cathexis
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
CRADLE OF FILTH • Dusk And Her Embrace – The Original Sin
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
DOMINANZ • Noxious
EREB ALTOR • Blot-Ilt-Taut
MIGHTIEST • Sinisterra
DALLA NEBBIA • Felix Culpa
DRACONIAN • Sovran

 

Same genre: POST-METAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALCEST • Kodoma
SONS OF A WANTED MAN • Black Days, Black Dust
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
RISE • Resilience
CATAYA • Sukzession
WE DESERVE THIS • Pacific
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.
KILLING JOKE • Pylon
VERA GRACE • Novella (EP)

 

Same genre: PROG
NOSOUND • Scintilla
INFINITE SPECTRUM • Haunter of the Dark
ILL WICKER • Untamed
IRRADIANCE • Dissidence
EMBASSY OF SILENCE • Verisimilitude
ELDRITCH • Underlying Issues
OPETH • Brussels, AB (15/10/2015)
VLY • I/Time
NAïVE • Altra
EREB ALTOR • Nattram

 

Same genre: SPACEROCK
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM • Monolith of Phobos
TIDES FROM NEBULA • Safehaven
RADAR MEN FROM THE MOON • Subversive I
THE TELESCOPES • Hidden Fields
CAUDAL • Ascension
PARáRA
DER BLUTHARSCH • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 15th March 2012

Music reviews

05
04
KALTE NACHT
The Last Breath
02
04
LOVATARAXX
Tilda Vaast
14
03
THEN COMES SILENCE
Trickery
13
03
DARK MINIMAL PROJECT
Remixes
27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
04
LIVERNOIS Addresses The Human Reaction To Trauma With ':ablation:'
11
04
Celtic Circle Productions founder Alfred Kaenders past away...
06
04
KISS IS KILL Reveals An Anatomy Of Fear With Their New Album
06
04
FLEISCHKRIEG Unveils New Single & Video, 'I Believe In Gnomes'
05
04
Cathedral In Flames Tells A Dark Western Tale With New Single
05
04
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL 2025 - SOLAR FAKE, ROTERSAND, EMPATHY TEST & MORE BANDS CONFIRMED!

Concert reviews

16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023
06
05
SIOUXSIE
The glorious resurrection after ten years of silence.

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION
09
04
DE DELVERS
With the lyrics, I try to name things that I see happening around me and to pay attention to what we sometimes prefer to turn our heads away from.
03
04
FRONTAL BOUNDARY
An Interview With Harsh Electro Band, Frontal Boundary
20
03
BESTIAL MOUTHS
An Interview With Bestial Mouths
19
03
TVASHTAR
We never insisted on being an all-female band.

PHOTOS

10
04
GHOST DANCE
Black Spring Festival Engis
10
04
THE MISTRESS OF JERSEY
Black Spring Festival Engis
10
04
GOTTERDAMMERUNG
Black Spring Festival Engis
10
04
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS
Black Spring Festival Engis
10
04
AZYLUM
Black Spring Festival Engis
01
04
MERCIFUL NUNS
Dark Skies over Witten Werkstadt Witten
01
04
RHOMBUS
Dark Skies over Witten Werkstadt Witten

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
04
ATTRITION
Silent Night
11
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra
11
04
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear v2K18 (12' Mix)
11
04
D.A.F.
Brothers (Live @ BodyFest 2023)
11
04
SCHICKSAL
24 Hours
11
04
THIS MORN' OMINA
(the) rûach (of god) ccf - live 2011
11
04
LIFELESS PAST
A Safer Place (music video)