tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : LOTUS THIEF - Gramarye

LOTUS THIEF

Gramarye

MusicCD
Black MetalPost-MetalProgSpacerock

[89/100]   

Prophecy Productions
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Lotus Thief from San Francisco puts old language on music that combines elements of post black metal, space and atmospheric rock. The band exists since 2012. This is the second album. The first album Rervm was well received and was based on De Rerum Natura: texts from books by Titus Lucretius Carus (around the first century BC).

On the second release the themes of Rervm are expanded and the are about the knowledge of learning. Gramarye comes from the Middle English and Middle French. It means grammar or book of sorcery. I'll spare you the details, you can find them on the site. Let's talk about the music.

It is at times great, wide and even a bit dark sometimes. Genres such as post rock, space rock, prog rock and black metal come to mind while listening. Everything is mixed into a homogeneous new genre. The vocals of the two singers sound like folk an they go well with the adaptation of the ancient languages.

It's all on five tracks (45 minutes of listening pleasure). You wouldn't expect it, but Lotus Thief is actually a trio that uses guitar and bass lines, excellent drumming and singing. Everything sounds crisp and Gramarye sounds more stylized than Rervm. I can think of lots of superlatives, but I would suggest to listen yourself. I think of songs like Circe or The Book of Lies. A strong and pleasant album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Lotus Thief uit San Francisco zet oude taal op muziek met elementen uit post-blackmetal, space en atmosferische rock. De band bestaat sinds 2012 en dit is het tweede album. Het eerste, Rervm, werd goed ontvangen en was gebaseerd op De Rerum Natura. Dat zijn teksten uit boeken van Titus Lucretius Carus (omstreeks de eerste eeuw voor Christus).

Op deze tweede release worden de thema’s van Rervm verruimd. Het gaat ook hier over de kennis van het leren. Gramarye komt uit het Midden-Engels en het Midden-Frans en betekent zoveel als grammatica of boek der tovenarij. Ik ga je de details besparen, die kan je zelf op de site lezen, ik wil het over de muziek hebben.

Die klinkt bij momenten groots, wijds en soms een beetje donker. Genres als postrock, spacerock, progrock en blackmetal passeren de revue tijdens het beluisteren. Alles is vermengd tot een homogeen nieuw genre. De samenzang van de twee zangeressen heeft iets van folk en gaat goed samen met de adaptatie van de oude talen.

Dit alles is verspreid over vijf tracks die samen goed zijn voor bijna 45 minuten luisterplezier. Je zou het niet vermoeden, maar Lotus Thief is in feite een trio dat zorgt voor piekfijne gitaar- en baslijnen, puike drums en zang. Alles klinkt haarscherp en Gramarye klinkt nog iets gestyleerder dan Rervm. Ik kan hier nog allerlei superlatieven neerschrijven, maar ik zou je aanbevelen om zelf eens te luisteren. Ik denk dan aan Circe of The Book of Lies. Een sterk en aangenaam album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE AGONIST • Five
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
WOLVERINE • Machina Viva
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
OBITUARY • Then Thousand Ways To Die
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
GHOST • Popestar

 

Same genre: BLACK METAL
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
CRADLE OF FILTH • Dusk And Her Embrace – The Original Sin
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
DOMINANZ • Noxious
EREB ALTOR • Blot-Ilt-Taut
MIGHTIEST • Sinisterra
DALLA NEBBIA • Felix Culpa
DRACONIAN • Sovran
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015

 

Same genre: POST-METAL
ALCEST • Kodoma
SONS OF A WANTED MAN • Black Days, Black Dust
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
RISE • Resilience
CATAYA • Sukzession
WE DESERVE THIS • Pacific
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.
KILLING JOKE • Pylon
VERA GRACE • Novella (EP)
KRAKOW • Amaran

 

Same genre: PROG
NOSOUND • Scintilla
INFINITE SPECTRUM • Haunter of the Dark
ILL WICKER • Untamed
IRRADIANCE • Dissidence
EMBASSY OF SILENCE • Verisimilitude
ELDRITCH • Underlying Issues
OPETH • Brussels, AB (15/10/2015)
VLY • I/Time
NAïVE • Altra
EREB ALTOR • Nattram

 

Same genre: SPACEROCK
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM • Monolith of Phobos
TIDES FROM NEBULA • Safehaven
RADAR MEN FROM THE MOON • Subversive I
THE TELESCOPES • Hidden Fields
CAUDAL • Ascension
PARáRA
DER BLUTHARSCH • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 15th March 2012

Music reviews

22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
21
07
AFTER ABSENCE
Demotape 1
19
07
NAUT
Raise The Lights
13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
07
Empirion end their two decade hiatus with Double A-Side Single!
18
07
Today it’s exactly 30 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 38 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
07
DANA CALLEY (VAPORS OF MORPHINE)
From the beginning to the last note
19
07
CHRISTIAN DEATH
'I think pacifism will be the rehearsal for the ultimate slaughter'
18
07
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
'I have no high hopes for humanity anymore...'
23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
07
INDOCHINE
Tes Yeux Noirs
21
07
AND ONE
The End of Your Life (feat. Douglas J. McCarthy)
21
07
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth
20
07
DAVID BOWIE
Blackstar
19
07
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
18
07
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O