tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : ANTAGONIST ZERO - No Tears

ANTAGONIST ZERO

No Tears

MusicCD (EP)
Black MetalCatatonic MetalDoomprogressive metal

[80/100]   

Inverse Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Finnish band Antagonist Zero describes its music as Catatonic Metal (probably named after the song Catatonic from 2012). But what does it mean? The music sounds like a mix of doom, black/death and melodic metal. The singing alternates between growls, grunts and clean vocals. The songs sound quite atmospheric and create a nice contrast with the dark passages.

The album contains five songs and forty minutes of music. The title track No Tears is a strong opener with a progressive structure. The track begins with a doomy dark and growling voice and Black Sabbath-lioke riffs. After three minutes, we hear clean (backing) vocals. A spacy guitar does the rest. Then the song goes in all directions and gets more melodic than at the start. A very interesting piece of music. The other tracks have the same song structure. Only Mirra Muruseni On is different with a guitar intro that refers to Iron Maiden and vocals in a Finnish or dialect (Mirra means my love). A catchy track.

Antagonist Zero likes to explore various metal genres and has found an interesting angle. Those who are bored with the stuff you hear on today’s radio, definitely should give this a try.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

De Finse band Antagonist Zero omschrijft zijn muziek als Catatonic Metal (waarschijnlijk genoemd naar de song Catatonic uit 2012). Wat het ook moge betekenen... de muziek klinkt als een mengeling van doom, black/death en melodieuze metal. De vocals zijn een afwisseling tussen growls, grunts en cleane zang. De songs klinken bij momenten vrij atmosferisch en dat zorgt voor een mooi kontrast met de donkere passages.

Het album bevat vijf songs maar die zijn dan wel goed voor bijna veertig minuten muziek. Er wordt meteen sterk geopend met de titeltrack No Tears, voorzien van een progressieve opbouw. De track begint nogal doomy met een donkere growlstem en op Black Sabbath gebaseerde riffs. Na drie minuten horen we cleane zang en backing vocals waardoor de track opengetrokken wordt. Een spacy gitaarsolo doet de rest. De song gaat dan een beetje alle kanten op en is melodieuzer dan in het begin. De finale is best stevig met o.a. pittig drumwerk. Een heel interessante track. De andere tracks hebben een min of meer gelijklopende songstructuur. Alleen Mirra Muruseni On is iets of wat anders opgebouwd: een stuk korter, een gitaarintro die heel erg naar Iron Maiden verwijst, ruimte voor bas en zang in oud- of dialectisch Fins (het betekent zoiets als Mirra mijn liefste). Een vrij toegankelijke en catchy track.

Antagonist Zero zit tussen een aantal metal genres en heeft op die manier een interessante invalshoek gevonden. Een goed album met fijne songs, voorzien van een progressieve opbouw. Wie de opgeklopte vrolijkheid op de hedendaagse radio beu is, moet dit beslist eens uittesten.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : ANTAGONIST ZERO - No Tears 10/12/2016 : ANTAGONIST ZERO - No Tears

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation