tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : ANTAGONIST ZERO - No Tears

ANTAGONIST ZERO

No Tears

MusicCD (EP)
Black MetalCatatonic MetalDoomprogressive metal

[80/100]   

Inverse Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Finnish band Antagonist Zero describes its music as Catatonic Metal (probably named after the song Catatonic from 2012). But what does it mean? The music sounds like a mix of doom, black/death and melodic metal. The singing alternates between growls, grunts and clean vocals. The songs sound quite atmospheric and create a nice contrast with the dark passages.

The album contains five songs and forty minutes of music. The title track No Tears is a strong opener with a progressive structure. The track begins with a doomy dark and growling voice and Black Sabbath-lioke riffs. After three minutes, we hear clean (backing) vocals. A spacy guitar does the rest. Then the song goes in all directions and gets more melodic than at the start. A very interesting piece of music. The other tracks have the same song structure. Only Mirra Muruseni On is different with a guitar intro that refers to Iron Maiden and vocals in a Finnish or dialect (Mirra means my love). A catchy track.

Antagonist Zero likes to explore various metal genres and has found an interesting angle. Those who are bored with the stuff you hear on today’s radio, definitely should give this a try.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

De Finse band Antagonist Zero omschrijft zijn muziek als Catatonic Metal (waarschijnlijk genoemd naar de song Catatonic uit 2012). Wat het ook moge betekenen... de muziek klinkt als een mengeling van doom, black/death en melodieuze metal. De vocals zijn een afwisseling tussen growls, grunts en cleane zang. De songs klinken bij momenten vrij atmosferisch en dat zorgt voor een mooi kontrast met de donkere passages.

Het album bevat vijf songs maar die zijn dan wel goed voor bijna veertig minuten muziek. Er wordt meteen sterk geopend met de titeltrack No Tears, voorzien van een progressieve opbouw. De track begint nogal doomy met een donkere growlstem en op Black Sabbath gebaseerde riffs. Na drie minuten horen we cleane zang en backing vocals waardoor de track opengetrokken wordt. Een spacy gitaarsolo doet de rest. De song gaat dan een beetje alle kanten op en is melodieuzer dan in het begin. De finale is best stevig met o.a. pittig drumwerk. Een heel interessante track. De andere tracks hebben een min of meer gelijklopende songstructuur. Alleen Mirra Muruseni On is iets of wat anders opgebouwd: een stuk korter, een gitaarintro die heel erg naar Iron Maiden verwijst, ruimte voor bas en zang in oud- of dialectisch Fins (het betekent zoiets als Mirra mijn liefste). Een vrij toegankelijke en catchy track.

Antagonist Zero zit tussen een aantal metal genres en heeft op die manier een interessante invalshoek gevonden. Een goed album met fijne songs, voorzien van een progressieve opbouw. Wie de opgeklopte vrolijkheid op de hedendaagse radio beu is, moet dit beslist eens uittesten.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : ANTAGONIST ZERO - No Tears 10/12/2016 : ANTAGONIST ZERO - No Tears

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
05
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus