tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : ANTAGONIST ZERO - No Tears

ANTAGONIST ZERO

No Tears

MusicCD (EP)
Black MetalCatatonic MetalDoomprogressive metal

[80/100]   

Inverse Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Finnish band Antagonist Zero describes its music as Catatonic Metal (probably named after the song Catatonic from 2012). But what does it mean? The music sounds like a mix of doom, black/death and melodic metal. The singing alternates between growls, grunts and clean vocals. The songs sound quite atmospheric and create a nice contrast with the dark passages.

The album contains five songs and forty minutes of music. The title track No Tears is a strong opener with a progressive structure. The track begins with a doomy dark and growling voice and Black Sabbath-lioke riffs. After three minutes, we hear clean (backing) vocals. A spacy guitar does the rest. Then the song goes in all directions and gets more melodic than at the start. A very interesting piece of music. The other tracks have the same song structure. Only Mirra Muruseni On is different with a guitar intro that refers to Iron Maiden and vocals in a Finnish or dialect (Mirra means my love). A catchy track.

Antagonist Zero likes to explore various metal genres and has found an interesting angle. Those who are bored with the stuff you hear on today’s radio, definitely should give this a try.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

De Finse band Antagonist Zero omschrijft zijn muziek als Catatonic Metal (waarschijnlijk genoemd naar de song Catatonic uit 2012). Wat het ook moge betekenen... de muziek klinkt als een mengeling van doom, black/death en melodieuze metal. De vocals zijn een afwisseling tussen growls, grunts en cleane zang. De songs klinken bij momenten vrij atmosferisch en dat zorgt voor een mooi kontrast met de donkere passages.

Het album bevat vijf songs maar die zijn dan wel goed voor bijna veertig minuten muziek. Er wordt meteen sterk geopend met de titeltrack No Tears, voorzien van een progressieve opbouw. De track begint nogal doomy met een donkere growlstem en op Black Sabbath gebaseerde riffs. Na drie minuten horen we cleane zang en backing vocals waardoor de track opengetrokken wordt. Een spacy gitaarsolo doet de rest. De song gaat dan een beetje alle kanten op en is melodieuzer dan in het begin. De finale is best stevig met o.a. pittig drumwerk. Een heel interessante track. De andere tracks hebben een min of meer gelijklopende songstructuur. Alleen Mirra Muruseni On is iets of wat anders opgebouwd: een stuk korter, een gitaarintro die heel erg naar Iron Maiden verwijst, ruimte voor bas en zang in oud- of dialectisch Fins (het betekent zoiets als Mirra mijn liefste). Een vrij toegankelijke en catchy track.

Antagonist Zero zit tussen een aantal metal genres en heeft op die manier een interessante invalshoek gevonden. Een goed album met fijne songs, voorzien van een progressieve opbouw. Wie de opgeklopte vrolijkheid op de hedendaagse radio beu is, moet dit beslist eens uittesten.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : ANTAGONIST ZERO - No Tears 10/12/2016 : ANTAGONIST ZERO - No Tears

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary
14
01
On this night, 42 years ago, Joy Division played at King Kong, Antwerp (B)!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995
12
01
COIL
Tattooed Man