tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : GIOUMOURTZINA - Blakk Metall

GIOUMOURTZINA

Blakk Metall

MusicCD
Minimal

[78/100]   

Inner Ear
10/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Minimal music is alive in Greece! The Greek band Gioumourtzina was founded in May 2014, in Thessaloniki: Anestis Neiros (synth, vocals) and John Tselikas (electric bass). Rather coincidentally they worked together on music that can be situated between electronics and shoegaze. But the sound was not what they wanted it to be andso they started looking for the right musicians to work with. At the end of the day, they decided to continue as a duo and do something more minimalist. Blakk Metall is released on Inner Ear Records, it is a primarily electronic DIY project with different styles. The title Blakk Metall is intended to be humorous and is at the same time a reaction against the global music industry, the social establishment and the refusal to be categorized in one genre.

You recognize the eighties sound immediately. Leviathan puts you 30 years back in time: synth sounds with a nod to shoegaze and drawn-out soundscapes. Russian Market contains a bass line that could have been of The Cure. The melodic arsenal of synths and fairy-like sounds with a simple rhythm section and a dreamy and very minimal voice, gives the sound a special touch.

Chinese Batlleship has some elements of the previous song, but it doesn’t really impress. A feeling that we had throughout the entire album.

A little more rhythm and a nice drumbeat is given to The Rundown. Unfortunately, this track that is no more than a repetitive melody. Halfway we hear a transition and the arrangement gets more interesting. Lobby Raver is eighties at its best: a solid bass line starts the song, again with some shoegaze elements. The vocals are just a tad too limited.

When seeing the title of the sixth song, I started to sweat: Palaces In The Night Terror. Indeed, it sounds a bit creepy. Chrysostomou Smyrnis is one of the better songs. A totally different song that sounds like EBM sometimes, due to the more contemporary electronic elements. Something happens in this song. There should be more of these onn this album. Glasgow is again mediocre.

Two things are certain: it is minimal and indeed impossible to be categorized in one genre only. Whether this is fascinating enough, is something that you should decide yourself.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


NL

Dat minimal lééft in Griekenland, is duidelijk. Het Griekse duo Gioumourtzina is ontstaan in mei 2014, in Thessaloniki: Anestis Neiros (synth, zang) en John Tselikas (elektrische bas). Eerder toevallig gingen ze samen aan de slag om muziek te maken tussen elektronica en shoegaze. Maar de klank was niet wat ze wilden en hun zoektocht naar de juiste muzikanten om mee samen te werken leverde niet meteen op. Ze besloten als duo door te gaan en iets meer minimalistisch te doen. Blakk Metall, uitgebracht via Inner Ear Records, is een hoofdzakelijk elektronisch DIY-project waarin verschillende stijlen, als gevolg van diverse muziekinvloeden, elkaar vinden. De titel Blakk Metall is humoristisch bedoeld en tegelijk een reactie tegen de globale muziekindustrie, het sociale establishment én de weigering om onder één muziekgenre te worden gecategoriseerd.

Wat meteen opvalt is de duidelijke eightiessound. Leviathan kan je zo 30 jaar terug in de tijd slingeren zonder dat het zou opvallen: synthklanken, voorzichtige knipogen naar shoegaze en uitgesponnen soundscapes. Russian Market krijgt een baslijn die van The Cure kon zijn. Het melodieuze arsenaal van synths en feërieke klanken met een doodsimpele ritmesectie en een dromerige en héél minimale stem, geeft het geluid een speciale toets.

Chinese Batlleship kabbelt voort op de elementen uit de vorige song, zonder echt indruk te maken. Een gevoel dat doorheen het gehele album blijft hangen: het barst niet echt los.

Iets meer ritme en een leuke drumbeat trekken The Rundown op gang. Maar ook dit is een track die jammer genoeg niet meer is dan een zich herhalende melodie die zichzelf door de song lijkt te slepen. Halfweg is er een overgang en wordt het arrangement wat boeiender. Lobby Raver is eighties ten top: een stevige baslijn trekt de song op gang, ook hier wat shoegaze-klanken. De zang is heel beperkt en eerder zeurderig en biedt de song weinig toegevoegde waarde.

Bij het aanschouwen van de titel van song 6 breekt het angstzweet me uit: Palaces In The Night Terror. Inderdaad, het klinkt wat creepy en met veel fantasie hoor je wat 'night terror', maar ook hier blijft het steken. Chrysostomou Smyrnis is één van de betere songs. Een totaal andere sound dan in de vorige songs, soms heeft het iets van voorzichtige EBM als gevolg van de meer hedendaagse elektronische sounds. De track bouwt op en er gebeurt iets. Het knalt nog niet, maar het blijft wél boeiend. Er mocht meer van dat op dit album staan. Glasgow voert ons terug naar de middelmaat.

Twee dingen zijn een zekerheid: het is minimalistisch en inderdaad niét onder één noemer te vatten, wat de verdienste is van het duo. Of het ook boeiend is, dat moet je zelf uitmaken.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)