tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl / digital review

29/06/2021 : RADERKRAFT - Dust & Debris

RADERKRAFT

Dust & Debris

MusicVinyl / Digital
EBMMinimalSynth Wave

[91/100]   

Wave Tension Records
29/06/2021, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Dutchman Willem Stinissen, under his moniker Raderkraft, already hit a nerve with his EP "Smart Control" released in 2019. On Wave Tension Records, "Dust & Debris" will be released on June 22, 2021: 4 dark tracks that cut even deeper into your flesh than the previous work.

Raderkraft does not shy away from current affairs and global issues. As with previous work, there is little vocal input on this new masterpiece, but instead samples are used, mostly from the media.

"Crack Epidemic" highlights the devastating impact of heavy drug addiction as if it were a lecture on the subject. The howling synth melody sounds like a cry for help, laced with interpretation from an American reporter who highlights every facet of drug addiction. The violence and crime, the devastating impact on health and disrupted families, the strain on the welfare sector.

Another global issue that led to large marches and student demonstrations in 2019 is the climate issue. "Greta's Speech" makes Miss Thunberg's message resonate even more. In an Anne Clark-like atmosphere, we are once again presented with Greta's proclaimed words supported by a sparse rhythm section and ditto synths. Again, the icy cold embraces us when we hear how the imminent demise of the world is announced by a 16-year-old. Undoubtedly haunting.

Nuclear threat has also not disappeared from Raderkraft's radar. The dormant fear of this possible global self-destruction if someone decides to unleash a nuclear war pierces through on the third track "Atomic Warfare". You don't get cheerful from the dark melody that carries the sampled speeches here as well. The suffering of Hiroshima, the hundreds of thousands killed as a result of the atomic bomb and the radiation sickness afterwards. The message is musically translated and the bombs fly around your ears at the end, right up to the detonation.

The final threat that passes in review is terror. 9/11, the crying, the crashing sound when the planes penetrated the World Trade Centre, all put in a great EBM jacket. That, in a nutshell, is the fourth track "Dust and Debris." The cadence of the song reflects the disbelief at what happened then: the turmoil is palpable, the panic equally so. The global shockwave full of incomprehension and fear blows heavy bass and live coverage into your ears without ever looking back.

Raderkraft once again lashes out violently with this EP. The themes they present and the way they are elaborated musically, hit hard. This EP is both musically and historically relevant. We take a moment to consider what homo sapiens is capable of. Willem does this in his own powerful way on this "Dust & Debris": chilling and catchy, with minimal synthwave to EBM.

The EP appears digitally and on vinyl, the latter at 250 copies.

Hurry to Bandcamp to get your copy.

https://wavetensionrecords.bandcamp.com/album/dust-debris

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
29/06/2021


NL

De Nederlander Willem Stinissen raakte met zijn project Raderkraft onze gevoelige snaar al met zijn in 2019 verschenen EP "Smart Control". Op Wave Tension Records verschijnt op 22 juni 2021 "Dust & Debris": 4 donkere tracks die nog dieper in je vlees snijden dan het voorgaande werk.

Raderkraft schuwt geenszins de actualiteit en mondiale vraagstukken. Zoals bij eerder werk is er op dit nieuwe meesterwerk weinig vocale inbreng, maar wordt er gebruik gemaakt van samples, vooral uit de media.

"Crack Epidemic" belicht de vernietigende impact van zware drugsverslaving alsof het een lezing was over dit onderwerp. De meehuilende synthmelodie klinkt als een noodkreet, doorspekt met duiding van een Amerikaanse reporter die elk facet van een drugsverslaving belicht. Het geweld en de misdaad, de verwoestende impact op de gezondheid en ontwrichte gezinnen, de druk op de welzijnssector.

Een ander globaal probleem dat in 2019 leidde tot grote marsen en studentenbetogingen, is het klimaatprobleem. "Greta’s Speech" laat de boodschap van juffrouw Thunberg nog eens extra weerklinken. In een Anne Clark-achtige sfeer krijgen we de gedeclameerde woorden van Greta ondersteund door een zuinige ritmesectie en dito synths nog eens in de maag gesplitst. Ook hier omarmt de kilte ons als we horen hoe de nakende ondergang van de wereld wordt aangekondigd door een 16-jarige. Beklijvend, zonder meer.

Nucleaire dreiging is ook nog steeds niet van de radar van Raderkraft verdwenen. Het sluimerende angstbeeld van deze mogelijke wereldwijde zelfvernietiging als iemand beslist een nucleaire oorlog te ontketenen dringt priemend door op de derde track "Atomic Warfare". Vrolijk word je niet van de donkere melodie die ook hier de gesampelde speeches draagt. Het leed van Hiroshima, de honderdduizenden doden ten gevolge van de atoombom en de stralingsziekte achteraf. De boodschap is muzikaal vertaald en de bommen vliegen je op het einde rond de oren, tot de ontploffing toe.

De laatste dreiging die de revue passeert, is terreur. 9/11, het gehuil, de dreun toen de vliegtuigen het World Trade Centre penetreerden, maar dan in een geweldig EBM-jasje gestoken. Dat is in het kort de vierde track "Dust and Debris". De cadans van het nummer geeft het ongeloof weer bij wat er toen gebeurde: de onrust is voelbaar, de paniek evenzeer. De wereldwijde schokgolf vol onbegrip en angst blaast loodzware bassen en live verslaggeving zonder omkijken je oren in.

Raderkraft haalt ook met deze EP weer heftig uit. De aangehaalde thema’s en hoe die muzikaal worden uitgewerkt, hakken er stevig in. Deze EP is tegelijkertijd muzikaal én historisch relevant. We staan weer even stil bij tot wat de homo sapiens in staat is. Willem doet dat op zijn eigen krachtige manier op deze "Dust & Debris": kil en pakkend, met minimal synthwave tot EBM.

De EP verschijnt digitaal en op vinyl, die laatste op 250 exemplaren.

Rep je naar Bandcamp om je kopie bemachtigen.

https://wavetensionrecords.bandcamp.com/album/dust-debris

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
29/06/2021


 

Next reviews
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby

 

Other reviews from RADERKRAFT
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control

 

Same genre: EBM
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
MILDREDA • I was never really there
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
RINGFINGER • Pressure
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu