tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this single (digital) review

05/04/2024 : KALTE NACHT - The Last Breath

KALTE NACHT

The Last Breath

MusicSingle (Digital)
Dark WaveMinimalSynth Wave

[91/100]   
05/04/2024, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Kalte Nacht began in 2017 as a solo project by Nikos K. But soon it was brewing in Athens and Myrto Stylou joined for the vocals and it became a rock-solid duo. Kalte Nacht combines darkwave with a minimalist touch. Atmospheric, dark, carried by analogue synths and ditto drum machines. Myrto's voice absolutely completes the sound.

The Last Breath is the first piece of the puzzle that will be laid and that will result in the album Urge to be released on Cold Transmission Music in the spring of 2024.

The song has a rather philosophical approach about breathing and being oneself. We breathe automatically. It keeps us alive, we don't have to think about breathing. We trust it. But every breath is different. With exertion, we automatically start breathing faster and deeper; At rest, every breath of air is more subtle.

Breathing helps to let go of things. And when we discard the old, a next breath brings us a new piece of being...

As beautiful as the story behind it sounds, the song itself is even more beautiful. You feel and experience the automatism of the breathing that keeps us alive and shapes our being. In a solid synth-driven banger of a song. The voice that blows air into your ears so that you can feel how urgent that air is for us.

Kalte Nacht's second album Urge announces itself so promisingly.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
05/04/2024


NL

In 2017 begon Kalte Nacht als een soloproject van Nikos K. Maar al gauw broedde het in Athene en kwam Myrto Stylou erbij voor de zang en werd het een ijzersterk duo. Kalte Nacht combineert darkwave met minimale inslag. Atmosferisch, donker, gedragen door analoge synths en dito drummachines. De stem van Myrto vervolmaakt absoluut de sound.

The Last Breath is het eerste stukje van de puzzel die gelegd wordt en die zal resulteren in het album Urge dat in de loop van voorjaar 2024 zal verschijnen op Cold Transmission Music.

De song heeft een vrij filosofische insteek over ademhaling en het zijn aan zich. We ademen automatisch. Het houdt ons in leven, we moeten er niet aan denken te ademen. We vertrouwen erop. Maar elke ademhalingsbeweging is anders. Bij inspanningen gaan we vanzelf sneller en dieper ademhalen; Bij rust is elke teug lucht subtieler.
Ademen helpt dingen loslaten. En als we het oude verwerpen, brengt een volgende ademteug ons een nieuw stukje zijn…

Hoe mooi het verhaal erachter klinkt, nog mooier is de song zelf. Je voelt en beleeft het automatische van de ademhaling die ons in leven houdt en ons zijn mee vorm geeft. In een stevige synthgedreven knaller van een song. De stem die lucht in je oren blaast zodat voelbaar wordt hoe urgent die lucht voor ons is.

Kalte Nacht’s tweede album Urge kondigt zich zo beloftevol aan.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
05/04/2024


Music reviews

10
05
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Fear And Cufre
09
05
NEL & JP
Desinterersse
07
05
DARKEST NIGHT 2024
30
04
ATTRITION
The Black Maria
26
04
HYBRYDS
Mythopia, the sequel
25
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Elysium

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
50 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
38 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
43 years Spellbound!
19
05
46 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 34 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
05
AUSGANG
“This crushing, slamming, heavy strife …” It is 1982. In and around Birmingham a band arises from the ashes of various Post-Punk acts.
11
05
XTR HUMAN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist, XTR Human
09
05
THE RED MOON MACABRE
Resurrected after 32 years in 2021, now very active again. Interview with Renzo Tellez, founder of the classic Goth Rock band ‘The Red Moon Macabre’.
06
05
NOW AFTER NOTHING
An Interview With Darkwave Band, NOW AFTER NOTHING
10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION

PHOTOS

26
05
DER W STEFAN WEIDNER
Christuskirche Bochum
20
05
MONO INC
Christuskirche Bochum
14
05
CHRISTIAN DEATH
Rockpalast Bochum Matrix
16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
05
MIDAS FALL
Glue
26
05
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
25
05
ANIMAUX ANIME
Power
24
05
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth
23
05
SRSQ
Permission
22
05
SKEPTICAL MINDS
Emptiness
21
05
COLD CAVE
People Are Poison