tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

15/04/2024 : FAD GADGET - ***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***

FAD GADGET

***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***

Concert


[100/100]   
15/04/2024, Peter MASTBOOMS

EN

Fad Gadget (First comeback live show since 1988) >>>Photo Report<<<

(Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London)

When I heard the first rumors about a possible comeback by this pioneer of New-Wave in its purest form, which flourished in the early eighties, I raised my eyebrows for a moment. It was the same disbelief that overwhelmed me about a year ago, when there was a lot of speculation about a real Skinny Puppy reunion. Although I must say that the disbelief immediately gave way to a feeling of euphoria. How many times had we already whined at some bar about the ideal comeback from the whole wave thing of the past twenty years? Each time, Frank Tovey's alter ego Fad Gadget emerged as the most wanted come-back artist. How did that proverb go again; a drunken mouth speaks the truth? Little did we know! So, we didn't hesitate and immediately ordered a ticket via the information highway. The concert was announced as a comeback performance by this artist, whose name was at the top of an otherwise mundane list. A poster that I will not elaborate on because 'it can also be seen at the local tripe fair', except perhaps an honorable mention for the industrial/techno-terrorists of Greenhaus who actually managed to create and rape “Transmission” (Joy Division) with their Underworld-is, without causing too much pain (on the contrary: it was very pleasing). But now on to what should be the event of 2001, at least for the first generation New-wavers. A first glance at the stage made clear driving force Frank Tovey had not come alone. An electronic drum kit was set up in the centre, flanked by a minimal keyboard installation, while a guitar and bass guitar were positioned to the left and right of the stage respectively (perhaps let's clarify for the electro-heads: it looks like a phallic symbol with a few strings attached) were waiting for their manipulators. Fad Gadget live as a real band? Something that could turn out to be either good or bad, I thought. Because about eighteen years ago - long before the days of minidiscs and DAT players - this man himself was often seen alone on stage, flanked by a cassette recorder (remember those?). To what extent would these “new” musicians be able to express this gentleman's classics? Or would they mainly play new material? Has the man become an old bald fart who can no longer pull a hair from his head, let alone his scrotum? We would soon find out... The lights went out, while the stage was filled with smoke … The tension was palpable! The venue was well filled, although I had imagined it to be a bit more crowded. Many “snoths” apparently did not feel the need to fill the gap in their cultural background and had already left the venue early, which of course resulted in more breathing space and the second row for the older “black coats” among us. As the musicians took their positions, we stared at the microphone stand as if some kind of angel was about to descend from heaven.

Amplifiers and synthesizer hum swelled; the drummer joined in... Immediately we knew this was “State of the Nation” as the opening song; a good harbinger, in my opinion. Neatly timed, Frank Tovey stepped out of the wings to his microphone and let his magical voice echo through the hall. Frank's appearance and voice made is seem if time had stood still all those years and had withstood the test of time formidably. Dressed in a white doctor's coat and latex gloves, he wriggled around his microphone stand a bit awkwardly at first, but that would only last a while. He had also taken the trouble to adapt his haircut to the occasion: close-shaven and with a fringe around his scalp, it looked as if he had undergone brain surgery. The warm welcome and loud applause that arose from the hall after their first song gave Mr. Fad Gadget probably immediately that little bit of self-confidence that he seemed to lack during the first minutes. We had not yet recovered from the wonderful feeling of euphoria when we recognized the first notes of “Ricky's hand”! This was going to be a downright “best of” performance, that much was clear.

Fad Gadget knew exactly what we came for... AMBIANCE!!! In the distant past, this would have been the time to hand in false teeth, glasses, and other orthopaedic accessories at the cloakroom, so one didn’t have to inspect the floor in vain after the concert. Tonight, however, I think everyone was watching this by everyone proclaimed long dead act too fascinated. So, for most of us our physical exertion was limited to the typical Mr. Oiso's Flat Eric (you probably know it from “Flat beat”)-rhythmic head shaking movement.

Fad Gadget himself, on the other hand, had taken Professor Barabas's time machine and flashed himself back almost two decades.

Armed with a cordless drill machine, he stepped forward and drilled through his left hand (glove), causing 'blood' to flow and spill freely over his clean white doctor's coat. He laconically announced for the gullible among us: 'Sorry folks, tonight you're getting the fake shit 'cause I spilled enough real blood in the past for you motherfuckers!'. And we could live with that, just like the fact that 'the fake shit' was spilled all over us in the front rows while he emptied the glove filled with red gunk above our heads, spinning around on the drill. It really couldn't go wrong anymore. Certainly not when songs like “Collapsing new people” and “Luxury” (The latter was the only post-Gadget Frank Tovey song) followed and blasted from the speakers.

Both songs with which Fad Gadget and later Frank Tovey scored high in both domestic and foreign music charts. The man is also no stranger to irony, as it turned out when he started playing “Fireside favorites” when he said: “I know that you goths are not into this stuff but I’m fucking gonna play it anyway!”. We had a good laugh of course, others who felt more addressed immediately forgave Frank after this “swinging song”, when his group flattened the audience with the dance floor hit “Love parasite”. This would be the only song from the album “Under the flag” they would perform tonight. In the meantime, Frank Tovey was warmed-up, and so he was ready for the next classic featuring his bare torso. No drill in his hand now, but a spray can of shaving foam... Indeed, “Lady Shave” was up!! Between the vocal parts, he slowly covered his entire upper body and face with this white sticky substance, and now the front rows participated in the Fad Gadget feast. I guess this is what happens when you really want to be in the front row.

Slowly it became clear with this song that Frank was increasingly reverting to his old Fad Gadget image and habits: tufts of armpit and pubic hair, his own that is, were torn out and eaten. Fad Gadget is back!!

Then a song, that appeared to have been heavily reworked by the band: cult hit “Coitus interruptus”, which, if even possible, has been made even more danceable than the original version. Stirred up by the horny groans of this mildly self-inflictor, the entire room was immediately in motion. But then suddenly silence fell, the spotlights went out and Fad Gadget disappeared from the stage like a thief in the night. We were momentarily torn from our dream, but it goes without saying that those present had no intention of returning home without any bis songs. 'We want more!!!' it sounds in English, something we had almost forgotten after hearing 'Zugabe' shouted unsolicited into my ears hundreds of thousands of times while attending concerts and festivals in Germany. And of course, after a few moments they stepped back onto the stage. Apparently, a real victory 'hug' had taken place behind the scenes, because now all the other group members showed traces of shaving foam and blood on their bodies. Then Fad Gadget asked which song we would like to hear, a persistent fan from the front row immediately got it his way with “Insecticide”. Frank wanted to try it but asked us not to be too critical, as they had not really rehearsed this song. As if we would ever dare to criticize the great Fad Gadget, especially after being so spoiled for the past hour. Even more, the version they performed of “Insecticide” sounded so great everybody was dancing again. I saw several people jumping around with bloody red faces and foam on the lips, I started to wonder if maybe it had something to do with the then prevailing foot and mouth disease epidemic in Great Britain. Ultimately, Fad Gadget commanded us to live a little closer to nature again and reminded us once again where we, homo-sapiens, are coming from, by climbing like a chimpanzee into the PA speakers to the right of the stage and dangling several meters above our heads, only to make some more of his craziest faces. Unfortunately, “Back to Nature” seemed to be the last song on their set list that evening, but most of us were so satisfied that we gave the man a well-deserved rest and decided to return to our hotel, tired but oh so satisfied. As we were leaving the venue we noticed some familiar faces, including Mute Records label boss Danïel Miller (who, by the way, was co-musician/composer of the early Fad Gadget singles) and Depeche Mode synth freak Andy Fletcher, which indicated this reunion not only made our hearts beat faster, but also the hearts of professional musicians and heroes. Later on, in the London tube (metro) to our hotel, we met some fellow countrymen who were also covered in shaving foam and fake blood, which provoked some strange looks from fellow passengers. But it didn't bother us at all, because we had a broad grin on our faces as our brains were still filled with adrenaline and endorphins from this great night.

Peter Mastbooms
>>>Photo Report<<<
All Photos © Peter Mastbooms



This review was originally published in
Dark Entries Magazine #34, June 2001.

Peter MASTBOOMS
15/04/2024


NL

Fad Gadget - Eerste comeback optreden since 1988! >>>Foto Reportage<<<

(Electrofest 2001, Mean Fiddler, Londen)

Bij het horen van de eerste geruchten over een mogelijke comeback van deze pionier van de in begin jaren tachtig weelderig florerende new wave in zijn zuiverste vorm, fronste ik toch wel even de wenkbrauwen. Het was hetzelfde ongeloof dat mij een goed j aar geleden ook al eens overviel, toen er druk over een heuse Skinny Puppy-reünie werd gespeculeerd. Al moet ik zeggen dat het ongeloof meteen plaats maakte voor een gevoel van euforie. Hoeveel malen hadden we reeds aan één of andere toog gezeikt over de ideale comeback uit het hele wavegebeuren van de afgelopen twintig jaren? Telkens kwam Frank Tovey's alter ego Fad Gadget als meest gewilde comebacker uit de bus. Hoe ging dat spreekwoord ook weer; een dronken mond spreekt de waarheid? Wisten wij veel! Dus, niet getwijfeld en ons meteen een ticket besteld via de informatiesnelweg. Het concert werd aangekondigd als een comeback- optreden van deze artiest, wiens naam bovenaan een voor de rest toch wel alledaags lijstje prijkte. Een affiche waar ik niet verder over ga uitweiden wegens 'ook te zien op de plaatselijke pensenkermis', behalve dan misschien een eervolle vermelding voor de industrial/techno-terroristen van Greenhaus die met hun Undenvorldish geluid zowaar “Transmission” (Joy Division) wisten te verkrachten, zonder het evenwel al te veel pijn te doen (integendeel: genot alom). Maar nu over naar wat hét evenement had moeten worden van 2001, althans voor de wavers van de eerste generatie. Bij een eerste blik op het podium was al duidelijk dat bezieler Frank Tovey niet alleen gekomen was. Centraal stond namelijk een elektronische drumkit opgesteld, geflankeerd door een toch minimale keyboard-installatie, terwijl respectievelijk links en rechts van het podium een gitaar en basgitaar (misschien even verduidelijken voor de electroheads: het ziet er uit als zo'n fallussymbool met een paar snaren erover gespannen) stonden te wachten op hun manipulators. Fad Gadget als heuse groep? Iets wat zowel goed als slecht zou kunnen uitdraaien, dacht ik. Een dikke achttien jaar geleden - nog lang voor de tijd van minidisks en DAT-spelers - stond deze man meestal alleen op het podium, enkel en alleen

geflankeerd door een cassetterecorder (weet u nog?). In hoeverre zouden deze muzikanten in staat zijn de klassiekers van dit heerschap tot uiting te brengen? Of gingen ze voornamelijk nieuw materiaal spelen? Zou de man een oude kale zak geworden zijn en geen haartje van zijn hoofd, laat staan zijn scrotum, meer kunnen trekken? We zouden het snel te weten komen... De lichten doofden, het podium werd vol rook geblazen en de spanning steeg ten top. De zaal was goed gevuld, al had ik het me toch wat drukker voorgesteld. Vele snoths voelden blijkbaar niet de behoefte om het gat in hun cultuur te vullen en hadden de zaal reeds vroegtijdig verlaten, wat natuurlijk resulteerde in meer lebensraum en de tweede rij voor de oudere zwartzakken onder ons. Terwijl de muzikanten hun posities innamen, staarden wij naar de microfoonstandaard alsof er elk moment een soort engel neer ging dalen.

Versterkers en synthesizer-gebrom zwollen aan, de drummer viel in... Meteen wisten we dat het goed zat: “State of the nation” als openingsnummer; een goede voorbode, mijn gedacht. Netjes getimed stapte Frank Tovey uit de coulissen naar zijn microfoon en liet zijn toch wel magische stemgeluid door de zaal galmen. Frank's verschijning en stem hadden, zo leek het wel, al die jaren op sterk water gestaan en de tand des tijds formidabel doorstaan. Gekleed in een witte doktersjas en dito latex handschoenen kronkelde hij eerst nog wat onwennig rond zijn microfoonstandaard, maar dat zou maar even duren. Ook had hij de moeite genomen om zijn haarsnit aan de gelegenheid aan te passen: kortgeschoren en met een randje rond zijn schedelpan, leek het net of hij een hersenoperatie had ondergaan. Het warm onthaal en het luide applaus dat na hun eerste nummer uit de zaal opsteeg, gaf Mr. Fad Gadget waarschijnlijk meteen dat tikkeltje zelfvertrouwen dat hem ontbrak. Wij waren echter nog niet bekomen van het geweldige gevoel van euforie, toen we de eerste tonen van “Ricky's hand” meenden te herkennen! Dit ging een regelrecht best ^/-optreden worden, zoveel was duidelijk.

Fad Gadget wist precies waarvoor wij gekomen waren... AMBIANCE!!! In een ver verleden was dit het moment geweest om valse tanden, brillen en andere orthopedische hulpstukken bij de vestiaire af te geven, om na het concert niet tevergeefs de vloer te moeten inspecteren. Vannacht was iedereen echter te gefascineerd naar deze door allen dood

geachte artiest aan het staren, en bleef de fysieke inspanning bij de meesten onder ons beperkt tot de typische Mr. Oiso's Flat Eric (u zeker bekend van “Flat beat”)-ritmisch met het hoofd op en neer schuddende beweging.

Fad Gadget zelf daarentegen had intussen de teletijdmachine van professor Barabas genomen en zichzelf bijna twee decennia teruggeflitst.

Gewapend met een accuboormachine trad hij naar voren en boorde hij door zijn linkerhand(schoen), waardoor het 'bloed' rijkelijk over zijn witte doktersjas gutste. Laconiek deelde hij voor de goedgelovigen onder ons mee: ' Sorry folks, tonight you’re getting the fake shit 'cause I spilled enough real blood in the past for you motherfuckers!'. En daar konden wij gerust mee leven, net zoals met het feit dat 'the fake shit’ ons op de eerste rijen besmeurde terwijl hij de met rode smurrie gevulde handschoen boven onze hoofden aan het boormachientje leeg liet zwieren. Het kon nu echt niet meer stuk. Zeker niet wanneer nummers zoals “Collapsing new people” en “Luxury” (dit was trouwens het enige post-gadget werkstukje) uit de luidsprekers knalden.

Nummers waar respectievelijk Fad Gadget en later Frank Tovey hoge toppen mee scheerden in binnen- en buitenlandse hitlijsten. Ook enige ironie is de man niet vreemd, zo bleek bij het inzetten van “Fireside favourites” toen hij zei: 7 know thatyou goths are not into this stuff but Fm gonna play it anyway !'. Wij konden daar eens hartelijk om lachen natuurlijk, anderen die zich meer aangesproken voelden vergaven Frank meteen toen zijn groep meteen na dat toch wel swingende nummer de zaal platspeelde met de dansvloerkraker “Love parasite” (overigens het enige nummer uit het album “Under the flag” dat zij vanavond zouden brengen). Ondertussen had Frank Tovey het ook al redelijk warm gekregen, en zodoende stond hij mooi getimed voor de volgende klassieker klaar met ontbloot bovenlijf. Geen boormachine in de hand nu, maar wel een spuitbus scheerschuim... Inderdaad, “Lady shave” zat er aan te komen! Terwijl hij, tussen de vocale stukken door, rustig zijn volledige bovenlichaam en aangezicht met dit witte plakkerige goedje bedekte, deelden de eerste rijen weer lekker mee in het Fad Gadget fest. Komt ervan als je per se vooraan wil staan hé. Het werd ook bij dit nummer duidelijk dat Frank meer en meer herviel in zijn aloude Fad Gadgetimago en -gewoontes: plukken oksel- en schaamhaar, van zichzelf welteverstaan, werden uitgerukt en verorberd. Fad Gadget is back !! Toen was het de beurt aan een nummer dat zwaar onder handen bleek genomen te zijn door de groep: culthit “Coïtus interruptus”, dat indien mogelijk nog meer dansbaar was gemaakt dan het origineel. Opgezweept door de oergeile kreten van deze toch lichtelijke self-inflictor stond de hele zaal meteen in beweging. Maar toen viel plots de stilte, doofden de spots en verdween Fad Gadget als een dief in de nacht van het podium. Even werden we uit onze droom gerukt, maar dat de aanwezigen niet van plan waren huiswaarts te keren zonder bis spreekt voor zich. 'We want more!!!' klinkt dat in het Engels, iets wat ik bijna vergeten was na honderdduizenden malen ongevraagd 'Zugabe' in mijn oren geschreeuwd te hebben gekregen bij het bijwonen van een of ander kraut-electro optreden. En natuurlijk stapten ze na enkele ogenblikken terug het podium op. Blijkbaar had er ondertussen achter de schermen een heuse overwinnings'hug' plaatsgevonden, want nu vertoonden ook de andere groepsleden sporen van scheerschuim. Toen Fad Gadget

vroeg welk nummer we dan nog wel graag wilden horen, kreeg een hardnekkige fan uit de eerste rij meteen zijn zin met “Insecticide”. Frank wilde het wel proberen maar vroeg ons niet al te kritisch te zijn, aangezien ze dit nummer niet echt gerepeteerd hadden. Alsof wij Fad Gadget ooit nog zouden durven bekritiseren, na het afgelopen uur zo verwend te zijn. Meer nog; het werd een beestige versie van het nummer en als ik me niet vergis zag ik verscheidene mensen met rood aangelopen hoofd en schuim op de lippen rondspringen, al kon dat ook te maken hebben met de toen heersende mond- en klauwzeerepidemie in Groot-Brittannië. Soit! Uiteindelijk gebood Fad Gadget ons om terug wat dichter bij de natuur te gaan leven en herinnerde hij er ons nog maar eens aan waar wij homo-sapiensen van afstammen, door als een chimpansee de geluidstoren rechts van het podium in te klimmen en zodoende ettelijke meters boven onze hoofden nog een paar van zijn gekste bekken te trekken. “Back to nature” was spijtig genoeg het laatste nummer van hun setlist die avond, maar de meesten onder ons waren zo bevredigd dat wij de man zijn welverdiende rust gunden en besloten moe maar voldaan naar ons hotelletje terug te keren. Bij het verlaten van de zaal bemerkten we enkele bekende gezichten, onder andere Mute Records- labelbaas Danïel Miller (die trouwens medemuzikant/componist van de prille Fad Gadget is geweest) en Depeche Mode-synthfreak Andy Fletcher, wat er op wees dat deze reünie niet alleen ons hartje sneller liet slaan maar ook dat van de echte professionals. Even later in de London tubes (metro) kwamen we nog enkele landgenoten tegen die eveneens onder het scheerschuim en fake bloed zaten, hetgeen toch wel enkele rare blikken uitlokte bij de medereizigers. Het deed ons niets, wij zaten immers met een brede grijns op het gezicht nog na te genieten - en na te zingen - van deze geweldige avond.


Peter Mastbooms

>>>Photo Report<<<
All Photos © Peter Mastbooms

Deze concert review werd origineel gepibliceerd in
Dark Entries Magazine #34, juni 2001.

Peter MASTBOOMS
15/04/2024


Music reviews

10
05
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Fear And Cufre
09
05
NEL & JP
Desinterersse
07
05
DARKEST NIGHT 2024
30
04
ATTRITION
The Black Maria
26
04
HYBRYDS
Mythopia, the sequel
25
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Elysium

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
50 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
38 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
43 years Spellbound!
19
05
46 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 34 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
05
AUSGANG
“This crushing, slamming, heavy strife …” It is 1982. In and around Birmingham a band arises from the ashes of various Post-Punk acts.
11
05
XTR HUMAN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist, XTR Human
09
05
THE RED MOON MACABRE
Resurrected after 32 years in 2021, now very active again. Interview with Renzo Tellez, founder of the classic Goth Rock band ‘The Red Moon Macabre’.
06
05
NOW AFTER NOTHING
An Interview With Darkwave Band, NOW AFTER NOTHING
10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION

PHOTOS

26
05
DER W STEFAN WEIDNER
Christuskirche Bochum
20
05
MONO INC
Christuskirche Bochum
14
05
CHRISTIAN DEATH
Rockpalast Bochum Matrix
16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
05
MIDAS FALL
Glue
26
05
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
25
05
ANIMAUX ANIME
Power
24
05
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth
23
05
SRSQ
Permission
22
05
SKEPTICAL MINDS
Emptiness
21
05
COLD CAVE
People Are Poison