tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / digital review

22/02/2024 : YOUR ENEMY - Broken Toys

YOUR ENEMY

Broken Toys

MusicCD / Digital
Dark ElectroEBMElectro

[86/100]   

Progress Productions
22/02/2024, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Did anyone say dark EBM/Industrial can't be sexy and fierce!?

Well, Your Enemy is living proof that the combination works. They are a Swedish duo founded by Carl and Viva, who wanted to combine their creative ideas. They write their music without any compromise. Their debut single 'Broken Toys' was well-received, and their follow-up 'I Am the Surprise' was also praised by their fans. Your Enemy brings a mix of dark wave, EBM and industrial. Broken Toys is their debut album.

From the very first notes, it is undeniably clear: this duo was born for the genre. EBM all the way in opener Breathe. Aggressively stomping beats, an endlessly repeating bassline and Viva's sexy vocals. Not oldschool per se, but haunting, solid, challenging, sharp, and dark beats that any self-respecting EBM fan will get off on.

Your Enemy doesn't stay on the straight and narrow path of EBM. In 'I Am The Surprise', there is a layer of techno and uptempo beats over the EBM framework that sounds more dance-like. An undercurrent of dance sounds, and yet. It reminds me of what Stoppenberg does, but with vocals.

What other gems does this Broken Toys contain? Well, several... 'It's Gone' is an EBM track dressed in a sexy negligee. Here too, a solid EBM sound with a touch of sexyness.

Bad Things smells more like dark electro, very danceable and enjoyable on all levels. The songs are also of a very high level in terms of structure. Melodies, rhythms, the female vocals, Carl's distorted vocals that sound classic like many in the genre (think Hocico). Also a lot of variation in this Bad Things: dark electro, a pinch of industrial, a touch of EBM and if you listen carefully even some future pop.

The title track Broken Toys is one to frame, without a doubt. EBM with a blissful, all-destroying bassline. And here again, the anthem transforms towards the end into something more dark electro. Great build-up again.

A slightly more subdued song is My Passion, which fits in the same vein, but sounds a bit easier and more poppy. Nothing against that, mind you, but it's less catchy. Deep Fear is also difficult to capture in terms of vibe. It has something of 'everything' again without blowing you away; But hey, the bow can't always be kept at the same tension. 'Ohm' is also in a more dance/techno corner, despite a very uptempo bassline that makes you dizzy. So far: mission accomplished...

And then the killer track of this album for a lover of the genre like me (and hopefully many with me, because this band deserves it!): Taming The Tigress. I don't think there's much success in taming this tigress. Because you will definitely be stomping your feet to this robust, almost old-school EBM track. Closing track Dead Dolls. That's what the song sounds like: dark electro with a very mysterious and mystical aura.

Conclusion: a strong, entertaining, enjoyable and especially varied album from a band that I feel will make a big splash in the electro/EBM circuit. They have my blessing. Amen.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
22/02/2024


NL

Zei iemand dat donkere EBM/Industrial niet sexy en fel kon zijn!?
Wel, Your Enemy is het levende bewijs dat de combinatie wérkt. Het is een Zweeds duo dat is opgericht door Carl en Viva, die de wens hadden om hun beider creatieve ideeën te combineren. Ze schrijven hun muziek zonder enig compromis. Hun debuutsingle 'Broken Toys' gooide hoge ogen, hun opvolger 'I Am the Surprise' werd zeer goed ontvangen door hun fans. Your Enemy brengt een mix van dark wave, EBM en industrial. Broken Toys is hun debuut.


Al van bij de eerste noten is het onweerlegbaar duidelijk: dit duo is geboren voor het genre. EBM all the way in opener Breathe. Agressief stampende beats, een zich eindeloos herhalende baslijn en de sexy vocalen van Viva. Geen oldschool an sich, maar wel indringend, stevig, uitdagend, scherp, en darkbeats waar elke rechtgeaarde EBM-er van klaarkomt.


Your Enemy blijft niet op de strakke paden der EBM. In ‘I Am The Surprise’ zit er over het karkas van EBM een laagje techno en uptempo beats die eerder dance-achtig aandoen. Een onderhuid van dance-sounds, en toch. Mij doet het denken aan wat Stoppenberg doet, maar dan mét vocalen.
Welke pareltjes herbergt deze Broken Toys nog? Wel, verschillende… ‘It’s Gone’ is een EBM-er in sexy négligé gehuld. Ook hier een stevige EBM- sound met een zalfje van sexyness.


Bad Things ruikt iets meer naar dark electro, heel erg dans- én genietbaar op alle vlak. De songs zijn ook qua opbouw echt van heel hoog niveau. Melodieën, ritmes, de vrouwelijke vocalen, de overstuurde stem van Carl die klassiek klinkt zoals velen in het genre (denk Hocico). Ook heel veel afwisseling in deze Bad Things: zowel dark electro, een snuif industrial, een toets van EBM en als je goed luistert zelfs wat future pop.
Titelsong Broken Toys is er ééntje om in te kaderen, zonder meer. EBM met een zalige, alles verwoestende baslijn. En ook hier weer transformeert de hymne naar het einde naar iets meer dark electro. Zalige opbouw ook alweer.


Een iets ingetogenere song is My Passion, dat wel in het rijtje past, maar iets makker en meer poppy klinkt. Niéts op tegen voor alle duidelijkheid, maar toch minder pakkend. Ook Deep Fear is moeilijk te vatten qua vibe. Het heeft ook weer iéts van ‘alles’ zonder je omver te blazen; Maar ja, de boog kan niet steeds even gespannen staan én blijven. ‘Ohm’ zit ook weer zo in een hoek van meer dance/techno, ondanks een heel uptempo baslijn waar je duizelingen van krijgt. Tot zover: mission accomplished …

En dan dé kraker van dit album voor een liefhebber van het genre als ik (en hopelijk velen met mij, want deze band verdient het!): Taming The Tigress. Naar mijn gevoel is er weinig succes bij het temmen van deze tigress. Want stampvoeten zal je zeker bij deze robuuste bijna-oldschool-EBM-er. Uitgeleide Dead Dolls. Zo klinkt de song ook: dark electro met een heel erg mysterieus en mystiek aura.

Conclusie: een sterk, amusant, genietbaar en vooral gevarieerd album van een band die naar mijn gevoel hoge ogen zal gooien in het electro/EBM-circuit. Mijn zegen hebben ze. Amen.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
22/02/2024


22/02/2024 : YOUR ENEMY - Broken Toys 22/02/2024 : YOUR ENEMY - Broken Toys

 

Next reviews
XTORT • Zwart
MERCIFUL NUNS • Oneironauts
ANTLER RECORDS • Early Years Vol 1
YELWORC • The Ghosts I Called
KRAMM • Die Schöpfung und andere Kurzgeschichten
DARKVOLT • Electric Angel
LUCIFER'S AID • Destruction
CELLDOD • Pandoras Ask
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • BDSM for Satisfaction
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Radio Signals For The Dying

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + EBM + ELECTRO
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MILDREDA • I was never really there
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DECODED FEEDBACK • Dark Passenger
HEIMATAERDE • Hick Hack Hackebeil

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
YELWORC • The Ghosts I Called
DARKVOLT • Electric Angel
MATT HART • Infinite Horizon Requiem
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7 • EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
MISERIA ULTIMA • Witch Heart Apparition
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3

 

Same genre: EBM
CELLDOD • Pandoras Ask
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI • ELECTRO au BNR
THE WEATHERMEN • PIAS 40
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX • PIAS40
SKINNY PUPPY • PIAS 40
BHPL • II
PLASTIKSTROM • Eskalation
ULTRA SUNN • Kill Your Idols
ABSTRACKT BLACK • Unheimlich
THE JUGGERNAUTS • Fear

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
XTORT • Zwart
STAATSEINDE • De Nieuwe Golf
ENZO KREFT • Shelter
MOTOR!K • 4
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart

Music reviews

05
04
KALTE NACHT
The Last Breath
02
04
LOVATARAXX
Tilda Vaast
14
03
THEN COMES SILENCE
Trickery
13
03
DARK MINIMAL PROJECT
Remixes
27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 38 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
39 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
15
04
On this day, 23 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
37 years ago MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
11
04
LIVERNOIS Addresses The Human Reaction To Trauma With ':ablation:'

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION
09
04
DE DELVERS
With the lyrics, I try to name things that I see happening around me and to pay attention to what we sometimes prefer to turn our heads away from.
03
04
FRONTAL BOUNDARY
An Interview With Harsh Electro Band, Frontal Boundary
20
03
BESTIAL MOUTHS
An Interview With Bestial Mouths
19
03
TVASHTAR
We never insisted on being an all-female band.

PHOTOS

16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
FRACTIONAL
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
O VEUX
Wasted Night #5 Borgloon

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
04
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
22
04
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Siouxsie And The Banshees - Candyman (Official Music Video)
21
04
ANIMACHINES
Pandemia
20
04
CHAOS RESEARCH
In Power we entrust the Love advocated
19
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
18
04
COCAINE PISS
The Dancer
17
04
CHMCL STR8JCKT
Dressed to Kill