tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : HEDERA HELIX - Pastiche

HEDERA HELIX

Pastiche

MusicCD
Avant-gardeDark ElectroEBMElectro

[94/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

There is one band in the Belgian music scene you can’t put in any category, and that is Hedera Helix. Is it a music project? Is it a theater project or just a spectacle? Electro-cabaret? YES! It's theater, often with surprising visual scenes and a lyrical play that is often hard to understand. Sometimes you hear Dutch and other languages, and a mixture of electro, syntpop, industrial pop and dark wave. Hedera Helix calls it intellectro.

After 13 years there finally is a new album. They prefer quality over quantity, this is not just a good or fine CD, it is a magnum opus.

Abstract is a quiet opener with spherical and intoxicating sounds. Electroshock is genius dark wave with subtle guitars. The titillation of the process,described in the track, is almost palpable: the cracking of pads, the bleeps of the measurements. It's all there.

Folky female vocals open Col Cassé, followed by an eighties synth-like sound with a very rude and abrupt guitar after a few seconds. The track is about a writer's block and the spirit that no longer finds the words: drink extinguishes the brain... like a burning lump... typed or concealed... discard what does not work...

The album excels in terms of diversity and each track is a mix of styles. Comorbitumen has influences of minimal synth wave, post-punk, industrial and distortion. Beats find their way through the EBM track Hypnochonder, and we hear a mirage of oriental sounds. So far we heard no real dancefloor killer, but that’s fixed now!

A melancholic sounding piano introduces the dark wave track Nano Cortex. O.V. Kandinsky sounds dark and menacing. The guitars are used as a sledgehammer, but then the piano rreturns in the final.

Dolmen has noise, psychedelic guitars and a flood of verses (in stereo, left and right): sublime if you ask me.

Electronics are overshadowed by imminent and vibrant guitar growls in Colhozeh. The lyrics are mysterious and disarming. Again several styles, blended seamlessly. In the end, you find yourself in an underground afterparty club. Reflexum has influences of new beat with dark vocals.

Noise, crackling distortion, drones, classic synths, drum machines, these are the ingredients of Electrical Mantra. Popular is minimal wave/synth pop.

Torment sounds as painful as the title suggests. Mollusque closes the album: minimal synth wave with Kandinsky in French: and God created woman, mais aussi le ver de terre. C'est ainsi que je déclâme: c'est la femme que je préferre...

13 years is the time it took to make this album. Just like a spirituous liquor, you need maturation and fermentation to taste it. It's like tasing wine: you spit out the first sip. Afterwards, you can enjoy it as a flawless and perfect product. This album is just like that.

Pastiche is a large and diversified album. Lyrically it's a discovery. This album belongs in anyone’s collection.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


NL

Als er in het Belgische muzieklandschap één band is die je onmogelijk in een vakje kan plaatsen, dan is het wel het bonte muzikale gezelschap Hedera Helix. Is het een muziekproject? Is het bewegingstheater? Een totaalspektakel? Electro-cabaret? JA! Het is theater, met vaak bevreemdende visuele taferelen en lyrische uithalen waarbij een lichte dronkenschap nauwelijks klaarheid biedt en het onmogelijk lijkt om enige lijn te krijgen in de tekstuele frivoliteiten. Soms hoor je naast Nederlands nog andere talen.Voor de rest: een cocktail van electro, syntpop, industrial pop en darkwave. Hedera Helix noemt het intellectro.

Het was geen gemakkelijke bevalling. Of misschien beter: de bevalling ging goed, de draagtijd was oneindig lang: 13 jaar na de voorganger Dolce, schenkt Hedera Helix ons Pastiche. De voorlopige winnaar, de haai, met een draagtijd van drieënhalf jaar, verbleekt erbij. Kwaliteit boven kwantiteit is wellicht de leidraad en dat is ook duidelijk. Dit is geen gewoon goede of fijne CD, het is een Magnum Opus.

Abstract is een rustige opener. Sferische bedwelmende klanken doorspekt met een al even rustige beat die als een nevel over het nummer sluimert. Elektroshock is zalige darkwave met subtiel gitaarwerk. De prikkeling van het in de track beschreven procedé is bijna voelbaar: het gekraak van elektroden, het gebliep van de metingen. Het zit er allemaal in.

Met folkachtige vrouwelijke vocalen opent Col Cassé, om na luttele seconden een eighties aandoende synthklank te ontvouwen waarop een gitaar heel ruw en kortaf klinkend inbeukt. De track vertelt over een writer's block en de geest die de woorden niet meer vindt: drank blust het brein... als een brandend gezwel... getypt of verzwegen... verwerp wat niet werkt …

Het album blinkt uit qua diversiteit en elke track is een mix van stijlen. Comorbitumen heeft zowel invloeden van minimale synthwave als van postpunk, industrial en distortie. Naadloos banen beats zich een weg doorheen de EBM-track Hypnochonder. Het venijn zit in de staart, zegt de volkswijsheid. Evenzo hier: we worden meegenomen in een fata morgana van oosterse klanken. Hoorden we tot nog toe geen echte dancefloorkiller, dan is daar nu een mouw aan gepast.

Een uiterst weemoedig klinkende piano horen we in Nanocortex: een darkwavetrack pur sang. Donker dreigend declameert O.V. Kandinsky zijn geweldige verzen. Halfweg krijgen de gitaren een flinke mokerslag, maar de ingetoomde melodie keert terug en de piano neemt de finale voor z'n rekening.

Dolmen heeft noise, psychedelische gitaren en een vloed aan verzen (afwisselend links en rechts in de speakers): Stenen gewrocht, gebarsten, van binnen uit, verloren relaas, een dwaling die nu dient geruimd, dient verwijderd
Megaliet met een einde
. Subliem als u het mij vraagt.

Electronica onder dreigend en trillend gitaargegrom in Kolchoze. De lyrics klinken mysterieus en toch ontwapenend. En ook hier diverse stijlen die naadloos worden vermengd. Op het einde waan je je in een undergroundafterpartyclub. Reflexum heeft invloeden van new beat en krijgt donkere vocalen: een indringende beat, een kadansachtige drumpartij, gitaren die huilen. Qua literaire vrijheid tast Kandinsky de grenzen af. Citeren doe ik niet meer, check de website....

Noise, krakende distortie, flarden drones, klassieke synths, drumcomputers, het zijn de ingrediënten van Elektromantra. Popular is minimal wave/synthpop. De Spaanse bijles is gratis.

Torment klinkt net zo pijnlijk als de titel, en nog: er wordt geen pleister aangereikt, geen doek voor 't bloeden of de pijn… Mollusque sluit het album af: minimale synthwave met een zuinig gitaartje en een in het Frans gedeeld geheim van Kandinsky: et Dieu creâ la femme, mais aussi le ver de terre. C'est ainsi que je déclâme: c'est la femme que je préferre…

13 jaar hebben de geesten van Hedera Helix moeten rijpen. Maar een goede rijping en gisting zorgen voor een geweldig smaakervaring als het geestrijke drank betreft. Bij het proeven van wijn wordt de eerste slok uitgespuwd. Daarna is het genieten én doordrinken van het loepzuivere en perfecte product. Dit album is net zo. De rijping is perfect, een nobel en fijn product is het resultaat. Muzikaal toegankelijk en heel rijk, qua teksten is meermaals proeven wellicht nodig. Maar het is élke seconde genieten.

Pastiche is een geweldige plaat, één en al diversiteit, muzikaal en tekstueel een ontdekking. Dit album behoort in ieders kast te staan. En ik? Ik geniet en ik wend me tot alle (af)goden die ik ken opdat het volgende album géén 13 jaar op zich laat wachten.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : HEDERA HELIX - Pastiche 10/12/2016 : HEDERA HELIX - Pastiche 10/12/2016 : HEDERA HELIX - Pastiche

 

Next reviews
SCATTER FACTORY • Scatter Factory
JOHN FOXX • 21st Century, A Man, A Woman and a City
GUNG HO • Out of The West
X-QUADRAT • X-Quadrat
THE ASSOCIATES • Sulk
TOMAS PETTERSSON (ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BRUTA NON CALCULANT • Instinct
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
VUKOVAR • Emperor
THE ASSOCIATES • Fourth Drawer Down.

 

Other reviews from HEDERA HELIX
HEDERA HELIX • Coalescaremonium 2016

 

Same genre: AVANT-GARDE
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY • On Common Ground
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
MCHNRY • The Shape
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Heartless

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
SAMHAIN • Experiment
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate

 

Same genre: EBM
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
JIHAD • Retrospekt
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists
29
06
Dark Pop Artist Lia Hide Addresses Emotional Struggle With Plato-Inspired LP
28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

29
06
VNV NATION
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
PUBLI IMAGE LIMITED
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
NITZER EBB
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
TALK TO HER
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DIARY OF DREAMS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DISORIENTATIONS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
IST IST
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS