tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

10/12/2016 : HEDERA HELIX - Pastiche

HEDERA HELIX

Pastiche

MusicCD
Avant-gardeDark ElectroEBMElectro

[94/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

There is one band in the Belgian music scene you can’t put in any category, and that is Hedera Helix. Is it a music project? Is it a theater project or just a spectacle? Electro-cabaret? YES! It's theater, often with surprising visual scenes and a lyrical play that is often hard to understand. Sometimes you hear Dutch and other languages, and a mixture of electro, syntpop, industrial pop and dark wave. Hedera Helix calls it intellectro.

After 13 years there finally is a new album. They prefer quality over quantity, this is not just a good or fine CD, it is a magnum opus.

Abstract is a quiet opener with spherical and intoxicating sounds. Electroshock is genius dark wave with subtle guitars. The titillation of the process,described in the track, is almost palpable: the cracking of pads, the bleeps of the measurements. It's all there.

Folky female vocals open Col Cassé, followed by an eighties synth-like sound with a very rude and abrupt guitar after a few seconds. The track is about a writer's block and the spirit that no longer finds the words: drink extinguishes the brain... like a burning lump... typed or concealed... discard what does not work...

The album excels in terms of diversity and each track is a mix of styles. Comorbitumen has influences of minimal synth wave, post-punk, industrial and distortion. Beats find their way through the EBM track Hypnochonder, and we hear a mirage of oriental sounds. So far we heard no real dancefloor killer, but that’s fixed now!

A melancholic sounding piano introduces the dark wave track Nano Cortex. O.V. Kandinsky sounds dark and menacing. The guitars are used as a sledgehammer, but then the piano rreturns in the final.

Dolmen has noise, psychedelic guitars and a flood of verses (in stereo, left and right): sublime if you ask me.

Electronics are overshadowed by imminent and vibrant guitar growls in Colhozeh. The lyrics are mysterious and disarming. Again several styles, blended seamlessly. In the end, you find yourself in an underground afterparty club. Reflexum has influences of new beat with dark vocals.

Noise, crackling distortion, drones, classic synths, drum machines, these are the ingredients of Electrical Mantra. Popular is minimal wave/synth pop.

Torment sounds as painful as the title suggests. Mollusque closes the album: minimal synth wave with Kandinsky in French: and God created woman, mais aussi le ver de terre. C'est ainsi que je déclâme: c'est la femme que je préferre...

13 years is the time it took to make this album. Just like a spirituous liquor, you need maturation and fermentation to taste it. It's like tasing wine: you spit out the first sip. Afterwards, you can enjoy it as a flawless and perfect product. This album is just like that.

Pastiche is a large and diversified album. Lyrically it's a discovery. This album belongs in anyone’s collection.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


NL

Als er in het Belgische muzieklandschap één band is die je onmogelijk in een vakje kan plaatsen, dan is het wel het bonte muzikale gezelschap Hedera Helix. Is het een muziekproject? Is het bewegingstheater? Een totaalspektakel? Electro-cabaret? JA! Het is theater, met vaak bevreemdende visuele taferelen en lyrische uithalen waarbij een lichte dronkenschap nauwelijks klaarheid biedt en het onmogelijk lijkt om enige lijn te krijgen in de tekstuele frivoliteiten. Soms hoor je naast Nederlands nog andere talen.Voor de rest: een cocktail van electro, syntpop, industrial pop en darkwave. Hedera Helix noemt het intellectro.

Het was geen gemakkelijke bevalling. Of misschien beter: de bevalling ging goed, de draagtijd was oneindig lang: 13 jaar na de voorganger Dolce, schenkt Hedera Helix ons Pastiche. De voorlopige winnaar, de haai, met een draagtijd van drieënhalf jaar, verbleekt erbij. Kwaliteit boven kwantiteit is wellicht de leidraad en dat is ook duidelijk. Dit is geen gewoon goede of fijne CD, het is een Magnum Opus.

Abstract is een rustige opener. Sferische bedwelmende klanken doorspekt met een al even rustige beat die als een nevel over het nummer sluimert. Elektroshock is zalige darkwave met subtiel gitaarwerk. De prikkeling van het in de track beschreven procedé is bijna voelbaar: het gekraak van elektroden, het gebliep van de metingen. Het zit er allemaal in.

Met folkachtige vrouwelijke vocalen opent Col Cassé, om na luttele seconden een eighties aandoende synthklank te ontvouwen waarop een gitaar heel ruw en kortaf klinkend inbeukt. De track vertelt over een writer's block en de geest die de woorden niet meer vindt: drank blust het brein... als een brandend gezwel... getypt of verzwegen... verwerp wat niet werkt …

Het album blinkt uit qua diversiteit en elke track is een mix van stijlen. Comorbitumen heeft zowel invloeden van minimale synthwave als van postpunk, industrial en distortie. Naadloos banen beats zich een weg doorheen de EBM-track Hypnochonder. Het venijn zit in de staart, zegt de volkswijsheid. Evenzo hier: we worden meegenomen in een fata morgana van oosterse klanken. Hoorden we tot nog toe geen echte dancefloorkiller, dan is daar nu een mouw aan gepast.

Een uiterst weemoedig klinkende piano horen we in Nanocortex: een darkwavetrack pur sang. Donker dreigend declameert O.V. Kandinsky zijn geweldige verzen. Halfweg krijgen de gitaren een flinke mokerslag, maar de ingetoomde melodie keert terug en de piano neemt de finale voor z'n rekening.

Dolmen heeft noise, psychedelische gitaren en een vloed aan verzen (afwisselend links en rechts in de speakers): Stenen gewrocht, gebarsten, van binnen uit, verloren relaas, een dwaling die nu dient geruimd, dient verwijderd
Megaliet met een einde
. Subliem als u het mij vraagt.

Electronica onder dreigend en trillend gitaargegrom in Kolchoze. De lyrics klinken mysterieus en toch ontwapenend. En ook hier diverse stijlen die naadloos worden vermengd. Op het einde waan je je in een undergroundafterpartyclub. Reflexum heeft invloeden van new beat en krijgt donkere vocalen: een indringende beat, een kadansachtige drumpartij, gitaren die huilen. Qua literaire vrijheid tast Kandinsky de grenzen af. Citeren doe ik niet meer, check de website....

Noise, krakende distortie, flarden drones, klassieke synths, drumcomputers, het zijn de ingrediënten van Elektromantra. Popular is minimal wave/synthpop. De Spaanse bijles is gratis.

Torment klinkt net zo pijnlijk als de titel, en nog: er wordt geen pleister aangereikt, geen doek voor 't bloeden of de pijn… Mollusque sluit het album af: minimale synthwave met een zuinig gitaartje en een in het Frans gedeeld geheim van Kandinsky: et Dieu creâ la femme, mais aussi le ver de terre. C'est ainsi que je déclâme: c'est la femme que je préferre…

13 jaar hebben de geesten van Hedera Helix moeten rijpen. Maar een goede rijping en gisting zorgen voor een geweldig smaakervaring als het geestrijke drank betreft. Bij het proeven van wijn wordt de eerste slok uitgespuwd. Daarna is het genieten én doordrinken van het loepzuivere en perfecte product. Dit album is net zo. De rijping is perfect, een nobel en fijn product is het resultaat. Muzikaal toegankelijk en heel rijk, qua teksten is meermaals proeven wellicht nodig. Maar het is élke seconde genieten.

Pastiche is een geweldige plaat, één en al diversiteit, muzikaal en tekstueel een ontdekking. Dit album behoort in ieders kast te staan. En ik? Ik geniet en ik wend me tot alle (af)goden die ik ken opdat het volgende album géén 13 jaar op zich laat wachten.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : HEDERA HELIX - Pastiche 10/12/2016 : HEDERA HELIX - Pastiche

 

Next reviews
SCATTER FACTORY • Scatter Factory
JOHN FOXX • 21st Century, A Man, A Woman and a City
GUNG HO • Out of The West
X-QUADRAT • X-Quadrat
THE ASSOCIATES • Sulk
TOMAS PETTERSSON (ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BRUTA NON CALCULANT • Instinct
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
VUKOVAR • Emperor
THE ASSOCIATES • Fourth Drawer Down.

 

Other reviews from HEDERA HELIX
HEDERA HELIX • Coalescaremonium 2016

 

Same genre: AVANT-GARDE
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
MCHNRY • The Shape
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Heartless
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
HERMAN NITSCH • (Brussels, Begijnenkerk, 28/02/2016)
LAURIE ANDERSON • Strange Angels
STEVE REICH • Four Organs/Phase Patterns
SYL KOUGAÏ • IΧΘΥΣ Transmission

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
CEPHALGY • Gott Maschine Vaterland
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
CYGNOSIC • Siren
NEO SATAN • Black Mass Prophecy
DATACODE DIVISION • Dissections
FOR ALL THE EMPTINESS • MT
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
COVENANT • The Blinding Dark
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
DECODED FEEDBACK • Dark Passenger

 

Same genre: EBM
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
DIVE • Underneath
ABSURD MINDS • Tempus Fugit
ELM • Kampftrinker
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Machine Sex
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
CRISIS ACTOR • Superstar
LEAETHER STRIP • Reptile Man Drop: A Tribute To Simple Minds
PANTSERFABRIEK • Krachtpatser

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
FAREWELL • Sequoia
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
SANDIE TRASH • Tu Veux Monter Dans Le Wagon?
CHROM • Peak And Decay

Music reviews

20
10
THE BIPOLAR
Tomorrow everything will get better
19
10
STACIAN
Person L
18
10
TYCHO BRAHE
Triplex [Complete]
17
10
LA GRAZIA OBLIQUA
La Grazia Obliqua (EP)
16
10
AMORPHOUS
Shapeshifting
12
10
HELIOPHILE
Permeate

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
New single by Kirlian Camera featuring Covenant singer Eskil Simonsson!
20
10
This weekend! DAFT / MINIMAL MAXIMAL - FEST weekend in Antwerp!
10
10
Amnesty International Belgium invites hundreds of artists
10
10
New Simi-Nah video 'Chacun Pour Soi' on YouTube!
02
10
New Wave cult & club classic band Crash Course In Science is back with a new (bomb) album!
01
10
New IMPLANT EP / Video - The Phone Call - Out now!

Concert reviews

27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
10
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
'When you see that some chords that you have composed become a song, it's a very special feeling.'
15
10
BLANCMANGE
'We were making experimental music for a while, really just for ourselves, not thinking anyone would want to listen.'
13
10
KOL BELOV
I make strange animations, that look like music videos and strange music videos, that look like animation.
11
10
THE HORRORIST
'Sometimes I cringe when I hear some of my songs about sex or pain but at the same time it’s my diary.'
09
10
A SPLIT-SECOND
Marc Ickx talks about A Split-Second

PHOTOS

20
10
GARY NUMAN
Depot Leuven
20
10
JAYCE LEWIS
Depot Leuven
17
10
GARY NUMAN
Brighton Dome, Brighton, UK
14
10
ATTRITION
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
VUDUVOX
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
CURXES
229 The Venue, London, UK
08
10
BLANCMANGE
229 The Venue, London, UK

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

20
10
DEATH OF A CHEERLEADER
Tanna
19
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Inside My Asylum
19
10
TEARFUL MOON
Ecstasy in Black
17
10
AND ALSO THE TREES
Your Guess
16
10
!DISTAIN
Conversation Overkill
15
10
TEHI TEARDO & BLIXA BARGELD
The Beast
15
10
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)