tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : GUNG HO - Out of The West

GUNG HO

Out of The West

MusicCD (EP)
Surf

[78/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Gung Ho is a Belgian band, consisting of Wolf Vanwymeersch (The Van Jets) who sings and plays the bass, Bob Everaert (of The Sisters of Mercy tribute band Body Electric), Mario Govaert on drums (Elefant and Rye Jehu) and Karels Masureel on guitar. The quartet has released an album with three tracks and two covers.

Rise And Fall is pure surf music with a great guitar sound and clever drums and bass. Forty Thieves begins with a very subdued guitar riff and a bass with an oriental touch.

Pehechaan Jaan Ho is a cover of Mohammed Rafi. Wolf Vanwymeersch is a real master on bass. The vocals have a reggae sound. The reverberation on the microphone makes it a summery and catchy track.

Dance De Nadia (Elias Rahbani) again sounds very cheerful with effects on the guitars and much variety. Sturm und Drang is upbeat surf with uplifting banging drums.

This is the band’s first release and although you find rehearsals on this CD, you hear the craftsmanship. This is something I definitely want to see on stage!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016

https://www.facebook.com/Gung-Ho-914861948527256/videos

NL

Gung Ho is een kwartet bestaande uit Wolf Vanwymeersch (o.a. The Van Jets) die bass speelt en zingt, Bob Everaert (o.a The Sisters of Mercy tribute band Body Electric), Mario Govaert (o.a. Elefant en Rye Jehu) op drums en Karel Masureel op gitaar. Het viertal heeft een eerste schijfje uit opgenomen met drie tracks en 2 covers.

Rise And Fall is puur muzikale surf, lekker gitaarwerk en snedige drums en baspartij. Forty Thieves begint met een heel ingetogen gitaarriffje en baslijn op een oosters aandoende en eindeloos uitgesponnen gitaarmelodie. Jaan Pehechaan Ho is een cover van een song van Mohammed Rafi. Wolf Vanwymeersch trekt stevig aan de bassnaren en zijn vocalen klinken als reggae. De galm op de microfoon maakt er een zomerse en aanstekelijk track van.

Dance De Nadia (van Elias Rahbani) klinkt dan weer uitermate vrolijk met een dosis effecten op de gitaren en veel afwisseling. Sturm und Drang is uptempo surf met roffelende drumpartijen en vingervlug slaggitaarwerk.

Het is de eerste opname en hoewel het repetities betreffen, zijn het spelplezier en het vakmanschap duidelijk hoorbaar. Gung Ho? Checken op een poidum die handel.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016

https://www.facebook.com/Gung-Ho-914861948527256/videos

10/12/2016 : GUNG HO - Out of The West 10/12/2016 : GUNG HO - Out of The West 10/12/2016 : GUNG HO - Out of The West 10/12/2016 : GUNG HO - Out of The West

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless