tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : GUNG HO - Out of The West

GUNG HO

Out of The West

MusicCD (EP)
Surf

[78/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Gung Ho is a Belgian band, consisting of Wolf Vanwymeersch (The Van Jets) who sings and plays the bass, Bob Everaert (of The Sisters of Mercy tribute band Body Electric), Mario Govaert on drums (Elefant and Rye Jehu) and Karels Masureel on guitar. The quartet has released an album with three tracks and two covers.

Rise And Fall is pure surf music with a great guitar sound and clever drums and bass. Forty Thieves begins with a very subdued guitar riff and a bass with an oriental touch.

Pehechaan Jaan Ho is a cover of Mohammed Rafi. Wolf Vanwymeersch is a real master on bass. The vocals have a reggae sound. The reverberation on the microphone makes it a summery and catchy track.

Dance De Nadia (Elias Rahbani) again sounds very cheerful with effects on the guitars and much variety. Sturm und Drang is upbeat surf with uplifting banging drums.

This is the band’s first release and although you find rehearsals on this CD, you hear the craftsmanship. This is something I definitely want to see on stage!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016

https://www.facebook.com/Gung-Ho-914861948527256/videos

NL

Gung Ho is een kwartet bestaande uit Wolf Vanwymeersch (o.a. The Van Jets) die bass speelt en zingt, Bob Everaert (o.a The Sisters of Mercy tribute band Body Electric), Mario Govaert (o.a. Elefant en Rye Jehu) op drums en Karel Masureel op gitaar. Het viertal heeft een eerste schijfje uit opgenomen met drie tracks en 2 covers.

Rise And Fall is puur muzikale surf, lekker gitaarwerk en snedige drums en baspartij. Forty Thieves begint met een heel ingetogen gitaarriffje en baslijn op een oosters aandoende en eindeloos uitgesponnen gitaarmelodie. Jaan Pehechaan Ho is een cover van een song van Mohammed Rafi. Wolf Vanwymeersch trekt stevig aan de bassnaren en zijn vocalen klinken als reggae. De galm op de microfoon maakt er een zomerse en aanstekelijk track van.

Dance De Nadia (van Elias Rahbani) klinkt dan weer uitermate vrolijk met een dosis effecten op de gitaren en veel afwisseling. Sturm und Drang is uptempo surf met roffelende drumpartijen en vingervlug slaggitaarwerk.

Het is de eerste opname en hoewel het repetities betreffen, zijn het spelplezier en het vakmanschap duidelijk hoorbaar. Gung Ho? Checken op een poidum die handel.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016

https://www.facebook.com/Gung-Ho-914861948527256/videos

10/12/2016 : GUNG HO - Out of The West 10/12/2016 : GUNG HO - Out of The West 10/12/2016 : GUNG HO - Out of The West 10/12/2016 : GUNG HO - Out of The West

Music reviews

12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more
09
11
UK Gothic Rock Band HER DESPAIR Release Official Music Video for 'The Exorcism' - New EP, Exorcisms Of Eroticism due November 22nd
08
11
Bauhaus' David J announces 'Missive to an Angel from the Halls of Infamy and Allure' LP and Euro/UK tour!
07
11
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Jesus Built My Hotrod!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
05
11
THEN COMES SILENCE
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
05
11
MODELE MARTIAL
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual
07
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Electric Dreams
06
11
SOCIETY 1
It's Yours Now