tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : GUNG HO - Out of The West

GUNG HO

Out of The West

MusicCD (EP)
Surf

[78/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Gung Ho is a Belgian band, consisting of Wolf Vanwymeersch (The Van Jets) who sings and plays the bass, Bob Everaert (of The Sisters of Mercy tribute band Body Electric), Mario Govaert on drums (Elefant and Rye Jehu) and Karels Masureel on guitar. The quartet has released an album with three tracks and two covers.

Rise And Fall is pure surf music with a great guitar sound and clever drums and bass. Forty Thieves begins with a very subdued guitar riff and a bass with an oriental touch.

Pehechaan Jaan Ho is a cover of Mohammed Rafi. Wolf Vanwymeersch is a real master on bass. The vocals have a reggae sound. The reverberation on the microphone makes it a summery and catchy track.

Dance De Nadia (Elias Rahbani) again sounds very cheerful with effects on the guitars and much variety. Sturm und Drang is upbeat surf with uplifting banging drums.

This is the band’s first release and although you find rehearsals on this CD, you hear the craftsmanship. This is something I definitely want to see on stage!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016

https://www.facebook.com/Gung-Ho-914861948527256/videos

NL

Gung Ho is een kwartet bestaande uit Wolf Vanwymeersch (o.a. The Van Jets) die bass speelt en zingt, Bob Everaert (o.a The Sisters of Mercy tribute band Body Electric), Mario Govaert (o.a. Elefant en Rye Jehu) op drums en Karel Masureel op gitaar. Het viertal heeft een eerste schijfje uit opgenomen met drie tracks en 2 covers.

Rise And Fall is puur muzikale surf, lekker gitaarwerk en snedige drums en baspartij. Forty Thieves begint met een heel ingetogen gitaarriffje en baslijn op een oosters aandoende en eindeloos uitgesponnen gitaarmelodie. Jaan Pehechaan Ho is een cover van een song van Mohammed Rafi. Wolf Vanwymeersch trekt stevig aan de bassnaren en zijn vocalen klinken als reggae. De galm op de microfoon maakt er een zomerse en aanstekelijk track van.

Dance De Nadia (van Elias Rahbani) klinkt dan weer uitermate vrolijk met een dosis effecten op de gitaren en veel afwisseling. Sturm und Drang is uptempo surf met roffelende drumpartijen en vingervlug slaggitaarwerk.

Het is de eerste opname en hoewel het repetities betreffen, zijn het spelplezier en het vakmanschap duidelijk hoorbaar. Gung Ho? Checken op een poidum die handel.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016

https://www.facebook.com/Gung-Ho-914861948527256/videos

10/12/2016 : GUNG HO - Out of The West 10/12/2016 : GUNG HO - Out of The West 10/12/2016 : GUNG HO - Out of The West 10/12/2016 : GUNG HO - Out of The West

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked