tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : GUNG HO - Out of The West

GUNG HO

Out of The West

MusicCD (EP)
Surf

[78/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Gung Ho is a Belgian band, consisting of Wolf Vanwymeersch (The Van Jets) who sings and plays the bass, Bob Everaert (of The Sisters of Mercy tribute band Body Electric), Mario Govaert on drums (Elefant and Rye Jehu) and Karels Masureel on guitar. The quartet has released an album with three tracks and two covers.

Rise And Fall is pure surf music with a great guitar sound and clever drums and bass. Forty Thieves begins with a very subdued guitar riff and a bass with an oriental touch.

Pehechaan Jaan Ho is a cover of Mohammed Rafi. Wolf Vanwymeersch is a real master on bass. The vocals have a reggae sound. The reverberation on the microphone makes it a summery and catchy track.

Dance De Nadia (Elias Rahbani) again sounds very cheerful with effects on the guitars and much variety. Sturm und Drang is upbeat surf with uplifting banging drums.

This is the band’s first release and although you find rehearsals on this CD, you hear the craftsmanship. This is something I definitely want to see on stage!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016

https://www.facebook.com/Gung-Ho-914861948527256/videos

NL

Gung Ho is een kwartet bestaande uit Wolf Vanwymeersch (o.a. The Van Jets) die bass speelt en zingt, Bob Everaert (o.a The Sisters of Mercy tribute band Body Electric), Mario Govaert (o.a. Elefant en Rye Jehu) op drums en Karel Masureel op gitaar. Het viertal heeft een eerste schijfje uit opgenomen met drie tracks en 2 covers.

Rise And Fall is puur muzikale surf, lekker gitaarwerk en snedige drums en baspartij. Forty Thieves begint met een heel ingetogen gitaarriffje en baslijn op een oosters aandoende en eindeloos uitgesponnen gitaarmelodie. Jaan Pehechaan Ho is een cover van een song van Mohammed Rafi. Wolf Vanwymeersch trekt stevig aan de bassnaren en zijn vocalen klinken als reggae. De galm op de microfoon maakt er een zomerse en aanstekelijk track van.

Dance De Nadia (van Elias Rahbani) klinkt dan weer uitermate vrolijk met een dosis effecten op de gitaren en veel afwisseling. Sturm und Drang is uptempo surf met roffelende drumpartijen en vingervlug slaggitaarwerk.

Het is de eerste opname en hoewel het repetities betreffen, zijn het spelplezier en het vakmanschap duidelijk hoorbaar. Gung Ho? Checken op een poidum die handel.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016

https://www.facebook.com/Gung-Ho-914861948527256/videos

10/12/2016 : GUNG HO - Out of The West 10/12/2016 : GUNG HO - Out of The West 10/12/2016 : GUNG HO - Out of The West 10/12/2016 : GUNG HO - Out of The West

Music reviews

20
04
LUCKY AND LOVE
Transitions
12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts
02
04
FONTAINES D.C
Dogrel
01
04
FRAGRANCE
Now That I'm Real

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 33 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

22
04
CHARLES DE GOAL
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
STILL PATIENT ?
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
THE INVICIBLE SPIRIT
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
22
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
22
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
21
04
JO QUAIL
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
04
NO SLEEP BY THE MACHINE
Old Track
21
04
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Gone (Feat. Yvette Winkler)
20
04
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
19
04
GNOSTIC GORRILA
St. Basil's Asylum
18
04
UNDERTHESKIN
Borderline
18
04
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
17
04
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang