tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : GUNG HO - Out of The West

GUNG HO

Out of The West

MusicCD (EP)
Surf

[78/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Gung Ho is a Belgian band, consisting of Wolf Vanwymeersch (The Van Jets) who sings and plays the bass, Bob Everaert (of The Sisters of Mercy tribute band Body Electric), Mario Govaert on drums (Elefant and Rye Jehu) and Karels Masureel on guitar. The quartet has released an album with three tracks and two covers.

Rise And Fall is pure surf music with a great guitar sound and clever drums and bass. Forty Thieves begins with a very subdued guitar riff and a bass with an oriental touch.

Pehechaan Jaan Ho is a cover of Mohammed Rafi. Wolf Vanwymeersch is a real master on bass. The vocals have a reggae sound. The reverberation on the microphone makes it a summery and catchy track.

Dance De Nadia (Elias Rahbani) again sounds very cheerful with effects on the guitars and much variety. Sturm und Drang is upbeat surf with uplifting banging drums.

This is the band’s first release and although you find rehearsals on this CD, you hear the craftsmanship. This is something I definitely want to see on stage!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016

https://www.facebook.com/Gung-Ho-914861948527256/videos

NL

Gung Ho is een kwartet bestaande uit Wolf Vanwymeersch (o.a. The Van Jets) die bass speelt en zingt, Bob Everaert (o.a The Sisters of Mercy tribute band Body Electric), Mario Govaert (o.a. Elefant en Rye Jehu) op drums en Karel Masureel op gitaar. Het viertal heeft een eerste schijfje uit opgenomen met drie tracks en 2 covers.

Rise And Fall is puur muzikale surf, lekker gitaarwerk en snedige drums en baspartij. Forty Thieves begint met een heel ingetogen gitaarriffje en baslijn op een oosters aandoende en eindeloos uitgesponnen gitaarmelodie. Jaan Pehechaan Ho is een cover van een song van Mohammed Rafi. Wolf Vanwymeersch trekt stevig aan de bassnaren en zijn vocalen klinken als reggae. De galm op de microfoon maakt er een zomerse en aanstekelijk track van.

Dance De Nadia (van Elias Rahbani) klinkt dan weer uitermate vrolijk met een dosis effecten op de gitaren en veel afwisseling. Sturm und Drang is uptempo surf met roffelende drumpartijen en vingervlug slaggitaarwerk.

Het is de eerste opname en hoewel het repetities betreffen, zijn het spelplezier en het vakmanschap duidelijk hoorbaar. Gung Ho? Checken op een poidum die handel.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016

https://www.facebook.com/Gung-Ho-914861948527256/videos

10/12/2016 : GUNG HO - Out of The West 10/12/2016 : GUNG HO - Out of The West 10/12/2016 : GUNG HO - Out of The West 10/12/2016 : GUNG HO - Out of The West

Music reviews

25
09
THE EXPLODING BOY
Alarms!
01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 31 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
LES PANTIES
L'Arrivée
25
09
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth