tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : HAUTVILLE - Mater Dolorosa

HAUTVILLE

Mater Dolorosa

MusicCD
NeoclassicalNeofolk

[86/100]   

SPQR label
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

Music can be wonderful, even if you don’t you understand the lyrics. Yours truly is not proud that he does not speak Italian, but at least I understand the beauty and the emotion of the music. In 2006 Hauteville began as an acoustic project, but the Italian band is a neo-folk band now. Mater Dolorosa is the fourth release in four years and just like the previous one (Le Moire), it has been released on the famous SQPR label.

Dis Pater immediately seeks the way to your heart. The heavenly voice of Simona Bonavita is beautiful, the acoustic neofolk guitar by Leonardo Lonigro and the keyboards by Francesco Dinella sound just perfect. Neoclassical music with a dash of neofolk, and done as only Italians can.

On this kind of releases you often hear a bunch of similar songs, but Hauteville tries to be different on each track, and it always sounds moving. Artemide is almost classic and can be compared with the best of the compatriots of Ataraxia.

In Pietà E Constanza, you hear that the members used to be in prog rock bands, the delicious guitars refer tot the 70s. The song has a hippie feel, but that goes for all neofolk releases in a way. There is also tragedy on this CD. Le Ombre begins with a monologue and grows into a divine track with heart-breaking strings. Title track Mater Dolorosa sounds even more touching thanks to the guest vocals of tenor William Matteuzzi.

La Sposa is more traditional folk, but due to the symbiosis of the French and Italian language, it remains special. What we did not hear on this exceptional release is the sound of the trumpet. Giuilo Amico Padula uses them on Per Niente Non Sentire.

In the closing track we hear the fragile voice of Simona with a minimal piano (by Arturo Stalteri): simple, fragile, but pure beauty.

On this CD with eight tracks, you hear neoclassical (or if you like neofolk) of a very high standard!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
MARIO USAI (CLAN OF XYMOX) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
DECODED FEEDBACK • Dark Passenger
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
THE ASSOCIATES • The Affectionate Punch
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
A-WA • Habib Galbi
BOOTBLACKS • Veins
DOUBLE ECHO • Ancient Youth
NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same combination of genres: NEOCLASSICAL + NEOFOLK
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
DARK AWAKE • Imago Typhonis
SIEBEN • Briton EP
JESSICA BARAN-SUREL • Aremorica – Land of Elves
ROMA AMOR • Una Turbida Estate
VERNEY 1826 • The Ghosts Of Yesterday
JOZEF VAN WISSEM • It Is Time For You To Return
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Black Summer Choirs
SALINE GRACE • Fog mountain

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PASCAL PINON • Sundur

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade
SOL INVICTUS • The Last Man
SIEGFRIED • K
WOLJAGER • Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen
CAWATANA • Decline Of Privileges
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Vision: Libertine - The Hangman's Triad's

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl