tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : HAUTVILLE - Mater Dolorosa

HAUTVILLE

Mater Dolorosa

MusicCD
NeoclassicalNeofolk

[86/100]   

SPQR label
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

Music can be wonderful, even if you don’t you understand the lyrics. Yours truly is not proud that he does not speak Italian, but at least I understand the beauty and the emotion of the music. In 2006 Hauteville began as an acoustic project, but the Italian band is a neo-folk band now. Mater Dolorosa is the fourth release in four years and just like the previous one (Le Moire), it has been released on the famous SQPR label.

Dis Pater immediately seeks the way to your heart. The heavenly voice of Simona Bonavita is beautiful, the acoustic neofolk guitar by Leonardo Lonigro and the keyboards by Francesco Dinella sound just perfect. Neoclassical music with a dash of neofolk, and done as only Italians can.

On this kind of releases you often hear a bunch of similar songs, but Hauteville tries to be different on each track, and it always sounds moving. Artemide is almost classic and can be compared with the best of the compatriots of Ataraxia.

In Pietà E Constanza, you hear that the members used to be in prog rock bands, the delicious guitars refer tot the 70s. The song has a hippie feel, but that goes for all neofolk releases in a way. There is also tragedy on this CD. Le Ombre begins with a monologue and grows into a divine track with heart-breaking strings. Title track Mater Dolorosa sounds even more touching thanks to the guest vocals of tenor William Matteuzzi.

La Sposa is more traditional folk, but due to the symbiosis of the French and Italian language, it remains special. What we did not hear on this exceptional release is the sound of the trumpet. Giuilo Amico Padula uses them on Per Niente Non Sentire.

In the closing track we hear the fragile voice of Simona with a minimal piano (by Arturo Stalteri): simple, fragile, but pure beauty.

On this CD with eight tracks, you hear neoclassical (or if you like neofolk) of a very high standard!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
MARIO USAI (CLAN OF XYMOX) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
FABRICE RAJNA (FACTICE FACTORY) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
DECODED FEEDBACK • Dark Passenger
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
THE ASSOCIATES • The Affectionate Punch
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
A-WA • Habib Galbi
BOOTBLACKS • Veins
DOUBLE ECHO • Ancient Youth
NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same combination of genres: NEOCLASSICAL + NEOFOLK
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
DARK AWAKE • Imago Typhonis
SIEBEN • Briton EP
JESSICA BARAN-SUREL • Aremorica – Land of Elves
ROMA AMOR • Una Turbida Estate
VERNEY 1826 • The Ghosts Of Yesterday
JOZEF VAN WISSEM • It Is Time For You To Return
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Black Summer Choirs

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PASCAL PINON • Sundur

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Ménage à quatre
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade
SOL INVICTUS • The Last Man
SIEGFRIED • K
WOLJAGER • Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
10
09
AUSTRA
Utopia
09
09
ROSA CRVX
Omnes