tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : DOUBLE ECHO - Ancient Youth

DOUBLE ECHO

Ancient Youth

MusicCD (EP)
Dark WavePost Punk

[85/100]   

Peter Out Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Post-punk and darkwave are several decades old, but you would not suspect it when listening to new releases. The trio Double Echo of Liverpool was founded in 2012 but could just as well have started in the early eighties. It has made two full albums (La Danza was made in 2015) and released an EP. If you like the sound of The Cure (and related dark wave/post-punk bands) then this might interest you.

The EP meets the criteria and is more than a clone of the early mentioned band. Opener Rural still refers to the Cure at the time of Faith or Seventeen Seconds, but title track Ancient Youth contains many goth elements and is presented here as an original and catchy song. Because of this blend of goth and wave, Double Echo has successfully created a unique and recognizable sound. On Entropy, keyboard player Ellon Souter sings the vocals. It is a firm goth rock track. Haunted Dreams is a fun upbeat song and Fiction connects with the atmosphere of Rural. It also reminds me a bit to Clan of Xymox.

Ancient Youth is a very fine release and contains more uptempo songs than the previous album La Danza. The result is impressive: an EP that will perk up many darkwave parties. Where is my eyeliner, dear?

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Post-punk en darkwave zijn intussen al verscheidene decennia oud, maar dat zou je niet vermoeden als je de releases beluistert. Het trio Double Echo uit Liverpool bestaat sinds 2012 en kon evengoed uiit het begin van de jaren tachtig zijn. De band heeft al twee full albums ( La Danza dateert van eind 2015) en een ep uitgebracht. Als je van het geluid van The Cure houdt (envan aanverwante darkwave/post-punkbands) dan mag je je oren spitsen. We hebben hier namelijk een ep die volledig aan de criteria beantwoordt en toch meer is dan een kloon van de eerder genoemde band.

Opener Rural verwijst nog naar The Cure ten tijde van Faith of Seventeen Seconds, maar titeltrack Ancient Youth bevat net als Entropy, ook heel wat goth-elementen en presenteert zich als een originele en pakkende song. Door die mengeling van goth en wave slaagt Double Echo erin een eigen en herkenbaar geluid te creëren. Op Entropy neemt keyboardspeelster Ellon Souter de vocals voor haar rekening. Het is een ferme gothrocktrack geworden. Haunted Dreams is een leuke uptempo track en Fiction sluit wat aan bij de sfeer van Rural. Die track doet me tevens wat denken aan Clan of Xymox.

Ancient Youth is een heel fijne release en bevat iets meer uptempo songs en is iets minder zweverig dan het vorig album La Danza. Het resultaat mag er zijn. Een ep die menig darkwavefuif zal opfleuren. Waar ligt mijn eyeliner ook al weer?

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVERNANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire