tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : DOUBLE ECHO - Ancient Youth

DOUBLE ECHO

Ancient Youth

MusicCD (EP)
Dark WavePost Punk

[85/100]   

Peter Out Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Post-punk and darkwave are several decades old, but you would not suspect it when listening to new releases. The trio Double Echo of Liverpool was founded in 2012 but could just as well have started in the early eighties. It has made two full albums (La Danza was made in 2015) and released an EP. If you like the sound of The Cure (and related dark wave/post-punk bands) then this might interest you.

The EP meets the criteria and is more than a clone of the early mentioned band. Opener Rural still refers to the Cure at the time of Faith or Seventeen Seconds, but title track Ancient Youth contains many goth elements and is presented here as an original and catchy song. Because of this blend of goth and wave, Double Echo has successfully created a unique and recognizable sound. On Entropy, keyboard player Ellon Souter sings the vocals. It is a firm goth rock track. Haunted Dreams is a fun upbeat song and Fiction connects with the atmosphere of Rural. It also reminds me a bit to Clan of Xymox.

Ancient Youth is a very fine release and contains more uptempo songs than the previous album La Danza. The result is impressive: an EP that will perk up many darkwave parties. Where is my eyeliner, dear?

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Post-punk en darkwave zijn intussen al verscheidene decennia oud, maar dat zou je niet vermoeden als je de releases beluistert. Het trio Double Echo uit Liverpool bestaat sinds 2012 en kon evengoed uiit het begin van de jaren tachtig zijn. De band heeft al twee full albums ( La Danza dateert van eind 2015) en een ep uitgebracht. Als je van het geluid van The Cure houdt (envan aanverwante darkwave/post-punkbands) dan mag je je oren spitsen. We hebben hier namelijk een ep die volledig aan de criteria beantwoordt en toch meer is dan een kloon van de eerder genoemde band.

Opener Rural verwijst nog naar The Cure ten tijde van Faith of Seventeen Seconds, maar titeltrack Ancient Youth bevat net als Entropy, ook heel wat goth-elementen en presenteert zich als een originele en pakkende song. Door die mengeling van goth en wave slaagt Double Echo erin een eigen en herkenbaar geluid te creëren. Op Entropy neemt keyboardspeelster Ellon Souter de vocals voor haar rekening. Het is een ferme gothrocktrack geworden. Haunted Dreams is een leuke uptempo track en Fiction sluit wat aan bij de sfeer van Rural. Die track doet me tevens wat denken aan Clan of Xymox.

Ancient Youth is een heel fijne release en bevat iets meer uptempo songs en is iets minder zweverig dan het vorig album La Danza. Het resultaat mag er zijn. Een ep die menig darkwavefuif zal opfleuren. Waar ligt mijn eyeliner ook al weer?

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
01
ASHRR’S Dark Industrialized New Single, “ALL YOURS ALL MINE (DARKER DAYS MIX)” Is Streaming Now
25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
BIG TIME KILL
Again and Again
28
01
DEPECHE MODE
Enjoy The Silence
27
01
GEOMETRIC VISION
Apocalypse Queen
26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic