tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : DOUBLE ECHO - Ancient Youth

DOUBLE ECHO

Ancient Youth

MusicCD (EP)
Dark WavePost Punk

[85/100]   

Peter Out Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Post-punk and darkwave are several decades old, but you would not suspect it when listening to new releases. The trio Double Echo of Liverpool was founded in 2012 but could just as well have started in the early eighties. It has made two full albums (La Danza was made in 2015) and released an EP. If you like the sound of The Cure (and related dark wave/post-punk bands) then this might interest you.

The EP meets the criteria and is more than a clone of the early mentioned band. Opener Rural still refers to the Cure at the time of Faith or Seventeen Seconds, but title track Ancient Youth contains many goth elements and is presented here as an original and catchy song. Because of this blend of goth and wave, Double Echo has successfully created a unique and recognizable sound. On Entropy, keyboard player Ellon Souter sings the vocals. It is a firm goth rock track. Haunted Dreams is a fun upbeat song and Fiction connects with the atmosphere of Rural. It also reminds me a bit to Clan of Xymox.

Ancient Youth is a very fine release and contains more uptempo songs than the previous album La Danza. The result is impressive: an EP that will perk up many darkwave parties. Where is my eyeliner, dear?

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Post-punk en darkwave zijn intussen al verscheidene decennia oud, maar dat zou je niet vermoeden als je de releases beluistert. Het trio Double Echo uit Liverpool bestaat sinds 2012 en kon evengoed uiit het begin van de jaren tachtig zijn. De band heeft al twee full albums ( La Danza dateert van eind 2015) en een ep uitgebracht. Als je van het geluid van The Cure houdt (envan aanverwante darkwave/post-punkbands) dan mag je je oren spitsen. We hebben hier namelijk een ep die volledig aan de criteria beantwoordt en toch meer is dan een kloon van de eerder genoemde band.

Opener Rural verwijst nog naar The Cure ten tijde van Faith of Seventeen Seconds, maar titeltrack Ancient Youth bevat net als Entropy, ook heel wat goth-elementen en presenteert zich als een originele en pakkende song. Door die mengeling van goth en wave slaagt Double Echo erin een eigen en herkenbaar geluid te creëren. Op Entropy neemt keyboardspeelster Ellon Souter de vocals voor haar rekening. Het is een ferme gothrocktrack geworden. Haunted Dreams is een leuke uptempo track en Fiction sluit wat aan bij de sfeer van Rural. Die track doet me tevens wat denken aan Clan of Xymox.

Ancient Youth is een heel fijne release en bevat iets meer uptempo songs en is iets minder zweverig dan het vorig album La Danza. Het resultaat mag er zijn. Een ep die menig darkwavefuif zal opfleuren. Waar ligt mijn eyeliner ook al weer?

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures