tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : DOUBLE ECHO - Ancient Youth

DOUBLE ECHO

Ancient Youth

MusicCD (EP)
Dark WavePost Punk

[85/100]   

Peter Out Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Post-punk and darkwave are several decades old, but you would not suspect it when listening to new releases. The trio Double Echo of Liverpool was founded in 2012 but could just as well have started in the early eighties. It has made two full albums (La Danza was made in 2015) and released an EP. If you like the sound of The Cure (and related dark wave/post-punk bands) then this might interest you.

The EP meets the criteria and is more than a clone of the early mentioned band. Opener Rural still refers to the Cure at the time of Faith or Seventeen Seconds, but title track Ancient Youth contains many goth elements and is presented here as an original and catchy song. Because of this blend of goth and wave, Double Echo has successfully created a unique and recognizable sound. On Entropy, keyboard player Ellon Souter sings the vocals. It is a firm goth rock track. Haunted Dreams is a fun upbeat song and Fiction connects with the atmosphere of Rural. It also reminds me a bit to Clan of Xymox.

Ancient Youth is a very fine release and contains more uptempo songs than the previous album La Danza. The result is impressive: an EP that will perk up many darkwave parties. Where is my eyeliner, dear?

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Post-punk en darkwave zijn intussen al verscheidene decennia oud, maar dat zou je niet vermoeden als je de releases beluistert. Het trio Double Echo uit Liverpool bestaat sinds 2012 en kon evengoed uiit het begin van de jaren tachtig zijn. De band heeft al twee full albums ( La Danza dateert van eind 2015) en een ep uitgebracht. Als je van het geluid van The Cure houdt (envan aanverwante darkwave/post-punkbands) dan mag je je oren spitsen. We hebben hier namelijk een ep die volledig aan de criteria beantwoordt en toch meer is dan een kloon van de eerder genoemde band.

Opener Rural verwijst nog naar The Cure ten tijde van Faith of Seventeen Seconds, maar titeltrack Ancient Youth bevat net als Entropy, ook heel wat goth-elementen en presenteert zich als een originele en pakkende song. Door die mengeling van goth en wave slaagt Double Echo erin een eigen en herkenbaar geluid te creëren. Op Entropy neemt keyboardspeelster Ellon Souter de vocals voor haar rekening. Het is een ferme gothrocktrack geworden. Haunted Dreams is een leuke uptempo track en Fiction sluit wat aan bij de sfeer van Rural. Die track doet me tevens wat denken aan Clan of Xymox.

Ancient Youth is een heel fijne release en bevat iets meer uptempo songs en is iets minder zweverig dan het vorig album La Danza. Het resultaat mag er zijn. Een ep die menig darkwavefuif zal opfleuren. Waar ligt mijn eyeliner ook al weer?

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On