tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : DOUBLE ECHO - Ancient Youth

DOUBLE ECHO

Ancient Youth

MusicCD (EP)
Dark WavePost Punk

[85/100]   

Peter Out Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Post-punk and darkwave are several decades old, but you would not suspect it when listening to new releases. The trio Double Echo of Liverpool was founded in 2012 but could just as well have started in the early eighties. It has made two full albums (La Danza was made in 2015) and released an EP. If you like the sound of The Cure (and related dark wave/post-punk bands) then this might interest you.

The EP meets the criteria and is more than a clone of the early mentioned band. Opener Rural still refers to the Cure at the time of Faith or Seventeen Seconds, but title track Ancient Youth contains many goth elements and is presented here as an original and catchy song. Because of this blend of goth and wave, Double Echo has successfully created a unique and recognizable sound. On Entropy, keyboard player Ellon Souter sings the vocals. It is a firm goth rock track. Haunted Dreams is a fun upbeat song and Fiction connects with the atmosphere of Rural. It also reminds me a bit to Clan of Xymox.

Ancient Youth is a very fine release and contains more uptempo songs than the previous album La Danza. The result is impressive: an EP that will perk up many darkwave parties. Where is my eyeliner, dear?

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Post-punk en darkwave zijn intussen al verscheidene decennia oud, maar dat zou je niet vermoeden als je de releases beluistert. Het trio Double Echo uit Liverpool bestaat sinds 2012 en kon evengoed uiit het begin van de jaren tachtig zijn. De band heeft al twee full albums ( La Danza dateert van eind 2015) en een ep uitgebracht. Als je van het geluid van The Cure houdt (envan aanverwante darkwave/post-punkbands) dan mag je je oren spitsen. We hebben hier namelijk een ep die volledig aan de criteria beantwoordt en toch meer is dan een kloon van de eerder genoemde band.

Opener Rural verwijst nog naar The Cure ten tijde van Faith of Seventeen Seconds, maar titeltrack Ancient Youth bevat net als Entropy, ook heel wat goth-elementen en presenteert zich als een originele en pakkende song. Door die mengeling van goth en wave slaagt Double Echo erin een eigen en herkenbaar geluid te creëren. Op Entropy neemt keyboardspeelster Ellon Souter de vocals voor haar rekening. Het is een ferme gothrocktrack geworden. Haunted Dreams is een leuke uptempo track en Fiction sluit wat aan bij de sfeer van Rural. Die track doet me tevens wat denken aan Clan of Xymox.

Ancient Youth is een heel fijne release en bevat iets meer uptempo songs en is iets minder zweverig dan het vorig album La Danza. Het resultaat mag er zijn. Een ep die menig darkwavefuif zal opfleuren. Waar ligt mijn eyeliner ook al weer?

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela