tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : ROLF TROSTEL - Two Faces

ROLF TROSTEL

Two Faces

MusicCD
ElectronicsMinimal

[85/100]   

Bureau B
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

You probably never heard of Rolf Trostel. Not that we underestimate your music knowledge, but this musician, who is clearly influenced by the Berlin School, made two records in the early 80s which he released and distributed himself. The remaining copies are sold on E-Bay at dizzying rates now, simply because years later, this neglected artist is considered a genius.

Rolf used instruments like the PPG Wave Computer 360 and the Roland CR-78 (which later would be popular because Phil Collins used it for In The Air Tonight) and created strange, almost surreal minimal electro.

Although you clearly hear that the German is influenced by Klaus Schulze and Tangerine Dream, you also hear parts of Oxygene and Equinoxe by Jean-Michel Jarre in it.

No, it is not that original, but music like this is hardly made today. For your collection if you want to hear some ingenious electronic music.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Waarschijnlijk heb je nog nooit van Rolf Trostel gehoord. Niet dat we je muziekkennis onderschatten, maar deze muzikant, die duidelijk een leerling van de Berlijnse school is, bracht in het begin van de jaren 80 zijn eigen platen uit, die hij ook zelf verdeelde. De exemplaren die nu nog zijn overgebleven worden tegen duizelingwekkende prijzen op E-Bay verkocht, gewoon omdat men jaren later van deze destijds genegeerde artiest een genie heeft gemaakt.

Rolf hanteerde instrumenten als de PPG Wavecomputer 360 en de Roland CR-78 (die later zou doorbreken omdat Phil Collins die In The Air Tonight gebruikte) en creëerde daarmee vreemde, bijna surrealistische minimal electro.

Hoewel je duidelijk hoort dat deze Duitser door Klaus Schulze of Tangerine Dream is beïnvloed, hoor je er evengoed Oxygène of Equinoxe van Jean-Michel Jarre in.

Neen, origineel is het allemaal niet, maar muziek als deze wordt nog nauwelijks gemaakt. In huis halen dus als je geniale elektronische spielerei door je speakers wil horen knallen.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SIGFRIED BURROUGHS (ONMENS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ROISIN MURPHY • Take Her Up To Monto
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
JAYE LEIGH VINCENT (TORQUE ORDER) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VICTOR VERZIJL (LA LUNE NOIRE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PALE THORNS • Somberland
JJD (SOFT RIOT) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
MESH • Kill Your Darlings
CLAUDIA NOTTEBELLA (ASH CODE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
STATHIS LEONTIADIS (HUMAN PUPPETS, DORIC) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + MINIMAL
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
NOVEMBER NOVELET • The World In Devotion
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ADN’ CKRYSTALL • Jazz' Mad

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno

Music reviews

12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face