tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : ROLF TROSTEL - Two Faces

ROLF TROSTEL

Two Faces

MusicCD
ElectronicsMinimal

[85/100]   

Bureau B
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

You probably never heard of Rolf Trostel. Not that we underestimate your music knowledge, but this musician, who is clearly influenced by the Berlin School, made two records in the early 80s which he released and distributed himself. The remaining copies are sold on E-Bay at dizzying rates now, simply because years later, this neglected artist is considered a genius.

Rolf used instruments like the PPG Wave Computer 360 and the Roland CR-78 (which later would be popular because Phil Collins used it for In The Air Tonight) and created strange, almost surreal minimal electro.

Although you clearly hear that the German is influenced by Klaus Schulze and Tangerine Dream, you also hear parts of Oxygene and Equinoxe by Jean-Michel Jarre in it.

No, it is not that original, but music like this is hardly made today. For your collection if you want to hear some ingenious electronic music.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Waarschijnlijk heb je nog nooit van Rolf Trostel gehoord. Niet dat we je muziekkennis onderschatten, maar deze muzikant, die duidelijk een leerling van de Berlijnse school is, bracht in het begin van de jaren 80 zijn eigen platen uit, die hij ook zelf verdeelde. De exemplaren die nu nog zijn overgebleven worden tegen duizelingwekkende prijzen op E-Bay verkocht, gewoon omdat men jaren later van deze destijds genegeerde artiest een genie heeft gemaakt.

Rolf hanteerde instrumenten als de PPG Wavecomputer 360 en de Roland CR-78 (die later zou doorbreken omdat Phil Collins die In The Air Tonight gebruikte) en creëerde daarmee vreemde, bijna surrealistische minimal electro.

Hoewel je duidelijk hoort dat deze Duitser door Klaus Schulze of Tangerine Dream is beïnvloed, hoor je er evengoed Oxygène of Equinoxe van Jean-Michel Jarre in.

Neen, origineel is het allemaal niet, maar muziek als deze wordt nog nauwelijks gemaakt. In huis halen dus als je geniale elektronische spielerei door je speakers wil horen knallen.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SIGFRIED BURROUGHS (ONMENS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ROISIN MURPHY • Take Her Up To Monto
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
JAYE LEIGH VINCENT (TORQUE ORDER) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VICTOR VERZIJL (LA LUNE NOIRE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PALE THORNS • Somberland
JJD (SOFT RIOT) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
MESH • Kill Your Darlings
CLAUDIA NOTTEBELLA (ASH CODE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
STATHIS LEONTIADIS (HUMAN PUPPETS, DORIC) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + MINIMAL
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
NOVEMBER NOVELET • The World In Devotion
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ADN’ CKRYSTALL • Jazz' Mad

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit

Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith