tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : ROLF TROSTEL - Two Faces

ROLF TROSTEL

Two Faces

MusicCD
ElectronicsMinimal

[85/100]   

Bureau B
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

You probably never heard of Rolf Trostel. Not that we underestimate your music knowledge, but this musician, who is clearly influenced by the Berlin School, made two records in the early 80s which he released and distributed himself. The remaining copies are sold on E-Bay at dizzying rates now, simply because years later, this neglected artist is considered a genius.

Rolf used instruments like the PPG Wave Computer 360 and the Roland CR-78 (which later would be popular because Phil Collins used it for In The Air Tonight) and created strange, almost surreal minimal electro.

Although you clearly hear that the German is influenced by Klaus Schulze and Tangerine Dream, you also hear parts of Oxygene and Equinoxe by Jean-Michel Jarre in it.

No, it is not that original, but music like this is hardly made today. For your collection if you want to hear some ingenious electronic music.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Waarschijnlijk heb je nog nooit van Rolf Trostel gehoord. Niet dat we je muziekkennis onderschatten, maar deze muzikant, die duidelijk een leerling van de Berlijnse school is, bracht in het begin van de jaren 80 zijn eigen platen uit, die hij ook zelf verdeelde. De exemplaren die nu nog zijn overgebleven worden tegen duizelingwekkende prijzen op E-Bay verkocht, gewoon omdat men jaren later van deze destijds genegeerde artiest een genie heeft gemaakt.

Rolf hanteerde instrumenten als de PPG Wavecomputer 360 en de Roland CR-78 (die later zou doorbreken omdat Phil Collins die In The Air Tonight gebruikte) en creëerde daarmee vreemde, bijna surrealistische minimal electro.

Hoewel je duidelijk hoort dat deze Duitser door Klaus Schulze of Tangerine Dream is beïnvloed, hoor je er evengoed Oxygène of Equinoxe van Jean-Michel Jarre in.

Neen, origineel is het allemaal niet, maar muziek als deze wordt nog nauwelijks gemaakt. In huis halen dus als je geniale elektronische spielerei door je speakers wil horen knallen.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SIGFRIED BURROUGHS (ONMENS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ROISIN MURPHY • Take Her Up To Monto
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
JAYE LEIGH VINCENT (TORQUE ORDER) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VICTOR VERZIJL (LA LUNE NOIRE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PALE THORNS • Somberland
JJD (SOFT RIOT) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
MESH • Kill Your Darlings
CLAUDIA NOTTEBELLA (ASH CODE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
STATHIS LEONTIADIS (HUMAN PUPPETS, DORIC) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + MINIMAL
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
NOVEMBER NOVELET • The World In Devotion
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ADN’ CKRYSTALL • Jazz' Mad

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain