tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : ROLF TROSTEL - Two Faces

ROLF TROSTEL

Two Faces

MusicCD
ElectronicsMinimal

[85/100]   

Bureau B
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

You probably never heard of Rolf Trostel. Not that we underestimate your music knowledge, but this musician, who is clearly influenced by the Berlin School, made two records in the early 80s which he released and distributed himself. The remaining copies are sold on E-Bay at dizzying rates now, simply because years later, this neglected artist is considered a genius.

Rolf used instruments like the PPG Wave Computer 360 and the Roland CR-78 (which later would be popular because Phil Collins used it for In The Air Tonight) and created strange, almost surreal minimal electro.

Although you clearly hear that the German is influenced by Klaus Schulze and Tangerine Dream, you also hear parts of Oxygene and Equinoxe by Jean-Michel Jarre in it.

No, it is not that original, but music like this is hardly made today. For your collection if you want to hear some ingenious electronic music.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Waarschijnlijk heb je nog nooit van Rolf Trostel gehoord. Niet dat we je muziekkennis onderschatten, maar deze muzikant, die duidelijk een leerling van de Berlijnse school is, bracht in het begin van de jaren 80 zijn eigen platen uit, die hij ook zelf verdeelde. De exemplaren die nu nog zijn overgebleven worden tegen duizelingwekkende prijzen op E-Bay verkocht, gewoon omdat men jaren later van deze destijds genegeerde artiest een genie heeft gemaakt.

Rolf hanteerde instrumenten als de PPG Wavecomputer 360 en de Roland CR-78 (die later zou doorbreken omdat Phil Collins die In The Air Tonight gebruikte) en creëerde daarmee vreemde, bijna surrealistische minimal electro.

Hoewel je duidelijk hoort dat deze Duitser door Klaus Schulze of Tangerine Dream is beïnvloed, hoor je er evengoed Oxygène of Equinoxe van Jean-Michel Jarre in.

Neen, origineel is het allemaal niet, maar muziek als deze wordt nog nauwelijks gemaakt. In huis halen dus als je geniale elektronische spielerei door je speakers wil horen knallen.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SIGFRIED BURROUGHS (ONMENS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ROISIN MURPHY • Take Her Up To Monto
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
JAYE LEIGH VINCENT (TORQUE ORDER) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VICTOR VERZIJL (LA LUNE NOIRE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PALE THORNS • Somberland
JJD (SOFT RIOT) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
MESH • Kill Your Darlings
CLAUDIA NOTTEBELLA (ASH CODE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
STATHIS LEONTIADIS (HUMAN PUPPETS, DORIC) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + MINIMAL
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
NOVEMBER NOVELET • The World In Devotion
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ADN’ CKRYSTALL • Jazz' Mad

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
10
43 years Never Mind The Bollocks!
28
10
On this day, 32 years ago, Front 242 released Front By Front!
24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
10
STACIAN
Telephonix
28
10
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
27
10
NO MORE
Turnaround
26
10
DEVO
Beautiful World
25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)