tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/02/2016 : VOID VISION - Sub Rosa

VOID VISION

Sub Rosa

MusicCD
ElectronicsMinimal

[86/100]   

Mannequin
08/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Seven years ago, Weird Records created a phenomenal boom in the minimal wave scene. Bands like Led Er Est Martial Canterel, Xeno & Oaklander and Automelodi suddenly became popular. Even if Void Vision (then a duo) released nothing on the label, it was part of the Wierd scene. The single In 20 Years was released on Blind Prophet (the label of Sean Ragon of Cult Of Youth) and a split album with Vice Device, but then everything went quiet, at least in terms of releases. Recently and after the maxi Sour, Mannequin Records released Sub Rosa, a kind of compilation which includes everything by Void Vision (that meanwhile became Shari Vari’s solo project).

One is irresistible minimal wave with a touch of Italo Disco. Maybe it's because of the seductive voice of Shari Vari, but after three (or is it two?) spins only, you become hopelessly devoted. Everything Is Fine does the same, but from the third track on (Hidden Hand) Shari adds tons of melancholy in her compositions, so it feels like you’re listening to the best of Xeno & Oaklander. The song is very danceable, but thanks to the weird electronics (think of Vangelis in a minimal way) it also is unique.

Sour is the most excellent track you will find on this CD. It sounds very 80s, it even has a Miami Vice-sense, and yet, it sounds very contemporary (and yes, sexy too)!

It might not have been Shari’s intention, but in To The Sea, Void Vision sounds like the electronic dark wave of The Frozen Autumn. Beautiful and (even though we are repeating ourselves) highly addictive.

Slown Dawn is a lovely instrumental and an ideal opportunity if you want to daydream on some synthetic sounds. With Vulgar Display, Shari wakes you out of your reverie, as the jittery electro beats make you dance again. Think of Miss Kittin or something like that, simply brilliant!

In 20 Years simply sounds like the kind of synth melody that Fad Gadget could write, complemented with the metropolitan, still futuristic sound of Kraftwerk.

Queen Of Hearts has a mystical character, a song you have to unfold note after note. Shari's voice is the poison that you breathe. Irresistible minimal.

Sour is also included in the Vanzetti and Sacco-remix, and yes the name reveals it all: this is pure Italo Disco!

Sub Rosa by Void Vision belongs to the list of Linea Aspera, Xeno & Oaklander or Automelodi: sublime minimal pop!

Didier BECU
08/02/2016


NL

Zo’n zeven jaar geleden zorgde Weird Records voor een fenomenale boom in de minimal wave-scène. Namen als Led Er Est, Martial Canterel, Xeno & Oaklander en Automelodi werden plotseling bekend. Ook al bracht Void Vision (toen nog een duo) niets op het label uit, was het door z'n optredens ook een deel van de Wierd-scène. Er verscheen de single In 20 Years op Blind Prophet (het label van Sean Ragon van Cult Of Youth) en een splitalbum met Vice Device, maar toen werd alles (ten minste op releasevlak) een beetje stil. Tot op het moment dat Void Vision (wat ondertussen het soloproject van Shari Vari was geworden) werd opgevist door het Italiaanse Mannequin Records. Na de maxi Sour, is Sub Rosa een soort van compilatie die alles van Void Vision omvat, en wat een plaat is dat geworden!

One is onweerstaanbare minimal met een vleugje Italo-disco. Misschien komt het door de verleidelijke stem van Shari Vari, maar na amper drie (of zijn het er twee?) luisterbeurten raak je er hopeloos aan verslaafd. Everything Is Fine is van hetzelfde kaliber, maar vanaf de derde track (Hidden Hand) gooit Shari er een hele portie melancholie bij waardoor Sub Rosa lijkt op (zeg maar) het beste van Xeno & Oaklander. Het lied is uiterst dansbaar, maar dankzij de vreemde elektronica (denk aan Vangelis op een minimale wijze) wordt het tevens een uniek geluid.

Sour is het mooiste wat je op deze cd vindt. Het klinkt enorm 80s, er is zelfs een bepaald Miami Vice-gevoel in verwerkt, en toch klinkt het ontzettend hedendaags (en jawel, sexy)!

Het zal wellicht niet de bedoeling zijn, maar op het bedwelmende To The Sea gaat Void Vision een beetje in de richting van de elektronische dark wave en klinkt Shari een beetje als The Frozen Autumn. Mooi en (ook al vallen we in herhaling), het is uiterst verslavend. Slown Dawn is een heerlijke instrumental en ideaal geschikt als je van plan bent om weg te dromen op synthetische klanken. Met Vulgar Displays wekt Shari je meteen uit je dagdromerij, want de nerveuze elektrobeats zorgen ervoor dat je meteen aan het dansen slaat. Denk aan Miss Kittin of zoiets, gewoon geniaal!

In 20 Years klinkt gewoonweg geniaal, het soort synthmelodietje waar ooit Fad Gadget een patent op had, aangevuld met de metropolisachtig, nog steeds futuristische, klanken van Kraftwerk.

Queen Of Hearts heeft een mystiek karakter, een song die je noot na noot moet ontvouwen, Sharis stem is het gif dat je inademt. Onweerstaanbare minimale pracht.

Sour wordt ook nog eens opgevoerd in de Vanzetti & Sacco-remix, en jawel de naam verraadt alles: dit is pure Italo Disco!

Sub Rosa van Void Vision hoort thuis in het rijtje van Linea Aspera, Xeno & Oaklander of Automelodi: onweerstaanbare minimal pop!

Didier BECU
08/02/2016


 

Next reviews
THE PUBLIC RADAR • A New Sunrise
DREW MCDOWALL (COIL, PSYCHIC TV) • Antwerpen, Zuiderpershuis (06/02/2016)
SUEDE • Night Thoughts
CATAYA • Sukzession
SUEDE • Brussels, AB 06/02/16
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • The Wolvennest Sessions
PRONG • X- No Absolutes
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015
JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH • The Brandenburg Concertos (Hofkapelle München, Antwerpen, deSingel, 04/02/2016)
PETER ANTHONY • The Man who Saved the World

 

Other reviews from VOID VISION
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + MINIMAL
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
ROLF TROSTEL • Two Faces
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
NOVEMBER NOVELET • The World In Devotion
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ADN’ CKRYSTALL • Jazz' Mad

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus

Music reviews

24
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Human Transitions
23
03
AUTOGRAMM
What R U Waiting 4?
22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
03
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Phoenix
23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco