tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl / digital review

13/01/2024 : CHRYPTOCHROMA - Ominous Clouds

CHRYPTOCHROMA

Ominous Clouds

MusicVinyl / Digital
MinimalNew waveSynth Wave

[88/100]   

Self-released
13/01/2024, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Jan Vinoelst has been working with synths in all kinds of projects and bands for some time. Even before the 1990s, he was already active in bands such as Cluster M13 and Messier 39. The man from Sint-Niklaas is now releasing a strongly analogue synth based record with his one man project Cryptochroma. The record was baptized Ominous Clouds.

‘Throwback’; a firm dose of wave with menacing basslines and dark synths sounds of the 1980s. Very powerful indeed! The ingredients are known … Analog synths, with sounds to die for. The “fun” melodies are backed by equally old-school analog drum machines.

We can't really call it minimal as such, as sometimes the pounding beats are just a little too danceable and too heavy. But who’s complaining? ‘Fifth Wave’ is such a danceable mash-up, driven by dark beats. Darkly threatening. Also vocally, because Jan's voice blends perfectly in this musical cocktail.

Vocoders, another typical eighties based way of making vocals sound spacey, are also lashing at us. ‘Drifting Vessel’ and ‘Blow The Bridges’ makes one wanna dance. Not a heavy stomper all the way but the song does invite you to move your feet. And the dance goes on… as we know!

If there is one song on which I spontaneously strode through my living room, head down, just shuffling my feet, frantically trying to do something you could call dancing, then it is ‘Could There Be A Day’. A darkwave vibe with sweet melody which creeps like mist into the very roots of the song. A layer of ingenious sound work that I like to go wild on. Towards the end of this album, the dark-wave banger track ‘Der Furcht Raum’.

Jan receives vocal support from Raya Schaduwjaagster on ‘Synchronism', a remix of a song by For Greater Good. Also on Crépuscule', he gets some vocal support but this time from Leila Venus (also know as Boy 83). A seasoned minimal song, which really sounds eighties with these female vocals. Thanks to Leila.

About a year ago I spoke to Jan about what he was working on and whether Messier 39 was still alive. “Yes, I'm working on something new… just a little patience.” Well, that patience was rewarded with this strong and variated Cryptochroma album. Jan's (and mine) preference for analogue machinery and the pull back to the dark minimal, which is still very danceable at times is very appreciated! Thank you Jan! We want more!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/01/2024


NL

Jan Vinoelst is al langer in de weer met synths in allerlei formaties. Al van begin jaren 90 van de vorige eeuw. Hij was actief in bands als Cluster M13 en Messier 39. De man uit Sint-Niklaas brengt nu met zijn eenmansproject Cryptochroma een sterk op analoog gebaseerde synths plaat uit. De plaat werd Ominous Clouds gedoopt.

Throwback. De wave met dreigende baslijnen, donkere synths van de jaren 1980. We krijgen er een stevige dosis van. Heel krachtig ook. De ingrediënten zijn gekend. Analoge synths, met sounds om duimen en vingers bij af te likken. De leuke melodieën krijgen een ruggengraat van al even oldschool analoge drummachines.

Echt minimal kunnen we het niet noemen, want soms zijn de stompende beats net iets te dansbaar en te stevig Maar wie klaagt daar nu over? Fifth Wave is zo’n dansbare op darkbeats drijvende meestamper. Donker dreigend. Ook vocaal, want Jan’s stem blend perfect in deze muzikale cocktail.

Vocoders, zo’n typisch eighties based manier om vocaal spacy te klinken, krijgen we ook in de maag gesplitst. Onder andere in Drifting Vessel. Maar ook Blow The Bridges hult zich in een dansbaar gewaad. Geen meestamper all the way, maar de song nodigt wel uit tot wat voetenwerk. And the dance goes on… as we now!

Als er één song is waarop ik spontaan neergebogen doorheen mijn woonkamer schreed, enkel bezig met het schuifelen van mijn voeten, krampachtig pogingen ondernemend om iets te doen wat je nog dansen zou kunnen noemen, dan is het Could There Be A Day. Een darkwave-vibe. Een lieflijke melodie sluipt als een nevel tot in de wortels van de song. Een laagje vernuftig klankwerk waar ik graag op losga. En meer naar het eind van dit album een uit hetzelfde hout gesneden darkwave-knaller Der Furcht Raum.

Jan krijgt op Synchronism, een remix van een song van For Greater Good, vocale steun van Raya Schaduwjaagster. Ook op Crépuscule, maar dan van Leila Venus (ook Boy 83). Een doorwinterde minimal-song, die met de vrouwelijke vocalen echt eighties klinkt. Met dank aan Leila.

Ik mocht Jan spreken een dik jaar terug. ‘Waar ie nog mee bezig was…’. Of Messier 39 nog alive was. ‘Ja, ik ben met wat nieuws bezig… nog even geduld’. Wel het geduld werd beloond met een sterk album. Gevarieerd. De voorliefde van Jan (en ook van mij) voor analoge machinerie en de pull back naar de donkere minimal, die toch nog bijwijlen heel dansbaar is. Dankjewel Jan! Want deze Ominous Clouds is een heel degelijk, boeiend en gevarieerd album. Meer van datte mag!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/01/2024


 

Next reviews
THE WEATHERMEN • PIAS 40
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI • ELECTRO au BNR
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX • PIAS40
SKINNY PUPPY • PIAS 40
THE NEON JUDGEMENT • Blue Screens 1995 -2009
BHPL • II
PARTIKUL • Having Gone
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION • @B52 Music Club Eernegem
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023 • A second opinion...
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023 • Thunder in Cologne

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + NEW WAVE + SYNTH WAVE
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
JON COSTELLO • Autotron EP

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
KALTE NACHT • The Last Breath
LOVATARAXX • Tilda Vaast
XTORT • Zwart
STAATSEINDE • De Nieuwe Golf
ENZO KREFT • Shelter
STAATSEINDE • Fehlerlinie
PARADOX OBSCUR • Intercourse
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SKINNY PUPPY • PIAS 40
THE NEON JUDGEMENT • Blue Screens 1995 -2009
A SLICE OF LIFE • Tabula Rasa
THIS VALE OF TEARS • This Vale Of Tears
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
DARK MINIMAL PROJECT • Remixes
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Jack Vegas
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Jack Vegas
ABSTRACKT BLACK • Unheimlich
ELM • Penetrator
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn

Music reviews

05
04
KALTE NACHT
The Last Breath
02
04
LOVATARAXX
Tilda Vaast
14
03
THEN COMES SILENCE
Trickery
13
03
DARK MINIMAL PROJECT
Remixes
27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 38 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
39 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
15
04
On this day, 23 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
37 years ago MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
11
04
LIVERNOIS Addresses The Human Reaction To Trauma With ':ablation:'

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION
09
04
DE DELVERS
With the lyrics, I try to name things that I see happening around me and to pay attention to what we sometimes prefer to turn our heads away from.
03
04
FRONTAL BOUNDARY
An Interview With Harsh Electro Band, Frontal Boundary
20
03
BESTIAL MOUTHS
An Interview With Bestial Mouths
19
03
TVASHTAR
We never insisted on being an all-female band.

PHOTOS

16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
FRACTIONAL
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
O VEUX
Wasted Night #5 Borgloon

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
04
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
22
04
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Siouxsie And The Banshees - Candyman (Official Music Video)
21
04
ANIMACHINES
Pandemia
20
04
CHAOS RESEARCH
In Power we entrust the Love advocated
19
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
18
04
COCAINE PISS
The Dancer
17
04
CHMCL STR8JCKT
Dressed to Kill