tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / digital review

05/10/2022 : A SLICE OF LIFE - Tabula Rasa

A SLICE OF LIFE

Tabula Rasa

MusicCD / Digital
GaragerockIndie RockNew wavePost Punk

[90/100]   

Self-released
05/10/2022, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Tabula Rasa. The callsign of the second full album from A Slice Of Life. However, it seems not a tabula rasa at all but a thorough and even more impressive reproduction of their first fruits. Drifting between gothic rock, post-punk and good old 80s new wave but on top of that a rollercoaster of raw emotion, marinated in the ingredients of The Cure, Joy Division, The Sound and the like. Copycats? Not at all! Self composed songs with their own musical twist. Moreover, A Slice Of Life, Dirk Vreys (vocals), Wim Kempenaers (guitar), Guy Wilssens (guitar), Nelson Da Silva (bass), Emannuel Schaeverbeke (keyboards), François-Xavier Reimeringer (drums) is a band that plays everything you hear, live! Those who have already seen them perform live know they bring a catchy and sincere liveshow, fueled with passion penetrating even the smallest cell of your body.

Tabula Rasa is thus the band's second achievement, containing 12 songs and a remix by Coraline as an extra gift.

Dirk Vreys' voice, which he uses wonderfully within his Cure tribute band The Obscure, also works well with A Slice Of Life, being a bit more rough. ‘Two Faced Man’ opens the album and his great voice does what it's supposed to, wrapping you in. While guitars precariously creep in the background, a growling bass-line and a post-punk/shoe-gaze vibe completes it all.

What makes Tabula Rasa even stronger than their debut Restless (2018) is the variety. ‘Sweet Darkness’ gives the guitars the lead role, reminding us at times to The Cult and The Misson.

Then we get some (post) punk vibes at ‘Matterhorn’, while ‘Seven Days’ is more reminiscent of The Cure making it an excellent gothic track. In which, after the modest intro, the decibels and the accompanying vocal outbursts reach crescendo.

“Now that we know – how nothing will last – things I remember – things from the past

So I say goodbye – to my favourite times – you won't be forgotten – in these blood-shattered rhymes”… resounds in the painful and compelling ‘Goodbye’. It must have been a touching farewell.

‘Anywhere But Home’ is more of a happy song, with an indie scent to it. Whatever! Musically it all fits! Sound wise, technically, production wise, the atmosphere, the variation … not a single song disappoints on the album, as mentioned before, there is more diversity than on their first release (which was also already really rock solid). One can feel A Slice Of Life wants to take distance from mediocrity and half done work.

And what about a bit of nostalgic eighties feel like Billy Idol once brought it. Well, ‘Run For Cover’ has fragments of this feel. You can almost see Billy Idol's greasy crest. And why not throw in another nostalgic sounding killer song with ‘What Doesn't Kill Me’. Here one can hear once more their love for the heydays of The Cure while ‘In Your Shade’ wanders of off to a sort of lingering post-punk.

‘Fortress of Solitude’ is slow, where an intoxicating piano accompanies you on a lyrically not so cheerful date. A very deep cutting and catchy song that hits you like a sledgehammer. When the guitars start screaming towards the end, it seems like the apocalypse is approaching… it really make one go silent.

The end is near. The end is exiting. The end is no goodbye. Animal Instinct has you merrily shuffling your legs across the dance floor. Direction exit. Thank you and goodbye! Or rather: Welcome! Welcome to this parallel universe, created by A Slice Of Life. This album should (and will) put A Slice Of Life on the map in new wave/gothic (rock) scene. Cunningly strong sounding, varied and above all finger licking good! After each listen, your love for this album will grow!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
05/10/2022


NL

Tabula Rasa. De roepnaam van de tweede full van A Slice Of Life. Het is helemaal geen tabula rasa, maar een doorgedreven en nog indrukwekkender doordruk van hun eersteling. Dwepend tussen gothic rock, postpunk en good old 80’s new wave. Maar bovendien een rollercoaster van rauwe emotie, gemarineerd in de ingrediënten van The Cure, Joy Division, The Sound, en nog van dat fraais. Gepikt? Néén. Eigen georkestreerde songs met een eigen muzikale draai. Bovendien is A Slice Of Life, met Dirk Vreys (zang), Wim Kempenaers (gitaar), Guy Wilssens (gitaar), Nelson Da Silva (bas), Emannuel Schaeverbeke (toetsen), François-Xavier Reimeringer (drums) een band die alles tot de kleinste noot live speelt. Wie hen al live zag wéét dat dit pakkende en oprechte passie is en dat voel je tot in je kleinste lichaamscel.

Tabula Rasa is dus de tweede worp van de band. 12 nummers en een remix van Coraline cadeau.
Dirk Vreys’ stemgeluid dat hij in zijn Cure-Tribute band The Obscure geweldig kwijt kan, werkt ook bij A Slice Of Live. Maar ruwer. Two Faced man opent het album en de geweldige stem doet hier al wat die moet doen: pakken. Compleet inpakken. Gitaar vervaarlijk rondsluipend in de achtergrond, een grommende baslijn. Een postpunk/shoegaze-vibe maakt het compleet.

Wat Tabula Rasa nog sterker maakt dan hun debuut Restless (2018) is de afwisseling. Sweet Darkness geeft de gitaren de hoofdrol en het heeft bij momenten wat van The Cult en The Misson in één song.
We krijgen wat (post)punk-vibes bij Matterhorn, een veeg uit The Cure-pan met Seven Days die een meer dan uitmuntende gothic-song is. Na de ingetogen intro gaan de decibels en de daarmee gepaard gaande vocale uithalen de hoogte in.

‘Now that we know – how nothing will last – things I remember – things from the past
So I say goodbye – to my favourite times – you won’t be forgotten – in these bloodshattered rhymes’… weerklinkt in het pijnlijk aanvoelende en meeslepende Goodbye. Het moet een aandoenlijk afscheid zijn (geweest).

Anywhere But Home is dan weer een vrolijke noot, met een indiegeurtje aan. Whatever! Muzikaal klopt het als een bus. Muzikaal, technisch, productie, sfeer, variatie, geen enkele song ontgoochelt, het is veel diverser dan de eersteling (en die was al echt steengoed). Je voelt dat A Slice Of Life veraf wil staan (én staat) van middelmatigheid en half werk.

En wat te denken van een beetje nostalgische eighties zoal Billy Idol die bracht. Wel, Run For Cover heeft er flarden van. Je kan er je Idol’s vetkuif bij denken. En waarom er nog geen nostalgische klinkende knalschuif tegenaan gooien met What Doesn’t Kill Me. Hier is de liefde voor de hoogdagen van The Cure weer te horen. In Your Shade gaat dan weer meer naar slepende postpunk toe.

Fortress of Solitude is een plakker waarbij een bedwelmende piano je vergezelt op een tekstueel niet zo vrolijk uitje. Een heel diep snijdend en pakkende song die je een mokerslag geeft. Als de gitaren het uitschreeuwen op het einde alsof de apocalypse nadert… je wordt er echt stil van.

The end is near. The end is exiting. The end is no goodbye. Animal Instinct doet je de benen vrolijk over de dansvloer voortschrijdend uitgeleide. Richting exit. Thank you, goodbye. Of nee: Welcome! Welcome in a parallel universe, created by A Slice Of Life. Want daar ben je welkom. Dit album moet (en zal) A Slice Of Life echt op de kaart zetten in new wave/gothic (rock) land. Snedig, sterke sound, afwisselend en vooral fingerlicking good! Na elke luisterbeurt groeit de liefde voor het album.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
05/10/2022


05/10/2022 : A SLICE OF LIFE - Tabula Rasa 05/10/2022 : A SLICE OF LIFE - Tabula Rasa

 

Next reviews
THIS VALE OF TEARS • This Vale Of Tears
KMFDM • Hyena
DEMI LOVATO • HOLY FVCK
MISERIA ULTIMA • Witch Heart Apparition
SYGO CRIES • In Outside Places
PARADOX OBSCUR • Intercourse
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
VANGUARD • Spectrum
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds

 

Other reviews from A SLICE OF LIFE
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless

 

Same genre: GARAGEROCK
G.U.S.T. • Gust of wind
SONNY VINCENT • Shake Pit Therapy
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
THEE OH SEES • A Weird Exists
NIGHTMEN • Fifteen Minutes of Pain
SERATONES • Get Gone
ADAM & THE MADAMS • A & TM

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
THE HEAT INC. • EP
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CHRYPTOCHROMA • Ominous Clouds
SKINNY PUPPY • PIAS 40
THE NEON JUDGEMENT • Blue Screens 1995 -2009
THIS VALE OF TEARS • This Vale Of Tears
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
WHISPERING SONS • The Great Calm
PARTIKUL • Having Gone
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Jack Vegas
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Jack Vegas
CUT • Dead City Nights
NEL & JP • Zelfbeeld van Denaldie
THE GODFATHERS • ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
FEATHER TRADE • Dead Boy
KILL SHELTER • Asylum

Music reviews

27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys
21
02
XTORT
Zwart
03
02
MERCIFUL NUNS
Oneironauts
02
02
ANTLER RECORDS
Early Years Vol 1
01
02
YELWORC
The Ghosts I Called

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
38 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 5 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 46 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
24.2.24 International EBM day is coming closer!
20
02
This Charming Band | 40 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album

Concert reviews

16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023
06
05
SIOUXSIE
The glorious resurrection after ten years of silence.

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
ELEKTRIKILL
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Band, Elektrikill
03
02
HAMMERSHOI
French works well with these musical genres. It’s not like rock’n roll in French! It sucks, no ?
27
01
PAS MUSIQUE
An Interview With Pas Musique
26
01
TRAGIC VISIONS
An Interview With EBM/Industrial Band, Tragic Visions
22
01
CAT RAPES DOG
'We will try to put as much energy as possible into our performance. There will be no power ballads!'

PHOTOS

19
02
EKLIPSE FORCED TO MODE ONE CARESS TOUR
Christuskirche Bochum
18
02
LA MUERTE
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
STIN SCATZOR
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
THE ARCH
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
LEBANON HANOVER
Christuskirche Bochum
11
02
SELOFAN
JunkYard Dortmund

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
27
02
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
26
02
MONICA RICHARDS
Into My Own
25
02
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
24
02
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
23
02
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
22
02
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies