tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : ADAM & THE MADAMS - A & TM

ADAM & THE MADAMS

A & TM

MusicCD
Alternative RockGaragerockIndieNoisePsychedelic

[85/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The French garage-noise-psychedelic rock band Adam & The Madams presents its second CD in a homemade cover of jute with handwritten titles. Original and artisan. It perfectly fits with the DIY and authentic sound.

You're Right But I Do Not Care is an indie pop song, but that’s not the style of this album at all. Forever Awesome! is garage rock with beautiful keys by Cyprien Steck in the background, and we will hear these in other songs as well.

Lather has a 70s feel and Neil Young is never far away. Zoology is a catchy track that has (again) echoes of Neil Young and Sonic Youth. Woo hoo! Lovely tune! Headache has some nice transitions and a psychedelic interlude. Since You're A Shark is brief, while Why so sad? is a six-minute highlight: alternative rock with a dash of blues. The song grabs you by the throat and is topped with delicious organ sounds. A chorus that lingers in your head. Bully follows the same route.

Adam & The Madams made a strong album which fans of The Black Keys, Pavement, early Beck or Neil Young surely will appreciate.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

De Franse garage-noise-psychedelic rockband Adam & The Madams presenteertzijn tweede album in een zelfgemaakte hoes van jute en handgeschreven titels. Origineel en artisanaal. Het past mooi bij het geluid dat ze voortbrengen en dat een zekere autenticiteit heeft en elementen uit DIY.

De opener You’re Right But I Don’t Care zet ons wat op het verkeerde been door te starten als een indiepopsong. Dat verandert echter snel. Forever Awesome! is garagerock met mooie keys van Cyprien Steck op de achtergrond, die we nog in verschillende songs zullen horen.

Lather refereert naar de 70s en Neil Young lijkt niet veraf. Zoology is een meezingbare track, waarop je opnieuw Neil Young of Sonic Youth hoort rondwaren. Woo hoo! Heerlijke deun! Headache heeft leuke overgangen en een psychedelisch intermezzo. Since You’re A Shark is kort, maar Why So Sad? Is een zes minuten durend hoogtepunt: alternatieve rock met een scheutje bluesrock en het is een prachtig uitgebouwde song. De zang grijpt je naar de keel en is overgoten met heerlijke orgelgeluiden. Een refrein dat blijft hangen. Bully gaat een beetje in dezelfde richting, maar grijpt je minder bij je nekvel.

De drie heren van Adam & The Madams hebben een sterk album gemaakt dat liefhebbers van The Black Keys, Pavement, de jonge Beck of Neil Young zullen appreciëren.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


08/12/2016 : ADAM & THE MADAMS - A & TM 08/12/2016 : ADAM & THE MADAMS - A & TM

 

Next reviews
ANDY OPPENHEIMER • Andy Oppenheimer on Bowie
ONUS • Proslambanomenos
ALESSANDRO BELLUCCIO (ASH CODE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BRING ON THE BLOODSHED • Amongst the Ruins
MACHINISTA • Machinista about the death of David Bowie
RANGLEKLODS • Straitjacket
BOMBAY • Show Your Teeth
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
KOBE LIJNEN (WHISPERING SONS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
KIM GORDON • No Home Record
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
RIDE • This Is Not a Safe Place
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree

 

Same genre: GARAGEROCK
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
THEE OH SEES • A Weird Exists
NIGHTMEN • Fifteen Minutes of Pain
SERATONES • Get Gone
THE CHILLS • Silver Bullets
DEBRIS OF TITAN • On the Home Slope
BLINDNESS • Wrapped In Plastic
RISKY PERSON • Risky Person

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: NOISE
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums

Music reviews

14
08
LUKE LUND
Hopium
13
08
KRALLICE
Mass Cathexis
09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
08
MICK HARRIS (SCORN,LULL,EX-NAPALM DEATH...)
'I still see myself as a bit of a punk...'
10
08
BILL LASWELL
'Sometimes thing sort of “follow a path”...'
08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AND ONE
Killing The Mercy
14
08
SEPTEMBER 87
Bad Dream Baby
13
08
KING DALTON
When The Bad Is Gone
12
08
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
11
08
JACK MANIAC
No Fate
10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands