tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : ADAM & THE MADAMS - A & TM

ADAM & THE MADAMS

A & TM

MusicCD
Alternative RockGaragerockIndieNoisePsychedelic

[85/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The French garage-noise-psychedelic rock band Adam & The Madams presents its second CD in a homemade cover of jute with handwritten titles. Original and artisan. It perfectly fits with the DIY and authentic sound.

You're Right But I Do Not Care is an indie pop song, but that’s not the style of this album at all. Forever Awesome! is garage rock with beautiful keys by Cyprien Steck in the background, and we will hear these in other songs as well.

Lather has a 70s feel and Neil Young is never far away. Zoology is a catchy track that has (again) echoes of Neil Young and Sonic Youth. Woo hoo! Lovely tune! Headache has some nice transitions and a psychedelic interlude. Since You're A Shark is brief, while Why so sad? is a six-minute highlight: alternative rock with a dash of blues. The song grabs you by the throat and is topped with delicious organ sounds. A chorus that lingers in your head. Bully follows the same route.

Adam & The Madams made a strong album which fans of The Black Keys, Pavement, early Beck or Neil Young surely will appreciate.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

De Franse garage-noise-psychedelic rockband Adam & The Madams presenteertzijn tweede album in een zelfgemaakte hoes van jute en handgeschreven titels. Origineel en artisanaal. Het past mooi bij het geluid dat ze voortbrengen en dat een zekere autenticiteit heeft en elementen uit DIY.

De opener You’re Right But I Don’t Care zet ons wat op het verkeerde been door te starten als een indiepopsong. Dat verandert echter snel. Forever Awesome! is garagerock met mooie keys van Cyprien Steck op de achtergrond, die we nog in verschillende songs zullen horen.

Lather refereert naar de 70s en Neil Young lijkt niet veraf. Zoology is een meezingbare track, waarop je opnieuw Neil Young of Sonic Youth hoort rondwaren. Woo hoo! Heerlijke deun! Headache heeft leuke overgangen en een psychedelisch intermezzo. Since You’re A Shark is kort, maar Why So Sad? Is een zes minuten durend hoogtepunt: alternatieve rock met een scheutje bluesrock en het is een prachtig uitgebouwde song. De zang grijpt je naar de keel en is overgoten met heerlijke orgelgeluiden. Een refrein dat blijft hangen. Bully gaat een beetje in dezelfde richting, maar grijpt je minder bij je nekvel.

De drie heren van Adam & The Madams hebben een sterk album gemaakt dat liefhebbers van The Black Keys, Pavement, de jonge Beck of Neil Young zullen appreciëren.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


08/12/2016 : ADAM & THE MADAMS - A & TM 08/12/2016 : ADAM & THE MADAMS - A & TM

 

Next reviews
ANDY OPPENHEIMER • Andy Oppenheimer on Bowie
ONUS • Proslambanomenos
ALESSANDRO BELLUCCIO (ASH CODE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BRING ON THE BLOODSHED • Amongst the Ruins
MACHINISTA • Machinista about the death of David Bowie
RANGLEKLODS • Straitjacket
BOMBAY • Show Your Teeth
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
KOBE LIJNEN (WHISPERING SONS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
G.U.S.T. • Gust of wind
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
THE HEAT INC. • EP
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures

 

Same genre: GARAGEROCK
SONNY VINCENT • Shake Pit Therapy
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
THEE OH SEES • A Weird Exists
NIGHTMEN • Fifteen Minutes of Pain
SERATONES • Get Gone
THE CHILLS • Silver Bullets
DEBRIS OF TITAN • On the Home Slope
BLINDNESS • Wrapped In Plastic

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

 

Same genre: NOISE
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

28
06
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
THE MISSION
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
IAMX
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
W.H. LUNG
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
FORCED TO MODE
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
TORUL
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
ATMOSPHERE
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete