tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : ADAM & THE MADAMS - A & TM

ADAM & THE MADAMS

A & TM

MusicCD
Alternative RockGaragerockIndieNoisePsychedelic

[85/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The French garage-noise-psychedelic rock band Adam & The Madams presents its second CD in a homemade cover of jute with handwritten titles. Original and artisan. It perfectly fits with the DIY and authentic sound.

You're Right But I Do Not Care is an indie pop song, but that’s not the style of this album at all. Forever Awesome! is garage rock with beautiful keys by Cyprien Steck in the background, and we will hear these in other songs as well.

Lather has a 70s feel and Neil Young is never far away. Zoology is a catchy track that has (again) echoes of Neil Young and Sonic Youth. Woo hoo! Lovely tune! Headache has some nice transitions and a psychedelic interlude. Since You're A Shark is brief, while Why so sad? is a six-minute highlight: alternative rock with a dash of blues. The song grabs you by the throat and is topped with delicious organ sounds. A chorus that lingers in your head. Bully follows the same route.

Adam & The Madams made a strong album which fans of The Black Keys, Pavement, early Beck or Neil Young surely will appreciate.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

De Franse garage-noise-psychedelic rockband Adam & The Madams presenteertzijn tweede album in een zelfgemaakte hoes van jute en handgeschreven titels. Origineel en artisanaal. Het past mooi bij het geluid dat ze voortbrengen en dat een zekere autenticiteit heeft en elementen uit DIY.

De opener You’re Right But I Don’t Care zet ons wat op het verkeerde been door te starten als een indiepopsong. Dat verandert echter snel. Forever Awesome! is garagerock met mooie keys van Cyprien Steck op de achtergrond, die we nog in verschillende songs zullen horen.

Lather refereert naar de 70s en Neil Young lijkt niet veraf. Zoology is een meezingbare track, waarop je opnieuw Neil Young of Sonic Youth hoort rondwaren. Woo hoo! Heerlijke deun! Headache heeft leuke overgangen en een psychedelisch intermezzo. Since You’re A Shark is kort, maar Why So Sad? Is een zes minuten durend hoogtepunt: alternatieve rock met een scheutje bluesrock en het is een prachtig uitgebouwde song. De zang grijpt je naar de keel en is overgoten met heerlijke orgelgeluiden. Een refrein dat blijft hangen. Bully gaat een beetje in dezelfde richting, maar grijpt je minder bij je nekvel.

De drie heren van Adam & The Madams hebben een sterk album gemaakt dat liefhebbers van The Black Keys, Pavement, de jonge Beck of Neil Young zullen appreciëren.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


08/12/2016 : ADAM & THE MADAMS - A & TM 08/12/2016 : ADAM & THE MADAMS - A & TM

 

Next reviews
ANDY OPPENHEIMER • Andy Oppenheimer on Bowie
ONUS • Proslambanomenos
ALESSANDRO BELLUCCIO (ASH CODE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BRING ON THE BLOODSHED • Amongst the Ruins
MACHINISTA • Machinista about the death of David Bowie
RANGLEKLODS • Straitjacket
BOMBAY • Show Your Teeth
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
KOBE LIJNEN (WHISPERING SONS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
KRISTIN HERSH • Crooked (Reissue)
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
MARTY WILSON-PIPER • Hanging Out In Heaven (Reissue)
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Un-Natural Disaster - ft. dUg Pinnick, Zakk Wylde and Ice-T (Collide Mix)
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti

 

Same genre: GARAGEROCK
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
THEE OH SEES • A Weird Exists
NIGHTMEN • Fifteen Minutes of Pain
SERATONES • Get Gone
THE CHILLS • Silver Bullets
DEBRIS OF TITAN • On the Home Slope
BLINDNESS • Wrapped In Plastic
RISKY PERSON • Risky Person
BALTIMORE • Baltimore

 

Same genre: INDIE
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers

 

Same genre: NOISE
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap