tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : ADAM & THE MADAMS - A & TM

ADAM & THE MADAMS

A & TM

MusicCD
Alternative RockGaragerockIndieNoisePsychedelic

[85/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The French garage-noise-psychedelic rock band Adam & The Madams presents its second CD in a homemade cover of jute with handwritten titles. Original and artisan. It perfectly fits with the DIY and authentic sound.

You're Right But I Do Not Care is an indie pop song, but that’s not the style of this album at all. Forever Awesome! is garage rock with beautiful keys by Cyprien Steck in the background, and we will hear these in other songs as well.

Lather has a 70s feel and Neil Young is never far away. Zoology is a catchy track that has (again) echoes of Neil Young and Sonic Youth. Woo hoo! Lovely tune! Headache has some nice transitions and a psychedelic interlude. Since You're A Shark is brief, while Why so sad? is a six-minute highlight: alternative rock with a dash of blues. The song grabs you by the throat and is topped with delicious organ sounds. A chorus that lingers in your head. Bully follows the same route.

Adam & The Madams made a strong album which fans of The Black Keys, Pavement, early Beck or Neil Young surely will appreciate.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

De Franse garage-noise-psychedelic rockband Adam & The Madams presenteertzijn tweede album in een zelfgemaakte hoes van jute en handgeschreven titels. Origineel en artisanaal. Het past mooi bij het geluid dat ze voortbrengen en dat een zekere autenticiteit heeft en elementen uit DIY.

De opener You’re Right But I Don’t Care zet ons wat op het verkeerde been door te starten als een indiepopsong. Dat verandert echter snel. Forever Awesome! is garagerock met mooie keys van Cyprien Steck op de achtergrond, die we nog in verschillende songs zullen horen.

Lather refereert naar de 70s en Neil Young lijkt niet veraf. Zoology is een meezingbare track, waarop je opnieuw Neil Young of Sonic Youth hoort rondwaren. Woo hoo! Heerlijke deun! Headache heeft leuke overgangen en een psychedelisch intermezzo. Since You’re A Shark is kort, maar Why So Sad? Is een zes minuten durend hoogtepunt: alternatieve rock met een scheutje bluesrock en het is een prachtig uitgebouwde song. De zang grijpt je naar de keel en is overgoten met heerlijke orgelgeluiden. Een refrein dat blijft hangen. Bully gaat een beetje in dezelfde richting, maar grijpt je minder bij je nekvel.

De drie heren van Adam & The Madams hebben een sterk album gemaakt dat liefhebbers van The Black Keys, Pavement, de jonge Beck of Neil Young zullen appreciëren.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


08/12/2016 : ADAM & THE MADAMS - A & TM 08/12/2016 : ADAM & THE MADAMS - A & TM

 

Next reviews
ANDY OPPENHEIMER • Andy Oppenheimer on Bowie
ONUS • Proslambanomenos
ALESSANDRO BELLUCCIO (ASH CODE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
NICOLAS VAN DAMME (BERLIN-OUEST) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BRING ON THE BLOODSHED • Amongst the Ruins
MACHINISTA • Machinista about the death of David Bowie
RANGLEKLODS • Straitjacket
BOMBAY • Show Your Teeth
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
KOBE LIJNEN (WHISPERING SONS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
PAUL MCCANN • Here Comes The Rapture
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
THE VELVET UNDERGROUND • White Light/White Heat
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap

 

Same genre: GARAGEROCK
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
THEE OH SEES • A Weird Exists
NIGHTMEN • Fifteen Minutes of Pain
SERATONES • Get Gone
THE CHILLS • Silver Bullets
DEBRIS OF TITAN • On the Home Slope
BLINDNESS • Wrapped In Plastic
RISKY PERSON • Risky Person
BALTIMORE • Baltimore

 

Same genre: INDIE
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau

 

Same genre: NOISE
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation

Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid