tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : TRUE WIDOW - Avvolgere

TRUE WIDOW

Avvolgere

MusicCD
PsychedelicShoegazeStoner Rock

[85/100]   

Relapse Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

True Widow is a trio from Dallas. Since 2007 it mixes gritty and distorted guitars with sludge and shoegaze. A characteristic sound that contains melody and a certain sing-along content. Opener Black Shredder is a good example and begins with a kind cheerfulness. The same goes for Entheogen. On Theurgist the band reminds me of The Lemonheads (musically) and Nirvana (vocals). I know, it's an unusual combination, but with a nice and catchy result.

The Trapper and the Trapped is also worth mentioning: the alternation between the male and female singer is successful. The album contains ten tracks. The guitars sounds overdriven, but clear. The drums sound fine. The vocals are clean and warm.

Ten songs with distorted guitars, clean vocals with a mix of stoner rock and shoegaze. That is what you hear on Avvolgere. A strange title indeed without a specific meaning. This is True Widow's fourth release. A fine introduction. Avvolgere is also available as 2x LP in orange or black vinyl.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

True Widow is een trio uit Dallas dat sinds 2007 gruizige en overstuurde gitaren met sludge en shoegaze vermengt. Zo komen ze aan de karakteristieke sound die toch melodie en een zekere meezingbaarheid bevat. Opener Black Shredder is een mooi voorbeeld en heeft tevens een soort opgewektheid meegekregen. Net als Entheogen trouwens.

In Theurgist doet True Widow wat aan The Lemonheads (muzikaal) en Nirvana (zang) denken. Ik weet het, een niet alledaagse combinatie, maar wel met een mooi en catchy resultaat. The Trapper and the Trapped is ook het vermelden waard: vraag en antwoord tussen zanger en zangeres is goed gelukt. Het album bevat tien tracks. Het is geen brij of potpourri geworden. Ook de drums zijn goed opgenomen en klinken fijn. De zang is clean en warm.

Tien songs met distorted gitaren, cleane zang in stonerrockstijl enerzijds en shoegaze anderzijds. Dat hoor je op Avvolgere. Een vreemde titel trouwens die niet meteen een betekenis heeft. Dit is al hun vierde release die in het verlengde ligt van hun vorige uitstekende Circumambulation. Een fijne kennismaking met deze band waarvan we hopelijk nog meer zullen horen. Avvolgere is ook verkrijgbaar als 2x lp in oranje of zwarte vinyl.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle
15
04
PSY'AVIAH
Lightflare

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
04
Rummelsnuff releases double album / best of - “Salzig schmeckt der Wind”
23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'
15
04
Vogue.Noir release Strange.Days
14
04
Mourners release their first songs!

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
04
DIVE
Bloodmoney
24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only
21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos
21
04
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
20
04
MIDAS FALL
Glue