tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : TRUE WIDOW - Avvolgere

TRUE WIDOW

Avvolgere

MusicCD
PsychedelicShoegazeStoner Rock

[85/100]   

Relapse Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

True Widow is a trio from Dallas. Since 2007 it mixes gritty and distorted guitars with sludge and shoegaze. A characteristic sound that contains melody and a certain sing-along content. Opener Black Shredder is a good example and begins with a kind cheerfulness. The same goes for Entheogen. On Theurgist the band reminds me of The Lemonheads (musically) and Nirvana (vocals). I know, it's an unusual combination, but with a nice and catchy result.

The Trapper and the Trapped is also worth mentioning: the alternation between the male and female singer is successful. The album contains ten tracks. The guitars sounds overdriven, but clear. The drums sound fine. The vocals are clean and warm.

Ten songs with distorted guitars, clean vocals with a mix of stoner rock and shoegaze. That is what you hear on Avvolgere. A strange title indeed without a specific meaning. This is True Widow's fourth release. A fine introduction. Avvolgere is also available as 2x LP in orange or black vinyl.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

True Widow is een trio uit Dallas dat sinds 2007 gruizige en overstuurde gitaren met sludge en shoegaze vermengt. Zo komen ze aan de karakteristieke sound die toch melodie en een zekere meezingbaarheid bevat. Opener Black Shredder is een mooi voorbeeld en heeft tevens een soort opgewektheid meegekregen. Net als Entheogen trouwens.

In Theurgist doet True Widow wat aan The Lemonheads (muzikaal) en Nirvana (zang) denken. Ik weet het, een niet alledaagse combinatie, maar wel met een mooi en catchy resultaat. The Trapper and the Trapped is ook het vermelden waard: vraag en antwoord tussen zanger en zangeres is goed gelukt. Het album bevat tien tracks. Het is geen brij of potpourri geworden. Ook de drums zijn goed opgenomen en klinken fijn. De zang is clean en warm.

Tien songs met distorted gitaren, cleane zang in stonerrockstijl enerzijds en shoegaze anderzijds. Dat hoor je op Avvolgere. Een vreemde titel trouwens die niet meteen een betekenis heeft. Dit is al hun vierde release die in het verlengde ligt van hun vorige uitstekende Circumambulation. Een fijne kennismaking met deze band waarvan we hopelijk nog meer zullen horen. Avvolgere is ook verkrijgbaar als 2x lp in oranje of zwarte vinyl.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination