tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : TRUE WIDOW - Avvolgere

TRUE WIDOW

Avvolgere

MusicCD
PsychedelicShoegazeStoner Rock

[85/100]   

Relapse Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

True Widow is a trio from Dallas. Since 2007 it mixes gritty and distorted guitars with sludge and shoegaze. A characteristic sound that contains melody and a certain sing-along content. Opener Black Shredder is a good example and begins with a kind cheerfulness. The same goes for Entheogen. On Theurgist the band reminds me of The Lemonheads (musically) and Nirvana (vocals). I know, it's an unusual combination, but with a nice and catchy result.

The Trapper and the Trapped is also worth mentioning: the alternation between the male and female singer is successful. The album contains ten tracks. The guitars sounds overdriven, but clear. The drums sound fine. The vocals are clean and warm.

Ten songs with distorted guitars, clean vocals with a mix of stoner rock and shoegaze. That is what you hear on Avvolgere. A strange title indeed without a specific meaning. This is True Widow's fourth release. A fine introduction. Avvolgere is also available as 2x LP in orange or black vinyl.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

True Widow is een trio uit Dallas dat sinds 2007 gruizige en overstuurde gitaren met sludge en shoegaze vermengt. Zo komen ze aan de karakteristieke sound die toch melodie en een zekere meezingbaarheid bevat. Opener Black Shredder is een mooi voorbeeld en heeft tevens een soort opgewektheid meegekregen. Net als Entheogen trouwens.

In Theurgist doet True Widow wat aan The Lemonheads (muzikaal) en Nirvana (zang) denken. Ik weet het, een niet alledaagse combinatie, maar wel met een mooi en catchy resultaat. The Trapper and the Trapped is ook het vermelden waard: vraag en antwoord tussen zanger en zangeres is goed gelukt. Het album bevat tien tracks. Het is geen brij of potpourri geworden. Ook de drums zijn goed opgenomen en klinken fijn. De zang is clean en warm.

Tien songs met distorted gitaren, cleane zang in stonerrockstijl enerzijds en shoegaze anderzijds. Dat hoor je op Avvolgere. Een vreemde titel trouwens die niet meteen een betekenis heeft. Dit is al hun vierde release die in het verlengde ligt van hun vorige uitstekende Circumambulation. Een fijne kennismaking met deze band waarvan we hopelijk nog meer zullen horen. Avvolgere is ook verkrijgbaar als 2x lp in oranje of zwarte vinyl.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

27
01
MARTIN L. GORE
The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 39 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
PULP
Babies
27
01
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games