tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : TRUE WIDOW - Avvolgere

TRUE WIDOW

Avvolgere

MusicCD
PsychedelicShoegazeStoner Rock

[85/100]   

Relapse Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

True Widow is a trio from Dallas. Since 2007 it mixes gritty and distorted guitars with sludge and shoegaze. A characteristic sound that contains melody and a certain sing-along content. Opener Black Shredder is a good example and begins with a kind cheerfulness. The same goes for Entheogen. On Theurgist the band reminds me of The Lemonheads (musically) and Nirvana (vocals). I know, it's an unusual combination, but with a nice and catchy result.

The Trapper and the Trapped is also worth mentioning: the alternation between the male and female singer is successful. The album contains ten tracks. The guitars sounds overdriven, but clear. The drums sound fine. The vocals are clean and warm.

Ten songs with distorted guitars, clean vocals with a mix of stoner rock and shoegaze. That is what you hear on Avvolgere. A strange title indeed without a specific meaning. This is True Widow's fourth release. A fine introduction. Avvolgere is also available as 2x LP in orange or black vinyl.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

True Widow is een trio uit Dallas dat sinds 2007 gruizige en overstuurde gitaren met sludge en shoegaze vermengt. Zo komen ze aan de karakteristieke sound die toch melodie en een zekere meezingbaarheid bevat. Opener Black Shredder is een mooi voorbeeld en heeft tevens een soort opgewektheid meegekregen. Net als Entheogen trouwens.

In Theurgist doet True Widow wat aan The Lemonheads (muzikaal) en Nirvana (zang) denken. Ik weet het, een niet alledaagse combinatie, maar wel met een mooi en catchy resultaat. The Trapper and the Trapped is ook het vermelden waard: vraag en antwoord tussen zanger en zangeres is goed gelukt. Het album bevat tien tracks. Het is geen brij of potpourri geworden. Ook de drums zijn goed opgenomen en klinken fijn. De zang is clean en warm.

Tien songs met distorted gitaren, cleane zang in stonerrockstijl enerzijds en shoegaze anderzijds. Dat hoor je op Avvolgere. Een vreemde titel trouwens die niet meteen een betekenis heeft. Dit is al hun vierde release die in het verlengde ligt van hun vorige uitstekende Circumambulation. Een fijne kennismaking met deze band waarvan we hopelijk nog meer zullen horen. Avvolgere is ook verkrijgbaar als 2x lp in oranje of zwarte vinyl.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)