tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : TRUE WIDOW - Avvolgere

TRUE WIDOW

Avvolgere

MusicCD
PsychedelicShoegazeStoner Rock

[85/100]   

Relapse Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

True Widow is a trio from Dallas. Since 2007 it mixes gritty and distorted guitars with sludge and shoegaze. A characteristic sound that contains melody and a certain sing-along content. Opener Black Shredder is a good example and begins with a kind cheerfulness. The same goes for Entheogen. On Theurgist the band reminds me of The Lemonheads (musically) and Nirvana (vocals). I know, it's an unusual combination, but with a nice and catchy result.

The Trapper and the Trapped is also worth mentioning: the alternation between the male and female singer is successful. The album contains ten tracks. The guitars sounds overdriven, but clear. The drums sound fine. The vocals are clean and warm.

Ten songs with distorted guitars, clean vocals with a mix of stoner rock and shoegaze. That is what you hear on Avvolgere. A strange title indeed without a specific meaning. This is True Widow's fourth release. A fine introduction. Avvolgere is also available as 2x LP in orange or black vinyl.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

True Widow is een trio uit Dallas dat sinds 2007 gruizige en overstuurde gitaren met sludge en shoegaze vermengt. Zo komen ze aan de karakteristieke sound die toch melodie en een zekere meezingbaarheid bevat. Opener Black Shredder is een mooi voorbeeld en heeft tevens een soort opgewektheid meegekregen. Net als Entheogen trouwens.

In Theurgist doet True Widow wat aan The Lemonheads (muzikaal) en Nirvana (zang) denken. Ik weet het, een niet alledaagse combinatie, maar wel met een mooi en catchy resultaat. The Trapper and the Trapped is ook het vermelden waard: vraag en antwoord tussen zanger en zangeres is goed gelukt. Het album bevat tien tracks. Het is geen brij of potpourri geworden. Ook de drums zijn goed opgenomen en klinken fijn. De zang is clean en warm.

Tien songs met distorted gitaren, cleane zang in stonerrockstijl enerzijds en shoegaze anderzijds. Dat hoor je op Avvolgere. Een vreemde titel trouwens die niet meteen een betekenis heeft. Dit is al hun vierde release die in het verlengde ligt van hun vorige uitstekende Circumambulation. Een fijne kennismaking met deze band waarvan we hopelijk nog meer zullen horen. Avvolgere is ook verkrijgbaar als 2x lp in oranje of zwarte vinyl.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

22
07
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Pink Obsession
11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

22
07
L'AME IMMORTELLE
Amphi
22
07
PINK TURNS BLUE
Amphi
22
07
HENRIC DE LA COUR
Amphi
22
07
BLUTENGEL
Amphi
22
07
LORD OF THE LOST
Amphi
22
07
HOCICO
Amphi
22
07
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
07
LIZARD SMILE
Silence In Your Eyes
21
07
MINUIT MACHINE
BATTLES
20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf